Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To MadgeKing:  "This is a contest to savour. There will be big hits on the terraces as well as on the field by the look of the comments here. Calm down everyone!

Ultimately Tyrone will have too much guile for this very good Donegal team. They are still too reliant on Murphy to set the tempo and direction of their play and Tyrone have the players to handle that. Would much prefer a Donegal win as it would give us a better chance in the final. Tyrone by 5 points, second half goals on the break making the difference."
embarrassing post madge

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/06/2019 19:46:50    2191828

Silly post. Donegal have superior forwards, and that was known long before today's game. Jamie Brennan is a class act

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/06/2019 19:57:18    2191832

Disgusting behaviour from McCann, what's going on in his head?
Murphy is a great footballer.
Well done to Donegal.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/06/2019 19:59:25    2191834

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Never doubted today's result. Was just that it was way easier than expected. Still though it will stand us in good stead for stiffer challenges ahead.

Personally couldn't understand the hype about Tyrone. A very average team that shouldn't have been within an asses roar of an All Ireland Final last year. Talk about delusions of grandeur. The thing about delusions of grandeur is that you come crashing back down you to earth all of a sudden. An 8th Ulster Final for us now in 9 seasons. A long way back for Tyrone after today. A team bereft of ideas and talent. Men against boys if the truth be told. A sweet sweet victory all the same."
This post is a bit over the top. Donegal played fantastic. Let's not forget this is the same men against boys who have beaten donegal for the last 3 years. Donegal were due it today and were better fair play. But let's just see how the rest of the season ends up.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/06/2019 20:00:34    2191835

Replying To s goldrick:  "embarrassing post madge"
Hindsight is a wonderful thing..too many people sit on the wall then give out after the game is over

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/06/2019 20:02:17    2191836

A certain Tyrone player should be embarrassed by his dirty actions there today.
A real character issue for that fella. He's got for of course and deserve a proper ban.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/06/2019 20:05:44    2191837

Well first things first I'll be honest and say that although I always thought we were capable of beating Tyrone I thought they had an edge over us. But our lads just moved up a few gears from anything we've seen of them so far this year and in the end, a 4 point defeat flattered Tyrone.

Superb performances all round. But I'd like to reserve special praise for one of our often, and in my view, harshly criticised players Hugh McFadden. The big man was superb in his sweeping role and put the icing on the cake with a nice point at the end.

Hard to know where Tyrone are at. They were very flat today. Undoubtedly Peter Hartes black card set them back but they seemed to fall assunder altogether.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9134 - 08/06/2019 20:15:18    2191839

Replying To kevin03:  "This post is a bit over the top. Donegal played fantastic. Let's not forget this is the same men against boys who have beaten donegal for the last 3 years. Donegal were due it today and were better fair play. But let's just see how the rest of the season ends up."
Being generous calling 2016 men against boys now... but it's great from a Donegal POV to get this hoodoo over with after 3 years. I was worried it was gonna be another Monaghan or Armagh type run where we just couldn't beat yous for love nor money

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/06/2019 20:19:30    2191843

Replying To catch22:  "A certain Tyrone player should be embarrassed by his dirty actions there today.
A real character issue for that fella. He's got for of course and deserve a proper ban."
Par for the course

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 08/06/2019 20:19:44    2191844

Tieran Mc Cann is a dental student?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 08/06/2019 20:25:23    2191846

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Tyrone were woeful, made an average Donegal outfit look half decent. Tyrone will be there in sept, just a blip. They were bad today , thats out of system now"
Good man Cacks.

The truth of the matter is that Mickey is no longer up to it & had no Plan B when Plan A flatlined.

As for McCann, is the the same clown who got a player sent off for ruffling his hair a few years ago?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/06/2019 20:59:25    2191875

Congrats to Donegal, we'll prepared, controlled and skillful performence.

On their day I consider Tyrone the second best team in the country, so I can only emphaise with that opinion, the admiration I have for that win.

I've heard many counties "are coming" but Donegal have done more then most over the last couple of years to back up that adjective. Some terrific players and likely the best in Ireland in their ranks.

All to play for, for Tyrone albeit through the back door via the luck of draw in round 2 in the qualifiers, some big fish in there, but Tyrone won't fear many or that route. Will need to reflect a bit on what happened today and why didn't work. Looked like they weren't anticipating the blanket, Harte will be furious Donegal have showed frailties in his new system this early in the championship, but late in preparation.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2019 21:06:46    2191881

Really big statement win for this Donegal panel aided by the hurt of last years loss. You can see alot of work has gone on off the pitch to be able to meet the physical challenge that Tyrone bring. Also the management's decision to bring in Stephen Rochford showed a variety of that as a supporter is really exciting. I have always had big faith in the young players coming through from our underachieving under age teams of recent years so really pleasing to see those players do so well. Of course it is important to keep grounded as this is only a provincial semi final win but you would hope that psychologically today's win will bring this panel on alot. Still lots to work on as Donegal were at times very wasteful and should have had at least two goals.

On a side note there was a good atmosphere between supporters at least where I was in the terraces. In fact between the many games between the teams I have only witnessed one incident of note by a particularly vile mouthed Tyrone woman made worse by the young people listening to her in her vicinity. But I have also witnessed a few clowns supporting Donegal too.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 08/06/2019 21:08:08    2191882

Replying To kevin03:  "This post is a bit over the top. Donegal played fantastic. Let's not forget this is the same men against boys who have beaten donegal for the last 3 years. Donegal were due it today and were better fair play. But let's just see how the rest of the season ends up."
2019 is a new year, Donegal have introduced new players and brought back the more experienced ones from injury. Donegal as a county obviously hold no fear of Tyrone and today's win was so comprehensive I doubt Tyrone would over turn it if they meet later in the summer. Some teams overachieve which I think Tyrone 2018 did but today showed good teams don't stay down for long.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 08/06/2019 21:23:59    2191886

A very good donegal side that. I fancy us to beat Armagh tomorrow but we'll be massive underdogs in the final if we get there

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/06/2019 21:34:22    2191891

Replying To sean og:  "Donegal look a serious team, hot hot favourites for Ulster, I think they can improve as well, perhaps Dublin"s biggest challengers"
Playing down your chances against us if you come through tomorrow, I see what you did there lol.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/06/2019 21:46:56    2191900

Replying To OGarmaile:  "I actually feel this will be a lot handier than the pundits and bookies are giving it. Wouldn't be surprised if Tyrone leave the result in little doubt by half time. The team has this kind of performance in them and I feel they've been playing within themselves so far."
It was over by half time alright..

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/06/2019 21:55:23    2191903

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Playing down your chances against us if you come through tomorrow, I see what you did there lol."
Certainly not, Cavan has won tomorrow's game already if you read their posts on here....

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 08/06/2019 22:04:05    2191905

No surprise how good donegal were tonight I've been talking them up the last few years what a shame Ordan walked away , mcbreary knee injury last year killed their momentum and Brennan wasn't as good as he is now , they can go as far as they like imo it's wide open for them now , win Ulster get into a group without Dublin and beat Kerry they'll make the final.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/06/2019 22:07:17    2191908

Dont want to say I told you so but I predicted an easy win for Donegal and took some abuse for it. ..and so it turned out. Donegal didnt even need to be good as Tyrone were awful.
Tyrone are the most over rated team in Ireland!

fatkeeper (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 08/06/2019 22:08:30    2191909