Tyrone Vs Derry

As much as I want Derry to win of course, I just don't see it happening yet unfortunately. Derry are definitely improving and we will for sure be a bigger and better in the next 3-4 years. Predict that it will be tighter that previous years; I see us going in at half time up by a few points but then Tyrone will find their momentum and go on to win. If we put in a good performance and put it up to them ill be happy. Tyrone by 4-6.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 02/05/2019 19:25:22    2181523

Replying To oakleafersir:  "As much as I want Derry to win of course, I just don't see it happening yet unfortunately. Derry are definitely improving and we will for sure be a bigger and better in the next 3-4 years. Predict that it will be tighter that previous years; I see us going in at half time up by a few points but then Tyrone will find their momentum and go on to win. If we put in a good performance and put it up to them ill be happy. Tyrone by 4-6."
Yeah I agree on this. Don't think it will be a hammering but Tyrone far stronger in most areas.

The one thing that stuck me during the past two Derry matches was Derry's lack of fitness and conditioning. The one thing Tyrone and Derry should be even in is the fitness levels of each player. They should be close to Tyrone's fitness levels this year.

Derry have some good players but Tyrone better in most positions.

Tyrone by 6.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/05/2019 10:25:13    2181593

Should be comfortable enough for Tyrone. Derry have a few dangerous lads like McGuigan and Bradley but not enough to worry Tyrone's defence too much.

Id really like to see Tyrone go out and attack hard from the start and put the game to bed after 15/20 mins. It will be interesting to see how Tyrone line out, McShane/Donnelly/Harte worked well moving in and out of full forward in the league but a lot of their success game from getting marks, which obviously be used.

Just out of interest for whoever wins, where will the Antrim game be played in the next round? Antrim where drew out first and usually would get home advantage.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 03/05/2019 10:47:31    2181603

Tyrone will absolutely destroy Derry.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/05/2019 11:04:36    2181606

Tyrone have a lot more scoring options and I expect Tyrone to beat (-7) handicap. Armagh could be favourite to host if Antrim V Tyrone.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 03/05/2019 11:06:50    2181608

Can't see this one being close. At the end of the day Derry are a division 4 team.

They will probably keep it reasonably close for 10-15 min but I would expect Tyrone to be out of sight by half time.

I don't know if this is necessarily a good thing though.

Hammering Derry and then Antrim is not great preparation for playing Donegal in a semi final.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 03/05/2019 12:43:18    2181637

It's championship football and you never can tell. Never count the chickens till they're hatched. Now does anyone know where I can watch or listen to this game tomorrow.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/05/2019 12:56:29    2183088

Replying To border Gael:  "It's championship football and you never can tell. Never count the chickens till they're hatched. Now does anyone know where I can watch or listen to this game tomorrow."
Deferred coverage on BBC at 7

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 11/05/2019 17:32:10    2183114

Replying To waynoI:  "Tyrone will absolutely destroy Derry."
Wouldn't say destroy now

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 11/05/2019 21:14:51    2183155

Replying To waynoI:  "Tyrone will absolutely destroy Derry."
I think you were letting Derry's league position fool you here.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 13/05/2019 08:54:03    2183495

If Darren Mc Curry is able to celebrate scoring a goal by flexing his leg imagine what he'd be like if he won an all ireland.!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 13/05/2019 10:06:32    2183520

How bad was the ref ? How did Colm Cavanagh not get the line ? How many cynical fouls did he get away with ? The leg kick should of been a straight red.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/05/2019 15:59:55    2183709

Tyrone struggling against a division 4 Derry wasn't what I was expecting to see after all the discussion of their rebirth as an all out attacking superpower.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 13/05/2019 17:10:44    2183736

Replying To greatpoint:  "Tyrone struggling against a division 4 Derry wasn't what I was expecting to see after all the discussion of their rebirth as an all out attacking superpower."
The attacking flare was there in spells,mc Shane got 0-7 and man of the match,and at the end of the day a 6 point win is a fairly decisive win. I would also just say that I never expected it to be a walk over because of the intense rivalry,the ulster championship being what it is and as Mickey Harte said Derry were never a div 4 team and they're not anymore,there div 3 now. A good win for us and fair play to Derry for fighting all the way.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/05/2019 19:57:34    2183797

Hammering Derry and then Antrim is not great preparation for playing Donegal in a semi final.

Ach sure us Antrim folk are just happy to grace the same field as youse and get a day out of the County for our home game.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/05/2019 21:04:07    2183814

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Hammering Derry and then Antrim is not great preparation for playing Donegal in a semi final.

Ach sure us Antrim folk are just happy to grace the same field as youse and get a day out of the County for our home game."
Good man.

That is very graceful of you.

Unfortunately attitudes like yours are not very common on this forum.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 14/05/2019 08:27:53    2183877

Replying To Wally:  "
Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Hammering Derry and then Antrim is not great preparation for playing Donegal in a semi final.

Ach sure us Antrim folk are just happy to grace the same field as youse and get a day out of the County for our home game."
Good man.

That is very graceful of you.

Unfortunately attitudes like yours are not very common on this forum."
No bother - just go easy on us. Can't handle distraught weans on the journey back from Armagh or wherever.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/05/2019 10:12:34    2183899

Tyrone may not have played as well as expected but Derry impressed and McGuigan looks a quality player.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 14/05/2019 12:30:27    2183951

Dery have the makings of a good team I think provided McErlain can maintain harmony in the camp. A few of them could do with eating a few more spuds as well. What was wrong with Emmet Bradley the last day? He was very impressive against us last year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 14/05/2019 13:43:59    2183973

Yeah it was close. Derry raised their game, Tyrone weren't at their best.

Derry replaced there 2 big scoring threats in Sammy Bradley and Emmett Bradley before the game and replaced them with defenders. 13 behind the ball and they knew they had someone in the full forward, McGuigan, who could do damage.

Tyrone obviously set up pretty much the same, and usually when that happens its tight but the team with the better quality players wins. hence Tyrone.

Very worried about Sludden's form, been very poor for a long time, even the league he was brought off early in most games. He tracks back but isn't physically big enough t tackle bigger men or plug holes. His shooting has deserted him as well.

A game like this will help Tyrone. It shows we are far off the finished article and improvement needed. Hopefully building up to the Donegal game, no offence Antrim or Fermanagh.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/05/2019 13:47:41    2183975