Donegal Vs Fermanagh

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "He fouled and for a yellow card, fair enough.

Think you guys could have had a red early on for a clear punch to the head on a player on the ground near the centre of the pitch."
Spot on. I was close to the incident above and it was certainly milked. Yellow card at most.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/05/2019 00:27:49    2187918

Game played out much to script and how I expected. The critical posts were probably written before the game as only an early Donegal goal or 2 would have changed the script. From a Donegal perspective it was a case of mission accomplished and quickly onto the next. Patience and discipline was the key as Donegal had the distance shooters to cope with Rory ball on show. While far from hitting the heights Donegal never panicked and managed the game well. Great to get Paddy back and Jamie Brennan again showing why he is one of the countries most underrated footballers.....be some hype if he was from Mayo. Credit to him though as he is obviously a young man who has put in amazing amounts hours work to improve himself. Huge test to come and a big step up from today and Division 2. Physically Donegal look improved from last August to cope with Tyrone....they will need to be. Saying that Tyrone looked uncharacteristically susceptible to direct runners giving up goal chances. If one team can really exploit this it is Donegal.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/05/2019 00:45:30    2187925

Replying To TheFerm:  "1 Dublin 1,345,402 1,459.2 Leinster 5.7%
2 Antrim 618,108 202.9 Ulster 1.8%
3 Cork 542,196 72.3 Munster 4.5%
4 Down 531,665 215.6 Ulster 8.7%
- Fingal 296,214 651.6 Leinster 8.1%
- South Dublin 278,749 1,251.5 Leinster 5.1%
5 Galway 258,552 42.0 Connacht 3.2%
6 Londonderry 247,132 119.1 Ulster 4.8%
7 Kildare 222,130 131.0 Leinster 5.6%
- Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown 217,274 1,706.7 Leinster 5.3%
8 Limerick 195,175 70.8 Munster 1.8%
9 Meath 194,942 83.2 Leinster 5.9%
10 Tyrone 179,000 54.5 Ulster 8.4%
11 Armagh 174,792 131.8 Ulster 7.3%
12 Tipperary 160,441 37.2 Munster 1.1%
13 Donegal 158,755 32.6 Ulster -1.5%
14 Wexford 149,605 63.2 Leinster 2.9%
15 Kerry 147,554 30.7 Munster 1.4%
16 Wicklow 142,332 70.2 Leinster 4.2%
17 Mayo 130,425 23.3 Connacht -0.2%
18 Louth 128,375 155.4 Leinster 4.5%
19 Clare 118,817 34.4 Munster 1.2%
20 Waterford 116,401 62.7 Munster 2.3%
21 Kilkenny 99,118 47.8 Leinster 3.9%
22 Westmeath 88,770 48.2 Leinster 2.9%
23 Laois 84,732 49.3 Leinster 5.2%
24 Offaly 78,003 38.9 Leinster 1.7%
25 Cavan 76,092 39.3 Ulster 4.0%
26 Sligo 65,357 35.5 Connacht -0.1%
27 Roscommon 64,436 25.3 Connacht 0.6%
28 Fermanagh 61,170 36.1 Ulster 6.3%
29 Monaghan 61,273 47.3 Ulster 1.3%
30 Carlow 56,875 63.4 Leinster 4.1%
31 Longford 40,810 37.4 Leinster 4.6%
32 Leitrim 31,972 20.1 Connacht 0.5%

61,170 Fermanaghs population half of which are from the protestant community who unfortunately don't play gaelic sports that leaves 30, 585, the smallest pick in Ireland. We nearly made Division One and were in an Ulster final last year. We have nothing to apologize for."
LondonDerry??

mhaith_fear (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 27/05/2019 09:50:48    2187980

The game was exactly as I predicted, Fermanagh are limited and I suppose they make themselves competitive but it awful stuff to watch. they are going nowhere but I suppose they are never going to win much anyway unless a 3 tier All Ireland comes in.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 27/05/2019 13:46:15    2188123

I am not going to try to convince anyone that is was a good game of football, it was close and competitive but far too defensive. Donegal just stayed patient and played within themselves, not sure what else they could have done. Fermanagh are brilliant at defending and closing the space on opposition attackers but just don't offer enough going forward, very similar to the way Donegal were for 3 years under Rory, struggling to break the 11/12 point barrier.

Really hard to gauge how good Donegal are but we will find on on Saturday week. I would give Fermanagh a good chance of upsetting Monaghan.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 27/05/2019 14:19:01    2188138

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I am not going to try to convince anyone that is was a good game of football, it was close and competitive but far too defensive. Donegal just stayed patient and played within themselves, not sure what else they could have done. Fermanagh are brilliant at defending and closing the space on opposition attackers but just don't offer enough going forward, very similar to the way Donegal were for 3 years under Rory, struggling to break the 11/12 point barrier.

Really hard to gauge how good Donegal are but we will find on on Saturday week. I would give Fermanagh a good chance of upsetting Monaghan."
It almost descended into total farce in the second half when you had Murphy and McBrearty passing it about at walking pace inside our half and Fermanagh camped back watching it. I don't blame our lads for that by the way. We held the lead so it was up to Fermanagh to come and try and get the ball off us. Just awful to watch though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 27/05/2019 14:27:52    2188146

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It almost descended into total farce in the second half when you had Murphy and McBrearty passing it about at walking pace inside our half and Fermanagh camped back watching it. I don't blame our lads for that by the way. We held the lead so it was up to Fermanagh to come and try and get the ball off us. Just awful to watch though."
Proper Donegal style

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 27/05/2019 15:35:29    2188179

Replying To snipingfredo:  "Proper Donegal style"
Hey we might have invented that system but people forget we had the players to make it work. Most other teams don't.
And anyway it's fair to say we've evolved from then so I'm not sure what your snippy point is?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9103 - 27/05/2019 16:04:44    2188194

Replying To snipingfredo:  "Proper Donegal style"
Think it was Dublin who invented the keep-ball in their own half ha ha. It is awful to watch but you can't blame teams for doing it when the opposition won't come out.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 27/05/2019 16:15:11    2188203

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hey we might have invented that system but people forget we had the players to make it work. Most other teams don't.
And anyway it's fair to say we've evolved from then so I'm not sure what your snippy point is?"
You did criticise fermanaghs style of play when in fact it was yous who created it. Can you blame them for it all they are trying to do is closing the gap to the big teams.

armagh2k2 (Armagh) - Posts: 14 - 27/05/2019 20:32:19    2188298

Replying To panamasam:  "Game played out much to script and how I expected. The critical posts were probably written before the game as only an early Donegal goal or 2 would have changed the script. From a Donegal perspective it was a case of mission accomplished and quickly onto the next. Patience and discipline was the key as Donegal had the distance shooters to cope with Rory ball on show. While far from hitting the heights Donegal never panicked and managed the game well. Great to get Paddy back and Jamie Brennan again showing why he is one of the countries most underrated footballers.....be some hype if he was from Mayo. Credit to him though as he is obviously a young man who has put in amazing amounts hours work to improve himself. Huge test to come and a big step up from today and Division 2. Physically Donegal look improved from last August to cope with Tyrone....they will need to be. Saying that Tyrone looked uncharacteristically susceptible to direct runners giving up goal chances. If one team can really exploit this it is Donegal."
A bit ungracious and not very sporting having 'a cut' at the opposition manager. Any suggestion as to the reason for Donegal not 'hitting the heights'?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 27/05/2019 21:17:19    2188322

At the game yesterday and Fermanagh had their chances to possibly win if not for some poor shooting and bad errors. Thought Donegal open when Fermanagh ran at them I think Tyrone will win more ball in the middle of the field and they have the forwards to do a lot more damage than we have . Should be a good game.

weemanmc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 102 - 27/05/2019 22:06:19    2188346

Replying To armagh2k2:  "You did criticise fermanaghs style of play when in fact it was yous who created it. Can you blame them for it all they are trying to do is closing the gap to the big teams."
Yeah that's a fair point. Donegal will be remembered for packing defence extra tight, but it was mickey harte who invented it. We will remember Armagh for upping the physical ante like no other team that came before them. There is a legacy involved in all our team's histories that sometimes we would rather not be reminded of.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/05/2019 22:31:21    2188358

Replying To waynoI:  "Im only asking the question. Each to their own.

I suppose it all just depends, I think opinion may well vary depending on how you're watching the game

For example, take last nights game between Dublin and Louth, from my perspective as a Dublin fan, when im watching Dublin, I want to see Dublin play as well as we possibly can, opposition and quality of the opposition is irrelevant. I do be looking at things with the blue tinted glasses. I want us to score as much as possible and concede as little as possible. But if you're a Louth man/woman sitting down watching Fermanagh v Donegal, you're probably thinking, jesus this is dire to watch, but god what i would've done to see us do a bit of that last night and have the Dubs sweat a bit and at least go into the final quarter with a little bit of "ya know what, you just never know". Its not entertaining but its not as demoralizing and disheartening if youre a Louth fan

But as a neutral i totally understand why you'd turn that game off today and on the other end of the scale if Dublin were on the box last night i totally get why youd knock that off too.

The game has always been about outscoring the opposition. That's how all team sports operate. If someone was smart enough and tactically astute enough/brave enough to try defensive systems decades ago the game would've changed back then too, it just so happens that its revolutionized in the last 10-15 years during this period. Fermanaghs aim, just like it was with Donegal in 2011, Dublin at times in 2011, Tyrone before that have always gone out with the mantra of, we want to win the game, we want to score more, and our best chance of winning the game is to be in the game, and the best way to be in the game is to try and concede as little as possible and make your opponents panic which will result in mental fragility, poor decision making, unforced errors, drain the confidence while building up your own confidence by seeing the result of your hard work. Is that entertaining for the neutral ? No. Its shite. But it gives teams the best launchpad to try and win a game against a team that's better than you.

and to take it back to fans, You ask any fan of Mayo for example if they would take winning an all Ireland final v Dublin 1-06 v 0-07 in a dour game, over an entertaining 3-17 v 4-12 defeat, They would bite your hands off. Every one of them. Ask their players, they'll say the same.

Ask louth today if they would rather play how they played last night and lose by 26, or play how Fermanagh did today and lose by 6, theyd take the latter every day."
I remember very well that Ciaran Mc had, for me his greatest game, to take Fermanagh to a replay in 2004. He must have covered every blade of grass in Croke Park that day to stop a great Fermanagh team from reaching the All Ireland final. If Gallagher and Fermanagh supporters say they don't have the players for a more expansive game then I believe them. But I also think they should at least try being a bit more attacking.

In 2019 Louth were a mid-table Division 3 team. Dublin comfortably stayed in the first Division that they barely trained for. They're still by miles the best in the land and not even close to peaking. If Louth tried going defensive they might have reduced the deficit to 20 points, 15 at best. No chance they'll get within 6 of Dublin.

Fermanagh beat Donegal in Letterkenny in February and were only two points off them when Donegal were promoted from Division 2. Not such a gulf in class there. Yes they did well because they've been defensive but do they want to keep playing around a top 12 level or die wondering how it could have been if they took some risks like the men of 2004?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 27/05/2019 23:53:11    2188373

Replying To dubarra:  "To answer your question yes. I can't watch this negative tripe thats been dished out by some teams. Dublin hammer most teams does that stop you watching them?"
Seems to have stopped an awful lot watching them. 11,000 in Brewster for a single game of 'muck' 14,000 in Portlaoise for your shootout involving 4 teams....

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/05/2019 12:10:33    2188466

Replying To gotmilk:  "Seems to have stopped an awful lot watching them. 11,000 in Brewster for a single game of 'muck' 14,000 in Portlaoise for your shootout involving 4 teams...."
I read an article on boards.ie dated 2008 concerning a first round match with a crowd of 56,000 in attendance. The fixture? Dublin v louth. The poster was concerned that the drop in the gate was something to take note of.

I wonder what he would think now. Anyhow, 11000 in Brewster park is a good attendance for a first round fixture involving fermanagh and any other county.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/05/2019 12:37:29    2188471

61,170 Fermanaghs population half of which are from the protestant community who unfortunately don't play gaelic sports that leaves 30, 585, the smallest pick in Ireland. We nearly made Division One and were in an Ulster final last year. We have nothing to apologize for."
If this is the case.. then shouldn't the Fermanagh board follow the Monaghan one and include the Protestant population?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/05/2019 13:11:53    2188486

Replying To Farney:  "

If this is the case.. then shouldn't the Fermanagh board follow the Monaghan one and include the Protestant population?"
Apples and pears

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 28/05/2019 14:41:04    2188525