Dublin V Mayo

Replying To waynoI:  "Are they *really* a #1 rival though?

I mean, They've not actually beaten Dublin in 14 attempts under Jim Gavin (11 defeats, 3 draws)

Derry have beaten us more than Mayo have since the start of 2013, They regularly get mangled up in the league and cant beat us in the championship when it matters even when they've had much the better of the play.

I believe that Kerry are our biggest rivals in recent years and our biggest threat over the next few years too, Beaten us twice including in one national final to stop our unbeaten record, They've also been in the game in big finals/semi finals just like Mayo.

And to be fair, If Dublin where to get to the final this September, We'd all prefer to beat Kerry over Mayo and clinch the 5 in a row, And anyone who would rather beat Mayo is lying."
If we do happen to meet in the final and Kerry stop the drive for five I may well die of happiness.

Wouldn't begrudge it to ye if ye win it though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/02/2019 09:31:40    2167851

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If we do happen to meet in the final and Kerry stop the drive for five I may well die of happiness.

Wouldn't begrudge it to ye if ye win it though."
lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/02/2019 10:54:19    2167896

For me it doesn't matter who Dublin has to beat..

As long as they win

I already think they are the GOAT after achieving what no other team had previously done to reach 4 in a row

Took 28 games unbeaten to win our 4. Almost twice as many as it took Kerry.

But 5 in a row would just take away any ridiculous excuses

So again I couldn't care less who it is

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/02/2019 11:02:07    2167900

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure where all these people who want a completely new team are hiding out but they must have been dismayed by last nights line up. It's easy to use the best team in the land card when we get hammered,again,by the Dubs, but they were also the best team in the land when they lost to Monaghan and Kerry in the last few weeks and I didn't see either of those teams rolling over. We are now an irrelevancy as far as the Dubs are concerned. Just look at the Dublin posters on here for their reaction to last nights game. Where once there was blood and thunder we now get the absent minded "sure never mind ye might improve" as they focus their attention on some team who might have a chance of beating them. If Diarmuid had been fit last night would Matty Ruane have started? If Cillian and Kev Mc were match fit would Reape and Treacy have started. I feel privileged to have followed this particular Mayo team over the past decade and I don't think I will ever understand how they failed to win at least one All Ireland but I honestly believe Horan has to make some tough decisions even if it means a period in the doldrums. I fear we will be caught again between two stools this Summer and end up having the same discussion this time next year. Einsteins definition of madness comes to mind."
Going round in circles here. My point is from last years team there will be at least 2 new starters, possibly 3 or 4 depending on how injuries go. That means Horan will at least be able to look at the bench during the summer and see some possibilities rather than making a change just because a player is tired and for no other reason. Reape is not good enough IMO by the way so I wouldn't be using him to make a point. I still think Mayo won't be able to beat Dublin as things stand but Horan is blooding new players well as far as I can see. Aidan O Shea is the biggest worry for me, and how to use Andy.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/02/2019 11:10:32    2167905

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Going round in circles here. My point is from last years team there will be at least 2 new starters, possibly 3 or 4 depending on how injuries go. That means Horan will at least be able to look at the bench during the summer and see some possibilities rather than making a change just because a player is tired and for no other reason. Reape is not good enough IMO by the way so I wouldn't be using him to make a point. I still think Mayo won't be able to beat Dublin as things stand but Horan is blooding new players well as far as I can see. Aidan O Shea is the biggest worry for me, and how to use Andy."
O Shea was getting some stick on Saturday from Mayo fans , it must be a love hate relationship with him and the Mayo supporters.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2019 12:11:03    2167937

TheFlaker (Mayo) - the best way to use Moran is to leave him on the pitch. Though the 2 black cards were unwarranted considering that for the penalty the forward was in on goals and hauled down-if that incident was not a black card then the ones given were no black-poor ref decisions. Now the best team won and were always going to win with that performance.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/02/2019 12:36:45    2167953

Replying To browncows:  "TheFlaker (Mayo) - the best way to use Moran is to leave him on the pitch. Though the 2 black cards were unwarranted considering that for the penalty the forward was in on goals and hauled down-if that incident was not a black card then the ones given were no black-poor ref decisions. Now the best team won and were always going to win with that performance."
Black card is purposely pulling a player to the ground , Jonny didn't do that, ridiculous rule but on that incident the ref got it right.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/02/2019 12:41:47    2167956

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Going round in circles here. My point is from last years team there will be at least 2 new starters, possibly 3 or 4 depending on how injuries go. That means Horan will at least be able to look at the bench during the summer and see some possibilities rather than making a change just because a player is tired and for no other reason. Reape is not good enough IMO by the way so I wouldn't be using him to make a point. I still think Mayo won't be able to beat Dublin as things stand but Horan is blooding new players well as far as I can see. Aidan O Shea is the biggest worry for me, and how to use Andy."
I don't disagree with any of the above but I do think Horan missed a big opportunity in not changing around the defence against the Dubs. Either he thought the Dubs were vulnerable at this particular time and he was putting out what he felt was his strongest team or he was saying go out and show me why I don't have to make changes. If it was the first scenario, he got it badly wrong and if it was the second then he got his answer. Just for the sake of argument what lessons did we learn the last night. That Keith Higgins is brilliant at tidying up but vulnerable in one on one situations. Fairly sure we knew that already. That Keegans indiscipline could cost us down the line. Hmmm. That Boyler is okay in bursts but doesn't have a full game in him anymore. That box has been ticked before too. We could have learned how Coen would fare out given a man marking job at corner back rather than being brought in to put out fires at midfield, half forward, half back or whatever you're having yourself. We could have found out if Plunketts good form so far would stand up against the best in the country. We could have found out what young McCormack could bring to the table. For the last couple of seasons the much maligned Drake, who plays in the full back line for his club, has been introduced in games in every position bar his own. He played in the FBD in Tuam against Galway in the full back line and acquitted himself well. Why not throw him in for a half hour against the Dubs to do a marking job and see where he's at. In fairness we have tried some new faces in the forwards and I hope it was to learn something new rather a reaction to the injuries we have in that area. We did find out that McDonagh and Ruane don't look out of place on the big stage. We did find out that unfortunately Reape has a lot of work to do, but at least we found out. For the last couple of years we have struggled to stay up in the latter stages of the league and missed the opportunity to blood new players when it mattered. This year we don't have that problem so it would seem to be the ideal situation to try something new. The only lads from the Horan era who didn't get a run out the last night were Parsons, Cillian and Diarmuid and they were all injured. I'm not looking for a major overhaul of the panel, as some might lazily suggest, rather make full use of the panel we have. I think we slipped up in that regard this week but as the saying goes tomorrow is another day.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/02/2019 12:48:53    2167961

Replying To browncows:  "TheFlaker (Mayo) - the best way to use Moran is to leave him on the pitch. Though the 2 black cards were unwarranted considering that for the penalty the forward was in on goals and hauled down-if that incident was not a black card then the ones given were no black-poor ref decisions. Now the best team won and were always going to win with that performance."
I don't agree with starting Moran in most games at this time of year.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/02/2019 12:49:52    2167962

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I don't disagree with any of the above but I do think Horan missed a big opportunity in not changing around the defence against the Dubs. Either he thought the Dubs were vulnerable at this particular time and he was putting out what he felt was his strongest team or he was saying go out and show me why I don't have to make changes. If it was the first scenario, he got it badly wrong and if it was the second then he got his answer. Just for the sake of argument what lessons did we learn the last night. That Keith Higgins is brilliant at tidying up but vulnerable in one on one situations. Fairly sure we knew that already. That Keegans indiscipline could cost us down the line. Hmmm. That Boyler is okay in bursts but doesn't have a full game in him anymore. That box has been ticked before too. We could have learned how Coen would fare out given a man marking job at corner back rather than being brought in to put out fires at midfield, half forward, half back or whatever you're having yourself. We could have found out if Plunketts good form so far would stand up against the best in the country. We could have found out what young McCormack could bring to the table. For the last couple of seasons the much maligned Drake, who plays in the full back line for his club, has been introduced in games in every position bar his own. He played in the FBD in Tuam against Galway in the full back line and acquitted himself well. Why not throw him in for a half hour against the Dubs to do a marking job and see where he's at. In fairness we have tried some new faces in the forwards and I hope it was to learn something new rather a reaction to the injuries we have in that area. We did find out that McDonagh and Ruane don't look out of place on the big stage. We did find out that unfortunately Reape has a lot of work to do, but at least we found out. For the last couple of years we have struggled to stay up in the latter stages of the league and missed the opportunity to blood new players when it mattered. This year we don't have that problem so it would seem to be the ideal situation to try something new. The only lads from the Horan era who didn't get a run out the last night were Parsons, Cillian and Diarmuid and they were all injured. I'm not looking for a major overhaul of the panel, as some might lazily suggest, rather make full use of the panel we have. I think we slipped up in that regard this week but as the saying goes tomorrow is another day."
I agree with a lot of that as well. Higgins is wasted as a man marker and Drake is not a ball carrying extra man as he seems to have been used as in the last couple of years. I wouoldn't fancy Coen as a man marker, not one bit. Come the summer time we will have 8 or 9 very good backs to choose from.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/02/2019 13:21:43    2167979

Mayo have done well so far

They had a bad performance yet they are still on course for a league final appearance

We've seen this before from Mayo. I've no doubt that they'll be primed for when the real stuff starts. They'll be targeting Connacht as it's a much easier route with less game time.

I'd be confident of seeing them progress further than last year

With the panel available to them they've done well so far, Mayo can't afford to lose the quality missing the other night and expect to beat Dublin in Croke Park.

Mayo will be primed for one last big push when it really matters. Horan knows there's still one big push left in that team before the real rebuilding work needs to be done.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/02/2019 17:13:29    2168084

The only scenario I can think of where what happened on Saturday night isn't a sign of things to come in the summer is if having secured 6 points and safety the plan was always to start doing the hard slog for the championship, and that this started before the Dubs match. But I'd be deluding myself if I really believed that... I think the temptation must have been to get one over on the Dubs when the chance was seen to be there, and things just panned out very differently. JH has to decide now whether the focus should switch from one last hurrah for the old brigade or embarking now, with 3 competitive games to play with, on a rebuild built around the core of experienced players 30 or under (one or two maybe just over). If we see Andy, who just needs game time to stay inter-county fit, being picked again next Saturday, then we'll know that the plan is to give the older lads one last championship. If himself and Boyler (who didn't look remotely fit the last day) aren't picked, then it'll suggest that the ambition has switched, and we should expect the bar to be set at a Connacht title and a run in the Super 8s, but nothing more lofty. The head says that the rebuild is the way to go, even if the heart still wants the fairy tale.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 25/02/2019 19:08:49    2168121

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo have done well so far

They had a bad performance yet they are still on course for a league final appearance

We've seen this before from Mayo. I've no doubt that they'll be primed for when the real stuff starts. They'll be targeting Connacht as it's a much easier route with less game time.

I'd be confident of seeing them progress further than last year

With the panel available to them they've done well so far, Mayo can't afford to lose the quality missing the other night and expect to beat Dublin in Croke Park.

Mayo will be primed for one last big push when it really matters. Horan knows there's still one big push left in that team before the real rebuilding work needs to be done."
Mayo are the most overrated team in the country.
The old ones are living on reputation. The younger ones are over-hyped because of a dearth of talent in Mayo.

Mayo have now taken the mantle of the most overrated team in the county since the likes of McGeeney's time with Kildare.
Mayo are not even the best team in Connacht!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 25/02/2019 19:14:35    2168122

Black Card rule is silly all teams have to do now is fake a few injuries now and use up most of the 10 minutes ,so there is no punishment for the Black Card.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 25/02/2019 19:26:24    2168125

Replying To Pericles:  "The only scenario I can think of where what happened on Saturday night isn't a sign of things to come in the summer is if having secured 6 points and safety the plan was always to start doing the hard slog for the championship, and that this started before the Dubs match. But I'd be deluding myself if I really believed that... I think the temptation must have been to get one over on the Dubs when the chance was seen to be there, and things just panned out very differently. JH has to decide now whether the focus should switch from one last hurrah for the old brigade or embarking now, with 3 competitive games to play with, on a rebuild built around the core of experienced players 30 or under (one or two maybe just over). If we see Andy, who just needs game time to stay inter-county fit, being picked again next Saturday, then we'll know that the plan is to give the older lads one last championship. If himself and Boyler (who didn't look remotely fit the last day) aren't picked, then it'll suggest that the ambition has switched, and we should expect the bar to be set at a Connacht title and a run in the Super 8s, but nothing more lofty. The head says that the rebuild is the way to go, even if the heart still wants the fairy tale."
Agree with much of that. Andy Moran should be an impact sub at this stage. It's depressing as f€&&k thinking about all the near misses with this team since 2011 but that's life. I think we are between a rock and a hard place...one last push (we have been saying that since 2014) or continue with and increase the level of youth rebuilding...

Anyway at least we have the NY trip to look forward to...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/02/2019 19:52:25    2168134

Told ye Mayo really wouldn't be up for the Dublin game, could afford a defeat, Galway, Monaghan and Kerry games are more important, really have to win 2 of those 3 games if they are thinking of a League final appearance.

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 25/02/2019 19:55:37    2168137

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Mayo are the most overrated team in the country.
The old ones are living on reputation. The younger ones are over-hyped because of a dearth of talent in Mayo.

Mayo have now taken the mantle of the most overrated team in the county since the likes of McGeeney's time with Kildare.
Mayo are not even the best team in Connacht!"
I agree. Mayo apparently are the great white hope for this year's denial of 5 in a row. Not a chance would they compete with top level. They be lucky to get some super 8 experience. High fliers are Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone irrespective of league form.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/02/2019 20:09:43    2168140

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I agree. Mayo apparently are the great white hope for this year's denial of 5 in a row. Not a chance would they compete with top level. They be lucky to get some super 8 experience. High fliers are Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone irrespective of league form."
Gas coming from a Tyrone fan. Easiest route to a final in a long time last year and then the final was no more than a training session for the Dubs. Tyrone have had great teams in the past, this one is way off. Less accurate forwards than Mayo but they have a chance you reckon? Lol

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/02/2019 20:23:52    2168147

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "Mayo are the most overrated team in the country.

Mayo are not even the best team in Connacht!"
Not sure I'd agree with you there. The strength of the Dublin team on Saturday and particularly calling in the likes of Jack, Cian and Kilkenny from reserve and moving Cooper back to 3 shows the threat Gavin thought could be there. A dangerous little Kerry side in Tralee a couple of weeks didn't even see us do that.

I learned a long time ago, never to write Mayo off, people have been saying they are finished since 2013, while form between the Championship and League can often be chalk and cheese.

We will definitely have one of Mayo, Galway or Roscommon in the S8s if we get that far, I'd prefer one of the later two as the Croke flies to be honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/02/2019 20:42:16    2168150

Replying To Pericles:  "The only scenario I can think of where what happened on Saturday night isn't a sign of things to come in the summer is if having secured 6 points and safety the plan was always to start doing the hard slog for the championship, and that this started before the Dubs match. But I'd be deluding myself if I really believed that... I think the temptation must have been to get one over on the Dubs when the chance was seen to be there, and things just panned out very differently. JH has to decide now whether the focus should switch from one last hurrah for the old brigade or embarking now, with 3 competitive games to play with, on a rebuild built around the core of experienced players 30 or under (one or two maybe just over). If we see Andy, who just needs game time to stay inter-county fit, being picked again next Saturday, then we'll know that the plan is to give the older lads one last championship. If himself and Boyler (who didn't look remotely fit the last day) aren't picked, then it'll suggest that the ambition has switched, and we should expect the bar to be set at a Connacht title and a run in the Super 8s, but nothing more lofty. The head says that the rebuild is the way to go, even if the heart still wants the fairy tale."
I have a feeling James is eyeing the fairy tale. Hope I'm wrong!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/02/2019 21:05:57    2168162