Dublin V Mayo

Was Johnny Coopers foul for the penalty a block card yes or no?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/02/2019 23:54:21    2167361

Very disappointing Mayo performance and we should demand more even its its "only" the league...big Mayo support there this evening and some fans are still on the road as I type this. No player goes out to play badly though so it was a bad day at the office...thought we would lay down a marker tonight but Dublin simply light years ahead of us...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 23/02/2019 23:58:24    2167363

Replying To Pericles:  "That has to be filed under the category of a chastening. Think Jim Gavin played a blinder. Looks like the drive for five is well and truly on. Kerry, you're on your own."
i agree unfortunately for Mayo. Theyre miles off. Im writing them off already and if im proven wrong i will apologise.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 00:00:18    2167365

Replying To Kerry15:  "Mayo have definetly regressed from the last time they challenged for the All Ireland in 2017. They still haven't found enough lethal forwards, (McDonagh is good but they need more) and they're backs which was always their strength, have gone back since they're all older."
Has james horan replaced Donnie Buckley with someone at that level or better?

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 24/02/2019 00:26:30    2167373

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thats nothing new Gerry remember Costello on O'Beaglaoich?"
We had 20 pages of this childish back-and-forth stuff in the Dublin-Kerry thread. This one's about a different match, so can we try to keep it on topic?
Mayo have plenty work to do, as they well know, and as do most teams.
Anyone trying to read too much into early league games, is wasting their time.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 24/02/2019 00:44:39    2167376

Kerry lads feeling left out of the discussion again :-)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/02/2019 01:35:46    2167381

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Unjust? He had Crowley in a full on MMA headlock Jim. Not like you to be making up excuses."
The first yellow card was the ridiculous one. He didn't even make the tackle and nothing from that passage of play warranted a yellow card.. even the free Kerry got in was very soft.

Your words

"Dublin's experience showed at the end and despite having an extra man it was Kerry who tired most they were clinging on. The red card was daft and probably cost Dublin the game."

I'm hardly making excuses.

It was a ridiculous and unjust red card to receive and as you said cost Dublin the game.
The acre of space Kerry ran into simply wouldn't have been there.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/02/2019 05:46:49    2167383

Ah lads. So are ye back or what?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2019 06:37:49    2167386

Dublin totally outplayed Mayo and wanted it more but the referee was disgraceful last night.
He nailed Mayo on many calls whih is fair enough, you get that somedays ,
but how in the name of god did that penalty stand.
Theres coming off your line but this was taking the phishh.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 24/02/2019 07:51:10    2167388

Replying To Vishred:  "Dublin totally outplayed Mayo and wanted it more but the referee was disgraceful last night.
He nailed Mayo on many calls whih is fair enough, you get that somedays ,
but how in the name of god did that penalty stand.
Theres coming off your line but this was taking the phishh."
I don't know about that. You're glasses are all green and red. I saw numerous cases of Mayo players taking too many steps and on no occasion were they punished for it. Some of them were like tankers turning, they took so many steps before playing the ball.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 24/02/2019 10:00:11    2167411

Replying To waynoI:  "i agree unfortunately for Mayo. Theyre miles off. Im writing them off already and if im proven wrong i will apologise."
We always hammer Mayo in the league, two years ago with a way worst Dublin team out We bet them by a cricket score and we all know we just about got over the line in the '17 final, I'm not saying you're wrong but history would say you are.

Mayo imo will be way better come the summer, remember they've been written off a million times the last 8 years and they always come back when you lease expect it, if they get a bit of momentum in the summer their very hard to stop.

I've given him a lot of stick on here and so have a lot of posters but i must say Rob Hennelly was unbelievable last night every thing he did from kick outs to saves to long range frees was first class. Well done Rob Hennelly you were outstanding.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/02/2019 10:16:41    2167417

Can the Kerry wum who left the main page two years ago cause he couldn't take it but is really the biggest wum on here go away and give it a rest you're getting really boring at this stage.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/02/2019 10:20:22    2167419

Replying To jimbodub:  "The first yellow card was the ridiculous one. He didn't even make the tackle and nothing from that passage of play warranted a yellow card.. even the free Kerry got in was very soft.

Your words

"Dublin's experience showed at the end and despite having an extra man it was Kerry who tired most they were clinging on. The red card was daft and probably cost Dublin the game."

I'm hardly making excuses.

It was a ridiculous and unjust red card to receive and as you said cost Dublin the game.
The acre of space Kerry ran into simply wouldn't have been there."
You got me Jim!

On last nights game pretty routine win for Dublin, form is a funny thing this Mayo side hammered Tyrone not long ago. We have seen bad performances from them in the past and it hasn't mattered come championship but I honestly can't see how this team can put another championship run together. I hope I'm wrong.

Dublin looked good but wasteful. You'd have to fancy them to make the final from here as I think they'll win out.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/02/2019 10:32:38    2167426

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Can the Kerry wum who left the main page two years ago cause he couldn't take it but is really the biggest wum on here go away and give it a rest you're getting really boring at this stage."
Ignore and he'll go away. Keep feeding him and he'll stay. Simple.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2019 10:47:32    2167430

We really are fickle I suppose...Mayo hammer Tyrone and Mayo fans get excited while everyone else tells them to shut up...Dublin hammer Mayo...everyone says mayo are finished while some mayo fans try to stay calm...

Fact is Dublin are still way out on front...Kerry based on their talent coming through will likely be the team to eventually stop them but I don't think it will be this year. Mayo on our day can beat Dublin but everything and I mean absolutely everything has to go our way...it's a long shot but sure we live in hope.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/02/2019 11:02:09    2167437

Replying To realdub:  "Now now, have you heard me trying to make excuses for losing in Tralee?"
No in fairness realdub you were sound as usual.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/02/2019 11:18:19    2167441

Replying To waynoI:  "i agree unfortunately for Mayo. Theyre miles off. Im writing them off already and if im proven wrong i will apologise."
Wayno, I wrote that on the way out from the game last night and while I'm not really revising my thoughts in terms of Mayo's chances later in the year, I'll readily admit I've never been able to figure out this group of players. Virtually every year in the league they have at least one game where they're not just beaten, but have a virtual total systems failure. It happened against your guys a couple of times before, and last year it happened against Tyrone in C/bar, and the Kerry game wasn't too far off either. The funny thing last night is that as bad as they were, with very little improvement they could have ended up with a score of 2-10 or 2-11 (the penalty, plus what was Andy Moran trying to do?) and still have wasted a huge amount of possession and scoring chances. That said, without Hennelly being in brilliant form (and I agree he was our best player), we'd have been looking at 4-12 and not 1-12. So God knows, we're a complete mystery to ourselves... I can only imagine what everyone else thinks.

I think it's worth mentioning Fionn McDonagh's efforts... he worked his b**ocks off, terrific attitude to go with his ability.

On the penalty save, what can you say? Dubs supporters to my left said the same thing about the goalie, but we agreed all keepers try to get out early and most of time they don't get pulled for it. Thought Jason Doherty might have left it for someone else... looked a bit shook by the foul on him.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/02/2019 11:21:01    2167444

As always the investigation into last night is hilarious considering we have received heavier beatings than that against the Dubs in the league.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 24/02/2019 11:53:41    2167454

Replying To Pericles:  "Wayno, I wrote that on the way out from the game last night and while I'm not really revising my thoughts in terms of Mayo's chances later in the year, I'll readily admit I've never been able to figure out this group of players. Virtually every year in the league they have at least one game where they're not just beaten, but have a virtual total systems failure. It happened against your guys a couple of times before, and last year it happened against Tyrone in C/bar, and the Kerry game wasn't too far off either. The funny thing last night is that as bad as they were, with very little improvement they could have ended up with a score of 2-10 or 2-11 (the penalty, plus what was Andy Moran trying to do?) and still have wasted a huge amount of possession and scoring chances. That said, without Hennelly being in brilliant form (and I agree he was our best player), we'd have been looking at 4-12 and not 1-12. So God knows, we're a complete mystery to ourselves... I can only imagine what everyone else thinks.

I think it's worth mentioning Fionn McDonagh's efforts... he worked his b**ocks off, terrific attitude to go with his ability.

On the penalty save, what can you say? Dubs supporters to my left said the same thing about the goalie, but we agreed all keepers try to get out early and most of time they don't get pulled for it. Thought Jason Doherty might have left it for someone else... looked a bit shook by the foul on him."
Its hard to fathom.

Look I did say only a few weeks ago that itd be Mayo or Kerry who would win Sam if Dublin don't, and I know its very early in the year but im now writing Mayo off and maybe that's harsh considering its Mayos first defeat of the league. It may well be hyperbole and I guess time will tell but I thought that result flattered Mayo last night.

I was just so disappointed by them. I saw the panel and thought that apart from the O'Connor brothers and Parsons, everyone else was there really and a few forwards that people raved about from previous games and I just expected a hum dinger. But everything Mayo done was poor. Finishing, defending, decision making (a lot of those wides you talk about where dreadful decisions to shoot in the first place), and yea look we can have bad nights where it just doesn't happen, But the conditions were perfect, a still calm mild enough night. A chance for you to lay down a marker for the year by handing Dublin another defeat and have them sweating over potential relegation but they just didn't stand up. If anything it was Dublin who looked hungrier to lay down that marker. I haven't watched it back but from 1-15 Dublin looked sharper, brighter. Our discipline was much better in the tackle, Mayo where making mistakes all over the show. Because I felt Mayo where going to come up and lay down a marker I didn't see how Dublin would win this game, So for us to win so convincingly, makes me wonder about Mayo

Appreciate that this defeat may dampen a bit of hype and might not be the worst thing in the world for Mayo, and I appreciate also that im making a huge judgement based on 1 70 minute display in a league game in February, But I don't regularly watch Mayo in the league until they play Dublin and from what ive read and heard on here and other social media platforms, I expected much, much more.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/02/2019 12:23:05    2167464

Look the brutal truth here is there is no rivalry between these teams.
For that to happen Mayo woukd have to atleast win a few of these encounters.
Mayo will not beat this Dublin team for 2 reasons.
1) Lack of scoring threat
2) Aidan O Shea goes missing in these games.
Depending on Andy Moran who has been incredible to continually deliver is asking to much IMO.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/02/2019 12:24:19    2167465