Munster Hurling Championship

Replying To clooney:  "I still think Limerick will qualify they have the strongest panel around they have a lot of similar Hurlers but bar 2 or 3 not many exceptional players such as TJ Reid S Callinan Patrick Horgan Bubbles ect and when they get to play to their system are fierce hard to break down.
Few will admit it but they under estimated the Rebels who after all scored 1.24 playing badly Myler tweaked a few things a centre back yesterday that was not even in panel last week worked well.

Tipperary now definate favourites for Munster & All Ireland Ireland titles Limerick always gives them bags off it though"
Thanks Clooney. I would not write your own county either. Ye beat Tipp in Thurles last year and as we found on several occasions are a very tough nut to crack at home. The three games three Sundays in a row could affect both our teams badly however and this situation does not occur this year in Leinster. Our Munster Council reps should insist this cannot be repeated.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 20/05/2019 19:48:42    2186063

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Who would have thought that after 4 games in the Munster championship this year the home team has lost 3. Each team who had home advantage as their first game lost. Remarkable but really goes to show how unpredictable the Munster championship is. Plenty more twists and turns im sure. Limerick wont like going to Walsh Park having to get a result. That being said, its amazing how Waterfords form has plummeted since the league semi and in fairness I dont think their conditioning and fitness looks good. They are also very blunt in attack.

Clare and Tipperary is anyones guess. Tipperary have the form but Clare have only lost at home once since 2016. Cusack Park will be a cauldron that day - I cant wait. Cork are right back in the mix now."
Can't wait for the Clare v Tipp game.... should be a great match and so hard to call it! I think the Banner will win.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 20/05/2019 20:13:43    2186068

Which terrace is the best in Cusack Park, North, East or west? Going on the 15th and Would preferably like to be in with mainly Cork...

SlipperyDodger (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 20/05/2019 20:25:37    2186073

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I'd rather get out of Leinster than win the league, honestly."
Wasn't the question you asked or I asked ??,I asked a question on the Dublin vs Wexford forum,as this is Munster hurling, could at least one Wexford fan comment.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 20/05/2019 20:38:45    2186079

It's not a dig, the whole backstop to the question is that i previously said on this forum that i thought Limerick were wasting too much energy and effort to win what i think is a meaningless league and i think that manifested on Sunday when they were flat and looked tired.
I'm not writing Limerick off but i must say i was very surprised with the performance?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 21/05/2019 08:38:55    2186162

Replying To SlipperyDodger:  "Which terrace is the best in Cusack Park, North, East or west? Going on the 15th and Would preferably like to be in with mainly Cork..."
Two similar terraces the Aldi (South end} and Town {north] can you choose either ?? I would go Town end myself

Dont be too hard on us now ///

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 21/05/2019 10:04:02    2186183

Replying To SlipperyDodger:  "Which terrace is the best in Cusack Park, North, East or west? Going on the 15th and Would preferably like to be in with mainly Cork..."
Two similar terraces the Aldi (South end} and Town {north] can you choose either ?? I would go Town end myself

Dont be too hard on us now ///

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 21/05/2019 10:04:06    2186184

The East terrace is the best of the 3 because it takes up the full east side of the pitch so opposite the terrible seated stand that patrons abhor.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/05/2019 12:32:48    2186262

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Think the league counts for F all to be honest"
Needs to be merged with championship. It's such a silly setup.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 21/05/2019 12:39:33    2186269

Replying To Canuck:  "I also hope Clare go on and qualify. Unfortunately a small thing can be a big thing later on where one point may make the difference.
However we are blessed to be able to witness players like Tony Kelly, Austin Gleeson, John O'Dwyer, Aaron Gillane, TJ Reid, Patrick Horgan And many others. Some from more counties."
Agree, but Austin? He's become a fringe player. Hasn't impressed since his HOTY performance. Surprised he even starts. He's matured which needed to happen but his impact is negligible other than the occasional moments of brilliance. But that is not enough. He's got time to cop on & I hope we get to see the best of this incredibly athletic hurler. Gimme Jamie B., or Mikey K. any day.

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 21/05/2019 13:12:21    2186290

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "It's not a dig, the whole backstop to the question is that i previously said on this forum that i thought Limerick were wasting too much energy and effort to win what i think is a meaningless league and i think that manifested on Sunday when they were flat and looked tired.
I'm not writing Limerick off but i must say i was very surprised with the performance?"
Larry, Limerick had the least preparation of any team in the League. Limerick were in the US for the Boston series, then they played their 2 Munster league matches before they went to the US & Mexico on their team holiday. All that gave them a few weeks to prepare for the league. I was really surprised that we won the league. The big factor last Sunday in the Limerick Cork game was that Limerick were playing their 1st championship game and Cork had a hard game under their belts the previous week. Limerick now need to bounce back from defeat and an under performance the way Cork did when we play Waterford the June weekend. early days yet.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 21/05/2019 16:26:17    2186347

We need a new thread where the limerick and Wexford posters can squabble in private and leave the rest of us in peace to enjoy some hurling talk.

I am pleasantly surprised with how well Tipp are playing this year in the championship. I also think it is mad that in the space of two weeks we've gone from being top 6 at best to the bookies favourites for the All Ireland. Limerick and Galway are surely the teams to beat followed by Cork and Clare.

Fair play to Cork for bouncing back against Limerick. I thought Clare looked good against Waterford the first day out.

Waterford will surely throw the kitchen sink at Limerick in their next game. If they somehow win it, it will leave Limerick in an extremely precarious position.

Clare need to atone for the disappointing Munster final defeats to Cork and beat them in Ennis. I think the big pitch there will suit Horgan though.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/05/2019 16:29:48    2186349

Replying To Killarney.87:  "We need a new thread where the limerick and Wexford posters can squabble in private and leave the rest of us in peace to enjoy some hurling talk.

I am pleasantly surprised with how well Tipp are playing this year in the championship. I also think it is mad that in the space of two weeks we've gone from being top 6 at best to the bookies favourites for the All Ireland. Limerick and Galway are surely the teams to beat followed by Cork and Clare.

Fair play to Cork for bouncing back against Limerick. I thought Clare looked good against Waterford the first day out.

Waterford will surely throw the kitchen sink at Limerick in their next game. If they somehow win it, it will leave Limerick in an extremely precarious position.

Clare need to atone for the disappointing Munster final defeats to Cork and beat them in Ennis. I think the big pitch there will suit Horgan though."
Tip have a serious forward line when firing on all cylinders, Forde, Callinan, Mc Grath and Bubbles all capable of scoring 1-5 or 7/8 Pts from play on any day.....no other team for me has the same spread of scoring threat, the big question remains the pace of their backline as evidenced by fact that Cork still put up a big score against them despite Cork been cleaned out under the puck out and losing midfield battle.......all still to play for but Tipp have the most potent forward line for me

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 21/05/2019 17:51:19    2186378

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Tip have a serious forward line when firing on all cylinders, Forde, Callinan, Mc Grath and Bubbles all capable of scoring 1-5 or 7/8 Pts from play on any day.....no other team for me has the same spread of scoring threat, the big question remains the pace of their backline as evidenced by fact that Cork still put up a big score against them despite Cork been cleaned out under the puck out and losing midfield battle.......all still to play for but Tipp have the most potent forward line for me"
Yeah I agree with that and that's why i think the hurling public are very fickle. They shouldn't be favourites for the All Ireland after two wins.

Clare away and Limerick at home will be extremely tough games. They could
Easily end up on four points after the four games are done.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/05/2019 20:56:15    2186432

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah I agree with that and that's why i think the hurling public are very fickle. They shouldn't be favourites for the All Ireland after two wins.

Clare away and Limerick at home will be extremely tough games. They could
Easily end up on four points after the four games are done."
Agree totally.....couple of wins and media go into hyperbole, same way there has been a total over reaction to Limericks defeat......reality is there is little or nothing between any of the Munster counties and it will be at least another round of games before things become a bit clearer.....could Tipp win the all Ireland of course they could but to install them as favourites already is based on media spin as opposed to any hard evidence

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 21/05/2019 23:43:18    2186485

The media are always looking for a narrative - build a team up, question the form team.

Can't wait for the next round in Munster, especially the game in Walsh Park. Waterford will feel that they let themselves down on their home patch against Clare. First time in over 20 years to play Championship in front of their home support. They should bring the kitchen sink to this game. Not sure if it will be enough against the mighty Limerick.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 22/05/2019 08:16:17    2186509

Can't understand why there couldn't be a round of matches this week 26/5 a break next week 2/6 then have another 2 matches in successive Sundays is that too simple? Clare and limerick have to play 3 in a row seems bizarre to me could be very costly for either

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 22/05/2019 23:13:42    2186755

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "i posted the below back before Joe Canning got injured but i'm sticking to it until im proven wrong -

I think Galway will win All Ireland easy enough to be honest - they lost by a point last year after playing for about 20 mins and gifting Limerick 3 goals.

Team Predictions as follows:
Galway - AI Champions, most talent, will make amends for last year.
Cork - Beaten finalists - Will score heavily but lack of a full back will catch up eventually.
Clare - Semi Final - beaten by Galway - Will be entertaining and competitive but no Reidy, McGrath & off pace O'Donnell will leave squad bare and any injury will scupper plans greatly.
Wexford - Semi Final - Beaten by cork - Poor Leinster campaign, struggle over Dublin in 1st round and lose to KK and Galway. Will Surprise everybody when short passing sweeper system begins to rack up high scores but will lose to Cork in classic semi final.
Kilkenny - 1/4 Final - Deep panel but will stumble due to lack of top class players in 1/4 final - will die with their boots on and give all. TJ to be a bit player from play. Full back to be a massive issue all year.
Limerick - Will storm Munster early and be favorites for Munster Final where they will be trimmed by fast cork team. Wheels will fall off against Wexford where they will be shocked by 6points plus with wexford getting last 5 scores.

Waterford - Lose to clare in classic that eliminates them from Munster. Lack of forwards to tell.
Tipp - Wooden spoon - Pace of senior players greatly exposed. Callanan to be dropped by third Munster Game
Dublin - Valiant efforts against Wexford and KK - Eoghan O Donnell to get an all star."
Had to resurrect this thread! My own predictions were far from accurate either but hard to argue at the time that Larry hadn't good reason for most of his predictions but how far wrong can you be... almost all his predictions were miles off

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/08/2019 20:40:37    2228023