Connacht Championship 2019

Replying To The_analyser:  "Roscommon team.

1. Darren O'Malley - Michael Glaveys
2. David Murray - Padraig Pearses
3. Sean Mullooly - Strokestown
4. Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
5. Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
6. Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
7. Ronan Daly - Padraig Pearses
8. Tadgh O'Rourke - Tulsk
9. Shane Killoran - Elphin
10. Hubert Darcy - Padraig Pearses
11. Cathal Cregg - Western Gaels (C)
12. Niall Kilroy - Fuerty
13. Ultan Harney - Clann na nGael
14. Conor Cox - Listowel Emmet's
15. Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs

Unchanged but i have my doubts it will be come throw in."
I predict a comfortable 10 point win for Mayo. Game over at half time

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 23/05/2019 15:01:34    2186917

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Had surgery on knee, taking a bit longer to get up to speed."
Ah! Either way seems like an extra bit of strength in the panel rather then the first 15.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/05/2019 15:02:57    2186919

Replying To yew_tree:  "Not on tv...local radio for coverage of both. I think Newstalk are doing a championship preview show from NYC...

Heading over Thursday myself with a gang of 10 friends....can't wait."
Count me out Yew.... you only have 9 friends now!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/05/2019 15:06:01    2186920

Replying To Pericles:  "Count me out Yew.... you only have 9 friends now!"
Sorry Yew... was trying to post something else but had a bit of a connectivity problem and this just came back up... not sure how. I wasn't trying to labour the point!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/05/2019 15:10:10    2186922

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah! Either way seems like an extra bit of strength in the panel rather then the first 15."
Stronger panel than last year for sure but the likes of Coen and Regan will need big games to keep others out. Would expect Cillian and McDonagh to be starting over the summer and James Carr. Defo more options this year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 23/05/2019 15:19:10    2186926

Replying To tommy132:  "how many replies did kingdomfan get for comment critising Galway from Galway fans?"
Not sure Tommy, but are you not replying to my comment criticising a Mayo account on this now though!?
My point was only directed at one account.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 23/05/2019 15:41:40    2186928

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Had surgery on knee, taking a bit longer to get up to speed."
Injury a bit more serious and recovery will take a bit longer than initially thought...important to get it right though and not rush him back...still a big loss

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 23/05/2019 17:58:56    2186960

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Stronger panel than last year for sure but the likes of Coen and Regan will need big games to keep others out. Would expect Cillian and McDonagh to be starting over the summer and James Carr. Defo more options this year."
Agree with that...McLoughlin and Doherty are very unrated players for Mayo down the years but are not heavy scrorers...will need a big performance from them.

Coen and Regan getting their shot....have failed to set the world alight in the past so hurt still our on them but I wish them all the best. 1-9 is very strong.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 23/05/2019 18:02:01    2186962

Replying To Belclare:  "If fit will both Smith's feature?"
Donie Smith is fit, he wasn't used or needed v Leitrim. Enda got injured in a challenge before the Leitrim game and was meant to start, he should see some action on Saturday night. We also have Fintan Cregg,John McManus who returned to the panel after not playing in the NFL and Conor Devaney,Brian Stack have recovered from injuries to feature.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 23/05/2019 18:07:53    2186965

Replying To candlewax:  "Not sure Tommy, but are you not replying to my comment criticising a Mayo account on this now though!?
My point was only directed at one account."
First line was directed at one account, rest of message came across as general accusation..
I agree with you, Mayo fans fight back too much, they take the bait every time.
What I dont get is other fans giving out about mayo fans doing that but then do the same thing themselves

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 23/05/2019 21:28:06    2186999

Really looking forward to this one. Ros are really up against it but hopefully they have something special in them. Mayo are obviously a top team so it's goimg to take an unbelievable effort for 75/80 mins to get us over the line. Enda is a big loss but hopefully we he can come in and drive the team forward. Traveling in hope but maybe, just maybe we will find that something special.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 23/05/2019 22:04:48    2187007

Keith Higgins playing for Mayo on Saturday for the 155th time...what a brilliant footballer he is (and hurler) he has been an increadable servent for Mayo down the years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 23/05/2019 23:23:29    2187022

This could be the last year we see Higgins, Boyle and Vaughan play for this Mayo team.
A lot of miles on the clock now.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 24/05/2019 12:32:13    2187098

Replying To candlewax:  "This could be the last year we see Higgins, Boyle and Vaughan play for this Mayo team.
A lot of miles on the clock now."
Higgins and Boyle possibly but Vaughan is super fit...can't see him walking away. Not as old as the other two lads either

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 24/05/2019 15:31:53    2187131

Replying To spiritofeslin:  "I predict a comfortable 10 point win for Mayo. Game over at half time"
Hopefully your prediction turns out as poor as it was for the Roscommon v Leitrim game.

A reminder to what you predicted then.

"The Leitrim v Roscommon game will be more evenly balanced than it has been in years and i am certain Leitrim would give Roscommon a fright.

When Roscommon named their team you said

an upset is even more so on the cards now for Leitrim"

The very best of luck to all the Roscommon players and management in MacHale park tomorrow night.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 24/05/2019 15:52:49    2187140

Word of warning for Roscommon fans who may not be aware, except long delays the castlebar side of balla due to a stop go system in effect for roadworks.

Irish rail also running a special out of castlebar back to Athlone stopping at all stations sat night. Here's to a great game but hopefully a Mayo win.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 24/05/2019 18:36:03    2187172

Replying To yew_tree:  "Higgins and Boyle possibly but Vaughan is super fit...can't see him walking away. Not as old as the other two lads either"
Keith Higgins will be 34, Boyler 33 and Donal Vaughan 30 this year. Boyler's the only one of the three who's visibly been struggling and can't do a full 70+ at championship pace. Chris Barrett is the other first-choicer who's getting on at 32. He's had injuries but seems to be fully up to the pace of the game when fit. All of the guys 30+ (Boyler included) are well up to making an impact when introduced, and their experience is invaluable. James Horan wouldn't have any of them there on sentiment, that's a certainty. They also still seem to have the appetite and more power to them... once you quit you're leaving behind for good a special time of your life, fulfilling potential most of us can only dream of, to become a mere spectator like the rest of us. If I had their ability I'd stay going as long as I could hack it.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 25/05/2019 09:13:57    2187237

Give it a lash anthony and the lads.
Que sera sera.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/05/2019 10:26:31    2187249

Lads what anyone listening to David Brady on Today FM yesterday? It appears he's lost the run of himself entirely! He said Mayo not only needed to win but they needed to hammer the Rossies by 15 points!
Think that league title has gone to your heads lads.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 25/05/2019 13:37:42    2187277

Replying To Condorman:  "Lads what anyone listening to David Brady on Today FM yesterday? It appears he's lost the run of himself entirely! He said Mayo not only needed to win but they needed to hammer the Rossies by 15 points!
Think that league title has gone to your heads lads."
nobody takes David Brady seriously, Mayo only need to beat Roscommon by 10

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 25/05/2019 14:08:11    2187280