Dublin V Mayo

Good 2pts

Loads to improve on

Good to get a win and a decent night out

Mayo very poor but they'll be better

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/02/2019 21:11:56    2167276

Replying To blacknamber:  "A good reality check for Horan...still no new forwards an aos cantering around not impacting the game."
I doubt if Horan needed a reality check. They are not up to beating Dublin but that's not their fault. When you are not good enough you are not good enough. At least this result and performance will put an end to the silly threads and false hype, generated by some Dub posters and media commentators from other counties, that Mayo are a serious threat to Dublin this year. They have a good chance of making the Super 8's but that's about it. They won't need to worry about All Ireland tickets this August. Kerry are the only team out there that have the potential to worry Dublin this year.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 23/02/2019 21:12:01    2167277

Replying To MesAmis:  "Totally agree on penos. It's always annoyed me how keepers in Gaelic Football (not all mind) are allowed advance out as far they want.

I'm not sure if the keeper's position is even mentioned in the rule though, could be wrong about that though.

It needs to be tidied up defo."
Goalie can move back and forth along the line but not advance twords the ball untill its kicked. It's a pretty easy thing to get right . There's 2 umpires and the ref for God's sake. Tonight it should have been an easy call, the goalie was that far off his line. it's not only the Dublin goalie that does it.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 23/02/2019 21:12:51    2167278

Replying To realdub:  "Can't believe how bad Mayo were tonight, we've a lot of work to do but things are starting to take shape."
Jays either yer fitness came on a long long way in 2 weeks or ye weren't as far behind the rest of us as ye were letting on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2019 21:18:41    2167282

Also good crowd, fair fecks to Mayo support

35k is an impressive turn out

They are just glorified training sessions at present as such both teams will take something from it

.... and now onto the next one

Dubs have a decent chance of reaching the final if they keep on getting results but it's far from crucial.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/02/2019 21:19:16    2167285

That has to be filed under the category of a chastening. Think Jim Gavin played a blinder. Looks like the drive for five is well and truly on. Kerry, you're on your own.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/02/2019 21:22:20    2167289

Replying To cluichethar:  "Goalie can move back and forth along the line but not advance twords the ball untill its kicked. It's a pretty easy thing to get right . There's 2 umpires and the ref for God's sake. Tonight it should have been an easy call, the goalie was that far off his line. it's not only the Dublin goalie that does it."
A big job ahead for Horan. Too many of the old brigade gone past their best and the young lads got a reality check. Dubs must love playing us. Scary that Dublin didn't have to get out of third gear. As the Galway lad said super eights at best for our lads.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/02/2019 21:33:01    2167299

Replying To cluichethar:  "Goalie can move back and forth along the line but not advance twords the ball untill its kicked. It's a pretty easy thing to get right . There's 2 umpires and the ref for God's sake. Tonight it should have been an easy call, the goalie was that far off his line. it's not only the Dublin goalie that does it."
Yeah it looks bad to be honest and should be very easy to police.

I've never seen a keeper pulled up over it in my life watching football.

I've seen it penalised in soccer a few times but it is so ingrained in soccer keepers that it's rarely a problem.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/02/2019 21:34:33    2167300

That was a training session for the Dubs.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 23/02/2019 21:37:58    2167304

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays either yer fitness came on a long long way in 2 weeks or ye weren't as far behind the rest of us as ye were letting on."
The Kerry game was just what the doctor ordered

Didn't even play well and only lost due to an unjust sending off with Kerry fading to pieces at the end

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/02/2019 21:39:00    2167305

Mayo have definetly regressed from the last time they challenged for the All Ireland in 2017. They still haven't found enough lethal forwards, (McDonagh is good but they need more) and they're backs which was always their strength, have gone back since they're all older.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 23/02/2019 21:51:02    2167314

Replying To jimbodub:  "The Kerry game was just what the doctor ordered

Didn't even play well and only lost due to an unjust sending off with Kerry fading to pieces at the end"
Unjust? He had Crowley in a full on MMA headlock Jim. Not like you to be making up excuses.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/02/2019 21:52:47    2167315

Replying To Belclare:  "That was a training session for the Dubs."
What fresh Hell is this? Another Belclare! And Galway winning games with only half their team. It's going to be a long Summer.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/02/2019 22:05:10    2167322

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "What fresh Hell is this? Another Belclare! And Galway winning games with only half their team. It's going to be a long Summer."
No. I'm not mentioning Galway we have our own problems... But i expected so much more from Mayo tonight. As for my handle, well lets just say I'm on the bold step..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 23/02/2019 22:18:46    2167325

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Unjust? He had Crowley in a full on MMA headlock Jim. Not like you to be making up excuses."
Thats nothing new Gerry remember Costello on O'Beaglaoich?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/02/2019 22:26:40    2167328

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays either yer fitness came on a long long way in 2 weeks or ye weren't as far behind the rest of us as ye were letting on."
Now now, have you heard me trying to make excuses for losing in Tralee?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 23/02/2019 22:40:14    2167333

Replying To jimbodub:  "Also good crowd, fair fecks to Mayo support

35k is an impressive turn out

They are just glorified training sessions at present as such both teams will take something from it

.... and now onto the next one

Dubs have a decent chance of reaching the final if they keep on getting results but it's far from crucial."
Nay worries bud..They'll come unstuck again against the Rossies. Hon ya boy ya!!!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 23/02/2019 23:40:43    2167354

Replying To Belclare:  "No. I'm not mentioning Galway we have our own problems... But i expected so much more from Mayo tonight. As for my handle, well lets just say I'm on the bold step.."
That's a relief, I thought we had double trouble. For what it's worth the training session comment was well justified!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/02/2019 23:49:53    2167357

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thats nothing new Gerry remember Costello on O'Beaglaoich?"
It's important to win graciously my Dublin counterpart but it's even more important to lose with grace. Ye may not be used to losing of late but do not let such incidents cloud up your little minds, the truth of the matter is he deserved to go and he only has himself to blame,

If my player was on a yellow and then behaved in such a manner he'd endure serious repercussions the next training session as his actions cost his team a change of 2 points.

He deserved to go and if you think otherwise you are either blinkered, ignorant or just a wum - or just probably a bit of all three, I usually avoid the main forum for this exact reason, I enjoy the debate and the pride of county but such comments are just embarrassing

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 23/02/2019 23:49:59    2167358

Mayo forwards very poor. Thought both keepers were the best players on the pitch tonight. Delighted for Comerford, filling Clucko's boots is an unenviable task but his peno save, distribution and efforts under the high ball tonight were superb. Hennelly clipped over a couple of nice points and made some excellent saves. Thought he may have got caught badly for Costello's goal, near post, put will have to see it again. Dublin very wasteful at times so lots to sort out but Mayo were blunt in attack. Where was AOS supposed to be playing? Nobody, himself included, seemed to know. Need 3 wins on the spim now maybe to make the semis.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2019 23:53:33    2167360