Donegal V Cavan. Ulster Final. 2019-

Stand corrected but these sides have only ever played once against each other in an Ulster final in 1983.

So should be a colourful affair, Donegal look more assured and Cavan look like they could concede goals , although very impressed by the Cavan quality in front of the posts, some cracking points.

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 09/06/2019 20:28:20    2192372

Donegal are favorites but it counts for nothing.

We need to win this and make another statement about being a serious team. An Ulster title is the most precious prize in football outside the All Ireland, so it would be fantastic to retain it.

Cavan are a serious outfit, 23 scores from 26 shots, that's a serious effort. They'll be ravenous after many years without the cup and also confident after their recent wins.

I fancy us to win if we can keep McVeety in particular quiet and nullify their runners like Moynagh. Cavan like to let the ball in quick but they'll get less space against us and will need more patience.

I also feel our experience in getting across the line in these types of games will count. But it'll take a massive effort!!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/06/2019 22:35:15    2192477

The win against Tyrone will count for nothing unless we finish the job here. It could be an absolute cracker if both teams carry their attacking form into this one

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 10/06/2019 11:39:47    2192742

Can't see past Donegal in this one. Going for only their second ever Ulster two in a row I believe.

This past decade really has been a golden age for Donegal football.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 10/06/2019 11:45:18    2192749

Looking forward to a great final, great to see Cavan there, they won't be easy to beat, confidence is high in Cavan and with good reason, I expect us to shade it but only just.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 10/06/2019 11:49:37    2192753

Cavan should win this. Donegal wont get the space they got against a very off day for Tyrone. They will be crowded out and wishing they were playing the red hands again who gifted them immense freedom and space. Most people will be hoping for a Cavan win due to length of time since they got the last one. Myself included. Both teams though wont get past the super 8's. One wont even make it.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/06/2019 11:51:30    2192757

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Cavan should win this. Donegal wont get the space they got against a very off day for Tyrone. They will be crowded out and wishing they were playing the red hands again who gifted them immense freedom and space. Most people will be hoping for a Cavan win due to length of time since they got the last one. Myself included. Both teams though wont get past the super 8's. One wont even make it."
But let me guess. . . Tyrone will put their "very off-day" behind them, appeal McCann's inevitable suspension, get through to the super 8s and beyond, reach the All Ireland final against Dublin where, unfortunately another "very off-day" will see them "just fall short" again.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/06/2019 11:59:08    2192764

Hard to see past Donegal but although they've been bouncing between Divisions 1 and 2, like Roscommon, the experience in Division 1 will stand to Cavan. I wouldn't be shocked if Cavan got the win here but as I say, very hard to see past Donegal.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 10/06/2019 12:01:42    2192766

It's great to see Cavan finally fulfilling their potential and becoming a serious outfit.

This run will give them plenty of confidence and belief, and it seems to they are finally free of past overly-defensive shackles

They can certainly beat Donegal, but I do think it would take a complacent, flat performance from Donegal in order for this to happen. Monaghan's ambush of us in 2013 springs to mind.

What gives me confidence from a Donegal perspective is:

1. That Murphy is back in imperial form... (though his place kicking was a bit off against Tyrone)
2. That we have so many options upfront if one or two guys have a bad game.

Jamie Brennan has been our outstanding player so far - but there's more to come from McBrearty, Gallen could have an impact, and McGee, Langan, Thompson and O'Donnell are improving all the while.

We probably won't be able to win our kick outs as easy the next day... But our midfield will take big confidence from that the way they lorded over Tyrone too.

Our defence is still a bit of a worry and Cavan could make hay from high balls into square. We invited Tyrone on a bit too much when we should have had them out of sight on Saturday. Cavan are also able to kick some great points from distance.

I wonder will Cavan switch to a more defensive approach against us for the final and play more of a percentage game than against Armagh.

And I wonder if we will soak up what they've got for the first 15-20 minutes to try to kill their momentum.

Ulster finals are rarely classics.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 10/06/2019 12:05:24    2192770

Hard to see anything other than a Donegal win but it Cavan can couple their hunger with the same composure shown yesterday could spring a surprise. Great to see them back in a final after so many years and would be unreal to see them go on and win it!

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 10/06/2019 12:06:48    2192772

Cavan have the manager for the big day and will win this one. Best of luck

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 10/06/2019 12:07:09    2192773

Be fantastic to see cavan win this. What a season it would be for Graham.

If they get a handle on Murphy and dont allow him the freedom of the park like he was kindly given on Saturday night I see cavan taking it. Moynagh could handle paddy mcbrearty also.

I think cavan know slightly more about themselves than donegal do at this stage. Cavan have toughed it out v Monaghan and saw off an ever improving armagh team after a replay. They are a dogged bunch but have a good amount of real quality thrown in there too (galligan/moynagh/mc veety/mckernan/mackey) Donegal have had two facile victories which they wont have learnt a lot from. The donegal lads will say there have been no facile victories but their result in either game was never really in doubt.

In a totally unrelated matter- it was superb to see the passion of Mackey pumping his fists after his score last night. You could see what it meant to him. He is a true legend. I'd love to see our own lads give our own legend (niall mc) a platform (via an extended qualifier run/ super 8 appearance) to showcase his talent and get the recognition he deserves on the national stage.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 10/06/2019 12:34:27    2192797

Also, I wonder if Tom Smith will be there.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 10/06/2019 12:40:23    2192806

Would love to see Cavan win

No offense to Donegal who I would have an awful lot of time for.

Some excellent footballers who I would put right up there

Donegal could go far regardless of the result

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/06/2019 12:44:02    2192807

Replying To cavanman47:  "But let me guess. . . Tyrone will put their "very off-day" behind them, appeal McCann's inevitable suspension, get through to the super 8s and beyond, reach the All Ireland final against Dublin where, unfortunately another "very off-day" will see them "just fall short" again."
Croke park or Clones, I know which one provides better half time refreshments. You probably don't.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 10/06/2019 12:52:41    2192813

On paper its a Donegal win, however the one think i'd say about Graham is that he will have a plan in mind. Even against Armagh he had to change it a couple of times and the team seem capable of adapting. The other thing is that there is a mental toughness to these guy that i havent seen in a long time which saw of Monaghan and up a gear against Armagh when needed.

As for a win..well its an Ulster final but at the same time i'd be quite realistic as Donegal will have their plans too.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 10/06/2019 12:55:57    2192817

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Be fantastic to see cavan win this. What a season it would be for Graham.

If they get a handle on Murphy and dont allow him the freedom of the park like he was kindly given on Saturday night I see cavan taking it. Moynagh could handle paddy mcbrearty also.

I think cavan know slightly more about themselves than donegal do at this stage. Cavan have toughed it out v Monaghan and saw off an ever improving armagh team after a replay. They are a dogged bunch but have a good amount of real quality thrown in there too (galligan/moynagh/mc veety/mckernan/mackey) Donegal have had two facile victories which they wont have learnt a lot from. The donegal lads will say there have been no facile victories but their result in either game was never really in doubt.

In a totally unrelated matter- it was superb to see the passion of Mackey pumping his fists after his score last night. You could see what it meant to him. He is a true legend. I'd love to see our own lads give our own legend (niall mc) a platform (via an extended qualifier run/ super 8 appearance) to showcase his talent and get the recognition he deserves on the national stage."
Moynagh isn't really a man-marker. I'd expect Faulkner to pick up McBrearty, and that would be a great battle too.

Agree re Niall McNamee - never got to showcase his unquestionable talent on the biggest stage. One of the best in the country for about a decade.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/06/2019 13:27:25    2192864

It promises to be a great occasion in Clones in two weeks time. I'd imagine Cavan will bring a big support on the day as will we. Without wanting to sound condescending or patronizing, the fact that Cavan haven't been in a provincial final since 2001 should mean that it'll be a massive occasion for them and rightly so. Ulster final day is a great day in the GAA calendar.

As for the game itself I think that if we can avoid complacency and match Cavan's work rate then we should have enough. The great thing is that even if Cavan were to nullify Murphy (and that's a big ask in itself) then there's still Jamie Brennan and Paddy McBrearty to worry about. Then you also have Eoghan Ban and Ryan McHugh's penetrating runs from deep. Ciaran Thompson, Niall O'Donnell & Michael Langan are also dangerous.

At the other end there's no doubt about it that Cavan have players like McVeety, O'Reilly, McKiernan, Mackey etc who will do damage if you let them. There will be some thinking to be done to see who matches up best with who.

All in all though, the experience that Donegal have gained over the years, plus the undoubted boost the Tyrone victory will have given them, should mean that we lift our 5th Ulster title this decade on June 23rd.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 10/06/2019 13:27:52    2192865

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Croke park or Clones, I know which one provides better half time refreshments. You probably don't."
Ye will be drinking no overpriced pints at HQ this year!

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 10/06/2019 13:35:47    2192874

Donegal for me in this one but they won't have it all their own way.

I think it will be a great final though. Pains me to admit but Cavan are a nice team to watch. Their game yesterday was refreshing after watching us play Fermanagh.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 10/06/2019 13:38:12    2192877