Puke Hurling

Replying To bloodyban:  "Wexford v Galway was junior hurling.. nobody got to see the rest of the games your talking about because the Munster Championship is the only Championship on TV ....whys that I wonder. Wait until the quarter finals when Dublin ,Wexford are knocked out ...at least Dublin will have a cut. Wexford probably wont even turn up like last year...
Today there were two average games in adverse conditions. Wait until its backing the big boy stadiums next week and ye can all sit back and relax"
Irratating to read your post and others from munster counties. If, as you say Galway V wexford was junior hurling ( ridiculous comment) then Waterford and Clare were junior B standard. Okay Tipp and Limerick looked good yesterday but its easy to look good when the opposition is appallingly dreadful. You lot always take the moral high ground and enjoy belittling leinster teams. Limerick could, and probably will end up as 1hit wonders. Wexford are not world beaters by any means but ourselves, Kilkenny, Galway or Dublin may survive longer in the championship than some arrogent self riotous so called experts believe.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 03/06/2019 10:20:13    2190094

Replying To wexico15:  "After 12 liam McCarthy championship games Dublin vs wexford has been the game of the championship, only topped by offaly vs antrim yesterday in joe mcdonagh, watched the full game it was great entertainment"
Doesnt say much tbh. I attended that match and as a neutral, thought it average fare.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 03/06/2019 11:47:19    2190124

Hillarious to read the Galway and Wexford boys giving out about munster hurling after the tripe they served up last week.
The hidings tipp and lim handed out yesterday is not an indictment on the munster championship but a statement of how strong it is, with two such quality teams and cork as well.
Tipp are scoring on average 3:18 from play per game. wexford will do well to do that in the whole year.
The only question left is which of tipp,lim or cork will win the AI....and I will go one further an predict an all munster AI final....what an occasion that will be......let play it in Thurles too and give leinster fans free admission.!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 03/06/2019 11:47:22    2190125

Replying To bloodyban:  "Wexford v Galway was junior hurling.. nobody got to see the rest of the games your talking about because the Munster Championship is the only Championship on TV ....whys that I wonder. Wait until the quarter finals when Dublin ,Wexford are knocked out ...at least Dublin will have a cut. Wexford probably wont even turn up like last year...
Today there were two average games in adverse conditions. Wait until its backing the big boy stadiums next week and ye can all sit back and relax"
Hope you are right. Worst Munster Championship in years. Nearly 1 team in every game so far playing like a junior 1.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 03/06/2019 11:50:45    2190126

Replying To PremierGold:  "Hillarious to read the Galway and Wexford boys giving out about munster hurling after the tripe they served up last week.
The hidings tipp and lim handed out yesterday is not an indictment on the munster championship but a statement of how strong it is, with two such quality teams and cork as well.
Tipp are scoring on average 3:18 from play per game. wexford will do well to do that in the whole year.
The only question left is which of tipp,lim or cork will win the AI....and I will go one further an predict an all munster AI final....what an occasion that will be......let play it in Thurles too and give leinster fans free admission.!!"
We will see. Hard to see anyone else getting out of Munster but I still wouldnt rule Clare out yet they have some great hurlers too. It will be interesting to see how Wexford will go in the AI series if we get there. There has been a visible change of emphasis this year with no real pass put on the league. You could see at the league matches that the players hadnt the work done as in the previous 2 years. And they are definitely looking fitter, sharper and fresher than last years round robin.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 03/06/2019 12:03:07    2190128

Maybe we need a few more tiers in hurling to stop the one sided fiasco's we had at the weekend. Why is John Horan not springing into print?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/06/2019 12:06:16    2190130

Replying To PremierGold:  "Hillarious to read the Galway and Wexford boys giving out about munster hurling after the tripe they served up last week.
The only question left is which of tipp,lim or cork will win the AI....and I will go one further an predict an all munster AI final....what an occasion that will be......let play it in Thurles too and give leinster fans free admission.!!"
Dreadful garbage from munster again. You lot are so full of it. Perhaps the best solution is for leinster teams to pull out of the championship right now and allow you to fight it out among yourselves. Then you wouldn't have to look at us mere mortals on the telly or live at matches around the country. The competition might be called the all munster Cup. It could be called the CristyRingMickMackeyJimmyDoyletrophy. Quite a mouthful you might say but easily swallowed by some big mouthed munster men like yourself who think they know it all.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 03/06/2019 13:13:35    2190154

If ye meet Kilkenny you could implode like in 2003, 2012, 2013, 2014 replay, last year's league final.

So what Tipp's underachievers are flying in June. No silverware handed out on the June Bank Hol Weekend in hurling.

12 of the 19 all Ireland's since 2000 have been won by Kilkenny and (Galway once). I wouldn't be too sure of yourselves. Wait till teams start to match Tipp's work rate and watch the free scoring shut down.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 03/06/2019 13:33:33    2190159

Replying To Blockandhook:  "Irratating to read your post and others from munster counties. If, as you say Galway V wexford was junior hurling ( ridiculous comment) then Waterford and Clare were junior B standard. Okay Tipp and Limerick looked good yesterday but its easy to look good when the opposition is appallingly dreadful. You lot always take the moral high ground and enjoy belittling leinster teams. Limerick could, and probably will end up as 1hit wonders. Wexford are not world beaters by any means but ourselves, Kilkenny, Galway or Dublin may survive longer in the championship than some arrogent self riotous so called experts believe."
Nobody is likely to ever call bloodyban an expert.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 03/06/2019 15:10:48    2190199

Your generosity to those Leinster fans-God bless them- is absolutely breathtaking

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/06/2019 16:00:41    2190221

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "If ye meet Kilkenny you could implode like in 2003, 2012, 2013, 2014 replay, last year's league final.

So what Tipp's underachievers are flying in June. No silverware handed out on the June Bank Hol Weekend in hurling.

12 of the 19 all Ireland's since 2000 have been won by Kilkenny and (Galway once). I wouldn't be too sure of yourselves. Wait till teams start to match Tipp's work rate and watch the free scoring shut down."
I'm always bemused by some Leinster peoples infatuation of KK...it's almost like ye support them more than your own counties at times

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/06/2019 16:17:45    2190226

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "If ye meet Kilkenny you could implode like in 2003, 2012, 2013, 2014 replay, last year's league final.

12 of the 19 all Ireland's since 2000 have been won by Kilkenny and (Galway once). I wouldn't be too sure of yourselves. Wait till teams start to match Tipp's work rate and watch the free scoring shut down."
I hate this Leinster/ Munster rubbish. If Tipp get knocked out I don't turn into a "Munster supporter". Likewise I wouldnt expect Limerick, Clare or Cork fans shouting for Tipp against Galway for example. It's a sad day if Offaly, Wexford or Laois fans are shouting for what should be their biggest rivals. We are in a new golden era for hurling similar to the 90's in one sense. We had Limerick, Galway, Tipp, KK x2 and Clare win the last 6 All Irelands.
You won't find too many Tipp supporters thinking we are going to win the All Ireland this year. We possibly have moved from the top 8 into the top 4 (at best) and nothing more than that.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/06/2019 16:41:51    2190230

Replying To Westfester:  "Nobody is likely to ever call bloodyban an expert."
My comments were directed at premier gold mostly and anyone else who may share his opinion.

Blockandhook (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 03/06/2019 19:47:58    2190294

Replying To tiobraid:  "I hate this Leinster/ Munster rubbish. If Tipp get knocked out I don't turn into a "Munster supporter". Likewise I wouldnt expect Limerick, Clare or Cork fans shouting for Tipp against Galway for example. It's a sad day if Offaly, Wexford or Laois fans are shouting for what should be their biggest rivals. We are in a new golden era for hurling similar to the 90's in one sense. We had Limerick, Galway, Tipp, KK x2 and Clare win the last 6 All Irelands.
You won't find too many Tipp supporters thinking we are going to win the All Ireland this year. We possibly have moved from the top 8 into the top 4 (at best) and nothing more than that."
Good point about the great competition for Liam in the last 6 years. And a realistic assessment of where Tipp are at. I dont think too many Wexford people support Kilkenny. They have always been the no. 1 rivals. Although Nicky Rackards schooling at St. Kierans sparked Wexfords revival in the late 40s after 2 and a half decades in the hurling wilderness. Certainly in my time watching the game since the last golden age of the 90s Id have been hoping whoever Kilkenny were playing in the AIF would beat them. Even Tipp. I watched the 2010 AIF in O Sullivans in Kilsheelan on the way home from Limerick with my fiancee, another wexford man and a waterford man. We were all shouting for Tipp.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 03/06/2019 20:45:35    2190316

Yes, and I'm no fan of Tipp, but who inflicted two of the three biggest defeats on KK that they got this century?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 04/06/2019 08:42:51    2190382

There is nothing more laugable than a county having to get another team to do their winning for them!
You wont find me shouting for Lim,Cork.Clare if Tipp are knocked out, and same vice versa, its called a proper rivalry which underpins the Munster Championship which is the bedrock on which the GAA was founded.

Also regarding KK,Pre-1997 and the back-door munster teams had to win an AI just to get out to the AI which KK had the turkey shoot that is Leinster. If KK were a munster team they would do well to have 15 AI's.

They have chucked Galway in there to make it somewhere competive (well they could'nt put them back in Munster, they were there before and were eaten without salt)

BTW Tipp have not started yet, bubbles got one point v clare, jason forde nothing from play still scored 3-21 but anyway your black and amber heroes might give you something to cheer about, but in reality if Tipp lose it will a Munster team who will do the damage, we'll see.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 04/06/2019 09:24:59    2190393

Replying To tiobraid:  "I hate this Leinster/ Munster rubbish. If Tipp get knocked out I don't turn into a "Munster supporter". Likewise I wouldnt expect Limerick, Clare or Cork fans shouting for Tipp against Galway for example. It's a sad day if Offaly, Wexford or Laois fans are shouting for what should be their biggest rivals. We are in a new golden era for hurling similar to the 90's in one sense. We had Limerick, Galway, Tipp, KK x2 and Clare win the last 6 All Irelands.
You won't find too many Tipp supporters thinking we are going to win the All Ireland this year. We possibly have moved from the top 8 into the top 4 (at best) and nothing more than that."
Well said Tiobraid. This forum originated as a reaction to a dour struggle between Galway and Wexford which was played in very difficult conditions but at least had an exciting finish. The Munster games this year have been labelled as rubbish because they haven't had the excitement of close finishes but we have seen some superb hurling, and not all the games have been as one-sided as the scoreline suggested. For instance, I was beside some Tipp supporters in Ennis last Sunday and at half time, with a six-point lead and the strong wind to face, they were saying they'd be happy with a draw. That was a tribute to how well Clare had played against the wind in what was a very competitive and enjoyable first half. Defining a game by reference to the final score can often be simply lazy analysis and the "experts" tend to lambaste the losers rather than judge the game over the 70 minutes. Maybe we should enjoy the fact that we have so many good teams and so many superb hurlers to admire rather than criticise teams and players who have a bad day or even a bad year. And please let's forget this Munster v Leinster rubbish. It's bad enough to have the Spillane disciples slating the hurling games just because there have been a few decent football matches in Ulster and one in Connacht. No need to have the hurling fraternity engaging in petty squabbles over irrelevant non-issues.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 04/06/2019 11:23:24    2190443

Replying To PremierGold:  "There is nothing more laugable than a county having to get another team to do their winning for them!
You wont find me shouting for Lim,Cork.Clare if Tipp are knocked out, and same vice versa, its called a proper rivalry which underpins the Munster Championship which is the bedrock on which the GAA was founded.

Also regarding KK,Pre-1997 and the back-door munster teams had to win an AI just to get out to the AI which KK had the turkey shoot that is Leinster. If KK were a munster team they would do well to have 15 AI's.

They have chucked Galway in there to make it somewhere competive (well they could'nt put them back in Munster, they were there before and were eaten without salt)

BTW Tipp have not started yet, bubbles got one point v clare, jason forde nothing from play still scored 3-21 but anyway your black and amber heroes might give you something to cheer about, but in reality if Tipp lose it will a Munster team who will do the damage, we'll see."
Good lad. I had forgotten how arrogant Tipp supporters can be.Thanks for reminding me.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 04/06/2019 11:41:56    2190453

If Kilkenny were in Munster they'd have less All-irelands true but so would every other Munster team .

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 04/06/2019 12:07:13    2190465

Replying To PremierGold:  "There is nothing more laugable than a county having to get another team to do their winning for them!

BTW Tipp have not started yet, bubbles got one point v clare, jason forde nothing from play still scored 3-21 but anyway your black and amber heroes might give you something to cheer about, but in reality if Tipp lose it will a Munster team who will do the damage, we'll see."
It doesn't matter what county you come from, the stats I gave you are the stats.

Tiobraid and other Tipp posters are sensible but yours is the type of thinking and bluster that has Tipperary underachieving.

It's a fact ye get the jitters against KK quite a lot. I being from Laois is irrelevant to that.

Does anyone remember that poster 'Thurles Blues' ? You sound very similar.

For what it's worth Tipp are in a better position this year as Sheedy will keep them grounded from believing the rubbish lads like you spout.

Kilkenny are my second team. Kilkenny father and mother. So I'll admire them if I want, there are no set rules about who you support after your county of birth.

There has been dismissal of Wexford, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway and hyperbole with regard to Limerick, Cork and Tipp and it's 4th June. If Galway get JC back and start firing they're a fine side. KK won't be easy beat and Wex and Dublin will give anyone their fill of it.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/06/2019 12:15:42    2190469