Dublin V Roscommon

TheUsername I think when you watch the game back you will see that Dublin got their fair share of dodgy looking decision off that poor ref also. Thankfully he didn't destroy a good quality game of football. Two Dublin goals was key and the manner of how they were conceded will leave Roscommon very disappointed.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/03/2019 23:14:45    2169939

Replying To jimbodub:  "Jaysus it was bitter but worth every second
Very enjoyable hard fought game in bad conditions
Dublin showed enough once again that they still have that drive and commitment to succeed

2-14 was a very good haul

And just like that...

This Dublin team are back in contention with a good chance of making it 7 finals in 7 years

A pleasure to support, one more night in the lovely Leitrim village and weather permitting another couple hours fishing in the morning reforestation bouncing. Life is good."
Who's down thumbing your post about fishing? Pesky Jackeens coming across the Shannon taking our fish.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/03/2019 23:35:46    2169943

Meant to say i was very impressed with Cox yesterday, not sure how Kerry let him slip through the net, but certainly Roscommon's gain, looks a marquee forward and caused havoc at times.

Looks a good one.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/03/2019 10:29:41    2170015

Cox is a big strong lad but wouldn't fit into the current Kerry set up.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 04/03/2019 11:25:26    2170041

Very enjoyable games yesterday. Happy with how Ros responded from last weeks horror show. They really put up a fight against the top team in the country. Just ran out of steam in 2nd half and the 2nd goal, especially the manner of it seemed to just drain the life out of our lads. But overall, a lot of positives to take from it, pride and confidence restored ahead of a massive game in Salthill.
On a separate note, I have to make note of the way the way the Dublin players acted after the game. They were surrounded by huge number of kids from both Ros and Dublin, my own included and took time for pictures and autographs with all of them. Really made my kids day to get to meet these guys in person. Johnny Cooper and Dean Rock were still on pitch over 30 minutes after game finished. I know the ros players always take time to with the fans after every game to and it's hugely appreciated. Class on and off the pitch from both sets of players.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 04/03/2019 12:26:30    2170064

Jayus all I can say is fair play to Roscommon.
They could win connacht at least if they play like that clever skilful players, all forwards scored from play?

It seems consistency is Roscommons main problem.
I think Dublin got out of jail a bit with those goals - scrappy yokes.

Fair play too both teams great display of football.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 04/03/2019 12:30:32    2170068

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Cox is a big strong lad but wouldn't fit into the current Kerry set up."
Why?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 04/03/2019 13:04:03    2170086

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Cox is a big strong lad but wouldn't fit into the current Kerry set up."
He has an unbelievable right boot on him...i think he would add something to any team

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 04/03/2019 14:28:55    2170131

Replying To worple:  "Why?"
Cox is doing very well for Roscommon and fair play to the lad, he is a real addition to them.
To be fair he had a few chances for Kerry and it didn't work out for him.
I think he'd do a job on the Kerry panel but he wouldn't get into the front 6 IMO.
Geaney,Clifford,OShea,ODonoghue,Moynihan, Shaw,Brosnan, Walah are 8 lads ahead of him i would say.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 04/03/2019 14:30:45    2170132

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Jayus all I can say is fair play to Roscommon.
They could win connacht at least if they play like that clever skilful players, all forwards scored from play?

It seems consistency is Roscommons main problem.
I think Dublin got out of jail a bit with those goals - scrappy yokes.

Fair play too both teams great display of football."
All bar one forward scored from play. 10 different scorers in total. Cox is doing well for his dads county and i think he will excel even more when he gets to play along side Diarmuid Murtagh who is on the way back from injury.

Consistency has been a problem for us for many years under many different managers and its showing no sign of changing yet. Goals were scrappy yokes indeed and both fell kindly to the scorers (our luck was out there). Our lack of fitness and strength in depth doesn't help when going up against sides of the quality of Dublin either.

Well done to Dublin on deserved win yesterday and best of luck for the rest of the league, as for us another loss but a lot more positives to take out of that defeat than the last one.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 04/03/2019 15:07:38    2170147

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Who's down thumbing your post about fishing? Pesky Jackeens coming across the Shannon taking our fish."
It wasn't just the weather that was fierce bitter...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/03/2019 07:48:36    2170314

:D

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/03/2019 11:30:07    2170353

Tell ya something for free lads.

It was bloody Baltic .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/03/2019 11:47:14    2170359

Replying To jimbodub:  "It wasn't just the weather that was fierce bitter..."
It must be the leitrim lads, cause we wouldn't care what ye take off them, they were probably shouting harder for ye than any dub fan, most bitter shower you ever met.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 05/03/2019 15:12:00    2170412