2019 Division 1 League Final.

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Mayo supporters know exactly what Keegan gets up to and he has resorted to that many times in the last few years. The new superstar of the game was anonymous, Keegan only back to full fitness now. Would get on any team in the country.

The rest of your post is fair."
think keegan did what he always does...v solid performance by him

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 01/04/2019 19:18:26    2177067

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Great win for mayo and great they took a leaf from Dublin's book of cynicism...when the clinching score went in..they started two fights..for once they looked like a team of winners!"
A Tyrone man lecturing on cynical play!! Jesus wept.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 01/04/2019 19:26:23    2177072

Replying To culmore: "Keegan has now totally destroyed in big games, the likes of
Connelly, Kilkenny, Cavanagh and now O Shea, some defender"
Got the runaround by Shane Walsh a few weeks ago.
JDF (Galway) - Posts: 235 - 01/04/2019 16:28:05 217703

Oh yeah we'd really swap Yee Keegan for Shane Walsh who does shag all when it matters

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 01/04/2019 19:38:11    2177076

That blessing from the Pope hasn't done yee any harm lads! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2019 20:18:31    2177082

Only real upside for Kerry is that more people might believe the "Yerra Yerra, sure we're rubbish" guff later in the year.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 01/04/2019 20:22:48    2177084

Replying To JDF:  "Got the runaround by Shane Walsh a few weeks ago."
Was suffering from an illness and didn't train the week after, only back to fitness, but yeah we should remember the random league game as the day his career ended. Grow up lad.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 01/04/2019 20:27:16    2177085

Replying To centerfield:  "Replying To culmore: "Keegan has now totally destroyed in big games, the likes of

Oh yeah we'd really swap Yee Keegan for Shane Walsh who does shag all when it matters"
Harsh on him in fairness. Shane is a great footballer one of the few left that can do what Michael Donnellan or Ciaran McDonald did. However you need a squad around you playing to their talents a point we may well only get to under new mgt. We should cherish fellas like Walsh. Back to script. Mayo definitely back and now favs for Connacht with national silverware in the pocket.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/04/2019 20:30:13    2177086

Replying To centerfield:  "Replying To culmore: "Keegan has now totally destroyed in big games, the likes of

Oh yeah we'd really swap Yee Keegan for Shane Walsh who does shag all when it matters"
Shane kicked 8 points in the Connaught final and got 1-5 against the Dubs in arguably Galway's biggest two games last year? Should have got an all star.
Not bad for a lad that does shag all when it matters.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 01/04/2019 20:49:47    2177091

So I'm reading Mayo 'destroyed' Kerry yesterday and now our young side are overrated and will do nothing come the summer.
Fair enough if the people typing these comments believe them, dampening the expectations surrounding this young side before the summer is no bad thing!

Congrats to Mayo they wanted this more and we couldn't match their physicality and street smarts. They were the better team and we let them in for three really soft goals which was the winning of the game.
Our forwards didn't click at all and we made some crazy errors like kicking passes to Mayo players under no pressure. We also left several points behind us in the first half by shooting short or not taking scorable chances.
And yet we still should have gone ahead there in extra time only for Clifford to fluff his lines.
I'm not disappointed at all with yesterday, its been a great League campaign and though we have issues, we also have shown great potential.

I expect us to be there or there about come Sept.
Onwards and upwards for this next generation of Kerry footballers :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/04/2019 21:23:31    2177103

Fair play to Kerry lads on here. Not easy to be gracious in defeat, even if you have won umpteen titles as they have. Easy to understand Mayo celebrations at the end and I thought I was dreaming when I heard "the green and red of Mayo" playing after a final. We're used to heading down Jones Road with our tales between our legs and "come on you boys in blue" booming out behind us at that stage. It's been eighteen years since we won a national senior title and it could well be another eighteen before we win another, so celebrate while we can. Dublin not taking the League seriously might well be a master stroke by Jim Gavin but I think brushing teams aside and quelling any mini revolution with disdain, as Dublin were used to doing, served them well in the past. The worst thing you can do in their situation is give other teams hope and there are five or six teams going into training this week thinking they have a genuine chance of winning Sam. Dublin are still ahead of the pack, and rightly so, but the five in a row may not be the foregone conclusion it looked a few months ago. Leroy, even though not fully fit, did his usual man marking job very well yesterday as did young Tom O Sullivan on Kev McLoughlin. Mayos win yesterday will give them encouragement but in the overall scheme of things changes nothing. Galway are still the team to beat in Connacht. Kerry, as we knew, are a work in progress and will be much better in Summer. There are three teams in Ulster who won't fear us in Croke Park and then there is Dublin. But for this week at least we can celebrate and dream......

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 01/04/2019 21:23:54    2177104

Replying To kiloughter:  "Harsh on him in fairness. Shane is a great footballer one of the few left that can do what Michael Donnellan or Ciaran McDonald did. However you need a squad around you playing to their talents a point we may well only get to under new mgt. We should cherish fellas like Walsh. Back to script. Mayo definitely back and now favs for Connacht with national silverware in the pocket."
Shane Walsh is a very good forward but for me he has a bit to go before he's compared to Michael Donnelan or Ciaran McDonald.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/04/2019 22:01:52    2177118

Horan could have just said he was delighted and left it at that. I don't think Mayo could have won by 12 points.

Hoping this over confidence continues into the championship

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/04/2019 22:03:20    2177121

Replying To kiloughter:  "Harsh on him in fairness. Shane is a great footballer one of the few left that can do what Michael Donnellan or Ciaran McDonald did. However you need a squad around you playing to their talents a point we may well only get to under new mgt. We should cherish fellas like Walsh. Back to script. Mayo definitely back and now favs for Connacht with national silverware in the pocket."
Fourth post where you have hinted for new management, touting for someone ?

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 01/04/2019 22:24:16    2177131

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Fair play to Kerry lads on here. Not easy to be gracious in defeat, even if you have won umpteen titles as they have. Easy to understand Mayo celebrations at the end and I thought I was dreaming when I heard "the green and red of Mayo" playing after a final. We're used to heading down Jones Road with our tales between our legs and "come on you boys in blue" booming out behind us at that stage. It's been eighteen years since we won a national senior title and it could well be another eighteen before we win another, so celebrate while we can. Dublin not taking the League seriously might well be a master stroke by Jim Gavin but I think brushing teams aside and quelling any mini revolution with disdain, as Dublin were used to doing, served them well in the past. The worst thing you can do in their situation is give other teams hope and there are five or six teams going into training this week thinking they have a genuine chance of winning Sam. Dublin are still ahead of the pack, and rightly so, but the five in a row may not be the foregone conclusion it looked a few months ago. Leroy, even though not fully fit, did his usual man marking job very well yesterday as did young Tom O Sullivan on Kev McLoughlin. Mayos win yesterday will give them encouragement but in the overall scheme of things changes nothing. Galway are still the team to beat in Connacht. Kerry, as we knew, are a work in progress and will be much better in Summer. There are three teams in Ulster who won't fear us in Croke Park and then there is Dublin. But for this week at least we can celebrate and dream......"
I don't mean this to sound as controversial as it may, but is there a possibility that Mayos hunger may be a bit sated after winning a national title yesterday.

I know the narrative will be different and Horabs Comments yesterday indicated that. Still you could see the pleasure, relief and meaning behind the win yesterday and lifting silverware in Croke Park.

They go home to a grateful ecstatic county, weeks of back slapping and well dones for the first national title in 18 years. I'm sure they will have a pints over the next few days.

I'm not saying it will be the case, but will the same hunger and motivation be there. It's a good result first year to have a national title with the young lads coming through and improving on last year. If that effects Mayo in any way and they drop off or the hunger is sated in anyway it can be undermining.

Success brings its own set of challenges and that's a new experience for Mayo, it's a challenge and question now they will have to answer heading into the summer.

Hopefully they can.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2019 22:26:12    2177135

Replying To galwayfball:  "Horan could have just said he was delighted and left it at that. I don't think Mayo could have won by 12 points.

Hoping this over confidence continues into the championship"
Think he was just making the point that with so much possession we shouldn't have to rely on an injury time save by our goalkeeper, to keep us in the game. Easy to be confident when a game is won. Didn't hear him say we were going to beat Galway though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 01/04/2019 22:56:36    2177144

Replying To TheHermit:  "So I'm reading Mayo 'destroyed' Kerry yesterday and now our young side are overrated and will do nothing come the summer.
Fair enough if the people typing these comments believe them, dampening the expectations surrounding this young side before the summer is no bad thing!

Congrats to Mayo they wanted this more and we couldn't match their physicality and street smarts. They were the better team and we let them in for three really soft goals which was the winning of the game.
Our forwards didn't click at all and we made some crazy errors like kicking passes to Mayo players under no pressure. We also left several points behind us in the first half by shooting short or not taking scorable chances.
And yet we still should have gone ahead there in extra time only for Clifford to fluff his lines.
I'm not disappointed at all with yesterday, its been a great League campaign and though we have issues, we also have shown great potential.

Onwards and upwards for this next generation of Kerry footballers :D"
I don't think Mayo people are getting carried away with yesterdays result. Any time we beat Kerry or the Dubs is a good day and that is a compliment to both of those teams. Kerry made a lot of mistakes yesterday and will learn from that. Oddly enough, even though they played well at times, Mayo made an awful lot of mistakes, including conceding two soft, if well taken, goals and Horan will know that yesterdays display will win nothing come Summer. Kerry will of course come good given time, but Dublin are the yardstick they have to be measured against not Mayo. Kerry need to be beating the likes of Mayo before they have any ambition of beating the Dubs.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 01/04/2019 23:13:07    2177149

Not sure the held belief that Kerry have brought through all this new talent is correct, looked to me that Mayo had brought through more at the weekend to be honest and more effective in Ruanne, Borland, Coen, Carr and Tracey, they also used 30+ players over the campaign.

Many of the Kerry players have been there for a couple of seasons and or significantly more, they all aren't Spring chickens by any means and have been there and not done it.

For example the team that played against Kildare in Killarney isn't wildly different from the one at the weekend.

Brian Kelly; Jason Foley, Peter Crowley, Tom O'Sullivan; Paul Murphy, Killian Young, Gavin White; David Moran, Jack Barry; Micheál Burns, Sean O'Shea, Stephen O'Brien; David Clifford, Kieran Donaghy, Paul Geaney.

Subs: Kevin McCarthy for K Young (HT), James O'Donoghue for K Donaghy (HT), Darran O'Sullivan for M Burns (57), Tadhg Morley for J Foley (59), Anthony Maher for S O'Shea (67), Brian Ó Beaglaíoch for G White (inj, 69).

Shane Ryan; Peter Crowley, Jack Sherwood, Graham O'Sullivan; Gavin Crowley (1-1), Paul Murphy (capt), Tom O'Sullivan; Jack Barry (0-1), Diarmuid O'Connor; Dara Moynihan, Sean O'Shea (0-5), Stephen O'Brien (1-0); David Clifford (0-2), Tommy Walsh, Kevin McCarthy.

Subs: James O'Donoghue for Moynihan (h-t), Jason Foley for Sherwood (39), Mark Griffin for McCarthy (42), Paul Geaney (0-1) for Walsh (54), Gavin O'Brienb for G Crowley (65).

Some lads brought in like Ryan, O Connor, Moynihan are new and a couple of younger lads showed brief cameos in the league. I'm not sure it's the revolution we've been led to believe though. Certainly seems like other counties are doing as much when you look at what other teams have brought through. It's intersetung that Tommy Walsh got an SOS and lads like Jack Sherwood and many more willing for Moran to be fit as soon as possible. Many of that Kerry team have been around the block as much as Mayo.

Worryingly all the same frailties showed again in 2019 as against Mayo in 2017 and Galway and Monaghan in 2018. That's despite the change in regime. But Peter Keane deserves time.

But Kerry will look at it with optimism and will see headroom to improve in some of their young players, I suppose my general point is, is there that much new, I'm not sure there has been the wholesale changes throughout the Kerry team or in their general age profile that justifies the "new young team" the minority are entering their first campaigns. Certainly if you were judging it on Sun, on who is bringing through impactful young players you would point out the Mayo youngsters.

Perhaps I'm being harsh or am missing something, but just striking a talking point, loads on here will have a more intimate knowledge of the Kerry panel then me.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2019 23:56:23    2177155

Replying To galwayfball:  "Horan could have just said he was delighted and left it at that. I don't think Mayo could have won by 12 points.

Hoping this over confidence continues into the championship"
In fairness to Horan I think it was more of a criticism of Mayo's finisihing througout the game rather a boast. It is something that he knows that they will have to work on for the championship.

JuniorBee (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 02/04/2019 04:52:42    2177167

I can understand where Horan is coming from as they did waste some opportunities and had about 65% possession but Kerry missed some chances aswell and myself and the supporters around me thought Cliffords goal-non goal was a perfectly executed tackle.
However Mayo won and deservedly so but that doesn't mean Kerry are as bad as everyone has made them out to be, nor where they ever as good as they were built up to be.
Over the last 10 years it's been stupid getting your hopes up about Kerry, especially since Dublin 2011 so us Kerry fans go into games now hoping/dreaming of a win against big teams rather than expecting like we did in the noughties. Perhaps now with the 20's around the corner that expectancy can return if this team start filling their potential and Kerry can return to winning ways. I can't see too much performance wise changing this year as we have too much to do like stop runners feom deep getting on the ball and being so effective and also pick up more breaking ball around the middle as we got destroyed there yesterday when Moynihan went off as he's the 'Galvinesque' player who picks up the breaks, Jameso (his replacement) isn't.
Kerry to win Munster, should get out of Super 8's, might get to a final if we avoid Dublin or Mayo if we get to Semis but that would be as far as it looks to get for this year.
Disappointing decade when you compare 5 titles in the noughties to 1 this decade (or by miracle maybe 2) but as I said hopefully that statistic will improve for the 10 years that follow.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 02/04/2019 05:58:57    2177168

Replying To TheHermit:  "So I'm reading Mayo 'destroyed' Kerry yesterday and now our young side are overrated and will do nothing come the summer.

Onwards and upwards for this next generation of Kerry footballers :D"
Kerry have serious issues at the back. All the faults exposed in last 2 years still remain and with the Munster championship being the worst it's ever been, they aren't going to get any answers in next 10 weeks.
Also Clifford didn't fluff his lines, the Kerry management did by playing tactics that didn't give him the ball for 20 mins in the 2nd half. The winning of the game was the start of the 2nd half where Kerry gave away possession and the lead by booting the ball into Walsh.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 02/04/2019 07:39:37    2177171