2019 Division 1 League Final.

Replying To TheHermit:  "So I'm reading Mayo 'destroyed' Kerry yesterday and now our young side are overrated and will do nothing come the summer.
Fair enough if the people typing these comments believe them, dampening the expectations surrounding this young side before the summer is no bad thing!

Congrats to Mayo they wanted this more and we couldn't match their physicality and street smarts. They were the better team and we let them in for three really soft goals which was the winning of the game.
Our forwards didn't click at all and we made some crazy errors like kicking passes to Mayo players under no pressure. We also left several points behind us in the first half by shooting short or not taking scorable chances.
And yet we still should have gone ahead there in extra time only for Clifford to fluff his lines.
I'm not disappointed at all with yesterday, its been a great League campaign and though we have issues, we also have shown great potential.

I expect us to be there or there about come Sept.
Onwards and upwards for this next generation of Kerry footballers :D"
Sure Mayo were finished, dead and buried last summer....everyone was dancing in our grave and then the same after the Dublin and Galway defeats in the league....I'd swear there is no middle ground anymore....

Every county seems to be judged harshly after a defeat nodays. Fact is Kerry will be winning all Ireland's soon and we there or thereabouts this year...still think it's a year or two too early for them...

Mayo of course (I hope), Tyrone, Galway, Donegal are all well capable of reaching the final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/04/2019 08:22:55    2177175

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Nice to see the Tans run out of HQ, I bet Kerry will retire that gainsai now. Mayo were fantastic, congrats to ye.
My honest rankings for Sam are
1. Dublin
2. Mayo
3. Tyrone
4. Galway
5 Donegal
6. Kerry"
Donkey

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 02/04/2019 08:27:25    2177176

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Shane Walsh is a very good forward but for me he has a bit to go before he's compared to Michael Donnelan or Ciaran McDonald."
Oh absolutely. He has a skill set though that mirrors those two footballing geniuses. Probably alien to modern day football but nice to see at the same time.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2019 08:42:32    2177177

i would rate Michael Donnellan as probably one of the top 5 footballers of the least 25 years. incredible player and unmarkable at his peak. Walsh not even in the same ballpark as him

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 02/04/2019 08:58:02    2177178

Keegan is one of the all time greats, the best man marker in the game the last 5 years and capable of big scores at the other end. I'm simply suggesting he's no angel and gets away with it, Galway and everyone else would love a player like Keegan.

Apart from Harrison all Mayo's back had great games and even he didn't play badly. Durcan again always capable of hitting a score from distance, he'a fantastic player.

Its at the other end where Mayo's problems are, they won't get as many chances as they did on Sunday where they dominated possessions.

Anyone got any stats on wide and shots that dropped short from both sides?

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 02/04/2019 09:21:53    2177186

Replying To galwayfball:  "Horan could have just said he was delighted and left it at that. I don't think Mayo could have won by 12 points.

Hoping this over confidence continues into the championship"
He said we should have done better, we missed plenty of chances. He knows we need to keep improving. One man's honesty is an other mans overconfidence.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 02/04/2019 09:42:49    2177190

Not saying that Mayo didn't deserve their win, they did.. but am I the only one that thought David Cliffords goal should have stood. I celebrated wildly as it was rolling into the net, only for the ref to call it back for a foul which I thought was a perfectly executed tackle.
Supporters close to me gasped in shock watching back the replay on the big screen, not just the Kerry ones either.
I personally thought it was an important moment but still Mayo deserved it, would like to get the neutrals opinon in it though.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 02/04/2019 09:59:49    2177191

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure Mayo were finished, dead and buried last summer....everyone was dancing in our grave and then the same after the Dublin and Galway defeats in the league....I'd swear there is no middle ground anymore....

Every county seems to be judged harshly after a defeat nodays. Fact is Kerry will be winning all Ireland's soon and we there or thereabouts this year...still think it's a year or two too early for them...

Mayo of course (I hope), Tyrone, Galway, Donegal are all well capable of reaching the final."
Indeed. My hope for Kerry is that David Moran, Gavin White, Jason Foley and Paul Geaney come in to the team for the summer and make us better. We missed Moran desperately on Sunday in particular.

I think Dublin are clear favourites but there are probably 5-6 teams after that who can all beat each other on a given day.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/04/2019 10:47:36    2177203

Replying To centerfield:  "i would rate Michael Donnellan as probably one of the top 5 footballers of the least 25 years. incredible player and unmarkable at his peak. Walsh not even in the same ballpark as him"
Completely disagree on saying Shane Walsh is not in the same ball park, Shane Walsh has the ability to be the greatest footballer in Ireland he has it all unbelievable pace unbelievable skill the man is a ridiculous talent , what's killing him is the stupid tactic Galway use that's not helping his game. But imo Shane Walsh is a much more talented player than Donnellan who was a great player but he didn't have Walsh's ability.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/04/2019 10:51:34    2177204

Replying To JDF:  "Keegan is one of the all time greats, the best man marker in the game the last 5 years and capable of big scores at the other end. I'm simply suggesting he's no angel and gets away with it, Galway and everyone else would love a player like Keegan.

Apart from Harrison all Mayo's back had great games and even he didn't play badly. Durcan again always capable of hitting a score from distance, he'a fantastic player.

Its at the other end where Mayo's problems are, they won't get as many chances as they did on Sunday where they dominated possessions.

Anyone got any stats on wide and shots that dropped short from both sides?"
Yep and who said he is an angel? The only time I saw people on here from Mayo getting annoyed is when he kept Connolly quiet and the suggestion was he literally fouled him for 70 mins every time they played, which was laughable. I have seen him many times and kept a close eye on him especially in those Dublin games, he very rarely fouls his man off the ball, he just stays within 3 or 4 feet constantly when the ball is not near them, and is toe to toe when the ball gets closer, especially in the shooting zones.

He probably gets away with 3 or 4 sneaky fouls per game, but every player does. Corner backs get away with more but people are looking for reasons to have a pop at Keegan. I saw some people calling him all sorts on twitter post match highlighting an incident where Paddy Durcan was the man involved not Keegan.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 02/04/2019 10:52:58    2177205

Replying To AnFear16:  "I can understand where Horan is coming from as they did waste some opportunities and had about 65% possession but Kerry missed some chances aswell and myself and the supporters around me thought Cliffords goal-non goal was a perfectly executed tackle.
However Mayo won and deservedly so but that doesn't mean Kerry are as bad as everyone has made them out to be, nor where they ever as good as they were built up to be.
Over the last 10 years it's been stupid getting your hopes up about Kerry, especially since Dublin 2011 so us Kerry fans go into games now hoping/dreaming of a win against big teams rather than expecting like we did in the noughties. Perhaps now with the 20's around the corner that expectancy can return if this team start filling their potential and Kerry can return to winning ways. I can't see too much performance wise changing this year as we have too much to do like stop runners feom deep getting on the ball and being so effective and also pick up more breaking ball around the middle as we got destroyed there yesterday when Moynihan went off as he's the 'Galvinesque' player who picks up the breaks, Jameso (his replacement) isn't.
Kerry to win Munster, should get out of Super 8's, might get to a final if we avoid Dublin or Mayo if we get to Semis but that would be as far as it looks to get for this year.
Disappointing decade when you compare 5 titles in the noughties to 1 this decade (or by miracle maybe 2) but as I said hopefully that statistic will improve for the 10 years that follow."
I think Kerry need a few more in your face Kieran Donaghy thinking on their feet type of leaders. Clifford wasn't used smart enough, as a scorer, provider or decoy. Saw him playing minor and now as a senior he's a class apart. I was in in Lower Hogan and could see yer forwards up close. A lot of, what I thought was needless, running off the ball, I think to try and create space. Not enough fast direct ball to forwards more than capable of taking scores. O'Donoghue was no addition, looks overweight and disinterested, Geaney should have been in much earlier. I watched back some of it and , I think, Crowley, the corner back had a very good game, seemed to have to do other lads jobs too. Despite conceding three goals I think yer goalie was great. But his defenders left him with too much today. I'm not convinced that packing the Kerry defence isn't compensating for defenders who should defend better. Both teams have a lot of improving to do before and during the championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 02/04/2019 10:53:21    2177206

Replying To centerfield:  "i would rate Michael Donnellan as probably one of the top 5 footballers of the least 25 years. incredible player and unmarkable at his peak. Walsh not even in the same ballpark as him"
I had the pleasure of marking him when I was a 17 year old back in 2001. I say pleasure but that might not be the correct word.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 02/04/2019 10:55:24    2177207

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yep and who said he is an angel? The only time I saw people on here from Mayo getting annoyed is when he kept Connolly quiet and the suggestion was he literally fouled him for 70 mins every time they played, which was laughable. I have seen him many times and kept a close eye on him especially in those Dublin games, he very rarely fouls his man off the ball, he just stays within 3 or 4 feet constantly when the ball is not near them, and is toe to toe when the ball gets closer, especially in the shooting zones.

He probably gets away with 3 or 4 sneaky fouls per game, but every player does. Corner backs get away with more but people are looking for reasons to have a pop at Keegan. I saw some people calling him all sorts on twitter post match highlighting an incident where Paddy Durcan was the man involved not Keegan."
He does foul a lot off the ball but fair play to him he gets away with it and he's a brilliant player and attacking half back. If you don't believe me go onto YouTube you'll see him dragging Connolly to the ground a number of times off the ball.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/04/2019 11:08:06    2177209

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Completely disagree on saying Shane Walsh is not in the same ball park, Shane Walsh has the ability to be the greatest footballer in Ireland he has it all unbelievable pace unbelievable skill the man is a ridiculous talent , what's killing him is the stupid tactic Galway use that's not helping his game. But imo Shane Walsh is a much more talented player than Donnellan who was a great player but he didn't have Walsh's ability."
I agree on Walsh's talent, he has more of it than anyone else. I do think he gets more stick than anyone else too because of it and we expect so much of him but he's had a really good league yet gets very little recognition for it.

I get what you're saying on Donnellan but who was born with the talent Walsh was? He's arguably the most naturally talented player I've seen in terms of the skills he possesses. We need to see more from him, he should be the best player in the country. To what extent the system is restricting him I don't know.

For 3 or 4 years Donnellan was one of the the best players in the country if not the best, he had a lot of talent but more often than not we seen him use it. He was a big game player, had great games in all those semi's and finals. He's one of the greatest wing forwards we've ever seen.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 02/04/2019 11:09:01    2177210

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He does foul a lot off the ball but fair play to him he gets away with it and he's a brilliant player and attacking half back. If you don't believe me go onto YouTube you'll see him dragging Connolly to the ground a number of times off the ball."
Lol a Youtube clip, there were youtube clips showing Dublin players off the ball in those same matches, more incidents that were shown to prove Keegan getting a black card was pressure that was put on the officials. Now surely if you came across the edited Keegan footage you must be aware of the footage showing all the Dublin players at the dark arts.? Childish stuff to bring this up. I was at those finals, and the day he cleaned Cavanagh, and find it hilarious that people think he gets away with murder off the ball throughout the whole game. He might get away with 3 or 4 quick jersey pulls off the ball in a game. People are only watching Keegan, and ignoring corner backs etc doing far worse more often. Kevin Mcloughlin was absolutely destroyed off the ball for the whole game Sunday, his man should have been sent to the line before he eventually got a yellow. Not a peep about it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 02/04/2019 11:39:48    2177222

Replying To aidan64:  "Donkey"
I do agree a fully fit Donegal team are ahead of Kerry but I'd put them ahead of Galway and possibly Tyrone if everybody is fit for the big games. Kerry have huge potential and we could see a great team being followed by another (Kerry) but there are too many experienced teams ahead of them to win Sam this year. My prediction from before January was Sam would be won by Dublin unless a fresh Mayo team give it another shot! It's Dublin or Mayo for me with an outside shot for Donegal.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 02/04/2019 12:21:14    2177236

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol a Youtube clip, there were youtube clips showing Dublin players off the ball in those same matches, more incidents that were shown to prove Keegan getting a black card was pressure that was put on the officials. Now surely if you came across the edited Keegan footage you must be aware of the footage showing all the Dublin players at the dark arts.? Childish stuff to bring this up. I was at those finals, and the day he cleaned Cavanagh, and find it hilarious that people think he gets away with murder off the ball throughout the whole game. He might get away with 3 or 4 quick jersey pulls off the ball in a game. People are only watching Keegan, and ignoring corner backs etc doing far worse more often. Kevin Mcloughlin was absolutely destroyed off the ball for the whole game Sunday, his man should have been sent to the line before he eventually got a yellow. Not a peep about it."
There's no doubt that Keegan gets away with more than other's , think it's the fact that he smiles or laugh's while doing it that might infuriate people that bit more.
Was at the game on Sunday and i don't think Kevin McLoughlin's marker should have been sent off. Thought Kevin was going down too easily at times , usually not his style so was surprised by that.
Far more concerning than Keegan must be Aidan O Shea's silly fouls especially while on a yellow. It's fine as Mayo went on to win but if Clifford were to score and Kerry go on to win that game, O Shea would have got the same treament Vaughan did a few years ago. He would have got slaughtered by fans , journalists and pundits alike. I'd understand if it was a professional foul or a last ditch tackle but it was a strange decision by O'Shea that could have cost Mayo.

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 02/04/2019 13:00:02    2177250

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol a Youtube clip, there were youtube clips showing Dublin players off the ball in those same matches, more incidents that were shown to prove Keegan getting a black card was pressure that was put on the officials. Now surely if you came across the edited Keegan footage you must be aware of the footage showing all the Dublin players at the dark arts.? Childish stuff to bring this up. I was at those finals, and the day he cleaned Cavanagh, and find it hilarious that people think he gets away with murder off the ball throughout the whole game. He might get away with 3 or 4 quick jersey pulls off the ball in a game. People are only watching Keegan, and ignoring corner backs etc doing far worse more often. Kevin Mcloughlin was absolutely destroyed off the ball for the whole game Sunday, his man should have been sent to the line before he eventually got a yellow. Not a peep about it."
Were talking about lee Keegan here not Dublin players , but if you want to bring up Dublin players no problem. As I've said he's a great player but he's a genius at fouling off the ball.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/04/2019 13:02:06    2177253

Replying To sam1884:  "I do agree a fully fit Donegal team are ahead of Kerry but I'd put them ahead of Galway and possibly Tyrone if everybody is fit for the big games. Kerry have huge potential and we could see a great team being followed by another (Kerry) but there are too many experienced teams ahead of them to win Sam this year. My prediction from before January was Sam would be won by Dublin unless a fresh Mayo team give it another shot! It's Dublin or Mayo for me with an outside shot for Donegal."
No team coming from division 2 will win sam.
Donegal are not even in top 4 let alone contenders.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 02/04/2019 13:48:21    2177269

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Were talking about lee Keegan here not Dublin players , but if you want to bring up Dublin players no problem. As I've said he's a great player but he's a genius at fouling off the ball."
Always felt Connolly was incorrectly seen as the instigator/badguy when playing on Keegan.
Saw it first hand on Sunday the constant fouling that is left unpunished.
Keegan is brilliant at what he those but refs have to start copping on to this.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 02/04/2019 13:52:15    2177270