Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It's a huge game for this emerging Donegal team. The talent is there in abundance and we have a good mix of pace, power, youth and experience. Tyrone will be a step up to anything they've played this year so far however and the crucial question is are Donegal ready to take them on and beat them.

Last year's game was a deflating experience. We looked to be in control up to the hour mark or so but when Tyrone kicked for home we just couldn't hack the pace and Red Hands won quite comfortably in the end.

This year a few of the elder statesmen have stepped away to be replaced with younger players. Plus we'll have the massive boost of having a fit Paddy McBrearty in attack. Is youthful exuberance and the return of our scoring talisman enough to bridge the gap?

The heart says we can and we will. I'd think we'd need a couple of goals to get us there. If we do win the psychological boost it would give will be huge and I could see us comfortably seeing off Cavan/Armagh in the Ulster final.

The head however says otherwise. We all know how well conditioned Tyrone are and they've had the upper hand on Donegal in recent times. If the game is tight and cagey I can only see one winner. Tyrone's league campaign playing at a higher intensity should see them home as much as it pains me to say it.

Tyrone 1-15 - 0-14 Donegal"
In saying all of the above, given a few pints before the match the heart will definitely take over and it'll be a Donegal win all the way. This is what championship is all about. No one truly knows what will definitely happen til on the day. Indiscipline, luck, an absolute virtuoso performance could dictate what way the result falls. Great stuff!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9129 - 07/06/2019 14:37:01    2191466

Replying To JoeSoap:  "And I know the conversation has moved on a bit but at the end of the day folks, we've all had bad experiences with different sets of supporters I'm sure, there are plenty of eejits to go around for every county and while certain behaviours will stick out in your mind, it's important to remember the vast majority of fans are decent GAA folk supporting their team. I've had one of my worst experiences at a GAA match with a Tyrone fan, but I've also had one of my best days following Donegal and meeting a Tyrone family as part of it. I don't hold everyone responsible for the worst day and I don't praise everyone in Tyrone for the best day so there's no need for the needle in that respect - but a bit of healthy rivalry does nobody any harm!"
I think I met that family too. Was the father's name Stephen? Wearing a red jacket?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/06/2019 19:28:27    2191531

Replying To MadgeKing:  "This is a contest to savour. There will be big hits on the terraces as well as on the field by the look of the comments here. Calm down everyone!

Ultimately Tyrone will have too much guile for this very good Donegal team. They are still too reliant on Murphy to set the tempo and direction of their play and Tyrone have the players to handle that. Would much prefer a Donegal win as it would give us a better chance in the final. Tyrone by 5 points, second half goals on the break making the difference."
Lol. When was the last time Cavan beat Donegal in Ulster?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/06/2019 19:31:10    2191532

Tyrone (Ulster SFC v Donegal): Niall Morgan; Padraig Hampsey, Ronan McNamee, Michael McKernan; Tiernan McCann, Ben McDonnell, Michael Cassidy; Colm Cavanagh, Richard Donnelly; Matthew Donnelly, Niall Sludden, Frank Burns; Cathal McShane, Peter Harte, Connor McAliskey.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/06/2019 21:24:34    2191559

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Lol. When was the last time Cavan beat Donegal in Ulster?"
Exactly! Confidence misplaced

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 07/06/2019 23:44:37    2191591

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Lol. When was the last time Cavan beat Donegal in Ulster?"
The Tyrone crowd might want to move on, but I personally witnessed John Lynch, accompanied by Damien O Hagan, try to decapitate a 14 year old boy, for standing up for his mother when Marty McElhinney scored a goal just before half time in 2013. I will bring that with me to every game against Tyrone ....

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 07/06/2019 23:47:39    2191593

When Cuchuaillain was boy....

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 07/06/2019 23:52:37    2191595

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The Tyrone crowd might want to move on, but I personally witnessed John Lynch, accompanied by Damien O Hagan, try to decapitate a 14 year old boy, for standing up for his mother when Marty McElhinney scored a goal just before half time in 2013. I will bring that with me to every game against Tyrone ...."
For me Healy Park 2013 was the day everything changed. Shouted on Tyrone in their All Ireland wins in 03, 05 and 08 and indeed back in 95. But after that day in Healy Park 2013, 2013, never ever again. And I woild be certain any Donegal man, woman or child who was there that day would say the same. That wasn't about Gaelic football for Tyrone supporters that day. That was pure unadulterated hatred, the most base behaviour in human beings that will never be erased from the memory, not today, not tomorrow, not ever. Donegal to take the next step tosards the Ulster Final and to remain Kings of Ulster. Donegal by 2 points.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/06/2019 11:32:41    2191650

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "The Tyrone crowd might want to move on, but I personally witnessed John Lynch, accompanied by Damien O Hagan, try to decapitate a 14 year old boy, for standing up for his mother when Marty McElhinney scored a goal just before half time in 2013. I will bring that with me to every game against Tyrone ...."
I am sure pat will have flash backs of being assaulted every time he goes to a donegal game.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/06/2019 12:46:11    2191667

Jeez but you Donegal posters are really starting to let yourselves down. Lies and unsubstantiated rubbish at every turn.

You are making yourselves out to be a bunch of self righteous cry babies.

I would actually say you guys are actually going to start turning quite a few neutrals to cheer on Tyrone and that's saying something.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 08/06/2019 13:11:14    2191678

Replying To sam1884:  "Tyrone thinking has changed over the past 20 years. They only think in All Ireland terms and I think what the poster from Donegal is highlighting is even Tyrone fans doubt this team have the forwards to win another All Ireland. I don't agree with the mindset of judging success solely on All Irelands but Tyrone is now a ruthless machine that think on those terms. Everything else to them is secondary."
Cheers Sam
Tyrone fans haven't much faith in this team, mainly as they haven't produced a performance of note at Croke park during championship,
Ignore league form as some sides are trained for league and gas out,

As it's getting closer to throw in feels like Donegal are coming down for the hills to ambush Tyrone in the long grass lol

thereporter (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 08/06/2019 13:21:36    2191681

Replying To Wally:  "Jeez but you Donegal posters are really starting to let yourselves down. Lies and unsubstantiated rubbish at every turn.

You are making yourselves out to be a bunch of self righteous cry babies.

I would actually say you guys are actually going to start turning quite a few neutrals to cheer on Tyrone and that's saying something."
No lies Wally and nothing unsubstantiated. All witnessed and substantiated by those who saw first hand the behaviour of a sizable contingent of Tyrone supporters down the years. Agreed, not all Tyrone supporters are full of the hatred and venom referred to but unfortunately ye have a much larger contingent than most. Have never had problems with any other Ulster county down the years - all good banter and supporters happy to shake hands after the game regardless of the result. Don't think I've ever had a Tyrone supporter shake my hand after any game nor have I ever had the inclination to offer mine. If telling the truth sways neutral supporters to support Tyrone then so be it.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/06/2019 14:13:04    2191690

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "No lies Wally and nothing unsubstantiated. All witnessed and substantiated by those who saw first hand the behaviour of a sizable contingent of Tyrone supporters down the years. Agreed, not all Tyrone supporters are full of the hatred and venom referred to but unfortunately ye have a much larger contingent than most. Have never had problems with any other Ulster county down the years - all good banter and supporters happy to shake hands after the game regardless of the result. Don't think I've ever had a Tyrone supporter shake my hand after any game nor have I ever had the inclination to offer mine. If telling the truth sways neutral supporters to support Tyrone then so be it."
It's funny. I have never came across this so called behaviour at all. I have always been able to have the craic with all supporters from all counties and have never witnessed my county folk act in any way close to your descriptions.

Are you sure it is not just you? Maybe you are just not a very nice person? It almost sounds like you are making it up or vastly exaggerating your experiences.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 08/06/2019 14:53:24    2191695

If there's one team I dislike after Cavan then it's Tyrone but I think Tyrone will prove today why they are gonna go on to lift Sam. In my opinion they are a serious outfit and I don't think this game will be even close. Think they will run Donegal ragged and I hope I'm wrong.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 08/06/2019 14:57:13    2191698

Biggest game of the summer so far.
Hard one to call as its very hard to judge donegal especially given they walked Div 2 this year ,
and looked impressive last year .

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 08/06/2019 16:22:16    2191710

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "If there's one team I dislike after Cavan then it's Tyrone but I think Tyrone will prove today why they are gonna go on to lift Sam. In my opinion they are a serious outfit and I don't think this game will be even close. Think they will run Donegal ragged and I hope I'm wrong."
You are wrong. No idea where you're getting those ideas from but sure you're entitled to be wrong.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 08/06/2019 16:39:37    2191716

Massive entertainment there before the game with Brolly and O Rourke

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 08/06/2019 17:00:59    2191723

What was Harte at .. can't be doing that

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 08/06/2019 17:15:34    2191728

another unfathomable black card today for Petey Harte. The ref must have been the only person in the ground that thought it was black. similar to last week's decision on Padraic Faulkner. It was a yellow all day long (if a card at all)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/06/2019 17:21:23    2191730

Donegal playing total puke football at the min.

Hopefully football will win out.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 08/06/2019 17:29:10    2191732