2019 NFL Division 2 final

Replying To royaldunne:  "Got to say while the primary goal is achieved, I am Excited for the players to show what they can do and what we in Meath know they are capable of, the one surprise this year has been the amount of opposing fans who said during or after game just how good the team or a individual player/players is , we have raised a few eyebrows along the way and turned a few heads. We won't win Leinster or all ire but by Jesus we are heading in the right direction, comments like from o"se yesterday that donegal beat us easily last time, show how out of touch pundits are (does he know his ass from his elbow?) or maybe he still has nightmares over the ole ole chants , I don't know. But after today win lose or draw he will know just what this Meath team can do, and so will everyone else. Best wishes to Andy and Brian and all the players.
Hon the royal"
Tomas O'Se - 15 years, 5 titles.
The county of Meath - 135 yrs and counting - 7 all Irelands.

199 intercounty appearances.

Nope... What would he know sure.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/03/2019 20:28:06    2176471

Well done to Donegal, thought it was a good game, but our kickouts in second half gave possession back to Donegal time after time, keeping the pressure constantly on our backs. Progress has been made and hopefully a spell (a long one) in Division one will bring us on a bit further. Overall a good season so far.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 30/03/2019 20:29:25    2176472

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Good game.....enjoyed it. Some good scores etc.
Leo McLoon is a dirty player.

Michael Murphy is unreal.

Someone should talk to Andy McEntee.....major angry issues and is really embarrassing himself with his antics on the sideline. Again today he was been held back by his back room team. He seems like the kind of person you see outside a nightclub trying to start a fight with 10 mates around him "holding him back" however if his mates weren't there he would s&@t himself.

Meath are on the way up. They will get relagated next year from div 1 but they are improving.

Donegal are many people's favourites for Ulster and rightly so"
Yeah some of the cute hoorism seems to have rubbed off while ye were in Kerry.

A Tyrone man crying about dirt. Laughable.

Good win tonight. Played well going forward horrible at times defending in the first 20 minutes.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 30/03/2019 20:32:29    2176474

Bit of a hard analysis after that games lads. Today is only a token game, that's all league finals are really. The objective was to be in Div 1 and that was achieved.

I enjoyed the game to be honest. Meath were great the first half, hungry and brought real intensity. Looked a good outfit, but very few teams can keep that intensity up in Croker for 70 mins. Maybe that is inexperience and learning curve Meath need to be on. I can't remember the last time they played in Croker in a showpiece, so I'm sure it's a new expierence for them. The expierence will benefit them, seems like lessons in managing their fitness for the whole game and game management need to be learned. It never seems to amaze me how many teams go to Croke Park and empty the tank in the first 35 mins, then struggle when they go reaching in the later stages. More expierenced teams then Meath have fallen for that one.

I thought Meath put in a very component, credible performence and very worthy of admiration and respect. Looked like their is much pride in the team, togetherness and cohesion in the team, with head room to develop. That's a mighty score to put up in Croker against a quarter final team.

Donegal are no mugs and really shouldn't be in Div 2, they are Ulster Champions. That expierence in self and big game management was there to see. Elsewise you can't legislate for a marquee player like Michael Murphy, he's probably the most complete well rounded skillful player in the country, he can do anything and boss everyone not just Meath.

Meath will have to learn and learn quick because the margins of success and failure in Div 1 are very fine and unforgiving. But no better place to be.

During today's game I was disappointed with the mark again, Murphy just made hay really and it takes away from the spectacle and excitement for me. I think Meath might have snuck it without the rule. While the call for the disallowed goal was borderline. So luck was out as well.

But loads to be positive about, topping Div 1, promotion, represented Leinster well today and flying the flag generally with now two Leinster teams in Div 1. On the nice side of the draw for the championship were you could well meet our good selves in the Leinster final where I hope we smash yee of course, with a more then good chance of making the semi final.

I hope we win Leinster this year as Group 1 is looking a group of death, conceivably based on form it could be Kerry, Tyrone, Galway/Mayo, Meath, I know that's all hypothetical of course.

Congratulations to Donegal what s pleasure it is watching Michael Murphy, EBG and a few of your other lads play.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/03/2019 20:34:03    2176476

Congratulations our lads and comissorations meath. I enjoyed the game and hope it is a sign of things to come this summer

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2019 20:40:29    2176481

Replying To waynoI:  "Meath are progressing and deservedly got promoted and congratulations on that

That said, I don't think anyone at the top table will be overly stressed about Meath in the immediate future (upcoming championship). Despite their progress they are still miles off the top teams which playing in D1 next year will help bridge but relax, Meath are getting there but theyre still a long way off being BACK.

Anyone who will be competing in the serious business end of the championship will have looked at the game and thought about Donegal and how good they where and in particular Michael murphy who was awesome.

That period of play from when they got their goal, to the final whistle, was pretty much as perfect a spell you are likely to see.

Got the lead after a brilliant, superb bit of play and then showed all their experience and know how to get over the line. It was Dublin-esque. No panic, just pass the ball around and wait for the gaps to appear against a team who where goosed and gave everything.

At no point in that game even when Meath where 8 up was I convinced Donegal would lose. They didn't waver and I always felt that Meath would run out of steam and I think Donegal knew that and believed that theyd get their purple patch and take advantage and they took it in bucket loads.

Great game of ball."
Great insight there bud, well done! How's the journalism going?

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 30/03/2019 20:40:46    2176482

Replying To royaldunne:  "Got to say while the primary goal is achieved, I am Excited for the players to show what they can do and what we in Meath know they are capable of, the one surprise this year has been the amount of opposing fans who said during or after game just how good the team or a individual player/players is , we have raised a few eyebrows along the way and turned a few heads. We won't win Leinster or all ire but by Jesus we are heading in the right direction, comments like from o"se yesterday that donegal beat us easily last time, show how out of touch pundits are (does he know his ass from his elbow?) or maybe he still has nightmares over the ole ole chants , I don't know. But after today win lose or draw he will know just what this Meath team can do, and so will everyone else. Best wishes to Andy and Brian and all the players.
Hon the royal"
I think Tomas O'Sé got over the 2001 ole ole chants fairly quickly. He won 4 all irelands after, 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2009. Sometimes pride comes before a fall..post ole ole for example for Meath.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 30/03/2019 20:48:09    2176486

Great game really enjoy it great to see Donegal playing football the right way at last Jesus they were puke for years but they have a really good team with pace to burn and in Murphy a class act but I hate that mark rule catch a ball in your chest and you get a free shot at the posts , the reward is way too much for such a standard skill imo.

Well done the Royals great to see yous back on the big stage and playing great football that bit of inexperience caught yous in the end I thought, Newman was brilliant and biggie done well when he came on O Sullivan has the talent but needs to talk the right option more often. But very positive from a Meath prospective.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/03/2019 20:50:45    2176487

All in all a fantastic start to the year. The game itself didn't really matter as the goal had been achieved, that been said by jasus we had some excellent play today, I won't say anything about the ref apart from the yellow jersey was showing under the black one.
Huge thanks to Andy McEntee what a manager, what a passionate Meath man, he really has instilled some fantastic qualities in that team. Micky Newman? What can I say, absolutely brilliant, pity McMahon had to go off injured as he was tormenting donegal defense, in the end cuteness and inexperience caught us out, roll on the championship. Two last things congratulations to donegal who knows maybe we will have a third meeting down the road. To Andy and the players, thank you from the bottom of my heart you all have given everything this year and have returned us to our rightful place in division one. It would have been nice for your efforts to be rewarded with a bit of silverware, but that will come. The special bond that has been built up between players and supporters this year has been inspirational. Fantastic, I would normally be down after a defeat, but in fact the prize was already achieved, odd feeling this happy after a loss, again thank you all. Can't wait for Offaly in navan. Bring it on.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2019 21:15:28    2176491

Congrats to Donegal. Meath have achieved their primary objective going from being easy to beat to being hard to beat and getting to division 1. Donegal are a seasoned Division 1 team. They will be a dangerous animal come the championship. Meath have the talent but will have to learn how to manage a game better, there is a difference in that regard, in relation to staying in Division 1.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/03/2019 21:32:13    2176498

Meath will make this year's Super 8s if they continue to improve like they have been. They lost out narrowly last year to the runners up. Were unfancied by most to get promotion this year. Didn't disgrace themselves today against Donegal team who have been knocking round the top table for a few years now. We could have a decent stab at picking 4 or 5 Super teams today but 6, 7 and 8 is still a lottery.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 30/03/2019 21:43:59    2176502

Can't believe so many people don't know the square ball rule. Simple, you can't be in before the pass, it took TG4 20 minutes to figure it out.
On Meath, in fairness they have promotion and are improving- I doubt the Dubs are quaking but who knows. If Meath can get to the super 8s and stay in division 1 they can get better again. Not sure if they really have top class players though, remains to be seen.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 30/03/2019 21:44:28    2176503

Replying To royaldunne:  "All in all a fantastic start to the year. The game itself didn't really matter as the goal had been achieved, that been said by jasus we had some excellent play today, I won't say anything about the ref apart from the yellow jersey was showing under the black one.
Huge thanks to Andy McEntee what a manager, what a passionate Meath man, he really has instilled some fantastic qualities in that team. Micky Newman? What can I say, absolutely brilliant, pity McMahon had to go off injured as he was tormenting donegal defense, in the end cuteness and inexperience caught us out, roll on the championship. Two last things congratulations to donegal who knows maybe we will have a third meeting down the road. To Andy and the players, thank you from the bottom of my heart you all have given everything this year and have returned us to our rightful place in division one. It would have been nice for your efforts to be rewarded with a bit of silverware, but that will come. The special bond that has been built up between players and supporters this year has been inspirational. Fantastic, I would normally be down after a defeat, but in fact the prize was already achieved, odd feeling this happy after a loss, again thank you all. Can't wait for Offaly in navan. Bring it on.
Hon the royal"
Pass the sick bucket.......

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 30/03/2019 21:47:35    2176508

Hard luck Meath, but welcome back to the top flight, I've got a feeling our games against each other will become tighter in the near future.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 30/03/2019 21:49:41    2176510

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Pass the sick bucket......."
Typical response, mean spirited, small minded & hateful, all in one short post.

If any Tyrone people wonder why they are held in low regard, look no further.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/03/2019 22:33:01    2176527

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Pass the sick bucket......."
Very constructive post , well done you .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/03/2019 22:41:28    2176533

Replying To royaldunne:  "All in all a fantastic start to the year. The game itself didn't really matter as the goal had been achieved, that been said by jasus we had some excellent play today, I won't say anything about the ref apart from the yellow jersey was showing under the black one.
Hon the royal"
So it's the Ref's fault you lost and you're more than happy to lose a final... says it all really.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/03/2019 22:41:30    2176534

Well if you hadn't watched the game and came here to gather a view you wouldn't know what to think such is the range of different views some people are way over the top!! Agree with Wayno always felt donegal would come back into it although thought we should have been further ahead at ht and if the goal stood there would have been no way back for donegal. If donegal get mcbrearty and macniallais back on the pitch they could be the team to trouble the dubs this reminds me of after the Tyrone game last year when no1 knew what to think until they reached the all Ireland final and we realised we mightnt be that bad. This is similar, donegal could well be better than Tyrone and a 2 point loss to them at this stage isn't a disaster. The way they kept the ball at the end was a level above anything we're capable of at the minute and we must learn quickly from playing these teams.

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 30/03/2019 23:46:41    2176547

The old dogs for the hard road....

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 31/03/2019 00:15:01    2176551

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Typical response, mean spirited, small minded & hateful, all in one short post.

If any Tyrone people wonder why they are held in low regard, look no further."
Can't speak for anyone else, but I certainly hold Tyrone in high regard!

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 31/03/2019 03:21:14    2176555