Lets Play Aussie Rules

Looks to me like Philly is getting ahead of Phillys Major problem, can't defend the high ball.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 06/03/2019 16:10:48    2170664

Replying To WunderBar:  "Looks to me like Philly is getting ahead of Phillys Major problem, can't defend the high ball."
I think Philly does ok in general :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 06/03/2019 16:54:38    2170677

Replying To WunderBar:  "Looks to me like Philly is getting ahead of Phillys Major problem, can't defend the high ball."
Yes it's been a major issue in our 28 game record breaking unbeaten run alright...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2019 17:11:09    2170681

Since when is chest height a high ball, I saw a mark being made from a ball caught at the ankle.. it's nothing to do with a high ball

It's to do with having a free shot for routinely catching any sort of pass

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2019 17:18:57    2170690

Replying To jimbodub:  "Since when is chest height a high ball, I saw a mark being made from a ball caught at the ankle.. it's nothing to do with a high ball

It's to do with having a free shot for routinely catching any sort of pass"
To encourage high fielding the mark should only from kick outs and in order to increase the number of long kick outs the goalie should have a run up of 5 yards or more.

JuniorBee (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 12/03/2019 05:36:49    2171788

Feck the mark, keep it flowing. Didn't stop wonderful sights in the past of O'Shea or Mullins pulling a ball from the air and doing something with it, its not required.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 12/03/2019 22:29:05    2171955

Replying To realdub:  "Have to agree, was only thinking recently of how much like that Aussie Rules rubbish our game is becoming."
A man after me own heart

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-warns-that-gaelic-football-is-just-one-rule-change-away-from-becoming-aussie-rules-37955668.html

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 28/03/2019 19:35:41    2176074

Replying To brisbane:  "Can you define the tackle in football ?"
Shoulder to shoulder is supposed to be the only permitted contact between players. The only way to legally dislodge the ball from a player is to strike it with the open hand, making no contact with the other player.
The rules do not allow you to wrap your opponent in a bear hug but unfortunately most referees do. I would love to see 1 game refereed using the exact wording of the rules just to see what would happen.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 29/03/2019 19:31:13    2176284

Replying To realdub:  "Feck the mark, keep it flowing. Didn't stop wonderful sights in the past of O'Shea or Mullins pulling a ball from the air and doing something with it, its not required."
Yes realdub but thats when teams actually kicked the ball.
The footpass is going out of our game because of the fear of losing possession.
The mark rewards the kick pass it rewards taking that chance rather than a save sideways handpass.
I think Jim is funny on this one, Jim has no problem with his team hand passing the ball to death yet you never hear him say the games one handpass away from basketball do you?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 29/03/2019 20:38:53    2176292

Replying To westkerry:  "Yes realdub but thats when teams actually kicked the ball.
The footpass is going out of our game because of the fear of losing possession.
The mark rewards the kick pass it rewards taking that chance rather than a save sideways handpass.
I think Jim is funny on this one, Jim has no problem with his team hand passing the ball to death yet you never hear him say the games one handpass away from basketball do you?"
I hear you, but if ultra-defensive football fecks off, so will the lateral basketball. Just because Dublin do it, doesn't mean they enjoy it, they have a win anyway you need to attitude!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 29/03/2019 21:14:45    2176301

Replying To gatha:  "I agree 100% with Philly McMahon. The powers that be have diluted the game. What happened to the identity of our game? Why do we keep taking aspects of other sports and implementing into football and to a lesser degree Hurling. The Yellow and Red cards, now the Sin Bin ,the Mark even the way we shake hands before the match. I loved the way we use to go to our positions stand beside the man you were going to battle for the next hour and stand at attention for the National Anthem. Then turn and shake hands. I get the way the game is played now is not very entertaining at times, but if you watch this young Kerry team play they do remind you of what a great game it use to be, and still can be if played the way it is suppose to be."
we should also go back to 3 subs.
6 subs has heavily benefitted Dublin due to their larger population and associated deeper panel allowing them to run the bench with 25min to go when needed.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 06/04/2019 20:21:56    2177929

Replying To realdub:  "Feck the mark, keep it flowing. Didn't stop wonderful sights in the past of O'Shea or Mullins pulling a ball from the air and doing something with it, its not required."
O'Shea or Mullins didn't come down from a catch with 4 guys swarming around them like ants and then get pulled for overholding. The Mark was brought it to protect the high catch because it was becoming a disadvantage. Stop living in the past.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 07/04/2019 08:23:12    2177944

It would also hamper most teams with good squads. It's a regressive step and there is no appetite for it. The more subs allowed the better.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 07/04/2019 09:43:17    2177949

Replying To bloodyban:  "It would also hamper most teams with good squads. It's a regressive step and there is no appetite for it. The more subs allowed the better."
correct, the more lads that get a run out the better

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 07/04/2019 11:54:50    2177957

Replying To FootblockREF:  "O'Shea or Mullins didn't come down from a catch with 4 guys swarming around them like ants and then get pulled for overholding. The Mark was brought it to protect the high catch because it was becoming a disadvantage. Stop living in the past."
Ok I'm older and I am looking at the game from a wider angle probably but I maintain that it's too stop/start for my liking.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 07/04/2019 17:09:24    2177971

Replying To centerfield:  "we should also go back to 3 subs.
6 subs has heavily benefitted Dublin due to their larger population and associated deeper panel allowing them to run the bench with 25min to go when needed."
standards go down if you reduce number of subs. Id cut the number of players sitting on the bench. you shouldnt need 11 subs.... and then have more interchanges per team.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3496 - 07/04/2019 19:55:17    2177981

Replying To realdub:  "Ok I'm older and I am looking at the game from a wider angle probably but I maintain that it's too stop/start for my liking."
The older game was desperately stop start. All frees and sidelines were taken from the ground. The frees took ages. The midfield mark has made the game faster and the forward mark will do likewise in my opinion.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/04/2019 20:07:15    2177984

Replying To bennybunny:  "The older game was desperately stop start. All frees and sidelines were taken from the ground. The frees took ages. The midfield mark has made the game faster and the forward mark will do likewise in my opinion."
Ah jaysus I'm not stuck in the mud, the game has evolved for the better in my opinion. But its fine the way it is IMO, defensive football is slowly fading and we won't be winning it every year soon enough.
If it comes in so be it but I'm happy enough, but selfishly I'll probably welcome it when ever we run out of top notch forwards.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 07/04/2019 20:41:44    2177989