Meath V Kildare

Terrible day for football.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2019 13:21:21    2169686

Dreadful bloody day and you'd never know what could happen with fellas slipping and what have you. Tough game for referees too.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2019 14:46:22    2169703

What a finish. Hup Meath!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 03/03/2019 17:17:44    2169749

What a finish. Hup Meath!

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 03/03/2019 17:23:19    2169752

Another big win for the Royals, had this down for a draw but fair play to them for snatching it, onwards and upwards they go!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 03/03/2019 17:47:43    2169762

Even when Kerry and Dublin were kicking 7 shades of shite out of us and beating us by 20 odd points I don't think I've seen us make as many mistakes, create as few chances, give the ball away as much and as easily or generally play as poorly as we did today.

Meath could have won that by triple scores with the amount of chances they created.

Kept battling right till the end and managed to win a game at the death which will be a massive boost to them going forward and should help erase some memories of narrow, late losses recently.

I haven't seen a team dominate yet fail to get in front for 70 minutes like today, if Kildare had have gotten anything from that match it would have been robbery of the highest order.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 03/03/2019 18:55:45    2169800

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Even when Kerry and Dublin were kicking 7 shades of shite out of us and beating us by 20 odd points I don't think I've seen us make as many mistakes, create as few chances, give the ball away as much and as easily or generally play as poorly as we did today.

Meath could have won that by triple scores with the amount of chances they created.

Kept battling right till the end and managed to win a game at the death which will be a massive boost to them going forward and should help erase some memories of narrow, late losses recently.

I haven't seen a team dominate yet fail to get in front for 70 minutes like today, if Kildare had have gotten anything from that match it would have been robbery of the highest order."
Honest assessment, bad game. This is worst Meath has played this year by a good bit. Missing so many easy chances.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 03/03/2019 19:08:53    2169806

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Even when Kerry and Dublin were kicking 7 shades of shite out of us and beating us by 20 odd points I don't think I've seen us make as many mistakes, create as few chances, give the ball away as much and as easily or generally play as poorly as we did today.

I haven't seen a team dominate yet fail to get in front for 70 minutes like today, if Kildare had have gotten anything from that match it would have been robbery of the highest order."
Totally agree. Apart from midfield, Meath had the Kildare attack tied up and our forwards had plenty of ball. I lost count of the amount of wides Meath had and the amount of chances wasted. There had to be 12 wides (all scorable) and chances where we over played the ball.

I think we were full value for our win but not in the manner of how we did it. In reality, it should have been 2-16 to 1-10.

We were terribly wasteful.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 03/03/2019 19:30:46    2169821

Fair assessment sir, I'm almost bald from pulling my hair out from missed chances in that gave today and a lot of the wides were very scoresble chances, it's been an issue all through the league but was really bad today, we must improve the shooting and option taking up front because our general play and movement is very good and we are creating great chances but must learn to take them, I have no doubt there will be plenty of twists and turns in this division yet, the fat lady has not yet cleared her throat.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2019 20:22:17    2169862

Meath were well on top all right in that second half but the conditions were unbelievable bad. With Kildare sitting back it was very hard to score. Kildare put in a good defensive effort and this was aided by the conditions.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 03/03/2019 22:15:09    2169921

Well done Meath. Kildare inter county football is in a truly shocking state. Thinking of promotion from a very average div 2 and were losing this and Fermanagh match?? Div 1 would just chew us up and spit us out... again.
CON im sure, is a gentleman, he is not, however, a tactician, a disciplinarian or an inter county manager. Thanks for the effort/hard work Cian but time to go with some pride and let some one in fresh for the champ.. One DB springs to mind..
And i'm not excusing the players here either, but i believe the raw talent is there to be improved upon with the right personnel in charge..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 04/03/2019 01:05:57    2169958

For much of the match it had a feeling of 'one of those days'. Kildare burst out of the blocks with a quick 1-3 and despite everything Meath did they kept us at arms length.
So many chances went wide as well as the missed goal opportunity. Really had the feeling it wouldn't be our day but paradoxically I was wondering why we weren't out of sight given the possession and amount of chances we created.
Not sure where Kildare went in the second half. You'd of worried what would of happened if they put in a 70 min performance.....but they didn't and all too often I've seen Meath throw away games in similar circumstances.
What an absolute roar at the end. Well done to Meath players and fans alike.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 04/03/2019 08:48:26    2169980

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "For much of the match it had a feeling of 'one of those days'. Kildare burst out of the blocks with a quick 1-3 and despite everything Meath did they kept us at arms length.
So many chances went wide as well as the missed goal opportunity. Really had the feeling it wouldn't be our day but paradoxically I was wondering why we weren't out of sight given the possession and amount of chances we created.
Not sure where Kildare went in the second half. You'd of worried what would of happened if they put in a 70 min performance.....but they didn't and all too often I've seen Meath throw away games in similar circumstances.
What an absolute roar at the end. Well done to Meath players and fans alike."
The injuries to leaders on the kildare team massively set us back. That said the young lads didn't stand up. on a decent day id say the result would have been different but it was a game of two halves, just a pity for us our purple patch was in the first half.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 04/03/2019 12:36:25    2170070

Losing to an improving Meath team in good form is not a shock. That 2nd half performance was though. (even allowing for some bad luck with injuries) Meath were utterly dominant, it was incredible that Kildare were still in front coming into injury time.
Cian has big questions to answer. I've always liked him but it's very hard to argue that we are still moving in the right direction under him. Really worrying.

Well done to Meath. Time to make the most of it now & get back into Div 1.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 04/03/2019 12:51:17    2170079

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Losing to an improving Meath team in good form is not a shock. That 2nd half performance was though. (even allowing for some bad luck with injuries) Meath were utterly dominant, it was incredible that Kildare were still in front coming into injury time.
Cian has big questions to answer. I've always liked him but it's very hard to argue that we are still moving in the right direction under him. Really worrying.

Well done to Meath. Time to make the most of it now & get back into Div 1."
I find Kildare a hard team to figure out. When they had a good spell in the first half when they got 5 ahead they looked really good but then they dropped off. They did not seem to be as up for it as Meath after that and seemed content to sit back for almost the entire second half.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 04/03/2019 13:09:58    2170090

What the hell is this?? I came on here expecting a battle royale between posters, Kildare did this to a Meath player, Meath done this, the ref was this.....what do I get, everyone been really nice to eachother and praising the opposition team.

I'm disappointed Meath and Kildare. Really really disappointed ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 04/03/2019 14:41:50    2170137

Well Cian always has an excuse and it's never himself!! We have been ahead most of our games this year and disappear into our shell for long periods allowing teams to come right back at us. We can't seem to put two halves together. Now questions have to be asked of management? What's with the fade outs? I believe the raw material is there or there about's but its getting tiring looking at the same situation arising in games. We need to know how to capitalize on a lead. Pulling back a 5 or 6 point lead should have been out of Meath's reach and had we tagged on a score or two for everyone the hit us with we could have well hung on and won. Fair play to Meath who wanted it more.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 04/03/2019 15:05:41    2170146

People just calling it as it was to be fair. Kildare looked good at times in the 1st half then Meath stepped it up and we were unable, again to keep the scoreboard ticking over. We could have won all our matches and just as easily lost them all. Only March and we live in hope

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 04/03/2019 15:18:02    2170153

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What the hell is this?? I came on here expecting a battle royale between posters, Kildare did this to a Meath player, Meath done this, the ref was this.....what do I get, everyone been really nice to eachother and praising the opposition team.

I'm disappointed Meath and Kildare. Really really disappointed ;)"
The rivalry lost it's edge when we realised it didn't matter who won in championship because Dublin would hammer the winner either way.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 04/03/2019 17:40:49    2170190

Very disappointing second half performance by Kildare.
Meath's workrate and tackling in particular was far higher than Kildares. These traits were the hallmarks of the u20 all Ireland team so none of the younger lads need Cian O'Neill to enforce it with them. However it has to be asked is Cian getting the best out of the players in terms of their strengths. Jimmy Hyland was player of the u20 championship and highest scorer by a distance. Yesterday he scored one point from a mark. Over all the games the supply and quality of ball to Hyland has been very poor.
We have the best forwards we had in years and we've created no more than 3 or 4 goal chances throughout the league. Have had two games where we managed only one point from play in second half in one and only one point from a free in yesterdays game.
Ben McCormack was a huge blow yesterday. For me he was man of the match against Clare and was our best player yesterday until injured.
Paul Cribbin will make a difference for next 2 games but we could do with Kevin Flynn and Slattery back rapidly as these guys at least run at defences not run around them and back again!

Well done to Meath, deserved winners, think promotion is fairly certain with performances to date.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 04/03/2019 19:02:16    2170217