Tipp Hurling Fans Fighting

Replying To bloodyban:  "A flying column would have let those guys in?? I should hope not. Anyway the point I want to make is that they should be doing some national service or the like. They of course could join the Irish or British military as they are entitled to still join either one ,but my overall point is maybe there should be a year or 2s national service like there is in Switzerland or Israel. Their behaviour is despicable really and there should have been a guard there to give them the heavy end of the Billy club."
So you want to arm the idiots?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 21/05/2019 19:48:01    2186406

Replying To waynoI:  "Its only a few slaps, no one was seriously hurt.

Not nice to see but no need for the hyperbole around it either

The vast majority of people are impeccably behaved at ALL sporting events in most countries. One or two young fellas being silly shouldnt doesn't change that, and as a side-point, comparing this to the behaviour of soccer fans across the water is pathetic too. Just an excuse for GAA heads to slander other sports like their own is beyond reproach is just stupid.

The lads were released without charge. Move on.."
Good post, glad to see someone talking sense about it.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 21/05/2019 20:23:16    2186418

Replying To The_Fridge:  "They looked about 14 years old lad."
Think you'd want to get your eyes tested lad.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/05/2019 20:28:06    2186420

Replying To bloodyban:  "A flying column would have let those guys in?? I should hope not. Anyway the point I want to make is that they should be doing some national service or the like. They of course could join the Irish or British military as they are entitled to still join either one ,but my overall point is maybe there should be a year or 2s national service like there is in Switzerland or Israel. Their behaviour is despicable really and there should have been a guard there to give them the heavy end of the Billy club."
Pet peeve of mine, but only someone who has never served would see this as an appropriate use for the Defense Forces. The DF have many different roles, but I can tell you what role they don't have, and that's to step in and parent yobs, In fact, the discipline and self-control needed to succeed as a professional soldier are anathema to the kind of knuckledraggers that get caught up in fights at sporting events.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/05/2019 21:01:42    2186435

The vast majority of people are impeccably behaved at ALL sporting events in most countries. One or two young fellas being silly shouldnt doesn't change that, and as a side-point, comparing this to the behaviour of soccer fans across the water is pathetic too. Just an excuse for GAA heads to slander other sports like their own is beyond reproach is just stupid.

Crowd violence is still a massive problem in soccer in many countries in Europe, can't think of any other sport that comes close to it, fans segregated in the grounds and on the way in can't drink in certain pubs ect, wasn't always this way only started in the seventies in England I believe before that they mingled peacefully.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 21/05/2019 21:21:52    2186445

Crowd violence is still a massive problem in soccer in many countries in Europe, can't think of any other sport that comes close to it, fans segregated in the grounds and on the way in can't drink in certain pubs ect, wasn't always this way only started in the seventies in England I believe before that they mingled peacefully.
Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 261 - 21/05/2019 21:21:52
Brother was in Greece with his now ex(half greek) and they went to a Basketball game in Athens and he said it was most ridiculous match in any sport he'd ever attended. Segregated fans, plenty crowd trouble. etc
Said same could be said about games in other places across europe....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 21/05/2019 22:08:37    2186458

What a stupid post, are you trying to portray yourself as a hard man, a few slaps. Obviously you have never seen injuries from a row like this, one kick or punch in the head as happens every week leaves people dead or with serious brain injuries. There were kids present on that terrace witnessing that, you have no problem with that, move on, what a stupid statement. You then bring violence at soccer games into it saying there is no comparison with what happened here & that people commenting on it are trying to slander Gaelic games, bizzare statement. Violence is violence regardless of whether its GAA or soccer. As for lads getting off with a caution, that says more about our justice system & the absolute joke that is law & order in this country. As for the GAA doing anything about it, they turn a blind eye to everything until its too late. When you let these things go un punished they mushroom & continue till there is a fatality. You reap what you sow. There will always be the yahoos & pretend hard men who will dismiss it as hand bags making themselves feel tough on an internet forum, but usually they are the guys with no back bone in life. When these things happen, the way to stop it is set a precedent. Gardai should have prosecuted them for assault, public disorder & the GAA should have issued lifetime bans, that would be setting an example. Some day somebody will be killed or injured hitting their head off a concrete terrace, will you tell us all to move on then.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 21/05/2019 22:35:02    2186471

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "What a stupid post, are you trying to portray yourself as a hard man, a few slaps. Obviously you have never seen injuries from a row like this, one kick or punch in the head as happens every week leaves people dead or with serious brain injuries. There were kids present on that terrace witnessing that, you have no problem with that, move on, what a stupid statement. You then bring violence at soccer games into it saying there is no comparison with what happened here & that people commenting on it are trying to slander Gaelic games, bizzare statement. Violence is violence regardless of whether its GAA or soccer. As for lads getting off with a caution, that says more about our justice system & the absolute joke that is law & order in this country. As for the GAA doing anything about it, they turn a blind eye to everything until its too late. When you let these things go un punished they mushroom & continue till there is a fatality. You reap what you sow. There will always be the yahoos & pretend hard men who will dismiss it as hand bags making themselves feel tough on an internet forum, but usually they are the guys with no back bone in life. When these things happen, the way to stop it is set a precedent. Gardai should have prosecuted them for assault, public disorder & the GAA should have issued lifetime bans, that would be setting an example. Some day somebody will be killed or injured hitting their head off a concrete terrace, will you tell us all to move on then."
What are you getting personal for? It's my opinion. I'm entitled to it just as much as you are. If you dont agree, sound, no bother.

I just think the outrage is a bit manufactured rather than genuine.

I never said their actions were acceptable. I didn't say they shouldn't have been arrested in the first place. I understand that although youd have to be very unlucky to get a one dig that changes your life or worse, it absolutely can happen.

.ban the guys from future games or GAA related activity, but people calling them abhorrent names online and wanting criminal records and stuff for this, when school fights or fights on Gaelic pitches up and down the country every day/week with no calls for arrests and stuff so no need to go over the top now.

You dont agree.. no problem.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/05/2019 00:19:54    2186487

ok so it wasn't a mass brawl, but GAA have generally had a very lax attitude to violence it the games where it seems to be accepted, have been some very soft suspensions handed out/overturned in the past. They just need to send out a message that this sort of behaviour is not tolerated. 2 people involved have been identified and if they play for clubs should be suspended and should be suspended from attending games.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/05/2019 09:35:46    2186526

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Think you'd want to get your eyes tested lad."
They looked very young to be fair.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/05/2019 10:30:11    2186547

Replying To The_Fridge:  "They looked very young to be fair."
Age is in the eye of the beholder..... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/05/2019 10:48:58    2186555

Well said Wayno and totally agree

The ''outrage'' on here is a bit over the top.

Ban them from matches for a few years by all accounts.

But this stuff of wanting people to have criminal records is ridiculous.

They're kids!!!! Silly kids!! Happens on the pitch the length and breadth of the country week in week out. I'm sure all of us on here have been involved in a brawl and/or witnessed a brawl on the pitch in our playing days when we were kids. Should everyone involved these fist ups be charged as a criminal?? Or is it ok because it happened on the pitch????

Move on lads, nothing to see here...

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 22/05/2019 11:16:23    2186563

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Well said Wayno and totally agree

The ''outrage'' on here is a bit over the top.

Ban them from matches for a few years by all accounts.

But this stuff of wanting people to have criminal records is ridiculous.

They're kids!!!! Silly kids!! Happens on the pitch the length and breadth of the country week in week out. I'm sure all of us on here have been involved in a brawl and/or witnessed a brawl on the pitch in our playing days when we were kids. Should everyone involved these fist ups be charged as a criminal?? Or is it ok because it happened on the pitch????

Move on lads, nothing to see here..."
I have been involved in a few games where there were brawls, but I never thought it was alright, it was always the same lads who would go rushing in, none of them ever banned for getting "stuck in", maybe a two week suspension for the lads who started it all. The incident was talked about for a week and then forgotten.Obviously with the advent of social media these incidents are now viewed by a lot more people. County boards should have no excuses now for not handing out hefty suspensions. If some lads were to do what they do on the pitch outside a nightclub on a Sat night they would get arrested, what makes it different on a football field? Saturday night they have a bit of booze in there system, but on match day its adrenalin? I thinks its human nature to witness these brawls and have a bit of a laught etc but its no laughing matter when someone breaks a jaw, loses a few teeth etc.... costly medical bills, off work etc.. and am sure if any of you have kids playing you wouldn't like to see you child being flattened in a game.
The GAA though do appear to have cleaned up the intercounty game greatly. We no longer see the mass brawls of old, generally now there is just a bit of push and shoving, grabbing of jerseys, but usually nothing that is going to cause any serious injury.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/05/2019 12:13:29    2186584

Replying To Rosineri1:  "I have been involved in a few games where there were brawls, but I never thought it was alright, it was always the same lads who would go rushing in, none of them ever banned for getting "stuck in", maybe a two week suspension for the lads who started it all. The incident was talked about for a week and then forgotten.Obviously with the advent of social media these incidents are now viewed by a lot more people. County boards should have no excuses now for not handing out hefty suspensions. If some lads were to do what they do on the pitch outside a nightclub on a Sat night they would get arrested, what makes it different on a football field? Saturday night they have a bit of booze in there system, but on match day its adrenalin? I thinks its human nature to witness these brawls and have a bit of a laught etc but its no laughing matter when someone breaks a jaw, loses a few teeth etc.... costly medical bills, off work etc.. and am sure if any of you have kids playing you wouldn't like to see you child being flattened in a game.
The GAA though do appear to have cleaned up the intercounty game greatly. We no longer see the mass brawls of old, generally now there is just a bit of push and shoving, grabbing of jerseys, but usually nothing that is going to cause any serious injury."
But there was no broken jaw or lost teeth. It was handbags and again, while not nice to see, or acceptable and certainly cant be tolerated, it's hardly worth getting a criminal record over it.

It was a scuffle. A few digs. Most people have been involved in a scuffle. The faux outrage is gas though.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/05/2019 14:50:00    2186631

Croke park can see this sort of stuff as well. its usually the counties who are further away from dublin cause more problems because obviously they're drinking more on the way to the game etc. and they're more up for trouble. counties like kildare,meath louth etc seem to get into the cars and home so not likely to happen then. i'm not against county just my experience over the years. one game that sticks in my mind was dublin/fermanagh a few years back. a high number of fermanagh supporters were going around like gorillas that day!! thank god they wont see croke park any time soon

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 22/05/2019 16:33:58    2186656

Replying To superdub:  "Croke park can see this sort of stuff as well. its usually the counties who are further away from dublin cause more problems because obviously they're drinking more on the way to the game etc. and they're more up for trouble. counties like kildare,meath louth etc seem to get into the cars and home so not likely to happen then. i'm not against county just my experience over the years. one game that sticks in my mind was dublin/fermanagh a few years back. a high number of fermanagh supporters were going around like gorillas that day!! thank god they wont see croke park any time soon"
jaysus, talk about a generalised statement!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 22/05/2019 17:13:36    2186666

Replying To superdub:  "Croke park can see this sort of stuff as well. its usually the counties who are further away from dublin cause more problems because obviously they're drinking more on the way to the game etc. and they're more up for trouble. counties like kildare,meath louth etc seem to get into the cars and home so not likely to happen then. i'm not against county just my experience over the years. one game that sticks in my mind was dublin/fermanagh a few years back. a high number of fermanagh supporters were going around like gorillas that day!! thank god they wont see croke park any time soon"
OMG. This is a shocking comment.

Does the fact that the most recent example of Tipp fans fighting in Thurles not contradict your theory already?

What about the Dubs, are you saying that Dublin fans in Dublin are squeaky clean? hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 23/05/2019 09:30:13    2186789

A bit simplistic to be honest.

I've seen bad behaviour around Croker from fans, including our own, from all counties. The 99% are great but the 1% can behave like scum.

Urinating in front gardens, or against front doors/under the window/side lane of houses is far more common than you would like to believe. The smashing of car mirrors another favourite pastime of the drunken idiot. Fights are less common but have seen them. Litter being a big problem after matches as well. Some people just have a lack of respect for anyone who isn't them.

Dublin support, around Croker, tends to be more reserved I'll give you that but the type of person that engages in this behaviour tend to get more confident the further from home they are. I'm the Dublin 1% get up to all sorts away from home too. Also the Dubs haven't had time to get tanked up yet before games in Croker in the way groups coming from the country have!

Like I said 99% of people are great and come to support their team and are respectful of their surroundings both before and after games. Living in the environs of Croker is great in general but it is not without its drawbacks on game day.

The concerts are far, far worse though. Far more people drunk going to a big gig than to a match. After Bruce Springsteen a few years back one drunken oaf wandering down our street and tried to kick the **** out of every car on the street!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/05/2019 10:02:41    2186799