Monaghan Vs Cavan

I heard from a Monaghan man that McManus' hips are giving him trouble and that he could be in a bit of trouble with them. Can anyone shed any light on this?

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 15/03/2019 08:01:00    2172325

Due to be very wet ..could be a mud bath ...20mm of rain that day before game

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 15/03/2019 08:42:16    2172328

Replying To thegadfly:  "I heard from a Monaghan man that McManus' hips are giving him trouble and that he could be in a bit of trouble with them. Can anyone shed any light on this?"
Sure his hips have always gave him trouble. Don't see him playing anyway. Hopefully won't be needed either.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 15/03/2019 10:04:49    2172343

Replying To thegadfly:  "I heard from a Monaghan man that McManus' hips are giving him trouble and that he could be in a bit of trouble with them. Can anyone shed any light on this?"
All top level athletes suffer from a variety of issues over their sporting lifetime. I certainly wouldn't pay any heed to such chatter regarding Conor, I can honestly say that watching him this year so far, he is probably in the best condition that he has ever been in - not a sign of any ache or pain.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/03/2019 10:08:11    2172344

Always a lottery this one wouldn't matter if either side was flying this game big leveller. We were better against Kerry but faded as game wore on. Think we will come good eventually this year but the lack of our trademark aggression and intensity is a worry and we are missing some of our best players also which is affecting confidence. I wouldn't be surprised if this ended in a draw which in truth would relegate the pair of us. Regardless this is a dress rehearsal for the really big one in breffini in a few months where we will need to be at full strength.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 15/03/2019 16:18:08    2172408

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Sure his hips have always gave him trouble. Don't see him playing anyway. Hopefully won't be needed either."
Hope he does not start wouldn't mind him playing last 10 or 15 though

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 15/03/2019 16:38:21    2172415

Replying To eamonnmac:  "Due to be very wet ..could be a mud bath ...20mm of rain that day before game"
Awww our fella we have decent pitches over here in monaghan. Keep the excuses coming though hb ;-)
Love the derby banter Hon the farney

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 15/03/2019 16:40:07    2172416

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Is there another fixture in the calendar that brings out so much emnity among rival supporters? Many of whom are friends, neighbours and cousins? I doubt it!

The old joke about two bald men fighting over a comb comes to mind. (Except of course that one of the bald men has a heap of old medals in his pocket and the other doesn't)

It all makes Clones the only place to be Saturday for those involved in this most local of squabbles. The light is beginning to fade for this very good Monaghan team. Cavan are not great by any means but this time they will have enough to snuff out McManus and his 14 helpers.

Cavan by 3+ points. Neutrals, you have been warned so don't let this one ruin your weekend accumulator. #TFIB"
Good stuff Madge king....only 6 points out. See yee in the championship. Hon the FARNEY. Won in 2nd gear.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 16/03/2019 16:03:07    2172618

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Is there another fixture in the calendar that brings out so much emnity among rival supporters? Many of whom are friends, neighbours and cousins? I doubt it!

The old joke about two bald men fighting over a comb comes to mind. (Except of course that one of the bald men has a heap of old medals in his pocket and the other doesn't)

It all makes Clones the only place to be Saturday for those involved in this most local of squabbles. The light is beginning to fade for this very good Monaghan team. Cavan are not great by any means but this time they will have enough to snuff out McManus and his 14 helpers.

Cavan by 3+ points. Neutrals, you have been warned so don't let this one ruin your weekend accumulator. #TFIB"
Howya Madge !

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/03/2019 16:57:25    2172644

Expect Cavan to outnumber Monaghan in the stands and outfight them on the pitch. A brutal one-point win in a low scoring game will do just fine!"

Madge........Knowledgeable Cavan supporters realise that your team is poor and stay at home as evidenced yet again today. Just a good workout for Monaghan with important players to come back from injury.

Treatment of McManus today by Cavan markers was a disgrace.......no protection whatsoever from referee !

Roll on Breffni in May

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 16/03/2019 19:19:15    2172729

from what i seen mcmanus was rabbit punched twice in the ribs and went down hard and with a championship match in 8 weeks against same opposition would make it much the easier for them without our only footballer mmmmmmmmmm

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 16/03/2019 22:42:04    2172865

Cavan were very poor today ..clueless upfront and free taking disastrous ..Monaghan much better without being great.

Mc manus should give up the jiving classes to preserve his hips and only do the hucklebuck on big occasions.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 17/03/2019 08:57:28    2172929

Cavan were very poor today ..clueless upfront and free taking disastrous ..Monaghan much better without being great.

Mc manus should give up the jiving classes to preserve his hips and only do the hucklebuck on big occasions.

eamonnmac (Cavan) - Posts: 59 - 17/03/2019 08:57:49    2172930

Judging by yesterday, I think the 2 bald men analogy still holds...except that Monaghan are sporting a comb-over at the minute i.e. fooling themselves but not many others!!

Very disappointed with our lads to be honest, especially after getting a great start with the goal. The inability to covert chances again cost us dear and Monagahn to be fair were much more economical, more than 3 points the better team.

McKiernan added a bit when he came on but some of Cavans big players e.g. Clarke McVeety Madden, just didn't offer enough over the 70+ minutes. The worrying thing for championship is we don't have many quality players to add from yesterday whereas Monaghan possibly have Kieran Hughes Niall Kerins and a few more to boost their panel.

It won't be enough for you to beat an ever more impressive Tyrone in Ulster, however if yous are any good then winning by 6+ in Breffni should be the target. Monaghan unbackable favourites as of yesterday. Plus you never know, Ros could nick the points against Kerry and make it a Div 2 derby yet!
See you all in HQ in a few weeks...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 17/03/2019 13:54:09    2173031

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Expect Cavan to outnumber Monaghan in the stands and outfight them on the pitch. A brutal one-point win in a low scoring game will do just fine!"

Madge........Knowledgeable Cavan supporters realise that your team is poor and stay at home as evidenced yet again today. Just a good workout for Monaghan with important players to come back from injury.

Treatment of McManus today by Cavan markers was a disgrace.......no protection whatsoever from referee !

Roll on Breffni in May"
McManus was no angel as his hit showed and could have walked.

Referee was shocking and not inter county standard. That not an excuse cause some strange calls went against Monaghan such as the trip on McManus. The call against Cavan after Mackey pointed was weird and Monaghan fans around me were perplexed too.

Free taking probably the big difference between the teams and the fact Monaghan dominated midfield after HT.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 17/03/2019 14:11:49    2173040

Ref was very poor, for both sides. It was his first division 1 game I think I heard? Maybe not the best choice for this game considering it's a local derby and there was alot riding on it.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/03/2019 14:56:00    2173051

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Judging by yesterday, I think the 2 bald men analogy still holds...except that Monaghan are sporting a comb-over at the minute i.e. fooling themselves but not many others!!

Very disappointed with our lads to be honest, especially after getting a great start with the goal. The inability to covert chances again cost us dear and Monagahn to be fair were much more economical, more than 3 points the better team.

McKiernan added a bit when he came on but some of Cavans big players e.g. Clarke McVeety Madden, just didn't offer enough over the 70+ minutes. The worrying thing for championship is we don't have many quality players to add from yesterday whereas Monaghan possibly have Kieran Hughes Niall Kerins and a few more to boost their panel.

It won't be enough for you to beat an ever more impressive Tyrone in Ulster, however if yous are any good then winning by 6+ in Breffni should be the target. Monaghan unbackable favourites as of yesterday. Plus you never know, Ros could nick the points against Kerry and make it a Div 2 derby yet!
See you all in HQ in a few weeks..."
The worrying thing for championship is we don't have many quality players to add from yesterday whereas Monaghan possibly have Kieran Hughes Niall Kerins and a few more to boost their panel.

Madge, at least your talking a bit more sense now.

Kieran Hughes, Niall Kearns & Stephen O'Hanlon will transform Monaghan team come championship.

Very poor Cavan support in Clones yesyerday..........your team deserves better !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 17/03/2019 15:43:54    2173074

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "
Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Expect Cavan to outnumber Monaghan in the stands and outfight them on the pitch. A brutal one-point win in a low scoring game will do just fine!"

Roll on Breffni in May"
McManus was no angel as his hit showed and could have walked.

Referee was shocking and not inter county standard. That not an excuse cause some strange calls went against Monaghan such as the trip on McManus. The call against Cavan after Mackey pointed was weird and Monaghan fans around me were perplexed too.

Free taking probably the big difference between the teams and the fact Monaghan dominated midfield after HT."
Free taking probably the big difference between the teams

Nonsense, not many Cavan supporters actually believe that. Monaghan missed a lot of frees yesterday ........McManus wrongly insisted on taking a few after taking some big hits from Cavan markers. Our main kicker from other side, Jack McCarron, only played part of 2nd half (until he deservedly got sent off).

McManus booking was for a foolish high tackle......obviously frustrated with some disgraceful tackles on him that went unpunished.

Monaghan clearly the better side despite an average display and more to come with their returning players.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 17/03/2019 15:59:01    2173078

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Judging by yesterday, I think the 2 bald men analogy still holds...except that Monaghan are sporting a comb-over at the minute i.e. fooling themselves but not many others!!

Poor Madge.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/03/2019 17:27:15    2173131

2nd gear Madge, can you not just either sit back and enjoy or suck up this period of dominance by your neighbors. And your right none of cavans big players stood up when counted yesterday because they don't have them. I will say this now whatever happens next weekend with Monaghan you can be assured that Cavan will not be promoted back up next year. Your u21 stars are damp squibs. And poor aul Micky Graham will be booted out after next season as it's the only way the Cavan county board can seal over the cracks....bring in another manager.
Roll on the 6 in a row!!!! Hon The FARNEY

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 17/03/2019 19:29:11    2173180