Mayo In The Big Apple

Nice too see Mayo is coming back to New York. I see they have a big fund raiser set. 25K and you can have a table with one of the players sitting at your table. This is a far cry from the last time Mayo came to New York. Back then they also set up a bit of a fund raiser for the Team. We all went up to Dunwoodie Golf Club to have a bit of dinner and meet the players. I think it was $50 or $75 dollars. Great crowd old and young came out to see their heroes. One problem the Mayo management ,which is the same as today, felt New York was such a threat they ate their dinner and got back on the bus without meeting any of the supporters and left. Jack up the price and not only will they meet you they will actually sit at the same table and eat with you.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 11/02/2019 18:38:36    2164643

well worth it to get sitting at a table with Aiden O Shea , Andy Moran, Keith Higgins ,Lee Keegan etc.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 11/02/2019 20:16:09    2164667

Great to see Mayo GAA are finally taking fundraising to a professional level. Kerry raised €1.5 million a few years ago with a shin dig at the Plaza hotel.

With the massive ex pat Mayo population in the New York area and in the US, there should be no problem in selling this.

The only problem for the rest of us might be actually gaining entry to Gaelic Park. Due to re development capacity is apprerntly set at 2,500. Between 4-5,000 Mayo fans are reported set to travel to the Bronx.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 11/02/2019 20:25:54    2164671

Great trip, wish we were going. ;(

Luas doesn't go there though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/02/2019 20:28:21    2164673

Replying To culmore:  "well worth it to get sitting at a table with Aiden O Shea , Andy Moran, Keith Higgins ,Lee Keegan etc."
Jeez, I'd definitely pay 25k to sit at a table and listen to Mayo players tell me all about how they lost All-Ireland finals...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 11/02/2019 20:56:50    2164680

Replying To streaker:  "Jeez, I'd definitely pay 25k to sit at a table and listen to Mayo players tell me all about how they lost All-Ireland finals..."
Id pay 25k to sit at a different table in fact. Couldn't hack the yahooism lol

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 11/02/2019 21:16:12    2164688

25k. ? Holy lord.. so tell us again Lee about throwing your GPS ?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 11/02/2019 22:04:46    2164702

Ive always said New York and London should be rotated between provinces.
Would be a serious trip and it would give the diaspora hailing from Kerry, Dublin or Donegal or where ever a chance to see their team.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 11/02/2019 22:32:45    2164710

Galway lads getting a great kick out of this but can't blame them in all fairness. I might see my way to paying 25 euro to tell Leeroy or Aido how to play football but 25 grand! I'm not too popular at the credit union as it is.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 11/02/2019 23:32:26    2164722

A study should be made of Mayo people's huge love of football and equally huge desire to live anywhere but Mayo.

Just jealous lads.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/02/2019 01:08:17    2164730

Oh check out the suspicious new poster claiming to be from Kilkenny lol.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 12/02/2019 02:40:22    2164735

No surprises seeing 4 galway posters jumping to the front of the queue to have their say on a Mayo to topic.
Mayo living rent-free in yer heads ladies. haha

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 12/02/2019 08:33:27    2164747

Replying To Vishred:  "No surprises seeing 4 galway posters jumping to the front of the queue to have their say on a Mayo to topic.
Mayo living rent-free in yer heads ladies. haha"
And ye paying rent in our beautiful county... But seriously 25 k ? Some money..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 12/02/2019 10:50:10    2164766

As far as I know that's a table of 10 so it's "only" €2,500 per person. Still absolutely bonkers money. I have no idea why anyone would pay this for any event of it's type.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/02/2019 12:14:27    2164802

Replying To the_walls:  "As far as I know that's a table of 10 so it's "only" €2,500 per person. Still absolutely bonkers money. I have no idea why anyone would pay this for any event of it's type."
It's 25k for 9 people and you get to sit with one county footballer. Heard the food is mighty in that place tho and there's soup first so not to bad I suppose.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 12/02/2019 12:26:52    2164811

To all our friends in Galway and elsewhere just to let ye know that there are Two Types Of People In Ireland Those From Mayo and Those Who Want To Be From Mayo.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 12/02/2019 12:27:07    2164812

Replying To Crossgaa:  "It's 25k for 9 people and you get to sit with one county footballer. Heard the food is mighty in that place tho and there's soup first so not to bad I suppose."
The food would want to be mighty for that kind of money!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/02/2019 12:50:59    2164831

Replying To culmore:  "To all our friends in Galway and elsewhere just to let ye know that there are Two Types Of People In Ireland Those From Mayo and Those Who Want To Be From Mayo."
Sure we're mighty Craic ya no

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 12/02/2019 13:04:33    2164838

25K, they will make a ball of money come home spend it on the county team and still lose the All Ireland Final by a point after a replay!!

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 12/02/2019 14:40:41    2164878

Replying To the_walls:  "The food would want to be mighty for that kind of money!"
I saw Colm Boyle eating in that great Galway food emporium based in Ballindine back in September, sat beside him, cost me a tenner...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 12/02/2019 15:00:43    2164887