Dublin Knock Galway Out!

Thank you to Michael D and all the Galway lads and hardluck with the championship exit this year. We will be back, Gaillimh Abu and congrats to Dublin on a fine victory.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 16/06/2019 11:12:23    2195660

Well done Dublin savage win.

How was this game not on tv surely both games should of been on when so much was riding on each game , shocking.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/06/2019 11:24:17    2195666

Incredible atmosphere last night. A full Parnell park is like a fortress. Keaney though!!! He was immense. Hard luck to Galway who bowed out on the tiniest of margins. A hard pill to swallow no doubt.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/06/2019 11:29:15    2195668

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Galway were hard done by and with canning returning they were probably top 3 contenders. With the spotlight on Tipp and Limerick they would have been so dangerous.

I feel for their fans. Such tight margins. If that Wexford lad didn't lose the head and get himself sent off, who knows maybe it would have knocked kilkenny out instead. Or if they'd taken their goal chances. As a neural the munster hurling was unbelievable last year but this year it goes to Leinster.

The best part is we still have 3 more matches in Munster and another in Leinster. The GAA must resist calls to remove the provincial championships, especially in hurling."
That's an awful ungracious lot of aul scutter in fairness. Plenty of teams could say they were hard done by. Kilkenny are there on merit and so are Dublin. Both fully deserve to be still involved. You sound like a lad who hasn't a bulls notion what your talking about.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/06/2019 13:00:24    2195696

Replying To WildPundit:  "Some shock to the system but look Carlow put it up to them and scoring difference is what knocked them out in the end.
Wexford the only unbeaten team in the Leinster round robin 3 draws against the 3 other top teams let's say.
Hard one to digest if I was a Galway hurling fan."
Agree. I'd be heartbroken/frustrated by the manner of being knocked out & must be very hard to accept. That said Galway have the talent to put up huge scores, but didn't. Hard to swallow & my sympathy but what a win by the Dubs. God help us all if they end up like the footballers. Crummy is unreal!!
Looking forward to the Leinster final & hoping today's Munster battle is the epic it definitely has the possibility.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 16/06/2019 13:30:36    2195707

Replying To Jackeen:  "Incredible atmosphere last night. A full Parnell park is like a fortress. Keaney though!!! He was immense. Hard luck to Galway who bowed out on the tiniest of margins. A hard pill to swallow no doubt."
Keaney the old warhorse. Amazing 2nd half performance.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 16/06/2019 13:41:00    2195715

Replying To tiobraid:  "Potentially one more year in this Galway panel but like tipp, time is running out for a few. Still the bulk of the team in their prime years tho. There's a few lads on the panel in their late 20's who for me haven't been ever able to contribute enough and they need to be replaced now with some more new blood.
Apart from Cathal mannion and conor whelan no one else has performed. Too many big players had little or no hurling before the cship too"
A very accurate summing up there.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 16/06/2019 13:43:46    2195717

can see this thread being bumped in August.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 16/06/2019 14:08:24    2195735

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Thank you to Michael D and all the Galway lads and hardluck with the championship exit this year. We will be back, Gaillimh Abu and congrats to Dublin on a fine victory."
When I read Michael D first I thought it was the other one!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/06/2019 14:47:06    2195757

Replying To heartbroken:  "Galway were not good enough to drive on, yes the referee was poor but we had plenty of chances to take a commanding lead. Galway are not a bad team but they also not a good team. Changes changes need. Finally well done Dublin it's a long year for me to be heartbroken."
Much about ya with your long year.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/06/2019 14:48:26    2195758

As well as the small margin of victory against Carlow, another thing that did for Galway was the last fifteen minutes v Kilkenny. They were 8 points up with a man advantage, and ended up only winning by one. That's a 14-point swing in score difference between the teams.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 16/06/2019 15:52:16    2195790

Congrats to Dublin and Mattie Kenny on a big win last night.

The new championship is fantastic because no one is safe. Galway have gone deep in the last four championships making three finals so a short one this year might be no harm at all for the team in the long run. Hopefully big Joe will be back next year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 16/06/2019 19:49:44    2195998

Replying To catch22:  "That's an awful ungracious lot of aul scutter in fairness. Plenty of teams could say they were hard done by. Kilkenny are there on merit and so are Dublin. Both fully deserve to be still involved. You sound like a lad who hasn't a bulls notion what your talking about."
You're spot on there Catch!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 16/06/2019 20:00:34    2196001

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Huh, Kilkenny didn't lose despite Reid not having an influence, probably should have won if Leahy etc. had their eye in and what was the lucky goal you mention?"
Exactly. Although I was disappointed* w/some of the shooting you mentioned, I too was kinda happy to see TJ kept scoreless & have enough guy's stand up to get the draw. AM's touch to bring that potentially lost pass down & get a shot off on goal was impressive, not lucky as I've seen posted a couple times. M O'H deserves huge credit for keeping TJ quiet even if he acted like a little kid.

* Paul Murphy & Conor Fogarty score, & a draw is all you get you know there was a lack of scoring from the forwards as those two aren't exactly known as sharpshooters.

Great game & if TJ ever starts getting real, in form, help they'll take some beating. Hogan should've been on for ......
Well, onwards & upwards ;-)

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 19/06/2019 12:17:51    2197528