Dublin V Mayo

Replying To waynoI:  "i agree unfortunately for Mayo. Theyre miles off. Im writing them off already and if im proven wrong i will apologise."
League means nothing for mayo, did dublin not give them bigger hidings in 16 and 17?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 24/02/2019 12:25:36    2167466

Replying To TheFlaker:  "As always the investigation into last night is hilarious considering we have received heavier beatings than that against the Dubs in the league."
Very comforting there Flaker! I happen to support Connacht rugby (roundly walloped!) and Everton (zonal, ie. no defence) for my troubles. Anything you can say to help me cope with the constant steam of joy!!?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/02/2019 12:28:50    2167469

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ignore and he'll go away. Keep feeding him and he'll stay. Simple."
I do all the time but the fella left the main page crying about the abuse and he's the worst for it he never stops.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/02/2019 12:30:14    2167470

Replying To achara:  "League means nothing for mayo, did dublin not give them bigger hidings in 16 and 17?"
They did yea, but their experienced players had less miles on the clock back then and apart from one or two incomings since they've not changed much. Dublin continually evolve. As Ive said in my last post in response to Pericles, the result isn't that important, The performance, the manner of the defeat and the message it sends out is. Kerry laid down their marker two weeks ago, It was Mayos turn last night and they scored 3 points from play in 70 minutes with an unbelievably strong panel to choose from. I did say it was a sweeping statement and if Mayo do go on to win the all Ireland then fair dues, I just don't think they've got enough. Lets see as the year progresses.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 12:52:59    2167479

Replying To westkerry:  "Look the brutal truth here is there is no rivalry between these teams.
For that to happen Mayo woukd have to atleast win a few of these encounters.
Mayo will not beat this Dublin team for 2 reasons.
1) Lack of scoring threat
2) Aidan O Shea goes missing in these games.
Depending on Andy Moran who has been incredible to continually deliver is asking to much IMO."
I didn't realise that between league and championship, up until and now including last night (14 games), Mayo have not beaten a Jim Gavin team, or, moreover, Jim Gavin hasn't lost to Mayo. That's 11 victories and 3 draws.

Only ..

Kerry x2
Monaghan x2
Donegal
Derry
Cork

have beaten Dublin under JG league+Championship since he took over in 2012.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 12:59:51    2167481

Replying To waynoI:  "They did yea, but their experienced players had less miles on the clock back then and apart from one or two incomings since they've not changed much. Dublin continually evolve. As Ive said in my last post in response to Pericles, the result isn't that important, The performance, the manner of the defeat and the message it sends out is. Kerry laid down their marker two weeks ago, It was Mayos turn last night and they scored 3 points from play in 70 minutes with an unbelievably strong panel to choose from. I did say it was a sweeping statement and if Mayo do go on to win the all Ireland then fair dues, I just don't think they've got enough. Lets see as the year progresses."
Would tend to agree with this too many of their leaders are pushing on now I have no doubt they will improve dramatically by the summer but if we do get a Mayo v Dublin matchup again I can see them fading badly in the closing stages as Dublin empty the bench. They wont have the panel to live with this. Then again nobody does really.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/02/2019 13:54:36    2167488

Replying To TheFlaker:  "As always the investigation into last night is hilarious considering we have received heavier beatings than that against the Dubs in the league."
In other years, when we lost heavily in the league, there was always the hope that we were holding something back. We were late back in training, just back from holidays, lads out injured type of thing. This year we had few of these excuses and with an injection of youth we hit the ground running. In the early games we tried out some of the younger lads in defence, with the likes of Coen, McCormack, Plunkett, O Donoghue and even Drake getting game time. Last night all that went out the window as the old tried and trusted were brought back in, suggesting that Horan has little faith in the younger brigade, which is a worry. Even when we had injuries in defence last night it was Barrett, who hasn't featured all year, and Seamie O Shea who were called on. It might have looked progressive to have started with three new forwards but, with the two O Connors and Regan out, there were no other options. I wonder if the two O Connors and Tom Parsons had been fit would we have started with much the same team Horan left behind in 2014. It worries me that Horan might end up giving it one last go with the old faces leading to the same inevitable conclusion.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/02/2019 14:22:30    2167494

Great night out last night on a weirdly mild February evening, some crowd in Croker for this time of year, Mayo really are such superb supporters.

Very surprising result over all, was expecting Mayo with the side named and recent results to really bring blood and thunder, but it just never really happened.

Dublin constantly had their noses in front from early doors and Mayo hit some wild shots that really were poor shot selections. As the game wore on Dublin started winning turnover, with Fenton and Gavin beginning to dominate and the Dubs getting through some amount of work. Costello got a goal and it was good night Vienna as much the result was concerned. But for Rob Hennelly who laid to rest a few ghosts last night (great to see), it could have been far more. Really the game went down the predictable route of Dublin just taking on scores and warming a few legs on the bench keeping Mayo pinned in.

Despite the score I thought Mayo defended fairly when one on one, they also swarmed really well especially early on. The amount of turnover won Dublin was crucial and that didn't help their defenders. Hennelly was brilliant, it was nice to see. Felt there was a great battle between Keegan and Howard and both cancellin each other out. A couple of the new lads look lively and capable but need to work on their composure, especially shot selection. Mayo also looked a little light and slow in midfield without Tom Parsons, he's a huge loss for them, but hopefully he's back soon. They will be disappointed with that result and performence but will have the perfect game next week to bounce back. To be fair to Mayo, that was a much stronger Dublin team then played in Tralee a couple of weeks ago.

As for Dublin a really strong showing in terms of desire. We still look about 70%fit and we were very sloppy in some aspects last night. I had mixed feeling on the strength of the team named, Cian and Kilkenny in particular, but it is what it is. We looked like we learned an awful lot from the Kerry game particularly defensively. Full team looked well drilled in a different defensive system from front to back and Cian the lynch pin of it all.

Was delighted with the performence of young Comerford some of his distribution was outstanding, very close to the master. Elsewise, Darren Gavin continues to impress at midfield, more and more quality beginning to show as he gets games under his belt and confidence at this level. He and Fenton may prove to be the real deal, but let's not get ahead of ourselves. Bugler as well was good to see, Gavin obviously sees something in him.

Cormac was brillliant, but my MOM was Davey Byrne, thought he was terrfffic yesterday and it's great to see him back, proper defender.

Drawbacks were we looked a little sloppy, but understandable given were we are with fitness. Thought Micky Fitz still looks a bit shakey but looked better then he did in Tralee.

We look in a good spot now to be competitive, with a trip to Roscommon next week, Tyrone in Croker Paddy's weekend and down to Breffni at the end of March.

Next stop Dr Hyde Park.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/02/2019 16:13:02    2167528

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I do all the time but the fella left the main page crying about the abuse and he's the worst for it he never stops."
100% agree

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/02/2019 16:13:21    2167529

Some good results for Dublin today

A league final appearance is back on the cards if they keep performing to that standard

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/02/2019 16:28:07    2167539

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "In other years, when we lost heavily in the league, there was always the hope that we were holding something back. We were late back in training, just back from holidays, lads out injured type of thing. This year we had few of these excuses and with an injection of youth we hit the ground running. In the early games we tried out some of the younger lads in defence, with the likes of Coen, McCormack, Plunkett, O Donoghue and even Drake getting game time. Last night all that went out the window as the old tried and trusted were brought back in, suggesting that Horan has little faith in the younger brigade, which is a worry. Even when we had injuries in defence last night it was Barrett, who hasn't featured all year, and Seamie O Shea who were called on. It might have looked progressive to have started with three new forwards but, with the two O Connors and Regan out, there were no other options. I wonder if the two O Connors and Tom Parsons had been fit would we have started with much the same team Horan left behind in 2014. It worries me that Horan might end up giving it one last go with the old faces leading to the same inevitable conclusion."
Bit OTT in your assessment. I expect O Donoghue to start in the summer, that's a new defender. I expect Ruane and DOC to start in midfield and I expect Mcdonagh to start up front.

That is 3 new starters from last year. Not sure what people are expecting? A brand new team? Treacy might make it too and Plunkett.but the likes of Reape is not good enough, and Boland just isn't strong enough. We can only hope to add 3 or 4 new lads to the panel and we are doing that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 24/02/2019 16:29:48    2167540

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Bit OTT in your assessment. I expect O Donoghue to start in the summer, that's a new defender. I expect Ruane and DOC to start in midfield and I expect Mcdonagh to start up front.

That is 3 new starters from last year. Not sure what people are expecting? A brand new team? Treacy might make it too and Plunkett.but the likes of Reape is not good enough, and Boland just isn't strong enough. We can only hope to add 3 or 4 new lads to the panel and we are doing that."
Sensible post...it seems people want a completely new Mayo team. I think Horan is gradually introducing younger blood but it will take time.

Last nights performance was very disappointing but on reflection let's not get carried away...when we beat tyrone everyone said calm down but when we loose to the beat team out there everyone says we are finished...go figure.

A performance and win next sat evening against Galway is a must though....won't be easy but a reaction is needed.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 24/02/2019 17:59:00    2167598

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sensible post...it seems people want a completely new Mayo team. I think Horan is gradually introducing younger blood but it will take time.

Last nights performance was very disappointing but on reflection let's not get carried away...when we beat tyrone everyone said calm down but when we loose to the beat team out there everyone says we are finished...go figure.

A performance and win next sat evening against Galway is a must though....won't be easy but a reaction is needed."
Not sure where all these people who want a completely new team are hiding out but they must have been dismayed by last nights line up. It's easy to use the best team in the land card when we get hammered,again,by the Dubs, but they were also the best team in the land when they lost to Monaghan and Kerry in the last few weeks and I didn't see either of those teams rolling over. We are now an irrelevancy as far as the Dubs are concerned. Just look at the Dublin posters on here for their reaction to last nights game. Where once there was blood and thunder we now get the absent minded "sure never mind ye might improve" as they focus their attention on some team who might have a chance of beating them. If Diarmuid had been fit last night would Matty Ruane have started? If Cillian and Kev Mc were match fit would Reape and Treacy have started. I feel privileged to have followed this particular Mayo team over the past decade and I don't think I will ever understand how they failed to win at least one All Ireland but I honestly believe Horan has to make some tough decisions even if it means a period in the doldrums. I fear we will be caught again between two stools this Summer and end up having the same discussion this time next year. Einsteins definition of madness comes to mind.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/02/2019 20:59:37    2167704

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure where all these people who want a completely new team are hiding out but they must have been dismayed by last nights line up. It's easy to use the best team in the land card when we get hammered,again,by the Dubs, but they were also the best team in the land when they lost to Monaghan and Kerry in the last few weeks and I didn't see either of those teams rolling over. We are now an irrelevancy as far as the Dubs are concerned. Just look at the Dublin posters on here for their reaction to last nights game. Where once there was blood and thunder we now get the absent minded "sure never mind ye might improve" as they focus their attention on some team who might have a chance of beating them. If Diarmuid had been fit last night would Matty Ruane have started? If Cillian and Kev Mc were match fit would Reape and Treacy have started. I feel privileged to have followed this particular Mayo team over the past decade and I don't think I will ever understand how they failed to win at least one All Ireland but I honestly believe Horan has to make some tough decisions even if it means a period in the doldrums. I fear we will be caught again between two stools this Summer and end up having the same discussion this time next year. Einsteins definition of madness comes to mind."
If Mayo are an irrelevance to Dublin then why was there just over 35,000 at the game?

Out of interest, can you name you would drop from the current panel and their replacements?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 24/02/2019 21:36:58    2167731

There was 35,000 because Mayo have been our no.1 rival over the last 7 or 8 years. Dublin would be very confident of beating any team in a big game bar Mayo and Kerry, they make us think twice. And it will remain like that until some other team comes up and joins the race on a regular basis.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 24/02/2019 22:20:36    2167757

Replying To yew_tree:  "If Mayo are an irrelevance to Dublin then why was there just over 35,000 at the game?

Out of interest, can you name you would drop from the current panel and their replacements?"
It was 35k because Mayo's support is sensational, After Dublin theyre the best supported county by a country mile in Ireland. The battles Dublin and Mayo have had means there is an appetite for this game so a few more Dublin fans would have come out and of course Mayo brought probably 10 times what Galway brought a few weeks ago. Weather wise it was a nice evening and there wasn't any other big sporting events like the sideways oval ball to compete with. Those things help bump up the crowd.

As for Mayo being relevant or irrelevant to Dublin. They where relevant last Tuesday evening to Dublin and are now totally irrelevant until a time comes when they've to prepare to meet one another again. Likewise Kerry are irrelevant, Galway are irrelevant and Monaghan too. Its boring and its cliched but Dublin will worry about the next game. That's it. Another week now in training to fine tune a few things for Roscommon next sunday.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 22:44:36    2167774

Replying To realdub:  "There was 35,000 because Mayo have been our no.1 rival over the last 7 or 8 years. Dublin would be very confident of beating any team in a big game bar Mayo and Kerry, they make us think twice. And it will remain like that until some other team comes up and joins the race on a regular basis."
Are they *really* a #1 rival though?

I mean, They've not actually beaten Dublin in 14 attempts under Jim Gavin (11 defeats, 3 draws)

Derry have beaten us more than Mayo have since the start of 2013, They regularly get mangled up in the league and cant beat us in the championship when it matters even when they've had much the better of the play.

I believe that Kerry are our biggest rivals in recent years and our biggest threat over the next few years too, Beaten us twice including in one national final to stop our unbeaten record, They've also been in the game in big finals/semi finals just like Mayo.

And to be fair, If Dublin where to get to the final this September, We'd all prefer to beat Kerry over Mayo and clinch the 5 in a row, And anyone who would rather beat Mayo is lying.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 22:58:04    2167775

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Not sure where all these people who want a completely new team are hiding out but they must have been dismayed by last nights line up. It's easy to use the best team in the land card when we get hammered,again,by the Dubs, but they were also the best team in the land when they lost to Monaghan and Kerry in the last few weeks and I didn't see either of those teams rolling over. We are now an irrelevancy as far as the Dubs are concerned. Just look at the Dublin posters on here for their reaction to last nights game. Where once there was blood and thunder we now get the absent minded "sure never mind ye might improve" as they focus their attention on some team who might have a chance of beating them. If Diarmuid had been fit last night would Matty Ruane have started? If Cillian and Kev Mc were match fit would Reape and Treacy have started. I feel privileged to have followed this particular Mayo team over the past decade and I don't think I will ever understand how they failed to win at least one All Ireland but I honestly believe Horan has to make some tough decisions even if it means a period in the doldrums. I fear we will be caught again between two stools this Summer and end up having the same discussion this time next year. Einsteins definition of madness comes to mind."
I don't think that's true at all. I think you have to look at it in context. Dublin were always gonna get stronger as the league want on as most teams do.
If we had have met mayo in the first or second game there's every chance we'd have been beaten. Kilkenny for us is a player we just can't afford to lose likewise Cian O'Sullivan both of whom were missing the first few games but played last night. I still fear Mayo more than any other team and have done for the last 4 years. That doesn't change cos of a league game in February.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2019 23:10:13    2167781

Replying To yew_tree:  "If Mayo are an irrelevance to Dublin then why was there just over 35,000 at the game?

Out of interest, can you name you would drop from the current panel and their replacements?"
Because the Dubs were hoping against hope that Mayo could still defy the odds and even with an ageing team might still have the the ability to make a game of it. Mayo supporters travelled in hope, as they always do, even though it's often misplaced. Both sets got their answer, emphatically, last night. There wasn't the usual banter from the Dubs around me after the match, just expressions of sympathy. For me three players enhanced their reputations, Hennelly, McDonagh and Ruane. Interesting that two of those were young lads. Do we really need to see how Boyle, Keegan, Higgins, etc, perform in the middle of February. What message does that give to the likes of Coen, Plunkett and McCormack. It's all right playing well against the likes of Roscommon and Cavan but when it comes to Croke Park we'll roll out the big lads. That paid off don't you think. It is a common mistake to hold on too long to a set of players who have served you well in the past. The problem is they all grow old together and then you are forced to throw in an untried group of players. We are at risk of falling into that trap. And as a matter of interest can you tell me what you took out of that game that was positive?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/02/2019 00:14:35    2167798

The realities are that Mayo in 2018, nearly got relegated in the league, got as far as a Connacht semi final and round 4 of the qualifiers...

Next week Vs Galway will tell a lot more about the Mayo (and Galway) team than the match Vs Dublin

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 25/02/2019 08:52:03    2167833