Stephen Cluxton 100

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Ok Cluxton has 9 games. This year. But at least 4 maybe 5 will be uncompetitive games. Dublin before super 8 would have played 6 games to win Sam. The leinster q final leinster semi final and leinster final were uncompetitive games for last 5 years that Dublin won in second gear by an average of 15 points a game. They were challenge games at best. Cluxton could have played leinster championship blindfolded for last 5 years after he did every kickout , put on a blindfold and Dublin still would have won by 10 points. The last 5 years has been the most uncompetitive leinster championship in 140 years. We have never seen anything like the uncompetitiveness in leinster as we have seen in the last few years. Dublin have not faced consitent div 1 opposition in leinster in 17 years. At the end of 90s there was 4 top division 1 teams in leinster. For most of this decade in leinster , most team in leinster have been in div 3 and div 4. So for most seasons Cluxton has had 3 competitive games a year. The same number O Keefe wud have had in 30s and 40s. This year more then likely Cluxton will have maybe 4 competitive games. He might play 5. But already his team won with their first game , for most of the game with 14 men by 20 plus points.

Yes Cluxton might play more games in 1 season then O Keefe. But in terms of competitive games he probaly played the exact number O Keefe did in 1 season. Prior to Super 8 the quater finals in last 5 years , has been at best challenge games for Dublin. Dublin dont have to break a sweat til August evety year. 3 or 4 games every year in leinster for Dublin have been a joke. So its not comparable to say O Keefe had only 3 games a year when Cluxton only has really 3 games a year that are actual games in terms of competitiveness . The leinster q final semi final and final every year in the last 5 years have been consistently the most uncompetitive championships in gaa history. Kerry always had Cork. Cork in every year up to recently Cork for 80 years in every year where in the top 5 or 6 teams in the country. Dublin have not faced a top 5 or 6 team in the country in leinster since 2001 , 18 years ago. Yes it is hard to compare.

But what we can say a goalkeeper on team of the century, on the team of Milleniun, played til he was 41 at intercounty. Was the first player ever to win 7 All Irelands. Holds the record for most Munster titles eg 13 titles. Playing inter county for 17 years. And was the first truly great gaa goalkeeper of and also revolutionised goalkeeping in his era. U have to consider O Keefe when ur talking about the greatest ever.

Pele played in the Brazil league in 1960s , little tv footage. How competitive or good was Brazil league in 1960s. How good really was Pele. We have seen every single second of Messis career. A poll recently a masive worldwide poll asked who was the greatest soccer player ever. The landslide winner was not Messi it was Pele. Greatest can be measured in many ways. Percentages can show many things. But greatness is remebered and measured in many ways. In any sort of anaylsis when you talk about the greateat goalkeeper ever of course Stephen Cluxton has to be considered. But u must also consider Dan O keefe. His record and achievements deserve to be considered and mentioned also."
Oh I've no beef with O Keefe, not do I won't dumb down his achievements, I'm sure he had a brilliant career in context, nor am I critising him or your opinion, I don't share it or the reasons you brilliantly describe. Nor am I hear to defend Cluxton I think his record speaks for itself in a modern context, and I believe if you have to argue about being great. Your probably not.

I was just pointing out that these debates are ultimately flawed given different contexts, that everyone will have a subjective opinion on.

Personally speaking I've my own mind made up and I'm pretty concrete on it! I'm not to worried about being right or wrong on it or worry to much if it's nationally accepted.

Everyone will have a different opinion, it's impossible to prove because of different contexts, adversity stats and numbers throughout the history of the game and we could have 3000 different top tens, from every poster on here. Your posts are great to read as always though.

There are probably some brilliant goalkeepers that never won an All Ireland, but many and probably form their own county would believe they are in with a shout in any conversation.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2019 19:12:36    2191260

I do enjoy top ten greatest lists from everything to top ten greateat guitarist to top ten sportsmen. I do believe u can compare and can say one player from era from another is greater to another. Its very common to do in all sports. It very hard to be definate. People will have different opionions. But if u ask who is greatest hurler certain names will keep coming up come up eg Ring Mackey Meagher Shefflin Doyle Keher . Iike if u ask who is greatest hurler Christy Ring will be most common answer yet most people never saw him play and there is little or any footage of him in his pomp. It will be always asked who is best out half in rugby , who is best quater back in.American football. I do think u can compare and contrast .

Regards Cluxton I have said how great he is. He will go down as one of the greats in football terms and will be seen in most people's books as the greatest goalkeeper ever. Which there is a strong case he is. My point there is other contenders and really the decision would be Stephen Cluxton or Dan O Keefe. But then you will meet people that will say it is Martin Furlong others will say Billy Morgan..Many who saw Johnny Geraghty will say he is the best. Its a fascinating discussion.

One thing u can say is Dublin have a great tradition of goalkeeper's going back to Johnny McDonnell in 1920s. In the last 45 years Dublin have been blessed with 3 All time great goalies in Paddy Cullen John O Leary and Stephen Cluxton. Whoever takes over from Cluxton has big shoes to fill and a great tradition goalkeeper's to follow.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 06/06/2019 20:33:49    2191275

Replying To clondalkindub:  "It's an unbelievable achievement Jackeen he's a credit to the game and to Dublin I hope he knows how much he's loved by all Dubs and respected. If anything good comes from it it's that Dan O Keefe from the 40's is better ha.

I promise this is my last post on this."
And winning 7 All-Irelands isn't one? Do you actually read the things you post?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 06/06/2019 20:41:32    2191280

Might as well get in a few more dublin appreciation threads in while ye are at it. Fenton will be next when he runs the most miles in a match or Kilkenny with the record hand passes in a game. Dublin have enough to be happy about going for 5 in a row, no need for nonsense threads like this.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 06/06/2019 22:14:13    2191313

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I do enjoy top ten greatest lists from everything to top ten greateat guitarist to top ten sportsmen. I do believe u can compare and can say one player from era from another is greater to another. Its very common to do in all sports. It very hard to be definate. People will have different opionions. But if u ask who is greatest hurler certain names will keep coming up come up eg Ring Mackey Meagher Shefflin Doyle Keher . Iike if u ask who is greatest hurler Christy Ring will be most common answer yet most people never saw him play and there is little or any footage of him in his pomp. It will be always asked who is best out half in rugby , who is best quater back in.American football. I do think u can compare and contrast .

Regards Cluxton I have said how great he is. He will go down as one of the greats in football terms and will be seen in most people's books as the greatest goalkeeper ever. Which there is a strong case he is. My point there is other contenders and really the decision would be Stephen Cluxton or Dan O Keefe. But then you will meet people that will say it is Martin Furlong others will say Billy Morgan..Many who saw Johnny Geraghty will say he is the best. Its a fascinating discussion.

One thing u can say is Dublin have a great tradition of goalkeeper's going back to Johnny McDonnell in 1920s. In the last 45 years Dublin have been blessed with 3 All time great goalies in Paddy Cullen John O Leary and Stephen Cluxton. Whoever takes over from Cluxton has big shoes to fill and a great tradition goalkeeper's to follow."
Ah I wasn't having a go a chara, nor having a go at O Keefe or proclaiming Cluxton the greatest, I'm not top of the pops down the South West at the mo! ;)

Just that stat caught my eye and my thinking just spiraled, you know I enjoy your posts and you can tell I read thouraghly the fact I picked up on it.

Greatness is an interesting concept but a subjective one. It might mean medals won, it might be longevity, it might mean adversity it's a very individual thing. But I'd be a big advocate of having the courage of your own opinion and conviction around it.

Stephen could win his 7th this year and that wouldn't mean he is great in my eyes. Why I think he is great is he emerged from 30 and more men, in the last minutes of All Ireland final, having never won an All Ireland, playing for a county that hadn't won one in 16 years, playing a team they hadn't beaten in the championship for decades, who were debatably one of the best teams of that era. You either stand up and be great or you fail. It takes greatness to execute that skill, under huge pressure as any player never mind a keeper. I consider Joe Canning a great player, he missed the carbon copy of that free in the hurling final last year. Cilian O Connor has done it a few times. Great players produce the greatest moments on the greatest occasions.

He's gone since we know to do so much more, but that marked him for me. Of course there are other great keepers, I think Beggen has taken it on a bit he's mastered Cluxtons skill but has added distance and power. But will probably never win the All Ireland no offense. Brody is excellent to.

Historically and this won't be popular amount my county men, I didn't really rate Paddy Cullen a good shot stopper on occasion, but was always shaky for me, right place at the right time. John O Leary was a good keeper, for me he regressed as he got older and stayed on to try and live the dream for to long. Don't get me wrong I've huge respect for both, but both were no where near Cluxtons class or diverse skill set, something he's worked hard on. I rate young Comerford coming through highly, I think we will have a very skillful almost like for like replacement Stephen, something he will grow into and when he gets his fling we will need to be patient. If we do one thing we'll its longevity of keepers.

Ha funny you should say Top 10 guitarists I went to see Mark Knoffner a few weeks back, he was at his peak before my time. But wow that man can make a guitar sing, I've seen some great ones live but he's hard bet.

You going to make Croker at the weekend a Chara?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2019 22:53:54    2191322

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Oh I've heard of him alright just couldn't remember if he was still playing or not and therein i rest my case, everyone knows Cluxton!"
Bizarre reply!

Yes everyone knows Cluxton because he gets to the later stages of the championship since he made his debut. You hardly expect Brody, 12 years his junior, who made his first Leinster final to be as well known?

Stephen Cluxton is probably the most vital cog in a great team but that doesn't make him the GOAT. And to the poster who opened the thread, if we didn't have about 10 Stephen Cluxton appreciation threads per year, he might have received a lot more kudos on here for reaching 100 championship appearances. It's like donor fatigue. Many are sick to the teeth of Dubs starting threads about him. Then the old adage self praise is no praise comes to mind too.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 06/06/2019 23:13:49    2191328

I am delighted for Steven Cluxton and will watch him come out for 100th championship appearance. It is an outstanding achievement. It reflects his character as much as his footballing skills.
Here in our house in Mayo, he is greatly admired.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 07/06/2019 00:10:52    2191337

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Might as well get in a few more dublin appreciation threads in while ye are at it. Fenton will be next when he runs the most miles in a match or Kilkenny with the record hand passes in a game. Dublin have enough to be happy about going for 5 in a row, no need for nonsense threads like this."
There's nothing nonsensical about highlighting a player making 100 championship appearances in a positive manner.

What's nonsensical is to get upset by it.

Take from that what you will and best of luck to Stephen with his performance.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2019 08:29:14    2191354

Replying To oneoff:  "And winning 7 All-Irelands isn't one? Do you actually read the things you post?"
I'd love to know what the four Dubs who disliked this comment disagree with?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 07/06/2019 09:15:37    2191357

Replying To oneoff:  "I'd love to know what the four Dubs who disliked this comment disagree with?"
Well in my case I red thumbed you as you are clearly not a new poster. I don't speak for my fellow Dublin posters seeing as you seem so sure all who disagree with you are Dubs. Try not to get too worked up over red thumbs though. Depending on where your from determines how many likes or dislikes you get. Watch how many I get! Its gas :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2019 11:33:53    2191397

Great achievement and congratulations to him. I don't know what his number will be when he retires but his record will probably stand for a long time.

I don't know if he is the greatest ever between the sticks but he is certainly very much in the conversation.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/06/2019 12:18:18    2191412

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Bizarre reply!

Yes everyone knows Cluxton because he gets to the later stages of the championship since he made his debut. You hardly expect Brody, 12 years his junior, who made his first Leinster final to be as well known?

Stephen Cluxton is probably the most vital cog in a great team but that doesn't make him the GOAT. And to the poster who opened the thread, if we didn't have about 10 Stephen Cluxton appreciation threads per year, he might have received a lot more kudos on here for reaching 100 championship appearances. It's like donor fatigue. Many are sick to the teeth of Dubs starting threads about him. Then the old adage self praise is no praise comes to mind too."
Bizarre reply!!!!!!!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 07/06/2019 13:38:39    2191439

Stephen Cluxton has to be the greatest.

He is the single player with most threads dedicated to him.

Threads about him are the longest in pages

Threads about go on for days and weeks.

Therefore is the GOAT :)

And the real irony? The lad himself couldn't give a tupence hapenny want anyone thinks or says about him.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/06/2019 15:08:43    2191473

Replying To Jackeen:  "Well in my case I red thumbed you as you are clearly not a new poster. I don't speak for my fellow Dublin posters seeing as you seem so sure all who disagree with you are Dubs. Try not to get too worked up over red thumbs though. Depending on where your from determines how many likes or dislikes you get. Watch how many I get! Its gas :)"
Dubs outnumber other counties on here by a big margin. The poster is correct.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/06/2019 16:16:02    2191495

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Dubs outnumber other counties on here by a big margin. The poster is correct."
Correct about what?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2019 17:04:12    2191504

Replying To Jackeen:  "Correct about what?"
You reply to a dublin poster and you get lots of red thumbs, obviously from Dublin posters.

To say he isn't a new poster is still avoiding his question btw.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/06/2019 17:30:47    2191511

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "You reply to a dublin poster and you get lots of red thumbs, obviously from Dublin posters.

To say he isn't a new poster is still avoiding his question btw."
Yet you have 3 Kerry men on top of the green thumbs list by a considerable distance

???

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2019 21:08:59    2191552

Replying To Jackeen:  "Well in my case I red thumbed you as you are clearly not a new poster. I don't speak for my fellow Dublin posters seeing as you seem so sure all who disagree with you are Dubs. Try not to get too worked up over red thumbs though. Depending on where your from determines how many likes or dislikes you get. Watch how many I get! Its gas :)"
Never claimed to be a new poster? What does that have to do with anything? I posted saying i was a poster and why i stopped.

Does't really take a genius to figure out it was Dublin posters really. Could actually almost guess who they are also.

As someone else has said why no answer to the actual question?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 07/06/2019 21:17:11    2191557

Replying To oneoff:  "Never claimed to be a new poster? What does that have to do with anything? I posted saying i was a poster and why i stopped.

Does't really take a genius to figure out it was Dublin posters really. Could actually almost guess who they are also.

As someone else has said why no answer to the actual question?"
I'm not the OP you posed the question to. I told you why I red thumbed you. No biggie. When certain posters make up new accounts its fairly obvious and one can almost guess who you are:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2019 22:22:00    2191574

Replying To witnof:  "Stephen Cluxton has to be the greatest.

He is the single player with most threads dedicated to him.

Threads about him are the longest in pages

Threads about go on for days and weeks.

Therefore is the GOAT :)

And the real irony? The lad himself couldn't give a tupence hapenny want anyone thinks or says about him."
I was hoping someone would put a rational theory forward as to why he should be considered the greatest. And now you have. Thank God for that.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/06/2019 23:21:45    2191586