Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019-

Replying To greysoil:  "To quote Spillane, it was a 5 point hammering. Think Donegal took the foot off the pedal in the 2nd half, as they knew they had done enough. Cavan incredibly nervous in the first half.
Well done Donegal."
Precisely. The scoreline flattered us, I have no qualms in saying that.

We were nervous throughout and didn't make a contest of it. This experience will stand to us. We're capable of better.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/06/2019 17:31:54    2199103

Replying To ctowers:  "Tactics wise very similar but donegal have a set of scoring forwards that Tyrone haven't had in over a decade."
Dubs regularly play 12/13 behind ball and transition well with pace, Donegal after getting rid of Gallagher show they have the players to play that way too. Don't know if we will be good enough to beat dubs, but we are definitely improving.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 23/06/2019 17:34:25    2199104

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Push up on Cavan kickouts and stop McVittie meant Donegal were never going to be beaten today !"
Yep. Our kickouts have been our glaring weakness all year, even against yourselves and especially against Armagh in the replay.
I sincerely hope Mickey looks at this and recognises that a change between the posts is needed.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 23/06/2019 17:39:02    2199116

Donegal a sullenly the better team.
We made their job too easy with our kick outs and generally giving them possession too easy.
Donegal very clinical.
Donegal very very synical. Murphy plays the victim and the ref. so well.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 23/06/2019 17:40:00    2199121

Bitter Tyrone posters much. Don't you just love it :-)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/06/2019 17:55:37    2199140

Pure puke from Donegal. Rotten stuff. Wouldn't watch it from my back yard. Same old crud that Gallagher and McGuiness promoted . Bonner has capitulated and done a huge u-turn. Fair play to Harte for sticking with Tyrone's attacking game despite losing to Donegal because basically he knows it's only way to beat Dublin. Harte may not have the players but he understands that playing 100% blanket counter attacking football guarantees you a massive unpopularity amongst Gaelic community but worse than that it guarantees a runners up medal .

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 23/06/2019 17:59:47    2199145

Hard luck Cavan and well done to Donegal. Having watched Dublin V Meath at least there was a contest of some kind to watch.

It was a bit of a hammering for Cavan, the scoreboard is a bit misleading but not a bad effort. They will learn from it. None of those Cavan lads have experience in that type of game where practically all Donegal do and a few of them have experience of way bigger days.

A good draw for Cavan in round 4 and Cavan will fancy their chances of doing some damage and getting a super 8 spot.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 23/06/2019 18:00:30    2199149

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Donegal have reverted to type. Is Jimmy McGuiness back? It's a pity, they tried expansive football last year under Bonner but now obviously winning has outweighed the need to play entertaining football. Awful to watch, using their big physical players to spoil the game, 15 men behind the ball. Back to the norm for Donegal . I think the attacking mark will be introduced next year and hopefully will be end of this sort of playing once and for all. I thought it was just a tactic against Tyrone but obviously this is how they set up. Back to rubbish football ."
Sore loser. Hit 1-24, take off the bitter glasses you're wearing

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 23/06/2019 18:02:41    2199153

Well done Donegal. never in doubt from the first throw-in. We were too tentative and nervous and as usual we won few if any of our own kickouts when Donegal pushed up (or even if they didn't). Donegal are a serious outfit and looking forward to seeing them in the super 8. Our season is over I'm afraid.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 23/06/2019 18:22:20    2199185

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Bitter Tyrone posters much. Don't you just love it :-)"
Sean Sean Sean, your like a butchers dog tonite I'd say.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/06/2019 18:36:33    2199201

Replying To offtheditch:  "Donegal a sullenly the better team.
We made their job too easy with our kick outs and generally giving them possession too easy.
Donegal very clinical.
Donegal very very synical. Murphy plays the victim and the ref. so well."
True - first ball into Murphy - he catches the ball and is running into the corner, back to goal and Clarke pushes him - smart play every time is to take the foul - not a question of cynical more a case of who was smart the player - the with the 21 yard free or the player who pushed one of the most s curate free takers this decade -when he wasn't set up to score ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/06/2019 18:59:17    2199223

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Pure puke from Donegal. Rotten stuff. Wouldn't watch it from my back yard. Same old crud that Gallagher and McGuiness promoted . Bonner has capitulated and done a huge u-turn. Fair play to Harte for sticking with Tyrone's attacking game despite losing to Donegal because basically he knows it's only way to beat Dublin. Harte may not have the players but he understands that playing 100% blanket counter attacking football guarantees you a massive unpopularity amongst Gaelic community but worse than that it guarantees a runners up medal ."
1-24. Rotten stuff. 13 different scorers, woeful wasn't it. Tyrone man talking about popularity lol. You lot really showing true colors the night.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 23/06/2019 19:10:13    2199232

Appreciate Killian Clarke was given the task of marking Murphy but he was so intent on getting a late shoulder in long after Murphy released the ball it seemed like he was missing the direction of play / leaving a motorway of space where he should have been

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/06/2019 19:16:15    2199243

Replying To s goldrick:  "Well done Donegal. never in doubt from the first throw-in. We were too tentative and nervous and as usual we won few if any of our own kickouts when Donegal pushed up (or even if they didn't). Donegal are a serious outfit and looking forward to seeing them in the super 8. Our season is over I'm afraid."
Donegal a serious outfit????? We scored 2-16 against them. They a very good side but they no serious outfit.
Look what Dublin conceded against Meath. That's a serious outfit.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 23/06/2019 20:02:42    2199304

Impressive performance today where any fear of complacency soon put to bed. Never thought it would be an issue myself given past final losses. Still feel there is improvement in this team and hard not be excited. The attacking talent can match anybody and we are mixing it up meaning not predictable something some Donegal sides have been guilty of. Going one step further than last year had to be the immediate aim and I would be confident of doing so. I think with Rochford on board tactically we are on another level from previous years.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 23/06/2019 20:10:48    2199310

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Donegal a serious outfit????? We scored 2-16 against them. They a very good side but they no serious outfit.
Look what Dublin conceded against Meath. That's a serious outfit."
There's 5 gears in a car.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 23/06/2019 20:13:23    2199314

The game was over after 20 minutes. Donegal wiped the floor with Cavan in that time. 2.4 of the Cavan total came when Donegal had packed up for the day. A serious outfit? We will see when they play a serious opposition. But I thought they looked class in 3rd gear today

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 23/06/2019 20:16:13    2199318

Cavan clearly had stage fright in the first half today, so much poor decision making and execution.

2 quick examples. Conor Rehill (who has had a very good debut campaign), inexplicably waiting for a ball to arrive to him, in sprints the donegal man from way back and wins it, donegal score follows soon after.

Not long later, referee signals for a free, a cavan man (with the advantage) on his favoured foot refuses the shot and offloads to a teammate who gets bottled up, by which time the advantage is gone. Donegal would just stop playing and let Murphy kick that free.

5 point defeat very flattering for cavan. On a sidenote, thought it was a questionable team selection from Mickey, our finishing 15 was better than our starting 15. Not that it would've made a huge difference.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 23/06/2019 20:22:22    2199330

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Donegal a serious outfit????? We scored 2-16 against them. They a very good side but they no serious outfit.
Look what Dublin conceded against Meath. That's a serious outfit."
The game was basically over when we tagged on those goals, not unlike our 5-18 to 2-17 defeat to Tyrone in that semi final replay 3 years. Hard to analyse the last 20 minutes or so at all properly, the game was long over as a meaningful contest.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 23/06/2019 20:36:51    2199348

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "Precisely. The scoreline flattered us, I have no qualms in saying that.

We were nervous throughout and didn't make a contest of it. This experience will stand to us. We're capable of better."
Thanks Ned, but I wasn't seeking your affirmation.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/06/2019 20:37:31    2199349