Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "In reply to the posters who replied to me...

It's my experience that the second generation Dubs have less of a grá for their adopted county, don't make it.

Whereas your much more likely to have say the son of a prison officer from a country county play club and county.

Now the fault lies on both sides. We have to make our clubs appealing to second generation Dubs. Sometimes, especially in the countryside clubs can be clanish.. that brings bad and good."
Maybe your right but maybe the Dublin people who move in just aren't into gaa, country people still don't get that there's massive parts of Dublin who've zero interest in Gaa, my mates who've no interest slag it off they call it "bog ball" or "stick wars".

From what I've heard yes the kids of Dublin parents support Dublin (mostly) but if their good enough they'll play for the county of their birth. The Wallace brothers from Meath are from Dub parents the Hurley brothers from Kildare their mother is from the boot rd in Clondalkin just beside the green isle, there's loads more examples of this , Hugh Mcgrillan's family are from Clondalkin.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2019 13:32:56    2193918

Replying To southmeathgael:  "People can say and think what they like, but meath cannot and will not win this game......the gulf in class is just too much for pride passion and even a bit of luck to make up the gap. I'm not happy about this but I'm realistic, and as long as we don't roll over and get our bellies tickled and throw in some hard hits, don't let them have it all their own way I'll be happy.... but i can see the scoreline being not a million miles away from the kildare Dublin games Sunday. 1 20 to 13 or 14 points would be my prediction"
I take it you won't be going so ?

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/06/2019 13:57:34    2193933

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Meath and Kildare no matter how much they give out about Dublin should with their population's and how mad gaa counties they are be way better than they are right now."
When Derry and Donegal were beating Dublin in 92 93 no one was saying look Derry Dublin. When Laois or Westmeath were beating Dublin in 03 04 no one was saying look at Westmeath or look at Fermanagh when they reached semi final. When Dublin in mid 00s were looking for GAA support GAA in general where supportive. People realised not reaching 1 All Ireland final in 14 years was multi layered and complicated.

When u say Meath and kildare sud do well.what about Wicklow. If population was so easy explain Wicklow..How can county with big population wealthy closeness to Dublin strong gaa clubs and yet be possibly the least sucessful inter county after kilkenny footballers. Wicklow. What about Antrim football. I know half the population wouldnt support. But strong nationalist community great gaa club the city of belfast no Ulster titles in over 70 years. Limerick football and even hurling. What kildare who disappeared from top of football table for 50 year what about Dublin for 80 years. What about Dublin for near a century with all.it resources and population underachieved in 1930s 1940s 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s and 00s..Look at kerry and Dublin.

In the 1930s Kerry won 5 Alls Irelands Dublin won 0 All Irelands
In the 1940s kerry won 3 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 1950s kerry won 3 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 1980s Kerry won 5 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 00s kerry won 5 All Irelands Dublin won 0 All Irelands.

The answer is complcated and multi layered why Dublin underachieved with their resouces and population for 80 years. The same way why Wicklow or Antrim population gurantees nothing and the reasons are multi layered and complicated. The same way Meath and kildare population growth , they sud be doing better , but the question is why ? And the answer its multi layered and very very complicated. TheDubs sud know that more then any other county. As for 80 years they were the county with population that sud have doing better. But it was recognised outside Dublin that the reasons where multi layered and complicated and not easily sorted out.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/06/2019 14:34:58    2193962

Replying To Furlong1949:  "When Derry and Donegal were beating Dublin in 92 93 no one was saying look Derry Dublin. When Laois or Westmeath were beating Dublin in 03 04 no one was saying look at Westmeath or look at Fermanagh when they reached semi final. When Dublin in mid 00s were looking for GAA support GAA in general where supportive. People realised not reaching 1 All Ireland final in 14 years was multi layered and complicated.

When u say Meath and kildare sud do well.what about Wicklow. If population was so easy explain Wicklow..How can county with big population wealthy closeness to Dublin strong gaa clubs and yet be possibly the least sucessful inter county after kilkenny footballers. Wicklow. What about Antrim football. I know half the population wouldnt support. But strong nationalist community great gaa club the city of belfast no Ulster titles in over 70 years. Limerick football and even hurling. What kildare who disappeared from top of football table for 50 year what about Dublin for 80 years. What about Dublin for near a century with all.it resources and population underachieved in 1930s 1940s 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s and 00s..Look at kerry and Dublin.

In the 1930s Kerry won 5 Alls Irelands Dublin won 0 All Irelands
In the 1940s kerry won 3 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 1950s kerry won 3 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 1980s Kerry won 5 All Irelands Dublin won 1 All Ireland
In the 00s kerry won 5 All Irelands Dublin won 0 All Irelands.

The answer is complcated and multi layered why Dublin underachieved with their resouces and population for 80 years. The same way why Wicklow or Antrim population gurantees nothing and the reasons are multi layered and complicated. The same way Meath and kildare population growth , they sud be doing better , but the question is why ? And the answer its multi layered and very very complicated. TheDubs sud know that more then any other county. As for 80 years they were the county with population that sud have doing better. But it was recognised outside Dublin that the reasons where multi layered and complicated and not easily sorted out."
Yes we've underachieved but we've always been good , Kildare and Meath are brutal for years now their making zero impact on the championship for far too long now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2019 15:12:15    2193976

U have always been good . Clondalkin.

From 1890s to 1954 Dublin footballers werent much good as 80 to 90% % of Dublin teams were made up of lads from kerry Cavan Mayo. Well up to 1940s u had a pic of the best country lads u won 15 All Irelands with kerry Cavan longford men. Dublin couldn't win All Irelands until 1958 with Dublin men. Dublin footballers from 1900 to 1954 were not very good.

1947 to 1954 no leinster titles not even in the top 3 in leinster a div 2 county. Dublin far from good.

1964 to 1973 10 years no leinster title a Division 3 county not even reaching leinster finals losing to longford kildare everyone in leinster..Dublin far from good.

1996 to 2010 failing to reach an All Ireland final
as Meath kildare Galway Mayo Tyrone Armagh Kerry Cork all played in All Ireland finals in that period. Dublin were none as chokers who choked annually in big matchs in Croker eg Meath 91 , Donegal 92 , Derry 93 , Down 95 , Meath 96 , Kildare 00 and 98 , Laois 03 , Westmeath 04 , Tyrone 05 08 , kerry 09 and Meath 10. All big games Dublin were hyped and failed to live up to the hype.

1996 to 2004 Dublin in 8 years won 1 leinster title in 8 years.
Dublin knocked out of championship and beaten by Meath in 96 97. No leinsters in 96 97
Dublin knocked out of championship and beaten by kildare in 98. No leinster in 98
Dublin knocked out of the championship and beaten Meath 99..No leinster in 99
Dublin knocked out of the championship and beaten by kildare 00. No leinster in 00.
Dublin knocked out of leinater championship and beaten Meath 01. No leinster in 01
Dublin knocked out of leinster championship and beaten by laois in 2003..No leinster in 03.
Dublin knocked out of leinster championship and beaten by Westmeath in 2004 ..No leinster in 04.

Dublin underachieved for 80 years that qa fact. Dublin were not always good. Periods Dublin were not very good
1 Dublin were not good from 1890s to 1940s ( Not Dublin players playing for Dublin ) ,
2 1947 to 1954 ( 0 leinster titles in 7 years)
3 1964 to 1973 ( 0 leinster titles in 9 years)
4 1996 to 2004 ( 1 leinster title in 8 years)
5 No All Ireland final appearance for 14 years ( 96 to 00)
Again Dublin underachieved on a grand scale for 80 years. Thats a fact.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/06/2019 16:06:33    2194002

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Maybe your right but maybe the Dublin people who move in just aren't into gaa, country people still don't get that there's massive parts of Dublin who've zero interest in Gaa, my mates who've no interest slag it off they call it "bog ball" or "stick wars".

From what I've heard yes the kids of Dublin parents support Dublin (mostly) but if their good enough they'll play for the county of their birth. The Wallace brothers from Meath are from Dub parents the Hurley brothers from Kildare their mother is from the boot rd in Clondalkin just beside the green isle, there's loads more examples of this , Hugh Mcgrillan's family are from Clondalkin."
That's it in a nutshell, a lot aren't into GAA and are therefore making the population in Kildare, Meath, Laois etc look more impressive than they are.

The Dubs have gained more from country people moving there in terms of county GAA players, Ciaran Kilkenny's illustrious grandfather Sean Purcell, Brian Fenton country roots, Mossy Quinn related to the Delaneys of Stradbally, Laois. Ger Brennan's father one of the Brennan's of St. Joseph's Laois. Just off the top of my head.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 12/06/2019 16:19:41    2194009

I think I'll just bulldoze through all this bu!! s#! t and simplify this game, im fed up with Meath supporters going on about not fearing Dublin about how youse always put it up to Dublin etc. etc. etc., the bottom line is, the 80s and 90s and early noughties are no longer, apart from a little hiccup in 2010 Dublin have had the measure of Meath,this Dublin don't fear Meath anymore and haven't done for a long tíme and you can go on with all that macho bu!! but I fear this Dublin team just see Meath as a very very minor inconvenience along the way to the 5 in a row they won't be giving you much thought, you're way down the list of counties that Dublin would be wary of, i don't mean this post to be derogatory in anyway towards this Meath team or their supporters i just have to say it as i see it!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 12/06/2019 16:44:35    2194019

Replying To Furlong1949:  "U have always been good . Clondalkin.

From 1890s to 1954 Dublin footballers werent much good as 80 to 90% % of Dublin teams were made up of lads from kerry Cavan Mayo. Well up to 1940s u had a pic of the best country lads u won 15 All Irelands with kerry Cavan longford men. Dublin couldn't win All Irelands until 1958 with Dublin men. Dublin footballers from 1900 to 1954 were not very good.

1947 to 1954 no leinster titles not even in the top 3 in leinster a div 2 county. Dublin far from good.

1964 to 1973 10 years no leinster title a Division 3 county not even reaching leinster finals losing to longford kildare everyone in leinster..Dublin far from good.

1996 to 2010 failing to reach an All Ireland final
as Meath kildare Galway Mayo Tyrone Armagh Kerry Cork all played in All Ireland finals in that period. Dublin were none as chokers who choked annually in big matchs in Croker eg Meath 91 , Donegal 92 , Derry 93 , Down 95 , Meath 96 , Kildare 00 and 98 , Laois 03 , Westmeath 04 , Tyrone 05 08 , kerry 09 and Meath 10. All big games Dublin were hyped and failed to live up to the hype.

1996 to 2004 Dublin in 8 years won 1 leinster title in 8 years.
Dublin knocked out of championship and beaten by Meath in 96 97. No leinsters in 96 97
Dublin knocked out of championship and beaten by kildare in 98. No leinster in 98
Dublin knocked out of the championship and beaten Meath 99..No leinster in 99
Dublin knocked out of the championship and beaten by kildare 00. No leinster in 00.
Dublin knocked out of leinater championship and beaten Meath 01. No leinster in 01
Dublin knocked out of leinster championship and beaten by laois in 2003..No leinster in 03.
Dublin knocked out of leinster championship and beaten by Westmeath in 2004 ..No leinster in 04.

Dublin underachieved for 80 years that qa fact. Dublin were not always good. Periods Dublin were not very good
1 Dublin were not good from 1890s to 1940s ( Not Dublin players playing for Dublin ) ,
2 1947 to 1954 ( 0 leinster titles in 7 years)
3 1964 to 1973 ( 0 leinster titles in 9 years)
4 1996 to 2004 ( 1 leinster title in 8 years)
5 No All Ireland final appearance for 14 years ( 96 to 00)
Again Dublin underachieved on a grand scale for 80 years. Thats a fact."
Ah here the 40's n 50's ok you have me, I'm on about the last 20 years mainly we're kildare n Meath have been beaten by Carlow Longford Westmeath limerick etc shocking from both counties, but Dublin have always been good not great but good we're more or less been beaten over the years by the best teams in Ireland at the time apart from 03 04 , from 74 onwards we've always had teams that could challenge, granted we got a few hiding's (who doesn't) but we've never been as bad as Kildare n Meath have been.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2019 16:55:11    2194023

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "That's it in a nutshell, a lot aren't into GAA and are therefore making the population in Kildare, Meath, Laois etc look more impressive than they are.

The Dubs have gained more from country people moving there in terms of county GAA players, Ciaran Kilkenny's illustrious grandfather Sean Purcell, Brian Fenton country roots, Mossy Quinn related to the Delaneys of Stradbally, Laois. Ger Brennan's father one of the Brennan's of St. Joseph's Laois. Just off the top of my head."
Shane McGowan lived his childhood in Pukane Co Tipperary.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 12/06/2019 17:17:01    2194033

Replying To summerof09:  "Shane McGowan lived his childhood in Pukane Co Tipperary."
Yeah but he'll never get a game with Dublin!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 12/06/2019 17:45:42    2194053

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Yeah but he'll never get a game with Dublin!"
He wouldn't look out of place on Hill 16 though ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/06/2019 18:16:43    2194066

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "That's it in a nutshell, a lot aren't into GAA and are therefore making the population in Kildare, Meath, Laois etc look more impressive than they are.

The Dubs have gained more from country people moving there in terms of county GAA players, Ciaran Kilkenny's illustrious grandfather Sean Purcell, Brian Fenton country roots, Mossy Quinn related to the Delaneys of Stradbally, Laois. Ger Brennan's father one of the Brennan's of St. Joseph's Laois. Just off the top of my head."
Allso paddy Christie whos father won an all ireland for meath, Dean rock who grow up in meath are the two most recent dublin players with meath blood in them.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/06/2019 18:18:41    2194067

Ger Brennan's dad is not a Brennan for St Joseph's in Laois.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2019 18:18:57    2194068

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah here the 40's n 50's ok you have me, I'm on about the last 20 years mainly we're kildare n Meath have been beaten by Carlow Longford Westmeath limerick etc shocking from both counties, but Dublin have always been good not great but good we're more or less been beaten over the years by the best teams in Ireland at the time apart from 03 04 , from 74 onwards we've always had teams that could challenge, granted we got a few hiding's (who doesn't) but we've never been as bad as Kildare n Meath have been."
Dublin have always been hard to beat in fairness, anytime meath bet dublin in the last fourty years it was always hard earned.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/06/2019 18:23:08    2194069

Terrible news today that the GAA is set to continue with these provincial finals in Leinster, very disappointing, very myopic

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 12/06/2019 18:59:08    2194087

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Allso paddy Christie whos father won an all ireland for meath, Dean rock who grow up in meath are the two most recent dublin players with meath blood in them."
Dean Rock, Meath blood, eh........!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/06/2019 19:08:35    2194098

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dean Rock, Meath blood, eh........!"
Even doh he's said a million times he grew up on the Dublin side of the border up near Ashbourne.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/06/2019 19:26:29    2194107

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Terrible news today that the GAA is set to continue with these provincial finals in Leinster, very disappointing, very myopic"
You could have just said short-sighted in fairness.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/06/2019 19:28:31    2194111

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Even doh he's said a million times he grew up on the Dublin side of the border up near Ashbourne."
Everyone I know from that area and know it well say he's from ashbourne county meath, Barney moved there with his dublin parents to ashbourne when he was a child apparently.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/06/2019 19:58:09    2194127

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ger Brennan's dad is not a Brennan for St Joseph's in Laois."
This will be easy. He is. Why would he present juvenile medals there most years?

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 12/06/2019 20:31:44    2194138