Connacht Championship 2019

The provincial championship is dead they say? those scenes tonight tells its own tale i reckon.

A very sweet victory especially for the way we were totally written off. Pure belief and character we showed to pull off that victory tonight to finally end the Machale park hoodoo v Mayo.

All the best to Mayo in qualifiers met many a gracious supporter after the match and they are the team that all will be looking to avoid in the back door i can imagine as for us we still have some unfinished business with the tribesmen.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 25/05/2019 23:07:44    2187434

Replying To candlewax:  "We kept hearing about the great support Mayo have.
They can't win it for you though, which is a shame.
Was expecting a Mayo win but congrats to Roscommon , deserved that.
Tough for Mayo to make Super 8s this year again after failing to make it last year."
Galway for Sam joke of the day

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 25/05/2019 23:21:21    2187439

There will be alot of talk about mayo losing here and in the media in the next few days and alot of questions will be raised, but I hope that alot is made about roscommon and their performance and what the result does for them!! Mayos failure might be the bigger seller if ya like, but what a result that is for roscommon and Anthony Cunningham. I'm made up for them. Fair play enjoy that.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/05/2019 23:51:05    2187449

John Maughan & David Brady, geniuses.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 25/05/2019 23:58:51    2187451

Roscommon deserved their victory, were by far the hungrier team, as for Mayo what a pile of shit, they looked like the had just finished a run from Kerry to Donegal today, no hunger, far slower than the Rossies to the ball, heavy legged. Management were too slow making changes, they are to blame for the conditioning or non conditioning of the players today. As with the goalie, he cost us 2-02 and missed at least 3 frees, kick outs were shocking, another awful day at the office for him, a junior B player would be dropped.
How many more times are we the Mayo people have to tell the co board to keep politics out of Mayo football, tell them to f off with their opinions and money, that nonsense cost us an All Ireland title and the bullshit still continues, we will never win an All Ireland title until we tell the clobs and gobshites to f off and leave the management run the team

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/05/2019 00:05:18    2187452

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's brilliant :-)"
No it's not, it's sick. Making a snide joke about the murder of someone; change JFK to Veronica Guerin, still find it "brilliant"?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 26/05/2019 00:13:58    2187455

Replying To katser:  "Congratulations Roscommon.... it should be another great tussle with Galway in the Connacht Final!!"
Mayo playing in MacHale Park is beyond foolish. Pitch is small 10m narrower than max 2m wider than minimum. Doesn't suit their style of play. Of course a game plan would help. Today was one of the most disorganized displays I've ever seen. Mayo still insist on carrying the ball into the tackle, they then either lose it in the tackle or hold it to long. Every ref calls the carrying player when he goes into the tackle. Mayo are by far the worst team for this, need to wise up. Horan needs to get his head in order & figure out a game plan. Congratulations to Roscommon fantastic win

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 26/05/2019 00:41:18    2187460

Replying To The_analyser:  "The provincial championship is dead they say? those scenes tonight tells its own tale i reckon.

A very sweet victory especially for the way we were totally written off. Pure belief and character we showed to pull off that victory tonight to finally end the Machale park hoodoo v Mayo.

All the best to Mayo in qualifiers met many a gracious supporter after the match and they are the team that all will be looking to avoid in the back door i can imagine as for us we still have some unfinished business with the tribesmen."
There still dead, what we did to leitrim 4 years on the trot proves it.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 26/05/2019 05:41:54    2187475

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No it's not, it's sick. Making a snide joke about the murder of someone; change JFK to Veronica Guerin, still find it "brilliant"?"
I'd say you're some craic after a few pints.

Yes, if he'd made a tasteless comment about the recent murder of a journalist by unknown and cowardly paramilitaries, it wouldn't be funny. But he didn't, did he. You did. Well done you.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/05/2019 06:19:28    2187476

Replying To cluichethar:  "Mayo playing in MacHale Park is beyond foolish. Pitch is small 10m narrower than max 2m wider than minimum. Doesn't suit their style of play. Of course a game plan would help. Today was one of the most disorganized displays I've ever seen. Mayo still insist on carrying the ball into the tackle, they then either lose it in the tackle or hold it to long. Every ref calls the carrying player when he goes into the tackle. Mayo are by far the worst team for this, need to wise up. Horan needs to get his head in order & figure out a game plan. Congratulations to Roscommon fantastic win"
The size of the pitch has become a problem for Mayo, there's no doubting that... it just doesn't suit our style of play right now at all. One of the reasons Cian O'Neill with his fair degree of insider knowledge was so insistent on playing the Kildare game in Newbridge is because it's one of the few county grounds where the pitch is even smaller than McHale Park.

I'd go easy on Rob Hennelly. There were errors, including for the second goal, but the players he was looking to find were often not switched on (and our FB line in particular were very poor). We had more than enough chances to win that game but just weren't efficient enough. The free taker thing is a mess. When Cillian's not there none of the other guys who are capable fancy it at all even though presumably before the game they get assigned and take on the job. I think the main cause for our loss, apart from some very good performances by a lot of the Rossie players, was the forwards not doing enough to win turnovers and to put pressure on the Roscommon kickouts. The smaller pitch should in theory have facilitated this, but too often the pressure was half-hearted - the Rossie keeper managed the exact same kickout to the left wing 7 or 8 times.

I think with the league win too many people seemed to lose sight of the fact that Horan came back to do a 4 year job, and this is going to be a 4 year job. If we make the Super 8s this year and get the games (we should elect to play the home one almost anywhere, bar Newbridge!) under our belts with some of the younger guys building experience, then that'd be progress for the year. If the Dubs win their 5 in a row, good luck to them... it's not the same skin off our noses it is the for the Kerry lads. We had our chances to intervene and take a Sam or two for ourselves over the course, but it just didn't happen, and if it happens this year I'll be sitting beside Lazarus in the Hogan Stand!

We were beaten by a good team yesterday, who took their chances. Dave Gough also picked yesterday to throw off the 'fussy' label often pitched at him, mainly by Kerry voices, and it turned out to be largely at our expense (there were a few right muggings not penalised), but our lads failed to read the opportunity there, as he'd have let the same go for us if the guys just got stuck in. The fact that they didn't means we can have no complaints. Besides, we'd probably have missed the frees anyway.

Someone said that no one will fancy us in the backdoor draw... I'd say the opposite. We never paralyse any side the way the Dubs would at this point, or even the way Kerry always seems to do even when they're potentially there for the taking. One of the reasons our backdoor adventures have been so eventful (and good telly) is because every team always makes us work for the win. It'll be no different this year...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/05/2019 07:15:24    2187483

Replying To waynoI:  "There will be alot of talk about mayo losing here and in the media in the next few days and alot of questions will be raised, but I hope that alot is made about roscommon and their performance and what the result does for them!! Mayos failure might be the bigger seller if ya like, but what a result that is for roscommon and Anthony Cunningham. I'm made up for them. Fair play enjoy that."
No, let them talk about mayo and leave the rossies to continue about their business nice and quietly!

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 26/05/2019 07:24:53    2187485

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah all the I told you so lads are here. Didn't see them making these predictions in the build up. Mayo absolutely kicked it away. Very poor decisions up front again. COC is a class act even if some clowns try and say otherwise. When he is not there they struggle badly especially with frees.

I wouldn't write them off until I see O Connor, Mcdonagh and Carr back. Regan has been given enough chances at this stage. Long road back but can still make the 8's."
Agree on Cillian O'Connor. Class footballer. If Mayo had him yesterday they win that match. Not just for the free at the end either.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 26/05/2019 08:15:46    2187490

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No it's not, it's sick. Making a snide joke about the murder of someone; change JFK to Veronica Guerin, still find it "brilliant"?"
But he didnt, did he? I suppose it would be equally objectionable to you if he had used Abe Lincoln as the example.
And the joke was not about the murder of someone but about the wayward shooting of the Mayo forwards.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 26/05/2019 08:24:53    2187493

You would have to give credit to Roscommon for that display. Not too many backing them to win especially in Mc Hale. Fair play to Anthony Cunningham he must be the most dual talented manager the games have.
Galway will be favorites for the province though still. Qualifiers will be interesting this year but you'd still see Mayo making the 8's.
Jays but you'd be chewing the steering wheel on the way home though I'd say if you were a Mayo supporter.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/05/2019 08:48:19    2187498

Will you go away you snow flake, it was just a witty remark. I'm sure there was no harm meant by it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/05/2019 09:18:49    2187507

Roscommon were full value for their victory last night, a very shrewdly executed game plan from Anthony Cunningham. He correctly guessed that Mayo would struggle to score enough from distance against a massed defence and from placed balls. Their counter attack was perfectly executed IMO.

As for Mayo though, it was shockingly bad. 17/35 shots and 3/8 placed balls tells its own story, far too much lateral passing in the opposition half, not enough running off the shoulder of the ball carrier.

Midfield actually did well I thought, won the majority of the breaks throughout the game.

Unfortunately, the ghost of Hennelly Past came back to haunt us again last night, any arguments over who should be wearing the keeper's jersey should be settled now.

As for David Brady and John Maughan, they need to have a word with themselves. Too often in the national media, pundits from Mayo seem to almost be actively working against the interests of the Mayo side (unlike the Kerry or Dublin pundits, who tend to tow the party line) with loose talk about the opposition. Shades of Horan's "low energy" comments about Galway three years back.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2019 09:33:57    2187512

Replying To Pericles:  "The size of the pitch has become a problem for Mayo, there's no doubting that... it just doesn't suit our style of play right now at all. One of the reasons Cian O'Neill with his fair degree of insider knowledge was so insistent on playing the Kildare game in Newbridge is because it's one of the few county grounds where the pitch is even smaller than McHale Park.

I'd go easy on Rob Hennelly. There were errors, including for the second goal, but the players he was looking to find were often not switched on (and our FB line in particular were very poor). We had more than enough chances to win that game but just weren't efficient enough. The free taker thing is a mess. When Cillian's not there none of the other guys who are capable fancy it at all even though presumably before the game they get assigned and take on the job. I think the main cause for our loss, apart from some very good performances by a lot of the Rossie players, was the forwards not doing enough to win turnovers and to put pressure on the Roscommon kickouts. The smaller pitch should in theory have facilitated this, but too often the pressure was half-hearted - the Rossie keeper managed the exact same kickout to the left wing 7 or 8 times.

I think with the league win too many people seemed to lose sight of the fact that Horan came back to do a 4 year job, and this is going to be a 4 year job. If we make the Super 8s this year and get the games (we should elect to play the home one almost anywhere, bar Newbridge!) under our belts with some of the younger guys building experience, then that'd be progress for the year. If the Dubs win their 5 in a row, good luck to them... it's not the same skin off our noses it is the for the Kerry lads. We had our chances to intervene and take a Sam or two for ourselves over the course, but it just didn't happen, and if it happens this year I'll be sitting beside Lazarus in the Hogan Stand!

We were beaten by a good team yesterday, who took their chances. Dave Gough also picked yesterday to throw off the 'fussy' label often pitched at him, mainly by Kerry voices, and it turned out to be largely at our expense (there were a few right muggings not penalised), but our lads failed to read the opportunity there, as he'd have let the same go for us if the guys just got stuck in. The fact that they didn't means we can have no complaints. Besides, we'd probably have missed the frees anyway.

Someone said that no one will fancy us in the backdoor draw... I'd say the opposite. We never paralyse any side the way the Dubs would at this point, or even the way Kerry always seems to do even when they're potentially there for the taking. One of the reasons our backdoor adventures have been so eventful (and good telly) is because every team always makes us work for the win. It'll be no different this year..."
Gough gave Mayo an unwarranted chance to equalise at the end but McLoughlin missed. Never a free

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 26/05/2019 09:45:51    2187515

Replying To Trucker1:  "Gough gave Mayo an unwarranted chance to equalise at the end but McLoughlin missed. Never a free"
Not a point I was making Trucker... where did I say it was? Mind you, it was a push in the back, but he'd let numerous ones go earlier, so based on that it was soft. I couldn't watch the free... actually would have given it to Andy to take, since he's two-footed but naturally a leftie. All academic... test team won.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/05/2019 10:46:09    2187533

Hi hon, Toms a bit rough around the edges alright and Prone to the aul balls up of a comment. I'll tell you something though you sound like a right aul bag.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/05/2019 10:46:20    2187534

The manager must take responsibility, when your regular free taker is injured you work on those lads next up to the plate. Frees are such an integral part of the game now that you must capitalise on your chances. Having right footed players take frees from angles impossible for them that are really designed for left footed players & particularly in windy conditions, shows poor preparation. The confusion at the end with the last free with two guys stepping up to it, showed the confusion & lack of preparation. I would absolve Mc Loughlin who is a fine player of any blame despite putting it wide on his own side & lay the blame at the feet of Horan. Contrast Brian Cody who manages the line showing a bit of spirit & fire when he has to with these modern "ice cool image" football managers, Anthony Cunningham another man who wears his heart on his sleeve won the sideline battle hands down yesterday.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 26/05/2019 11:04:30    2187539