Dublin V Mayo

Replying To tommy132:  "Why are people so obsessed with when teams started back training?"
It's supposedly a barometer as to where their fitness and general state of match preparedness are at having eaten all the pies at Christmas. A few weeks under the belt should result in a fast start in the league apparently as lads are up to speed but might lead to teams "peaking too soon" if they are over prepared, so the experts say!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/02/2019 22:47:24    2166257

Replying To Jackeen:  "They spent the best part of a month away in January. Later than any holiday theyve had before and it's factually correct that they are only back to training a few weeks. Not sure what narrative you're trying to swing? How long are Kerry back?"
He's trying to swing the cute Kerry hoor narrative!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/02/2019 17:26:25    2166408

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jackeen best poster on Hs after my homie Waynol."
She doesn't come on here to talk rubbish, that's for sure!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 19/02/2019 18:35:03    2166421

Replying To realdub:  "She doesn't come on here to talk rubbish, that's for sure!!"
Thanks lads. Occasionally I bite but not half as much as I used to! I'm on HS since 2008 so you can sniff out the troublemakers quite easily.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/02/2019 18:45:10    2166424

Aw shucks. Now let's all get together for a rendition of coybib...................

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/02/2019 18:55:17    2166428

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Aw shucks. Now let's all get together for a rendition of coybib..................."
Let's!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/02/2019 19:18:11    2166435

Replying To TheUsername:  "Kerry were back start of November apparently, according to the OTB panel."
Oh no we'll be burnt out by July so. Advantage Dublin , 5 in a row for sure now :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/02/2019 19:44:00    2166441

Fairly strong looking Mayo team for Saturday, looking forward to seeing some of their new bodies:

Rob Hennelly;

Brendan Harrison, Ger Cafferkey, Keith Higgins;

Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Paddy Durcan;

Matthew Ruane, Donal Vaughan;

Fionn McDonagh, Aidan O'Shea, Ciaran Treacy;

Andy Moran, Brian Reape, Jason Doherty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/02/2019 21:48:02    2166853

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fairly strong looking Mayo team for Saturday, looking forward to seeing some of their new bodies:

Rob Hennelly;

Andy Moran, Brian Reape, Jason Doherty."
Fairly experienced team also as 10 of that starting team also started in James Horan's last game v Dublin in March 2014.

Ruane,McDonagh,Treacy,Reape if they do start are given a big opportunity to impress but with the O'Connor brothers,Barrett etc to come back into the starting team it's hard to see the new bodies dislodge the experienced heads come championship time.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 21/02/2019 23:40:04    2166874

Awh mate :D

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/02/2019 00:41:37    2166879

Replying To TheUsername:  "Fairly strong looking Mayo team for Saturday, looking forward to seeing some of their new bodies:

Rob Hennelly;

Andy Moran, Brian Reape, Jason Doherty."
Huge games for Hennelly and Cafferkey, both players with the most question marks beside their names.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2019 09:15:44    2166889

Should be a cracker of a game,
How is an all star keeper in Clarke on the bench honestly i thought that was a no brainer.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/02/2019 09:23:38    2166892

While this is a decent Mayo team on paper there are still at least 6 or 7 who won't start. Leaving aside the keeper contest you have Barrett and O Donoghue who I think will be starting in the summer and Plunkett pushing as well.

In midfield you have Seamie O Shea and DOC to come back in.

In the forward line you have COC and McLoughlin to come back in. I expect Dublin to win but if Mayo can keep it tight while keeping the competition for players going they are in good shape. Far better squad than last year for sure. Ryan O Donoghue could be a bolter for the summer as well if he gets back playing in April.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/02/2019 09:37:30    2166895

Replying To TheFlaker:  "While this is a decent Mayo team on paper there are still at least 6 or 7 who won't start. Leaving aside the keeper contest you have Barrett and O Donoghue who I think will be starting in the summer and Plunkett pushing as well.

In midfield you have Seamie O Shea and DOC to come back in.

In the forward line you have COC and McLoughlin to come back in. I expect Dublin to win but if Mayo can keep it tight while keeping the competition for players going they are in good shape. Far better squad than last year for sure. Ryan O Donoghue could be a bolter for the summer as well if he gets back playing in April."
I don't know Flaker

Why so pessimistic

That's a very good side that's been named and Dublin will have a long list of lads to come back in themselves

Dublin have played well in bits and bobs thus far and out of the two Mayo have been the more consistent team

I'd give Mayo a good chance and genuinely can't see much in it either way

You're top of the league on merit

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/02/2019 12:22:45    2166935

Looking forward to this game.

It promises to be a cracker!!

Unbelievably strong Mayo team and Id expect Dublin to name the same team that started the last two games (minus john small who is suspended) with one or two changes before throw in. Wouldn't be surprised to see Cluxton, McCaffrey and Kilkenny start, but reckon they may be on the bench.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/02/2019 13:24:09    2166943

Replying To jimbodub:  "I don't know Flaker

Why so pessimistic

That's a very good side that's been named and Dublin will have a long list of lads to come back in themselves

Dublin have played well in bits and bobs thus far and out of the two Mayo have been the more consistent team

I'd give Mayo a good chance and genuinely can't see much in it either way

You're top of the league on merit"
Not meaning to sound over pessimistic, wouldn't be a shock if Mayo win just surprised at some posters trying to say this is a really strong Mayo team. It's a good one but I have pointed out more or less half of these lads might not start come summer.

People are dying to build Mayo up for a fall.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/02/2019 14:08:51    2166952

Replying To waynoI:  "Looking forward to this game.

It promises to be a cracker!!

Unbelievably strong Mayo team and Id expect Dublin to name the same team that started the last two games (minus john small who is suspended) with one or two changes before throw in. Wouldn't be surprised to see Cluxton, McCaffrey and Kilkenny start, but reckon they may be on the bench."
I heard at the beginning of the League that Cluxton will play no matchs so Comerford can have a proper go at trying to fit in.

Surprised me at the time as Cluxton is super competitive and never simply gives up his place.

But after three matches maybe it is true and Jim would be right. Yes Comerford cost us v Kerry but this is the only way to learn and grow.........as believe it or not.....nightmares of nightmares.....sometime before the age of 50 Cluxton has to retire :(

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/02/2019 14:10:21    2166953

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not meaning to sound over pessimistic, wouldn't be a shock if Mayo win just surprised at some posters trying to say this is a really strong Mayo team. It's a good one but I have pointed out more or less half of these lads might not start come summer.

People are dying to build Mayo up for a fall."
Completely disagree that anyone I've seen posting since the Mayo Team was announced is trying to build up Mayo for a fall

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/02/2019 14:21:19    2166955

Looking forward to it, but im not to bothered on the result to be honest. Personally id prefer to loose, blooding the young lads then winning playing the established players. A national league isnt going to teach us anything.

So i hope to see Comerford, Flatmann, Gavin, Mulally, O'Connor, Bugler and the other lads we have handed debuts to so far in some shape or form.

We look a little light at the back this week with Small suspended and i hear Lowdnes has an injury as well. With Cian, Cluxton, Philly and missing and Jonny in at 6, we will be doing well to be getting a result that light at the back.

But always an occasion welcoming Mayo to the city, always the best craic.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/02/2019 14:36:03    2166960

Replying To jimbodub:  "Completely disagree that anyone I've seen posting since the Mayo Team was announced is trying to build up Mayo for a fall"
Not speaking on this thread specifically. People are gagging for Mayo to fail. Same for Dublin. The reason I spend hardly any time on the GAA forum is because of the rubbish that is posted.

People saying Mayo have clearly gone all out for the league. They haven't because half the team is missing still! They are just really fresh and a few new young lads have brought a bit of life as well.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/02/2019 14:58:38    2166964