Dublin V Kilkenny

Replying To MesAmis:  "Grand sure, that's that. It was all them Dubs so."
I have been on this site for a long time and never criticised a ref or a player,the punishment handed out to the KK half forward line was absolutely scandalous,T J was in front of me in the first half and when I say his marker marked him I really mean he marked him,when the ball wasnt near them he was being pushed and pulled and really being tormented,now I am not saying we are angels but the treatment being dished out to T J was over the top, I dont know how he didnt retaliate,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 13/05/2019 22:34:12    2183838

Replying To Bon:  "I agree with you 100%. Then wally walsh lunged his head as chris crummy what about that?"
Yes Wally shouldent have done that, but it was only a nudge, helmet to helmet, and Crummey went down premiership style. If you were there you would have seen the build up to that and then make a balanced comment.
Again he shouldent have done it, but he wont be bullied, and lets be honest, the referee wasnt up to it.

bobkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 17 - 14/05/2019 08:31:21    2183878

Replying To ballydalane:  "Dublin maor foirne (or something) Greg Kennedy intercepted a quickly taken free from TJ Reid late in the first half. Cathal McAllister presumably said something along the lines of "now, now, don't be doing that now" and instead of sending him to the stand, allowed him to carry on his merry way as maor foirne for the rest of the match.

Backfired on Dublin I think because Cody and the fans went berserk and anytime Kennedy took the field after that the fans tore into him. I think it fired the Kilkenny players up, they certainly hurled better after that."
I think a big deal is being made about very little-what else would he have done when the ball was passed to him!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/05/2019 09:48:41    2183891

Replying To browncows:  "I think a big deal is being made about very little-what else would he have done when the ball was passed to him!"
If Dublin had gone on and won the game by a point would you still say it wasn't a big deal?

Ej (Wexford) - Posts: 355 - 14/05/2019 10:24:59    2183905

Wow Kilkenny posters giving out about the treatment by Dublin players , have their eyes been closed the last 30 years of the treatment Kilkenny players have dished out to everyone? I love Kilkenny hurling but come on lads give over.

Also the narrative seems to be "ah the Dubs up to no good again" with the selector he acted on impulse in a split second that had nothing to do with the players or management he acted alone and I'm sure he regrets it , it was shocking and he should be banned ASAP.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2019 10:25:54    2183906

Have to chuckle at some KK fans on here giving out about the treatment of their players by the Dublin lads. Kilkenny consistently over the last 25 years have without a shadow of a doubt been the masters of the dark arts so get of your high horses, take the victory and move on.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 14/05/2019 10:44:23    2183912

I wouldn't worry about the treatment of the Kilkenny players they are well able to take care of themselves. I watched a fair bit of their training matches a few years back Cody isn't a great referee himself. However i would question the calls on the penalties and the yellow cards given out after them. Liam Rushe charged into Conor Fogarty no foul at all. He gets a penalty and Fogarty is given a yellow card. Colin Fennelly gets a fair shoulder penalty is given and I believe Crummey gets a yellow card. The penalties given were bad enough but now he is handcuffing 2 players. Crummey was very confused looking when he got the yellow I don't blame him. Both players could be sent off for a simple tap later in the match. As for what would the Tipp forwards do to the Kilkenny backs I would say the same thing they have been doing for the last 20yrs.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 14/05/2019 11:40:34    2183930

Replying To gatha:  "I wouldn't worry about the treatment of the Kilkenny players they are well able to take care of themselves. I watched a fair bit of their training matches a few years back Cody isn't a great referee himself. However i would question the calls on the penalties and the yellow cards given out after them. Liam Rushe charged into Conor Fogarty no foul at all. He gets a penalty and Fogarty is given a yellow card. Colin Fennelly gets a fair shoulder penalty is given and I believe Crummey gets a yellow card. The penalties given were bad enough but now he is handcuffing 2 players. Crummey was very confused looking when he got the yellow I don't blame him. Both players could be sent off for a simple tap later in the match. As for what would the Tipp forwards do to the Kilkenny backs I would say the same thing they have been doing for the last 20yrs."
First penalty was a dive, second Murphy went up on his back so although soft probably fair. Kilkenny penalty was given for the wild swing of the hurl on Fennelly before he took the shoulder. Looked like it was borderline outside the box. He put the ball in the net anyway so play should have been let run on.

I was at the game, it was ruined by the ref running up and down the field talking to his assistants. I think they should only get involved if they feel what went on merits a straight red. I was directly in line with Walsh and Crummey. Walsh got a dig of a hurl in the back and retaliated. Either give them both reds or just get on with it.

I wouldn't throw the book at the Dublin official, a stern warning to all Counties in both codes would suffice, if an official interferes with play, 3 month ban. Does it twice, 12 month ban. Sending him to the stand in that instance would not have been wise, KK fans were furious, if he sat in beside the wrong person it could of started serious trouble.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 14/05/2019 12:22:44    2183948

Chris Crummys great player but that dive was embarrassing there's no place in hurling or football for diving it's absolutely disgusting, let's call then out wether he's from your county or not it needs to be stamped out.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2019 16:24:48    2184039

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Wow Kilkenny posters giving out about the treatment by Dublin players , have their eyes been closed the last 30 years of the treatment Kilkenny players have dished out to everyone? I love Kilkenny hurling but come on lads give over.

Also the narrative seems to be "ah the Dubs up to no good again" with the selector he acted on impulse in a split second that had nothing to do with the players or management he acted alone and I'm sure he regrets it , it was shocking and he should be banned ASAP."
Nah, I watched the match again (anorak, here), he saw TJ was eyeing up the quick free, ran over to Fennelly who was unmarked and intercepted the pass. He acted alone but there was nothing impulsive about it.

GAA seem to be the only sports where any Tom, Dick and Harry is free to patrol the sideline or run onto the field and interfere with play.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 14/05/2019 19:22:07    2184098

Dead right. There's no way the actions of a grown man who has been involved in the senior game for decades and who's inculcated in every facet of the game, can have such a blatant act waved away as mere 'impulse'. A good long ban, perhaps even for the entire season, would not be unduly harsh in my opinion.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/05/2019 19:41:33    2184104

Replying To MesAmis:  "Our inability to win our own poc out was a bigger factor. I'd agree that it didn't help at all but in reality we were well beaten by a better side second half. 5 points flattered us to be fair.

I just don't agree that the off the ball stuff was all a one way street is all."
I'm not saying it was Dublin who was necessarily driving the off the ball bust-ups but I don't think it did them any favours either. They were way more fluid in the first half and played some nice hurling.

Kilkenny took the game but the scruff of the neck in the second half. TJ Reid is an amazing player, even with the big injury list, you knew they would be ok as long as he is playing.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/05/2019 20:00:52    2184109

Replying To festinog:  "Dead right. There's no way the actions of a grown man who has been involved in the senior game for decades and who's inculcated in every facet of the game, can have such a blatant act waved away as mere 'impulse'. A good long ban, perhaps even for the entire season, would not be unduly harsh in my opinion."
This is not the first time this man has been involved in controversy, even in his own county. We will leave it at that.

bobkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 17 - 14/05/2019 20:02:30    2184110

Replying To ballydalane:  "Nah, I watched the match again (anorak, here), he saw TJ was eyeing up the quick free, ran over to Fennelly who was unmarked and intercepted the pass. He acted alone but there was nothing impulsive about it.

GAA seem to be the only sports where any Tom, Dick and Harry is free to patrol the sideline or run onto the field and interfere with play."
Wasn't really my point but ok whatever.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2019 20:06:37    2184115

He caught more clean ball the last day than he did in his entire playing days in maroon.............

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 14/05/2019 23:30:47    2184177

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "He caught more clean ball the last day than he did in his entire playing days in maroon............."
Yawn

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/05/2019 00:43:35    2184189

Replying To ballydalane:  "Nah, I watched the match again (anorak, here), he saw TJ was eyeing up the quick free, ran over to Fennelly who was unmarked and intercepted the pass. He acted alone but there was nothing impulsive about it.

GAA seem to be the only sports where any Tom, Dick and Harry is free to patrol the sideline or run onto the field and interfere with play."
Completely agree with you ballydalane, it drives me mad when I see lads running on and off the pitch. If you aren't bringing on hurls, or water at a break in play

Although the worst of all is the latest trend of the physio coming on with his ice, helmet off (now I know full well how hard you need to get hit on the helmet to need ice on your head), 2 minutes later the helmet is back on and the "injured" warrior is back in action......generally only happens when the other team has momentum, or you are leading and want to waste a few minutes. I don't know when referees are going to cop on to this.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 15/05/2019 08:33:55    2184209

Barcelona should sign him up. At least they'd have one defender alert to quick free kicks by the opposition

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 15/05/2019 14:57:00    2184320