Connacht Championship 2019

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Pitch dimensions had no bearing on last night's result. Roscommon were locked and loaded and hit us with a ferocity most didn't expect. Some 'pundits' predicted our fitness would get us through comfortably and massively underestimated the Rossies physical threat. We were ambling when they scored their first goal. They chased down everything and relished hitting us when they could if the opportunity was there. When Roscommon subs were taken off they were gassed ran to a standstill, and more eager subs in to do more of the same. To say Donie Smith was chomping at the bit would be a huge understatement. They executed a great squad gameplan, we had a bit of a plan, 15 players and some subs."
Strength and conditioning needs to be perfected at the right stage of the season.
The only teams to have perfected this at the business end of the season are Dublin and Mayo over the past decade, Donegal under JM
The conditioning and fitness levels that you saw yesterday , or any in any other province will not be suffice on a croke park pitch in August.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 26/05/2019 17:18:47    2187688

Replying To catch22:  "Hi hon, Toms a bit rough around the edges alright and Prone to the aul balls up of a comment. I'll tell you something though you sound like a right aul bag."
Eh, who's Tom?

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 26/05/2019 17:21:45    2187689

Replying To waynoI:  "http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/33723-maughan-mayo-will-be-too-strong

Beautiful"
How disrespectful from Maughan, spouting some rubbish, couldn't even do his homework and know the Rosommon v Leitrim game was in Rosommon and not Carrck-on -Shannon. As for David Brady clueless

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 26/05/2019 17:28:55    2187690

Replying To waynoI:  "http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/33723-maughan-mayo-will-be-too-strong

Beautiful"
At one stage in his Roscommon coaching reign he referred to Roscommon supporters as 'customers'. I'm sure Roscommon didn't need any encouragment to do their all last night but Maughan's condescending rubbish surely made it sweeter.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 26/05/2019 17:32:20    2187691

Replying To BeJasus:  "Strength and conditioning needs to be perfected at the right stage of the season.
The only teams to have perfected this at the business end of the season are Dublin and Mayo over the past decade, Donegal under JM
The conditioning and fitness levels that you saw yesterday , or any in any other province will not be suffice on a croke park pitch in August."
My post was about last night's game. Roscommon had the stomach for a fight, we didn't.

For future games any teams looking for pitch denensions as an advantage should stay at home.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 26/05/2019 17:38:17    2187695

Roscommon are a deserving D1 team. They have some incredibly talented players. I dont know why they are disrespected so much.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/05/2019 17:43:54    2187698

Replying To Jackeen:  "Roscommon are a deserving D1 team. They have some incredibly talented players. I dont know why they are disrespected so much."
Because we are little old Roscommon and don't catch the national media attention of more populated and bigger sized neighbours in Connacht. Tomas O'Se for example was talking about a Galway v Mayo final before last nights match.

We were very unlucky to go down and after last night i can say without any doubt if Conor Cox was available for round 1 v Mayo we would have won and stayed up comfortably.

I'm somewhat disappointed that some experts in the media and some posters on here are talking about Mayo wides yet fail to give the credit to us for making them shoot under pressure and in areas they aren't comfortable to shoot from it was very much a game plan from our management and tactic well used by Galway also.

Looking forward to the Connacht final v Galway in Salthill now we will be underdogs again but that is exactly where we want to be as seen with last night fabulous hard earn and deserved win against the odds. BTW thats the 3rd time in a row we have knocked Mayo out of Connacht after they won the NFL 1970,2001 and now 2019.

P.S spiritofeslin with his 10 win for Mayo prediction on here is that you David Brady?

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/05/2019 19:12:43    2187746

Replying To Belclare:  "I dont get this.. Mayo will make the super 8s no doubt.. There is a massive doubt.. People had no doubt they'd win Connacht. They are very average.."
that would indicate that Galway are below average then

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 26/05/2019 19:47:07    2187765

Roscommon defense very good, put enormous pressure and forced Mayo to shoot from distance which we can't do. They were hungrier and fought better than we did...yes we could have sneaked a draw but I've seen no complaints from any mayo person and the better team won.

Best of luck to Roscommon in the final. Should be a great game. As for us, it's a long road back again....very frustrating

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 26/05/2019 19:50:46    2187767

Is there any NOW TV option where I could watch the full game and analysis?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 26/05/2019 19:56:11    2187771

Jaysus Brolly is hard to listen to. Mayo panicked and were in disarray and falling apart etc etc. Whilst Ros scented blood and were magnificent etc etc.

Roscommon won by 1 point after a great game ffs.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/05/2019 21:57:44    2187850

Replying To Pericles:  "Not a point I was making Trucker... where did I say it was? Mind you, it was a push in the back, but he'd let numerous ones go earlier, so based on that it was soft. I couldn't watch the free... actually would have given it to Andy to take, since he's two-footed but naturally a leftie. All academic... test team won."
Andy wasn't on the pitch to take it..

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 26/05/2019 22:35:52    2187877

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus Brolly is hard to listen to. Mayo panicked and were in disarray and falling apart etc etc. Whilst Ros scented blood and were magnificent etc etc.

Roscommon won by 1 point after a great game ffs."
He is out of his depth. He cant do the tactics so he goes off on a rant to cover up. When whelan starting on tactics brolly kept interrupting trying to knock him off. Brolly needs to go hes more suited to a podcast

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 27/05/2019 00:48:28    2187926

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Andy wasn't on the pitch to take it.."
Even if he was, he probably would have missed as well.
McLoughlin was the right man to take it, just poor execution. Especially kicking it wide on his own side.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 27/05/2019 09:12:47    2187963

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Andy wasn't on the pitch to take it.."
Missed that at the time Douglas... found those last few minutes excruciating. Didn't even see the highlights tbh (was driving). Thought when we went ahead we'd have held on, but your lads really showed huge self belief to turn the tables again. All the best in the final... should be another good 50/50 game. Our lads are now 3rd ranked in Connacht and can either settle for that and a league win or react.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/05/2019 13:25:05    2188109

Replying To candlewax:  "Even if he was, he probably would have missed as well.
McLoughlin was the right man to take it, just poor execution. Especially kicking it wide on his own side."
The right man is one who's up for it and Kevin, who's a great ball player, never wants to be that man, even when the kick isn't as pressured as that one was. Just not his thing...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/05/2019 14:07:43    2188137

If Roscommon hadn't won that game on Saturday night there would have been serious question marks as to why a clear point for Roscommon was waved wide while Mayo had a clear wide given as a score. Not to mention that late free McLoughlin got it was never a foul!

I didn't see that result coming to be honest (who did?) as i posted on page 13 of this thread i expect Roscommon to ask plenty of questions of Mayo. Mayo are known for energy,intensity and physically and Roscommon matched or surpassed them in all three on Saturday and deserve great credit for that.

For any underdog to win they need to have a good first 15 minutes,lead or be level at half time and to be still in the game with 10 minutes to go and Roscommon ticked all boxes there. The superb block down by Niall Daly in the 73rd minute and lug bursting run by CHB Hussey to set up Fintan Cregg for the winning score summed up the Roscommon team performance on the day. Full of heart,character and desire they simply wanted it more than Mayo and fully deserved the win.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 27/05/2019 14:29:23    2188150

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus Brolly is hard to listen to. Mayo panicked and were in disarray and falling apart etc etc. Whilst Ros scented blood and were magnificent etc etc.

Roscommon won by 1 point after a great game ffs."
I agree. When the lads suggested he hero worships the Dubs he denied all. He does hero worship them as good as they are but could turn to suit his twisted narrative. He is pathetic in his analysis and has it in for a few teams (us included). I certainly can take criticism but overboard not particularly the effort put in by non paid players. He had it in for Tyrone for yrs but now is in love with them.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/05/2019 14:43:19    2188154

All this talk about Mayo messing up isn't really fair on the Rossies. I thought they put in a magnificent performance especially in their tackling as Mayo did put them under alot of pressure. Roscommon goalkeeper was superb if it was Cluxton or Beggan he would have received alot more praise.

Mayo in fairness to them created tons of chances and on another day could have easily won and i thought they performed to a good standard apart from taking their scores. Overall though a great game of football.

Mayo will have alot of games now week after week. It will be tough for them to make the super 8s but it will only improve the championship if they do make it as they always create a bit of drama.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 27/05/2019 15:02:15    2188159

Replying To Pericles:  "The right man is one who's up for it and Kevin, who's a great ball player, never wants to be that man, even when the kick isn't as pressured as that one was. Just not his thing..."
Well to be fair to McLoughlin was he not the man to step up and get a last minute super point to save Mayo from Div 2 football during Rochford's reign.
Who would you have liked to have taken it? A kick for a left footer and Regan was taken off.
He was right to take it off Diarmuid O Connor who had a really poor game.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 27/05/2019 16:43:06    2188222