Think Cavan Have A Great Chance

Well done Cavan, seen the result after I came in from club game....should have backed ye.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 20/05/2019 09:12:57    2185745

A lot of salt over the penalty.

Here's the thing though. You're not allowed take a man out of it as he's about to score a tap in. Madden rounded the keeper (albeit accidentally as he fumbled the pass) and Beggan clattered into him.
Stonewall penalty, of which Lane had a perfect view.

Less of the salt please.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 20/05/2019 09:24:30    2185751

Enjoyable game of football for the most part and it was always going to be 50/50 game. Thought the Ref was poor but did not decide the game. What was a penalty at one end was nothing at the other end- good analysis would have discussed that on the Sunday game which as usual did not happen. Thought Cavan changed their approach at half time and could have got caught by better opposition. Best team won and I see Cavan with as good a chance of winning Ulster, but only if the keep the first half performance for the entire game. Good to see Cavan back playing some Cavan football and not relying on all this negative nonsense that has persisted over the last 7 plus years by most county managers.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/05/2019 09:29:46    2185755

Well done to Cavan.. great value at 21/10 before the game! Overall for them the key thing was of course to get the win but to have a few areas to work on to improve before taking on Armagh the next day. Luckily for them the penalty gave them a great platform to go on and play a lovely direct brand of football in the first half. Monaghan were always going to have their purple patch and they still managed to keep them at arms length. I think what was further cemented was Monaghan's reliance on McManus (only 1pt from play). If he doesn't get ball then there are just not enough others able to carry the scoring threat particularly with McCarron missing also. I wouldn't write Monaghan off just yet and while it will be difficult to turn around and face into the qualifiers I still think they are capable of putting in far better performances once they have a few of their absentees back. Losing your first choice midfield pairing was always going to be tough to overcome. Martin Reilly for me was MOTM all day long. The engine on that man is something else and I love how direct he is. Cavan need to push on now and get to the Ulster final.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 20/05/2019 09:46:33    2185765

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Yeah maybe but it's still a massive boost to a team's confidence to get such an early goal your going to be flying with such a great start. In the end the goal is a massive turning point cause Monaghan comeback into it and its the goal that keeps a small distance between them take that goal away and it's a different result no matter how poor Monaghan were. I called out a Dublin player last week for a dive and the Cavan player should be called out aswell Beggan does absolutely nothing wrong and he's punished for that shocking."
Still failing to see how you think it was a dive. As I mentioned earlier, I think it wasn't a penalty, but there was contact from Wylie and Beggan. How was it a dive? Cannot see how you can be punished (as you say) for when a man is contacted when he is trying to control the ball

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 20/05/2019 09:53:40    2185771

Congratulations to Cavan. A well-deserved victory and overdue I suppose! It was the worst display I have seen from Monaghan in a long, long time. Worse than last year with Fermanagh and the year before with Down. I think I would have to go back to Longford game in 2016. Monaghan have this problem (always have). The last three years they have coughed up this type of performance to a less fancied opposition. We looked wrong from the start. McKenna should never have been on the pitch. I don't see it with him in the county set up. I don't think there is enough quality there. Duffy was much better when he came on and if I was picking I know where I would go. O'Hanlon was out of his depth. I can see why we have him there, very quick on the feet but he was caught in possession each time. He carried it right in to the cavan line. He needs to sort that out and fast. We missed McCarron, Hughes and Kearns badly. Malone had a poor day and Drew was not great either. Kieran Hughes and Walsh did well, better than in recent games I thought.

Cavan played some excellent stuff in the first half (that's hard to admit!) but I thought Martin Reilly was fantastic. McKiernan and McVeety too. Some of the younger lads really stuck out too (I thought Rehill did very well). I will say Cavan need to be better if they are to progress and make super 8's. Monaghan were woeful in the first half but Cavan nearly let a poor side back in the game in the second half. They dug deep and stopped it but I know a lot of the supporters near me were getting nervous. Galligan is a poor keeper with respect to distribution of the ball. I don't know what sky said about it but RTE didn't hit the point last night. McStay was right, Cavan should have won more in the midfield but they didn't because his play sometimes was brutal.

A note on Conor Lane. He is possibly the worst ref at intercounty at the moment. He did his best to spoil the game. We were better letting the wee dog ref it. He is far too fond of the whistle. He misses frees all the time and then gives away stupid frees. He has no idea when to give a black card versus a yellow…..And it was not a penalty. I could see that from the east terrace. It was right in front of him. It made no real difference IMO. I think he went against Cavan on plenty too. He is just not up to the job.

All that said, I would love another crack at Cavan in the qualifiers (or if we are both lucky enough Super 8!)

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 09:56:57    2185773

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Well done Cavan and congratulations. That win will mean as much to supporters as an ulster final win. Taking nothing away from Cavan win but referee very poor again. Really doesn't like Monaghan. In the cold light of day Monaghan's injuries will certainly leave us with a short season and Cavan don't have a 70 minutes performance in them."
Not sure what you're on about the ref there. Thought Lane was poor, if anything though it was for both sides. Ye got away with a lot more than you thought. McManus first point from play early in the second half was as a result of a turnover off a high tackle on McVeety which wasn't given, McManus kicked his feet up in the air after going to ground in the first half and cut McLoughlin on the face, and the very last free ye got was for a pick up off the ground (which it clearly wasn't) and Hughes took the kick 5 yards from where the free was from. Those are just off the top of my head, there are others too. Many things went wrong for ye on Saturday, but the referee was not one of them, ye got a lot of the calls

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 20/05/2019 10:34:23    2185797

Replying To Gator:  "Congratulations to Cavan. A well-deserved victory and overdue I suppose! It was the worst display I have seen from Monaghan in a long, long time. Worse than last year with Fermanagh and the year before with Down. I think I would have to go back to Longford game in 2016. Monaghan have this problem (always have). The last three years they have coughed up this type of performance to a less fancied opposition. We looked wrong from the start. McKenna should never have been on the pitch. I don't see it with him in the county set up. I don't think there is enough quality there. Duffy was much better when he came on and if I was picking I know where I would go. O'Hanlon was out of his depth. I can see why we have him there, very quick on the feet but he was caught in possession each time. He carried it right in to the cavan line. He needs to sort that out and fast. We missed McCarron, Hughes and Kearns badly. Malone had a poor day and Drew was not great either. Kieran Hughes and Walsh did well, better than in recent games I thought.

Cavan played some excellent stuff in the first half (that's hard to admit!) but I thought Martin Reilly was fantastic. McKiernan and McVeety too. Some of the younger lads really stuck out too (I thought Rehill did very well). I will say Cavan need to be better if they are to progress and make super 8's. Monaghan were woeful in the first half but Cavan nearly let a poor side back in the game in the second half. They dug deep and stopped it but I know a lot of the supporters near me were getting nervous. Galligan is a poor keeper with respect to distribution of the ball. I don't know what sky said about it but RTE didn't hit the point last night. McStay was right, Cavan should have won more in the midfield but they didn't because his play sometimes was brutal.

A note on Conor Lane. He is possibly the worst ref at intercounty at the moment. He did his best to spoil the game. We were better letting the wee dog ref it. He is far too fond of the whistle. He misses frees all the time and then gives away stupid frees. He has no idea when to give a black card versus a yellow…..And it was not a penalty. I could see that from the east terrace. It was right in front of him. It made no real difference IMO. I think he went against Cavan on plenty too. He is just not up to the job.

All that said, I would love another crack at Cavan in the qualifiers (or if we are both lucky enough Super 8!)"
Good post. Agree on the ref, he was poor for both sides and he doesn't take the right option on cards at times. He let many fellas take steps all game (such a thing that some refs pull on this, and others completely ignore it and let lads travel for ages - no consistency with referees). All said though, it wasn't the ref who was the winning or the losing of the game, both sides gained and lost on his decisions

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 20/05/2019 10:39:07    2185801

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Still failing to see how you think it was a dive. As I mentioned earlier, I think it wasn't a penalty, but there was contact from Wylie and Beggan. How was it a dive? Cannot see how you can be punished (as you say) for when a man is contacted when he is trying to control the ball"
He's clearly seen hanging his leg onto Beggan's body to make it look like contact and then does a dive. Clear as day , it's a shocking decision by the ref anyway but the Cavan player does not help him at all with his antics.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2019 10:41:28    2185803

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "A lot of salt over the penalty.

Here's the thing though. You're not allowed take a man out of it as he's about to score a tap in. Madden rounded the keeper (albeit accidentally as he fumbled the pass) and Beggan clattered into him.
Stonewall penalty, of which Lane had a perfect view.

Less of the salt please."
Ok so we should sugar coat it instead?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 20/05/2019 11:20:07    2185831

Fair play to Cavan on a deserved win. I must admit I didn't see it coming as I thought Monaghan have a bit more quality in their ranks and they know how to win tight games against Cavan especially. But they never got going the other night and Cavan played very well.

The semi final against Armagh will be a tight one. McGeeney finally got his first Ulster championship win with them so they'll have the tails up. They have a lot of quality as well so it will be interesting to see how this match pans out.

A word too for Mickey Graham. His managerial stock has very risen in 2019. Fair play to him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 20/05/2019 11:44:27    2185853

Well done to Cavan on getting the Monaghan monkey off their backs. Deserved winners the other night and now a great chance at making an Ulster final.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 20/05/2019 13:00:23    2185891

Penalty was for push in the back from Wylie and not the contact with the goalie, I was behind the goals where it happened and it was obvious there was a shove on Madden as he tried to control the ball. Hard luck to Monaghan who are a hard side to beat but the greater hunger was shown by Cavan.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 20/05/2019 16:48:21    2185980

There's nobody from Monaghan using the penalty as an excuse for losing, but if yez are intent on debating it, please debate both penalty decisions (or lack of). If Cavan's was a penalty then so was the push on O Hanlon inside the square

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/05/2019 17:39:37    2186001

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "There's nobody from Monaghan using the penalty as an excuse for losing, but if yez are intent on debating it, please debate both penalty decisions (or lack of). If Cavan's was a penalty then so was the push on O Hanlon inside the square"
Ha ha! It was actually a push.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 18:36:10    2186036

Replying To facer4home:  "Penalty was for push in the back from Wylie and not the contact with the goalie, I was behind the goals where it happened and it was obvious there was a shove on Madden as he tried to control the ball. Hard luck to Monaghan who are a hard side to beat but the greater hunger was shown by Cavan."
There was no push or shove it's a shocking decision.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2019 18:53:58    2186043

Replying To clondalkindub:  "There was no push or shove it's a shocking decision."
Yes there was lad. What's your deal? You've a serious bee in your bonnet about this. It was soft but Wylie had his hand on his back and nudged him. BBC had a replay where you can see it plain as day. It's harsh as I've said, but he did it. He knows the consequences when he did it, as every child in the country being coached knows - hand on the back you'll give away a foul... Let it go will you

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 20/05/2019 20:44:13    2186082

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yes there was lad. What's your deal? You've a serious bee in your bonnet about this. It was soft but Wylie had his hand on his back and nudged him. BBC had a replay where you can see it plain as day. It's harsh as I've said, but he did it. He knows the consequences when he did it, as every child in the country being coached knows - hand on the back you'll give away a foul... Let it go will you"
Spot on. It was very very soft but there was hands on the back and a clear pushing action by Wylie. Madden didn't help himself by trailing his leg into Beggan anyway but the ref has said he gave it for the push in the back and not the contact by Beggan I've watched it over a good few times now and from the angle in the link below I think it's hard to argue there's not a push by Wylie. Again it's soft but by the letter of the law it's a pen all day long. I know if it happend a Dublin attacker I'd be roaring for it anyway! ;)

https://twitter.com/FCTwenteBenson/status/1129813063950045190?s=19

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 21/05/2019 09:26:16    2186171

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Spot on. It was very very soft but there was hands on the back and a clear pushing action by Wylie. Madden didn't help himself by trailing his leg into Beggan anyway but the ref has said he gave it for the push in the back and not the contact by Beggan I've watched it over a good few times now and from the angle in the link below I think it's hard to argue there's not a push by Wylie. Again it's soft but by the letter of the law it's a pen all day long. I know if it happend a Dublin attacker I'd be roaring for it anyway! ;)

https://twitter.com/FCTwenteBenson/status/1129813063950045190?s=19"
Thanks. Good link. I ended up recording the BBC angle in slow motion and uploading it here. You can even see his shirt being pulled by Wylie before the slight push. Again, it's still soft but he's trying to control the ball and he gets fouled.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 21/05/2019 10:15:16    2186191

Replying To clondalkindub:  "There was no push or shove it's a shocking decision."
Agree as does the majority of independent observers - woolly, Bernard Brogan, Brian Gavin etc etc etc. The only cynical behaviour obvious was that of Madden. We all have our biases & none more so when it comes to inter county competition, so probably no point in arguing with those who don't want to see reality. The only thing I would ask anyone who believes that was a penalty is to remove there goggles & ask them how would they view it if their team was the recipient of this sub standard decision making by the ref. No doubt there was a hand on the back but to suggest a push - some contributors need to cop on. I was beside where it happened & have watched it many times.
No complaints about the overall result, but have little tolerance for ridiculous commentary on the (never in a million years or even 32 years) penalty.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 21/05/2019 10:39:12    2186208