Replying To superdub:  "Referee is only short of putting a Roscommon jersey on"
He's bad for both teams.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2019 14:50:04    2169704

Great game so far.

Credit to both teams.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 03/03/2019 14:54:17    2169707

The game started with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 20 secs before attempting a shot which went wide..the game ended with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 50 secs before the ref gave up and blew the final whistle..that sums Dublin up...a negative hand passing team

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 03/03/2019 15:44:47    2169714

Good win against a tough side, dodgy 45 for us too :-)

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 03/03/2019 15:47:55    2169716

I thought the rossies played really well
there were up against the might of Dublin
its gonna be a very interesting Connacht championship
what with the rossies on same side of draw as mayo

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/03/2019 15:59:55    2169720

Hats off to the Rossies, played some excellent football in the 1st half, ran out of steam and got cleaned out in midfield in the 2nd .

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/03/2019 16:07:49    2169723

You must be joking?

He rode Roscommon

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 03/03/2019 16:09:47    2169725

You obviously weren't at the game with this comment. He was very inconsistent to both teams but particularly harsh on Roscommon

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 03/03/2019 16:10:27    2169727

Kerry man who infamously reffed the Fermanagh quarter final in 2015 who gave Dublin the grand total of 3 frees in 77mins of football and allowed a goal to stand that was embarrassing..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 03/03/2019 16:24:26    2169733

Only started watching this one at 1-11 to 1-9, about 40mins in. Spent the next 15-20mins scratching my head, wondering how they scored the 1-11, before switching off!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 03/03/2019 16:30:14    2169735

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "The game started with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 20 secs before attempting a shot which went wide..the game ended with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 50 secs before the ref gave up and blew the final whistle..that sums Dublin up...a negative hand passing team"
So for the first and last two minutes they are a "negative hand passing team" surprising how they even scored, good summary there though

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 03/03/2019 17:00:20    2169745

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "The game started with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 20 secs before attempting a shot which went wide..the game ended with Dublin hand passing the ball around for 1 min and 50 secs before the ref gave up and blew the final whistle..that sums Dublin up...a negative hand passing team"
So they played 66 minutes and 50 seconds, plus injury time, of great football trying to shake off Roscommon in tricky conditions so. Sounds a right good game. Shout out to your stopwatch too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 03/03/2019 17:19:51    2169750

No, the 15 men planted in the opposition 45 necessitating Dublin's handpassing around that zone is indicative of this negative blanket defence blight that is now the scourge of the modern game. That tactic is negative. Dublin's handpassing around was sensible.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/03/2019 18:44:50    2169792

Replying To Joxer:  "No, the 15 men planted in the opposition 45 necessitating Dublin's handpassing around that zone is indicative of this negative blanket defence blight that is now the scourge of the modern game. That tactic is negative. Dublin's handpassing around was sensible."
Why would you even respect a post like that by giving a reply?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/03/2019 18:50:30    2169796

Well done to Dublin 5 margin about right in the end. Yes they kicked a number of wides but you did get the rub of the green with two lucky goals. First half especially we showed a real glimpse of what we are capable of against the best team in the land but we were never going to keep that tempo going for more than 50 minutes and the differences in the two benches was very telling. Games like that are huge learning experiences and that 5 point defeat today tells us more about ourselves than 10 Div 2 wins would.

I hope the Dubs enjoyed their trip down to Roscommon (the win helps) and with a bit of luck we will be hosting ye in Dr Hyde Park again in the near future.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 03/03/2019 19:17:18    2169809

Replying To The_analyser:  "Well done to Dublin 5 margin about right in the end. Yes they kicked a number of wides but you did get the rub of the green with two lucky goals. First half especially we showed a real glimpse of what we are capable of against the best team in the land but we were never going to keep that tempo going for more than 50 minutes and the differences in the two benches was very telling. Games like that are huge learning experiences and that 5 point defeat today tells us more about ourselves than 10 Div 2 wins would.

I hope the Dubs enjoyed their trip down to Roscommon (the win helps) and with a bit of luck we will be hosting ye in Dr Hyde Park again in the near future."
Fair assessment

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 03/03/2019 19:57:11    2169837

Well now an eventful day the far side of the Shannon all in.

Just in the door an absolute blizzard between Kinnegad and Maynooth and a good hours tail back through the toll and another hour the far side given the snowy condititions, a couple of tips I saw on the road hopefully everyone gets back safely. All grand considering the wash out we got before and during the game that had poler bears reaching for their under armor base layers.

As you can probably guess the game was played in very poor, wet conditions with a fair nip and sodden pitch. Hyde is looking well these days, it's one of my favourate county away grounds fair play to the Roscommon county board.

On to the game itself, Dublin made some late changes with young lads like, McGowen, O Connor, Basquel coming into replace the more established players. The master came in for young Comerford. Young Gavin continued in the middle. While we lost Jack early on so Robbie McDaid played the majority of the game. So a fair bit of youth and inexperience to complement some established lads.

Roscommon look a different animal this year, gone is the niceness and open expansive stuff. A team with real edge, fight and bite to match. The played a hybrid system overall at times the blanket and at times a pocession based game waiting for their opening and high pressing.

Dublin stormed out of the blocks early on taking over some straight forward points and shortly scored a goal that had an inevitable feel of a rout in the first 25 mins or so. The game got tough then and every ball was contested fiercely, there were tackles flying in that you would proud of playing Rugby and the ref let some mad stuff go in my opinion. In the last quarter Roscommon bullied Dublin in my opinion who had taken their eye of the ball, were rattled and Roscommon went on to get a goal and wipe away the point deficit to go in all square deservedly at half time. Deservedly so in my opinion, though the ref lost control of the game and anything was going, at that stage. But Roscommon used a brilliant tactic on the Dublin defense the flooded and had a decoy on Cian Sullivan that let them have a man over on Dublin's marking system, making total hay in the last quarter of the first half.

Roscommon had the better of the start of the second and went two up in third quarter with Dublin hitting bad wides. As we hit the 50 mun mark, something really unusual happened. Roscommon started to play keep ball and hold pocession, go down injured etc. It was weird because the momentum was with them and had the opposite effect of inviting Dublin on to them and handing the, the innitive. Dublin duly obliged and even with the most ridiculous wide count I have seen from Dublin in many a year, they got the couple of points to draw level, that brought back Dublin's composure, in the next phase we got what looked like a fortuitous goal and it was normal service resumed of just shooting out the lights. The game descended into a bit of farce then of lads just taking lumps. Overall glad to be leaving with two points, no suspensions and hopefully what looks like just a minor injury for Jack.

Was the worst referee performance I think I've seen in a long time, Dublin got mangled in the first half and couldn't buy a free, while every minor call went Roscommons way. That really effected the game as a footballing spectacle as it dawned on both sides that anything could go and was more like Rugby then football. Then the whole thing went full circle in the second half, I thought he clearly favored Dublin, the cynic in me wondered did he get tap on the shoulder about his performance at half time. Anyway he didn't help the game for ethier side.

Roscommon are a different outfit this year, tough as teak, with huge edge and massively physical and competitive. I suspect the days of give me quarter finals without lumps are a thing of the past and any team playing them should be prepared for rigour and lumps. They played some nice stuff as well as they always have. But this is a new Roscommon, with edge.

As for Dublin, wasn't vintage but hard fought. Some young lads playing and being blooded left us a bit soft. Positives for me were Davey Byrne again, proper defender. Daren Gavin had a shaky opening 15 mins, but was great in the other three quarters, could be a super midfielder, but a way to go yet, but getting better and better per week. Cian after the wobbles had a good game. Fenton was Fenton, class. But he must have hit at least 5 wides. Thought McDaid looked good in spells.

Thought Cooper had a tough day at the office, Paddy Andrews endevoured but left his shooting boots at home and was a bit indulgent at times. Costello had one of those anonymous games, as did the rest of the forwards first half, bar King Con.

All in all, delighted to get the far side of Leixlip with two points, no serious injuries and no suspensions via a tough day in the office, but a stretch in the legs and ongoing blooding so all good.

Hope everyone got home safely.

Next up Tyrone in Croker on Paddy's weekend, spectacle!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2019 20:31:40    2169870

Are you still emabarassing yourself with your posts these days? Like I told you last year, respect your champions, good sir.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/03/2019 21:24:12    2169896

Jaysus it was bitter but worth every second
Very enjoyable hard fought game in bad conditions
Dublin showed enough once again that they still have that drive and commitment to succeed

2-14 was a very good haul

And just like that...

This Dublin team are back in contention with a good chance of making it 7 finals in 7 years

A pleasure to support, one more night in the lovely Leitrim village and weather permitting another couple hours fishing in the morning reforestation bouncing. Life is good.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2019 21:33:37    2169906