Kerry V Cork

Happy days if Shane Ryan is the best option

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 13:08:06    2198926

Unlucky cork you nearly ambushed kerry. Shame its another close call though because kerry will likely be better prepared next year and will win by a bigger margin. Munster and leinster are crying out for a new winner.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 13:09:51    2198928

Replying To woops:  "Shane Ryan is a forward for his club. He made a host of errors in the league but only got found out in the league final...made a replica mistake tonight.
Unfortunately our number 2 Kelly is not up to it either and Shane Murphy our best option left the panel as he was told he would have to settle for no3 this year.

Midfield we are in big trouble...Jack barry still living off his league final performance against the Dubs from 2018.

Paul Geaney also struggling for form like he has for the last few seasons.

Kerry backline all good individually going forward....but cant defend any one running at the.
We are seriously well short of beating yhe Dubs or Mayo/Donegal for that matter unless there are some serious lessons learnt.

Cork put it up to Kerry and showed great spirit but the closeness of the result in my opinion was down to Kerry being abysmal at the back."
Paul Murphy is a fantastic player as is Tom O' Sullivan and Gavin White. David Moran is a collosas at midfield and The likes of Clifford and A fit JOD are brilliant forwards, True P. Geaney has not hit the heights recently but he is still an awesome player as is Sean O' Sé. Yous have so much strength on the bench though. you can make 7 or 8 changes to that team and still beat most counties. I mean Peter Crowley, Marc Griffin, Fionn Fitzgerald, Shane Enright, Killian Young. You could virtually have a whole new set of backs.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 23/06/2019 13:16:40    2198930

Cork would have won only for the ref. GAA need to investigate the ref

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 23/06/2019 13:44:05    2198946

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "A massive performance from Anthony Nolan in both halves got Kerry over the line."
Exactly what the GAA & the TV rights companies want, a Kerry Dublin All Ireland final, we could see Anthony playing a role that day.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/06/2019 13:50:26    2198949

18000 in the multi million ( not sure of the total figure, as the GAA don't know either) redeveloped PUC for a Munster final, paltry crowd & one of the lowest in decades. Begs the question of who is in charge of overall capital projects within the GAA when they can't even start Casement Park or Walsh Park, in the real world they would be fired. The Ard Stiurothoir as CEO must take responsibility as he heads the organisation regardless of whether it's a County or Provincial Council project. Antrim having to play in Corrigan Park whilst the ragwort grows on the Casement Park pitch. Casement Park was functioning, it should have been kept going till planning & funding was finalised.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/06/2019 14:03:32    2198955

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't think the ref was as bad as people are making out. Missed one black card for Kerry and blew the Cork goalie for taking too long, correctly imo, but let the Kerry goalie take similar time.

Apart from that I thought a lot of the 'soft Kerry frees' were correctly judged. Cork backs were a little too aggressive. They really should have realised early what the ref was looking for, Kerry did."
Cork were poor in large parts

It says it all about Kerry's own performance

Cork scored 3 but could easily had 6

Cork were in it because of Kerry's ineptitude

Sorry if that sounds unfair on Cork but they showed in many aspects of their play that they were a Div 3 side but it was still good enough to make Kerry look poor

Odd game and I think Kerry made Cork look far better than they are at the moment

Kerry must improve, I think they will but it won't be enough.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 14:26:26    2198965

Replying To jimbodub:  "Cork were poor in large parts

It says it all about Kerry's own performance

Cork scored 3 but could easily had 6

Cork were in it because of Kerry's ineptitude

Sorry if that sounds unfair on Cork but they showed in many aspects of their play that they were a Div 3 side but it was still good enough to make Kerry look poor

Odd game and I think Kerry made Cork look far better than they are at the moment

Kerry must improve, I think they will but it won't be enough."
Jaysus the wi-fi in Croker must be excellent, so many posts about Kerry on a Dublin match day :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/06/2019 16:07:39    2199015

Great performance lads, let's hope it's onwards and upwards from here on, but I wouldn't bet on it

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 23/06/2019 16:39:25    2199037

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jaysus the wi-fi in Croker must be excellent, so many posts about Kerry on a Dublin match day :D"
It's nice that some dubs fans are so worried about the welfare of Kerry football that they're posting while at a Leinster final.

Or maybe they're not at the Leinster final at all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2019 17:30:23    2199101

Haha

You get great mileage out if that one joke hermit don't you.

I posted 2.5 hours before Dubs match at home. Decided not to show up 2.5 hours early to stand in the rain by myself.

Attack the poster aye.. my post must have cut a wee bit to close to the bone :)

I'm not surprised given the nature of such an inept performance by Kerry.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2019 20:25:18    2199335

Replying To jimbodub:  "Haha

I posted 2.5 hours before Dubs match at home. Decided not to show up 2.5 hours early to stand in the rain by myself.

I'm not surprised given the nature of such an inept performance by Kerry."
Jimbo, Shane Ryan is a young lad, Stephen Cluxton wasn't the player he is now when he first played for Dublin.
Shane will make mistakes as did Cluxton who was years playing before he won Sam.
Kerry were poor last night but we are still there in the super 8s and will hopefully improve.
I can see Donegal topping that Group and hopefully we'd take second place .. Dublin Kerry Semi final anyone.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/06/2019 21:15:55    2199401

Replying To westkerry:  "Jimbo, Shane Ryan is a young lad, Stephen Cluxton wasn't the player he is now when he first played for Dublin.
Shane will make mistakes as did Cluxton who was years playing before he won Sam.
Kerry were poor last night but we are still there in the super 8s and will hopefully improve.
I can see Donegal topping that Group and hopefully we'd take second place .. Dublin Kerry Semi final anyone."
True westkerry, show me a top class keeper that didn't make a few mistakes coming through, Cluxton is a good example. Shane will be a top keeper once he get ms experience under his belt and there is only one way to get that.

I'm liking this Donegal team at the moment too but I won't be crowning them top of the group just yet Cavan got plenty of scores yesterday and if Kerry get sharper and get some issues sorted it's a 50/50. We could also end up with two of Tyrone, Mayo and Galway in the group and then it's a group of death scenario where it's a toss up and two big teams have to miss out.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/06/2019 22:45:53    2199507

Replying To jimbodub:  "Haha

I'm not surprised given the nature of such an inept performance by Kerry."
Kerry must improve, I think they will but it won't be enough.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 19116 - 23/06/2019 14:26:26

If you posted 2.5 hours before Dublin match then that means it kicked off at 5pm lol. Did you arrive only for the 2nd half so?

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 23/06/2019 22:46:42    2199508

Replying To westkerry:  "Jimbo, Shane Ryan is a young lad, Stephen Cluxton wasn't the player he is now when he first played for Dublin.
I can see Donegal topping that Group and hopefully we'd take second place .. Dublin Kerry Semi final anyone."
Ya westkerry remember the big mistake clux made against ourselves in the 07 semifinal, he cost the dubs the game that day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2019 23:15:37    2199528

BTW, did Clifford foul the ball when he made that 'little hand pass to himself' as another poster put it? Not unlike the Callanan goal incident in Tipp v Limerick.
Also, I have to point out to GeniusGerry that his faith in Jack Barry seems to have been misplaced and I repeat my view that the Tommy Walsh league 'experiment' was always doomed to fail.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 24/06/2019 12:34:13    2199830

Replying To Aibrean:  "BTW, did Clifford foul the ball when he made that 'little hand pass to himself' as another poster put it? Not unlike the Callanan goal incident in Tipp v Limerick.
Also, I have to point out to GeniusGerry that his faith in Jack Barry seems to have been misplaced and I repeat my view that the Tommy Walsh league 'experiment' was always doomed to fail."
Id have to point out if you are going to claim to be kerry supporter you should try a little harder..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/06/2019 12:48:09    2199846

Replying To PyatPree:  "Great performance lads, let's hope it's onwards and upwards from here on, but I wouldn't bet on it"
Confidence is what this team needs...and the Kerry game will stand to them,going forward The players are there and Ruairi Deane is now a top class forward. Roll on with the qualifiers and we will not fear anyone

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 24/06/2019 14:00:39    2199922

Replying To Aibrean:  "BTW, did Clifford foul the ball when he made that 'little hand pass to himself' as another poster put it? Not unlike the Callanan goal incident in Tipp v Limerick.
Also, I have to point out to GeniusGerry that his faith in Jack Barry seems to have been misplaced and I repeat my view that the Tommy Walsh league 'experiment' was always doomed to fail."
Jack was clearly not fit to play Saturday Aibrean, hence his early substitution. He does need to improve all around I do agree, but he is still the best we have. I think calls to drop him are understandable until you look at the alternatives, it almost seems like spite from some quarters (not referring to anybody in particular on here). We love knocking our own players in kerry

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/06/2019 16:36:06    2200040

Fair play to Cork made it a great battle in the end love their number 7 , Kerry were still very good imo Clifford is class I'm going to repeat what I said last year but if Kerry get Geaney and O Donoghue back to their best Kerry can beat anyone.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2019 20:50:11    2200258