Meath V Carlow

Replying To Htaem:  "What's the story with parking in Portlaoise?"
It should be better then navan the last day at the old foresters car park they clamps up to twenty cars a lot of offaly people with family who came up to our county for the day disgraceful!!!

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 24/05/2019 16:45:21    2187154

I see Adam Flanagan replaces Shane McEntee in only change.

Bsst of luck today

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 25/05/2019 07:28:54    2187233

Replying To Aloblack:  "Biggys a 20/25 minute man max at inter county championship level these days .well he could probably hold his own from the start v carlow but once we go up the levels he won't. Not a criticism just a fact.. He's got a hell of a lot of miles in those Legs since 07 and it's showing. He's been an unreal servant for meath over the past 12 years but a 20/25 impact sub is definitely the only role for him now."
Call him what you want all I know is he's still a very very important part of this meath team

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 25/05/2019 09:39:55    2187241

No huge suprise to see Flanagan in at midfield, strong looking bench.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 25/05/2019 09:51:21    2187242

Will be a change or 2 to that team.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/05/2019 10:35:33    2187250

Replying To Barney123:  "Will be a change or 2 to that team."
Anyone else puzzled why andy isnt starting darragh campion? Thought he had a really good league and it's not like the forwards playing now are tearing it up, apart from newman cillian and maybe bryan mac I wouldn't say any have them have been playing consistently well

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 25/05/2019 10:47:20    2187252

Replying To redser123:  "Anyone else puzzled why andy isnt starting darragh campion? Thought he had a really good league and it's not like the forwards playing now are tearing it up, apart from newman cillian and maybe bryan mac I wouldn't say any have them have been playing consistently well"
CAmpion was poor against Donegal? He is a good player but I thought he was off in the Donegal game. I have watched both him and Ethan Devine over the years and I think Devine offers more! Just my view!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 25/05/2019 11:29:57    2187258

I'd be astonished if that's the only change to the team that takes to the field.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 25/05/2019 11:35:08    2187260

Yeah bit strange him and Ryan didn't even come on the last day. Ryan was one of our best performers in the league. They won't start this evening though. 2 players who didn't see much game time during the league will start.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/05/2019 12:17:53    2187263

Replying To Meathmaster:  "I'd be astonished if that's the only change to the team that takes to the field."
Hearing that harnan will start, not really surprising it was just a matter of him getting back to full match fitness before he got back into starting team

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 25/05/2019 15:09:23    2187290

Its hard to call this game. The neutral venue with 10-15,000 Carlow and also Dubs/Louth supporters shouting against this Meath team may rattle them. Carlow did a great number on Louth and Kildare last year, they're not a bad side and they've no fear or pressure in them. In saying that they're missing Murphy, their main player, and their manager and coach all to suspensions. If Meath don't up their game considerably from the last day, we may be in trouble. On paper the Meath team looks good and is capable of a lot, but which Meath will turn up? The team that miraculously pulled off a win against a superior, hungrier Offaly wont be that lucky twice. The team that beat Kildare, Armagh, Cork etc in positive matches a few months back should win the game in style. So who knows?

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 25/05/2019 15:48:34    2187295

Good win against a poor oppisition but you can only beat what is put in front of you. Thought Gallagher was very good.

Also good to see the likes of Campion, Ryan and Conlon coming off the bench today.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/05/2019 20:11:40    2187340

Replying To novalis:  "Carlow will set up defensively as usual. Having said that they scored 4-31 in the 2 wins over Louth and Kildare last year!
Not bad for a defensive team!!"
Ye left the shooting boots home Tday lad. But Ye looked good with 13 behind the ball meath at it to looks such rubbish at times.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 25/05/2019 20:42:06    2187346

Did what had to be done, still not playing at the level we did during league. Harnan has a very good game as did Brennan, some great scores, Conlon is a rocket and even impressed the Dublin scouts/reps in the reserve seats taking notes furiously, Flanagan came more into game as it went on, still a few lads below par but there was lot of improvement from Offaly game, not as tired or Lathargic also biggie had a great impact even though games was over. All going to plan so far another step up next game.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2019 21:03:34    2187366

Well done lads

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 25/05/2019 21:16:38    2187376

Good win but we need to sort out the free taking lads. I'd like to see Dardis given responsibility. Newman is a fantastic footballer, one of finest in the game, but it's almost like he's self conscious at times by how talented he is and he ends up being lackadaisical and inconsistent . Dardis has the natural cockiness to be a free taker and would like to see him given the responsibility. It might free up Newman's mind a bit as well and he can focus on his game in open play. Hope I'm not being harsh because as I say he's a fantastic footballer generally.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 25/05/2019 21:34:57    2187386

Just home with the daughter after having a celebratory Supermacs. Great to get back to Croke Park. It will really suit this Meath team. Flanagan will enjoy the open spaces. My God he was fantastic once space opened up after the sending off. Croke Park will really suit him.
Worrying about Thomas O Reilly it must have been an injury because he was lording it about the field looked very impressive, great score too. Gallagher was unreal today.
Carlow very dirty from the first minute and deservedly finished with 14.
Coogan much improved with his knockouts great save too. Bryan McMahon failed a bit and Cillian O Sullivan too but he did get a bad knock to the head.
Great to be back in Croker....hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 25/05/2019 21:56:20    2187397

Replying To Evernal:  "Just home with the daughter after having a celebratory Supermacs. Great to get back to Croke Park. It will really suit this Meath team. Flanagan will enjoy the open spaces. My God he was fantastic once space opened up after the sending off. Croke Park will really suit him.
Worrying about Thomas O Reilly it must have been an injury because he was lording it about the field looked very impressive, great score too. Gallagher was unreal today.
Coogan much improved with his knockouts great save too. Bryan McMahon failed a bit and Cillian O Sullivan too but he did get a bad knock to the head.
Great to be back in Croker....hon the Royal!"
O'Reilly was taken off for turning the ball over way too many times nothing to do with an injury, may have been harsh but I had no problem with andy taking him off, some of the turnovers were absolutely ridiculous under no pressure

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 25/05/2019 22:17:42    2187403

Replying To Evernal:  "Just home with the daughter after having a celebratory Supermacs. Great to get back to Croke Park. It will really suit this Meath team. Flanagan will enjoy the open spaces. My God he was fantastic once space opened up after the sending off. Croke Park will really suit him.
Eternal what game were you looking at? O'Reilly 'lording it'? The poor lad had a horrendous showing today where nothing came off for him after he scored his point early on. He gave away possession 3-4 times, got dispossessed a number of times and got blown for holding/overcarrying twice. It just wasnt his day and Andy was right to bring him off when he did.

Flanagan only came into it once his marker was red carded and Meath were 10 points up. I would think it would be unfair to say he was having a good game before the red card as his marker won almost every ball to him.

I think Meath did not play to their potential today. Backs were good although Carlow had not much to offer.

I was disappointed with Carlows attitude. They seemed more interested in playing the player rather than the ball. Dirty team with a dirty attitude. Meath did well to not get into a dogfight with them and the lads deserve great credit for that

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 25/05/2019 23:33:41    2187441

Not sure I fully agree with your assessment.

Firstly, delighted with result. We beat a middling team hoever,But our performance needs improvement if we are to take down a big cat! That said we are moving in right direction.

I thought Adam Flanagan was average enough today. And I'm a fan of Flanagan. Yes he won a few good kickouts, but only after Sean Murphy stupidly got himself sent off. Bryan Menton similar but overall much better of the 2 midfielders.

Thomas O'Reilly wad subbed because he definitely got turned over way to much, particularly through unforced errors. Only surprise wad that it was completed on 34th minute, and not waiting until half time. Sean Tobin could have been subbed earlier too.

IMO, Bryan McMahon completd a workmanlike performane but I wouldnt say he was spectacular by any means.

Donal Keoghan or Padraic Harnan best on show.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 26/05/2019 00:38:55    2187459