Dublin V Louth - What A Farce

Replying To greysoil:  "House rules: These message boards are intended to be used for Gaelic Games related discussions and are aimed to be family friendly. Any bad language or abusive comments will see messages deleted, as will any attempts to post offensive or defamatory contributions. Please only post messages which are your own work and not anything that infringes on other peoples' copyright. Lynn Group reserves the right to delete or edit any messages posted on this website and asks you to act responsibly in your use of this forum."
If you dont see that this post is in jest then I worry for you.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/06/2019 22:38:56    2190697

Replying To waynoI:  "If you dont see that this post is in jest then I worry for you."
I'm almost sure it was the galway lads post that got the thread closed down. But who knows.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 04/06/2019 23:13:41    2190710

Replying To waynoI:  "If you dont see that this post is in jest then I worry for you."
Agreed.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/06/2019 00:16:28    2190721

Replying To TheUsername:  "David Clifford is a teenager in Kerry. David gets up at 5:00 O clock every morning to walk the five miles every morning to get water, picking up fire wood along the way. David carefully balances the water on his head and fire wood on his knees to bring home so Mammy can have a nice cup of tea and a bit of toast (no avocado).

After Mammy has had her toast, )without avocado). David goes out to the fields, David runs for miles to catch mountain goats for milk for his whole family, David likes how they sometimes put the crown on the goat. Winters are harsh in Kerry, and David often has to have his hood up on on his holey jacket. While he is growing into Daddy's wellies nicely. David often wishes that Mammy liked cornflakes instead of tea and toast (without avocado ) for her breakfast.

David then goes to school, David is very tired by now, but the hole in the roof often keeps him awake and the rain helps him keep a perfect quiff, because the wet look is in around Killarney.

David walks the 20 miles home from school every day, often having to be careful of the Paddywhacker buses that pass him by. David is sometimes splashed by these buses as they drive by and looks up to see Dublin people drinking Champagne and designer coddle int their heated seats. David would like to taste coddle just once. David sometimes wishes he was from Dublin too.

David used to walk home from school with his favorite friends, Mark and Steffen, they arent there anymore and he sometimes sees them at the Christmas nativity play and Goat crown day in the summer, they have big red faces and look bigger and stronger, David thinks they may have moved from Toast (no avocado) to cornflakes for their breakfasts.

Davids favorite colors are green and yellow, he remembers seeing a big shining milking jug one time when he was very small. David though of how much milk he put into that if he could catch a goat. When David has his homework done, David climbs three mountains and 100 miles to play football with his friends. The manager told him if he plays very well he can get the big shiny goat milk jug. David likes this and will play very very hard. David is beginning to grow into Daddys boots. Davids favorite part of football is the oranges they get after training, it helps David on the return journey up and down mountains.

David curls up at night in a corner of the room, sometimes there is an ember from the coal in the fire, he can keep warm for a little bit. David will be up again in three hours, to get the water and firewood for Mammys team and toast again (no avocado). David often dreams of Bernard Brogan, David wishes he can play football like Bernard. David believes that Bernard does not have to play football with a beach ball and has boots that fit him.

If you would like to help to help David grow into his boots, please send a minimum of 1 mill euro to Kerry GAA, in donation, 7 mill if dealing in tax payers money. You can also but a chicken dinner from 2000 euro a plate. Please contact The Plaza New York for more details. Please help us provide cornflakes or avocado for David and his toast.

This has been an appeal from Kerry GAA.

* Played to Eva Cassidys fields of gold."
Brilliant post well done !!!!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 08/06/2019 11:46:13    2191654

Replying To TheUsername:  "I have a lot of respect for Louth after yesterday, played with their heads up, always tried to play expansively and were up for a battle.

Not many teams in the country would or could have lived with Dublin yesterday in all honesty, we played some really really good stuff, the best ive seen in a while, with many reasons to be hopeful ingrained in the personal on show and young players.

I watched the Carlow Vs Meath game, before i think Louth would have had a strong chance of beating Meath. It was like that game was played in slow motion compared to the Louth, Dublin game.

Dublin are miles ahead of Leinster without a doubt, but im not so sure after yesterday there isnt a significant gap to everyone else and most in the country after watching us yesterday as well, i would have had a different opinion after the league, but yesterday we were very, very, very good.

I would be on record as saying Leinster and Munster arent fit for purpose.

Ive a growing belief of a fifth province of Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Cork, Kerry and maybe one or two other may be the way to go to support the provincal structure if many would like to say the provinces remain.

Not sure this debate in Leinster exists in isolation to the rest of football, we've gone 29 games unbeaten in championship after yesterday and we are touching on 4 and half years since our last defeat in the championship.

Louth i think will represent themselves well in the qualifiers."
I see that the team that impressed you so much were well beaten at home to a division 4 team, taught louth would of been allot better this year.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 08/06/2019 20:53:38    2191872

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I see that the team that impressed you so much were well beaten at home to a division 4 team, taught louth would of been allot better this year."
I think the point the username was making is that louth tried hard and attempted to play football against Dublin, which they did. Just cause they where far inferior to Dublin in every aspect doesn't mean they didnt work hard, give their best or play to the best of their ability. Tonight's performance and result doesn't change anything, every game is different.

For a meath man to have a go at louth for their performance against Dublin is mad when you compare how meath have disgraced themselves in terms of application and attitude against Dublin the last time the teams met in 2016 the day of Ireland v France when you where absolutely wretched. Until you play Dublin and dont wet the bed, I dont think you're in any position to give anyone stick for hiw they perform against them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/06/2019 21:33:57    2191890

Replying To waynoI:  "I think the point the username was making is that louth tried hard and attempted to play football against Dublin, which they did. Just cause they where far inferior to Dublin in every aspect doesn't mean they didnt work hard, give their best or play to the best of their ability. Tonight's performance and result doesn't change anything, every game is different.

For a meath man to have a go at louth for their performance against Dublin is mad when you compare how meath have disgraced themselves in terms of application and attitude against Dublin the last time the teams met in 2016 the day of Ireland v France when you where absolutely wretched. Until you play Dublin and dont wet the bed, I dont think you're in any position to give anyone stick for hiw they perform against them."
Louth didnt deserve to win another game after that pedestrian display against dublin, they let dublin play the game exactly how they wanted it to be played which is why all ye dubs love them so much, so fair play louth well done, meath were poor against dublin in 2016 and were hammered by 10 points no one was happy with that performance and Mick O Dowd stepped away soon after, if the leinster final is meath v dublin I think you'll find a different meath team to the one in 2016.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 08/06/2019 22:16:05    2191912

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Louth didnt deserve to win another game after that pedestrian display against dublin, they let dublin play the game exactly how they wanted it to be played which is why all ye dubs love them so much, so fair play louth well done, meath were poor against dublin in 2016 and were hammered by 10 points no one was happy with that performance and Mick O Dowd stepped away soon after, if the leinster final is meath v dublin I think you'll find a different meath team to the one in 2016."
Looks like we're going to agree to differ, I'd have a lot of rest for Louth playing with their heads up, many Leinster counties could learn a lot from them.

If Meath win tomorrow and I think that is far from a done deal after mediocre showing against Offaly and Cavan, your county will be assessed with the same criteria as Meath.

I suspect it will follow the similar pathway of most teams, come out blazing in the first ten mins after listening to weeks of being able to put it up to the Dubs, go a couple of points up, Dublin up to third gear, game over at half time, lads foul a bit to say they put it up to the Dubs despite getting a smashing, Dublin give the kids a run of the bench, pose for a few selfies for the Meath players, move onto the quarter finals. I can write the March report now.

It's exciting for Meath, for us it's boring, all the games follow this pattern you'd wish someone would approach differently. We're just waiting around to get the provincial out of the way. It's like preseason training.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2019 22:37:11    2191930

Replying To waynoI:  "I think the point the username was making is that louth tried hard and attempted to play football against Dublin, which they did. Just cause they where far inferior to Dublin in every aspect doesn't mean they didnt work hard, give their best or play to the best of their ability. Tonight's performance and result doesn't change anything, every game is different.

For a meath man to have a go at louth for their performance against Dublin is mad when you compare how meath have disgraced themselves in terms of application and attitude against Dublin the last time the teams met in 2016 the day of Ireland v France when you where absolutely wretched. Until you play Dublin and dont wet the bed, I dont think you're in any position to give anyone stick for hiw they perform against them."
The insincerity of your praise for Louth is desperately cringeworthy.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 08/06/2019 23:01:40    2191946

Replying To Crinigan:  "The insincerity of your praise for Louth is desperately cringeworthy."
Nope read the post again lad , your lemons are extremely bitter :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2019 23:58:14    2191961

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looks like we're going to agree to differ, I'd have a lot of rest for Louth playing with their heads up, many Leinster counties could learn a lot from them.

If Meath win tomorrow and I think that is far from a done deal after mediocre showing against Offaly and Cavan, your county will be assessed with the same criteria as Meath.

I suspect it will follow the similar pathway of most teams, come out blazing in the first ten mins after listening to weeks of being able to put it up to the Dubs, go a couple of points up, Dublin up to third gear, game over at half time, lads foul a bit to say they put it up to the Dubs despite getting a smashing, Dublin give the kids a run of the bench, pose for a few selfies for the Meath players, move onto the quarter finals. I can write the March report now.

It's exciting for Meath, for us it's boring, all the games follow this pattern you'd wish someone would approach differently. We're just waiting around to get the provincial out of the way. It's like preseason training."
I'm delighted to hear you are bored. If you want exciting matches write to the GAA and ask for funds to be redirected towards meath. An extra million a year towards our underage development would go a long way. And maybe a slice of your millions in sponsorship? We could afford a fully professional set up for the senior panel then.

Just so you know, 99% of fans in Leinster don't get excited at the thoughts of playing Dublin hence why travelling crowds to Dublin matches are at an all time low. There won't be 15k Kildare fans in Croker tomorrow and we'll be lucky to get 5k meath fans at the final. 20 years ago there could have been 30k. People just lose interest and until the GAA take us as serious as your lot they won't have a reason to return.

The thousands filling towns, villages all around Leinster celebrating Liverpool tells its own tale. Our national game has been reduced to a laughing stock in Leinster. The damage done will take 20 years to repair and if they don't make the changes now football might never recover with the growing competition from rival sports. I'd give hurling a chance but I fear Dublin might too dominate that in 20 year's.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 01:15:23    2191982

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Louth didnt deserve to win another game after that pedestrian display against dublin, they let dublin play the game exactly how they wanted it to be played which is why all ye dubs love them so much, so fair play louth well done, meath were poor against dublin in 2016 and were hammered by 10 points no one was happy with that performance and Mick O Dowd stepped away soon after, if the leinster final is meath v dublin I think you'll find a different meath team to the one in 2016."
Well said. Look Wayne is very familiar with Meath , he lives in it for a long time now, and his 3 clubmen are integral part of this senior team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/06/2019 01:34:47    2191985

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'm delighted to hear you are bored. If you want exciting matches write to the GAA and ask for funds to be redirected towards meath. An extra million a year towards our underage development would go a long way. And maybe a slice of your millions in sponsorship? We could afford a fully professional set up for the senior panel then.

Just so you know, 99% of fans in Leinster don't get excited at the thoughts of playing Dublin hence why travelling crowds to Dublin matches are at an all time low. There won't be 15k Kildare fans in Croker tomorrow and we'll be lucky to get 5k meath fans at the final. 20 years ago there could have been 30k. People just lose interest and until the GAA take us as serious as your lot they won't have a reason to return.

The thousands filling towns, villages all around Leinster celebrating Liverpool tells its own tale. Our national game has been reduced to a laughing stock in Leinster. The damage done will take 20 years to repair and if they don't make the changes now football might never recover with the growing competition from rival sports. I'd give hurling a chance but I fear Dublin might too dominate that in 20 year's."
Write to the Gaa yourself , and stop your constant whinging on here .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/06/2019 08:05:34    2192008

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I'm delighted to hear you are bored. If you want exciting matches write to the GAA and ask for funds to be redirected towards meath. An extra million a year towards our underage development would go a long way. And maybe a slice of your millions in sponsorship? We could afford a fully professional set up for the senior panel then.

The thousands filling towns, villages all around Leinster celebrating Liverpool tells its own tale. Our national game has been reduced to a laughing stock in Leinster. The damage done will take 20 years to repair and if they don't make the changes now football might never recover with the growing competition from rival sports. I'd give hurling a chance but I fear Dublin might too dominate that in 20 year's."
I dont disagree to be honest, ive made the point already if you are in the entertainment, drama and competitive business you have to provide entertainment, drama and competition, they're is none in Leinster for Dublin and as you say for any other county. business. There is a twinge of nostalgia, some great historical battles, with heads rolling on the ground Dublin and left standing in the clearing at the end of a century of the battle as the victor. Leinster is dead, its on life support at the moment. I described it as pre season for us now and while you might think that is a dig, i actually thing its sad, but it its realistic. You can see more enjoyable games in the O Byrne Cup then in Leinster these days.

I wouldn't be surprised if there is 30k plus today there today in the end, people get a little bit drama queen on here. I wholly expect crowds to pick up in the S8s. Essentially what the S8s are a new province, with the best teams playing off against each other, its the same number of games as a province and quality and entertainment is far superior. Its that top heavy quality that is keeping everyone except the faithful away from the provinces.

Ive posted extensively about money on here, so wont again, Meath do well enough given there context, Kildare too, how are the additional grants being given by the Leinster Council being used? We often here of what counties arent getting we never really hear about what they are getting and how it is being used.

Maybe a clever way for Meath to get additional revenue and sponsorship, would be a rebranding, you could start styling yourself as New Dublin. Lets be honest, its going that way really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/06/2019 09:30:30    2192034

Replying To superbluedub:  "Write to the Gaa yourself , and stop your constant whinging on here ."
Agree fully he's the most negative poster in meath and I hope he doesn't go to Croke park today because with don't need support like that, meath are going in the right direction after years of neglecting our underage structure we can't blame dublin for that.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 09/06/2019 09:55:08    2192053

Maybe it's Antrim that deserve a bit of credit for their win against a Div 3 team? No?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2019 09:58:28    2192054

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Maybe it's Antrim that deserve a bit of credit for their win against a Div 3 team? No?"
Exactly Offside! Fantastic win for a team that had 18 players leave the panel this year. If only Matt Fitzpatrick was born in another county you'd hear a lot more about him. Always a dangerous threat going forward and has led what is left of an Antrim county side brilliantly.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 09/06/2019 10:21:50    2192060

Replying To Crinigan:  "The insincerity of your praise for Louth is desperately cringeworthy."
How is it insincere

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/06/2019 10:28:36    2192064

Replying To TheUsername:  "I dont disagree to be honest, ive made the point already if you are in the entertainment, drama and competitive business you have to provide entertainment, drama and competition, they're is none in Leinster for Dublin and as you say for any other county. business. There is a twinge of nostalgia, some great historical battles, with heads rolling on the ground Dublin and left standing in the clearing at the end of a century of the battle as the victor. Leinster is dead, its on life support at the moment. I described it as pre season for us now and while you might think that is a dig, i actually thing its sad, but it its realistic. You can see more enjoyable games in the O Byrne Cup then in Leinster these days.

I wouldn't be surprised if there is 30k plus today there today in the end, people get a little bit drama queen on here. I wholly expect crowds to pick up in the S8s. Essentially what the S8s are a new province, with the best teams playing off against each other, its the same number of games as a province and quality and entertainment is far superior. Its that top heavy quality that is keeping everyone except the faithful away from the provinces.

Ive posted extensively about money on here, so wont again, Meath do well enough given there context, Kildare too, how are the additional grants being given by the Leinster Council being used? We often here of what counties arent getting we never really hear about what they are getting and how it is being used.

Maybe a clever way for Meath to get additional revenue and sponsorship, would be a rebranding, you could start styling yourself as New Dublin. Lets be honest, its going that way really."
Yeah I'd look forward to a meath Dublin match in the O'Byrne Cup or early in the league when your teams fitness is at a low point so it would be closer. Championship no interest.

@royallegeend I'm not attending today. The price of tickets is too high and I know the majority of my ticket money will go towards opening Croker for the day and Dublin gaa. Like most meath people I'm voting with my wallet. It should have been in Tullamore and €20 a ticket.

I wish I could wake up tomorrow and Meath played in Leinster or Ulster.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 11:35:23    2192097

A Dublin player quoted on rte
"We grew up with Dublin-Meath matches, they were the reason you wanted to play for Dublin so to be slaughtered by Meath was a very bitter pill to swallow."

Kids these days will be more inspired to play for Liverpool and Ireland or leinster and Ireland. There is no hype for GAA kids in Leinster anymore. The current situation is a disaster for the association.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/06/2019 11:43:23    2192102