Mayo Upset At 7pm Throw In

7,000 fans go to New York but can't go to Newry.
Down are in the Christy Ring Final v Meath ( not Armagh which both RTE and Connacht secretary said)
Mayo fans have a small point re travel but so could anyone,
If Down played Mayo in the NFL at 7pm on a Saturday evening, the game would go ahead, Down fans would have 3 options,
1. Stay over
2. Travel home
3. Stay at home and get the updates on radio/ Tv or social media
Teams travel all over the country, Mayo are over reacting,
As regards asking for it in Castlebar , come on!!
Unfortunately the police have a role, come to Newry, the traffic is a nightmare even on a good day, it's a sizeable town/city, and in fairness placing a match in evening makes sense
Finally
RTE- get a map, Newry is roughly 15 mins from the border not an hour up the road.
Best of luck to both teams and Mayo travel and stay over in either south Down or south Armagh and you mightn want to leave!!!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 14/06/2019 17:08:46    2194934

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Get off the stage there good man, another mysterious new poster with an axe to grind. Mayo fans asked why the game as at 7pm if it was not for television reasons? It was then the Down hurlers match was given as the reason. Absolutely nobody including the vast, vast majority of posters on here knew about the hurling match.

Mayo fans then accepted it and have moved on. Where is the outrage?"
Are you for real? Search twitter, MayoGaaBlog, Facebook and there's hundreds of comments giving out. I'm surprised there hasnt been a petition yet. Nobody gives a toss about the hurling game, with most saying it'll only be a few fans so it doesn't matter. The county board came out with a bitter statement AFTER the reasons around the hurling were given

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 14/06/2019 17:17:23    2194936

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Get off the stage there good man, another mysterious new poster with an axe to grind. Mayo fans asked why the game as at 7pm if it was not for television reasons? It was then the Down hurlers match was given as the reason. Absolutely nobody including the vast, vast majority of posters on here knew about the hurling match.

Mayo fans then accepted it and have moved on. Where is the outrage?"
Accepted it? Jesus it's all over social media, still going on about it..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 14/06/2019 17:20:57    2194939

I know it's in fashion to bash Mayo fans but if I was one I'd be upset too. Why couldn't they fix it for 5pm and save mayo fans 2 hours?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/06/2019 17:36:01    2194947

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I know it's in fashion to bash Mayo fans but if I was one I'd be upset too. Why couldn't they fix it for 5pm and save mayo fans 2 hours?"
Because of the Hurling. How is a Down Doctor or fan supposed to get from Croke Park to Newry in less than an hour

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 14/06/2019 17:53:57    2194957

Replying To PressureKick:  "Are you for real? Search twitter, MayoGaaBlog, Facebook and there's hundreds of comments giving out. I'm surprised there hasnt been a petition yet. Nobody gives a toss about the hurling game, with most saying it'll only be a few fans so it doesn't matter. The county board came out with a bitter statement AFTER the reasons around the hurling were given"
Not a word about it today. Nowhere on Twitter. Fans blogs of all counties are for attention seekers, I wouldn't be looking at them.

On a side note, how sad are you to be trawling multiple social media sites looking for comments from Mayo fans? Yourself and Belclare are well matched, if not the same person.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 14/06/2019 18:21:11    2194969

Replying To PressureKick:  "Are you for real? Search twitter, MayoGaaBlog, Facebook and there's hundreds of comments giving out. I'm surprised there hasnt been a petition yet. Nobody gives a toss about the hurling game, with most saying it'll only be a few fans so it doesn't matter. The county board came out with a bitter statement AFTER the reasons around the hurling were given"
Social media you say. Plenty of accounts, plenty of trolls, not so many people.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 14/06/2019 18:55:04    2194983

Meath played away to Cork and Donegal in the league at 7pm on a Saturday and not a word about either. I know some thing's cant be avoided. But more respect for supporters.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 14/06/2019 18:58:21    2194984

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Meath played away to Cork and Donegal in the league at 7pm on a Saturday and not a word about either. I know some thing's cant be avoided. But more respect for supporters."
In fairness that's the league.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/06/2019 19:35:01    2195009

In fairness playing at 7pm away from home is nothing new.

This might be unpopular but I'd be in favour of trying to accommodate away support to some degree if possible.

It'd be grand if Down were home to Dublin to play at 7pm as its only a short spin to Newry for us but with Mayo maybe an earlier time could be found.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/06/2019 19:43:26    2195014

I didn't hear Derry whinging when they had to travel all the way to Wexford. if Mayo kick 15 wides again it could be bye bye Mayo for another year.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 14/06/2019 22:14:51    2195089

Ruane out for Mayo. Makes a hard road a little harder.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 15/06/2019 12:18:46    2195216

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Ruane out for Mayo. Makes a hard road a little harder."
Horan ruining club fixtures to mind players and then one of best players breaks collar bone in training game..typical and shows that its rubbish ptotecting players by not playing with clubs

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 15/06/2019 14:21:38    2195241

Replying To tommy132:  "Horan ruining club fixtures to mind players and then one of best players breaks collar bone in training game..typical and shows that its rubbish ptotecting players by not playing with clubs"
So if Ruane had played a few club games his collarbone would be sound?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 15/06/2019 14:31:19    2195244

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not a word about it today. Nowhere on Twitter. Fans blogs of all counties are for attention seekers, I wouldn't be looking at them.

On a side note, how sad are you to be trawling multiple social media sites looking for comments from Mayo fans? Yourself and Belclare are well matched, if not the same person."
Do you hear this fella?
"I wouldn't be looking at them" Your all over this and absolutely guaranteed your stuck to Willie Joe and that blog non stop..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 15/06/2019 14:36:18    2195247

Replying To tommy132:  "Horan ruining club fixtures to mind players and then one of best players breaks collar bone in training game..typical and shows that its rubbish ptotecting players by not playing with clubs"
Absolutely agree. A and B matches as tough as some club games. Ruane obviously unlucky as is our Molloy for tomorrow but as you say players could just as easy pick up knocks at training so pointless protecting them at this stage of the season.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 15/06/2019 15:08:50    2195262

Huge loss for us....best wishes to Mattie on his recovery

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 15/06/2019 16:16:33    2195289

A v B Game he got this injury? same happened with Ultan Harney or be Ultan's injury will be longer term. Our manager let a number of players back to their clubs and 3 came back injured one like Harney is out for the rest of year so it seems whatever managers do they can't get luck with injuries.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/06/2019 19:07:19    2195354

Some utterly pathetic and mean spirited comments towards Mayo here. Well done lads

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 15/06/2019 20:24:21    2195388

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I know it's in fashion to bash Mayo fans but if I was one I'd be upset too. Why couldn't they fix it for 5pm and save mayo fans 2 hours?"
So it dose'nt matter ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/06/2019 20:27:04    2195390