Kerry V Mayo

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I agree the Kerry gold jersey is rotten Mayo's gear last night was class really impressed with it."
I suppose da fact it's blue is not lost on you ;) but I agree it's a nice kit

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 17/03/2019 13:31:47    2173023

Good enough match given the terrible conditions. Mayo deserved their victory, Aidan O'Shea was terrific. Tommy Walsh had a great first half. Be a shock if both these teams dont feature at the business end of the championship.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/03/2019 13:36:56    2173025

Replying To Vishred:  "many are staying up for the night making a wknd of it"
There was a great Mayo crowd there last night and lovely people and really passionate fans.

That Mayo team are not finished by any manner of means, big hugh athletic footballers and i wouldn't be surprised to see ye in the allireland final again this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/03/2019 13:53:08    2173029

If this is a dress rehearsal for the final then we should get a very fluid game providing the weather stays alm.
Most of their football so far has been played in hurricane like conditions

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/03/2019 13:59:31    2173037

Replying To Vishred:  "If this is a dress rehearsal for the final then we should get a very fluid game providing the weather stays alm.
Most of their football so far has been played in hurricane like conditions"
If Galway beat Tyrone then it won't matter even if we beat Monagahan as Galway have us on the head to head.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 17/03/2019 14:17:08    2173043

Replying To Vishred:  "If this is a dress rehearsal for the final then we should get a very fluid game providing the weather stays alm.
Most of their football so far has been played in hurricane like conditions"
Ya it's a pity the league is played at this time of year, I don't know why the GAA don't start the league in April and run league and championship from April to September.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/03/2019 15:11:31    2173060

Interesting round of games next weekend with Dublin being the only team with nothing tangible to play for. Given the right set of results any of Kerry, Galway, Mayo and Tyrone can contest the final. Similarly any of Cavan, Monaghan or Roscommon can be relegated.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/03/2019 15:21:01    2173064

Mayo ran the Tans out of town, Fair play to them

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 18/03/2019 09:47:17    2173330

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Interesting round of games next weekend with Dublin being the only team with nothing tangible to play for. Given the right set of results any of Kerry, Galway, Mayo and Tyrone can contest the final. Similarly any of Cavan, Monaghan or Roscommon can be relegated."
Absolutely and this is Cavan's best chance to take Dublin, may see a few young lads being brought in, I can't see why Jim would put a first 15 out for this.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 19/03/2019 00:10:58    2173569

Replying To realdub:  "Absolutely and this is Cavan's best chance to take Dublin, may see a few young lads being brought in, I can't see why Jim would put a first 15 out for this."
Who do the Mayo lads see as their starting forwards come championship?

Looks like to me McDonagh is the only one of the new lads who's done enough in the forwards and Mayo will still be looking for Andy Moran to start.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 19/03/2019 17:14:02    2173749

Replying To JDF:  "Who do the Mayo lads see as their starting forwards come championship?

Looks like to me McDonagh is the only one of the new lads who's done enough in the forwards and Mayo will still be looking for Andy Moran to start."
We've mainly lacked bench reinforcements JDF... and we'll still lack bench reinforcements. Young Treacy looked a reasonable prospect as another half-forward and needed more game time to judge, but it's the ff line where things are still a bit thin. We could do with one of the young lads really showing up next weekend to give everyone the feeling that our hand will be stronger come the summer... there's talent there, but it's making the step up....

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 19/03/2019 19:24:54    2173780

Replying To Pericles:  "We've mainly lacked bench reinforcements JDF... and we'll still lack bench reinforcements. Young Treacy looked a reasonable prospect as another half-forward and needed more game time to judge, but it's the ff line where things are still a bit thin. We could do with one of the young lads really showing up next weekend to give everyone the feeling that our hand will be stronger come the summer... there's talent there, but it's making the step up...."
I'd imagine you must be disappointed with Reape, he's been fairly hyped by Mayo supporters but he's not delivered yet.

Horan will be desperate for one of Regan, Loftus, Reape, Diskin & Durcan to put their hand up and nail down a starting spot but none of them have done that so far.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 20/03/2019 16:39:25    2173999

We need Cillian to contribute more from play which he is more than capable of doing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 20/03/2019 17:47:19    2174013

Replying To JDF:  "I'd imagine you must be disappointed with Reape, he's been fairly hyped by Mayo supporters but he's not delivered yet.

Horan will be desperate for one of Regan, Loftus, Reape, Diskin & Durcan to put their hand up and nail down a starting spot but none of them have done that so far."
Dont worry about us,
If their was a club team in Mayo playing a far superior brand of football to the county team,
then that would be a cause for concern for me .

Should be keeping an eye on the priZe , not on your neighbour..pass it on to Kev too

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 20/03/2019 19:45:11    2174030

Replying To JDF:  "I'd imagine you must be disappointed with Reape, he's been fairly hyped by Mayo supporters but he's not delivered yet.

Horan will be desperate for one of Regan, Loftus, Reape, Diskin & Durcan to put their hand up and nail down a starting spot but none of them have done that so far."
I wouldnt say hyped up, but mayo fans want these young lads to show what they can do. Reape had a bad night against the Dubs but doesnt mean he isnt good enough. He was playing with the club last Friday night so seem to be trying to get confidence back into him.
Diskin is a good player but was dropped there for a while for disciplinary reasons.
Loftus needs to be more confident, its in him to be good enough.
Regan and Durcan i dont think will be starters.
Ryan O Donoghue might have an impact when hes back from injury.
We have more options in the forward line, there all getting game time so im happy

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 20/03/2019 20:50:50    2174048

Replying To GreenandRed:  "We need Cillian to contribute more from play which he is more than capable of doing."
If he comes back free from injury Cillian will be fine. Maybe tries to do too much at times, a bit like Aido, but vital for any hopes we have this year. Will be interesting to see how Ryan O Donoghue fares when he comes back from injury. Loads of pace with an eye for a goal which is what we are lacking in the forwards at the minute. I have a suspicion we'll see a lot of young Diskin before the year is out. Not a lot of strength and conditioning needed with him and loads of potential for Horan to work on.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/03/2019 21:00:59    2174052