GAA Coaching / Game Development Grants By County 2007-2018

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Co Dublin has about twice the population of Antrim. However they get almost £18m in the period covered by the stats compared to just over £1m for Antrim - around 17 times the amount. Yep, it is all down to population......"
Thank you.
I knew rightly that was the case.
Im sure the usual lads will be back on defending this but its very obvious how unfair it is.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2019 17:41:50    2166195

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Co Dublin has about twice the population of Antrim. However they get almost £18m in the period covered by the stats compared to just over £1m for Antrim - around 17 times the amount. Yep, it is all down to population......"
Bit apples n oranges though no? More than 50% of the Antrim population is non-Catholic so it's probably save to say that their sporting heart lies less with the sliotar and more with the stumps. So probably a real target population of 275K versus Dublin's 1.4m. Still out of kilter though no doubt.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/02/2019 18:19:36    2166203

Replying To Joxer:  "Bit apples n oranges though no? More than 50% of the Antrim population is non-Catholic so it's probably save to say that their sporting heart lies less with the sliotar and more with the stumps. So probably a real target population of 275K versus Dublin's 1.4m. Still out of kilter though no doubt."
Oh right so we are just discounting on religion are we? What about foreign nationals - Dublin would have a lot more than Antrim. What about posh people - again more in Dublin who would only play Rugby. Skangers? Dublin way more. Those outwith active playing age group - again Dublin tops that. Jaysus would say at this rate it's pretty even - need I go on?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/02/2019 20:52:44    2166227

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Oh right so we are just discounting on religion are we? What about foreign nationals - Dublin would have a lot more than Antrim. What about posh people - again more in Dublin who would only play Rugby. Skangers? Dublin way more. Those outwith active playing age group - again Dublin tops that. Jaysus would say at this rate it's pretty even - need I go on?"
A five-year £1m (€1.15m) plan to strengthen and promote Gaelic games across Belfast has been unveiled.
'Gaelfast' will be the biggest non-capital initiative by the GAA in Northern Ireland and will place expert coaches to schools across the city to promote games development and GAA ethos.

The project will supplement the ongoing facilities developments for Gaelic games within the city through a partnership between the GAA and Belfast City Council.

Gaelfast will commence in September 2018 and, initially, will see around 20 schools across Belfast taking part.

Coaches will be in the schools one day a week and the scheme will be overseen by a regeneration manager, yet to be appointed.

The scheme echoes the partnership between Dublin GAA and the Irish Sports Council which began in 2005 and now sees up to 70 coaches employed in the capital.

Launching the project, GAA President John Horan said the Association is in "excellent health across Ulster and this five-year plan will help increase participation in Gaelic games in Belfast, the second largest city on the island of Ireland.

"This five-year plan is the most comprehensive ever developed for Belfast and builds on the expertise within the GAA in order to give expert coaching to children and to assist schools with their involvement with the GAA," he added.

"Belfast has a rich history of Gaelic games and this five-year plan aims to build on that," he said.

Despite its population, Belfast and Antrim have struggled to make a national impact in Gaelic games.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/boost-for-belfast-with-1m-grant-36805559.html

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2019 21:37:04    2166237

And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

New GAA President John Horan and the Association's newly installed Director-General Tom Ryan have cautioned that Croke Park's £1m investment will need to yield results over the coming years.

Speaking to The Irish News at last week's launch in Belfast, Horan said: "There has to be results and there has to be outcomes to the investment", while Ryan added at Wednesday's media briefing that Croke Park would be watching "carefully" how the project is progressing.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/02/2019 22:14:39    2166250

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

New GAA President John Horan and the Association's newly installed Director-General Tom Ryan have cautioned that Croke Park's £1m investment will need to yield results over the coming years.

Speaking to The Irish News at last week's launch in Belfast, Horan said: "There has to be results and there has to be outcomes to the investment", while Ryan added at Wednesday's media briefing that Croke Park would be watching "carefully" how the project is progressing.
"
It's a weird one isn't it, I agree. When you see so much waste in the GAA all around the country, I don't see why Antrim and Down need a finger wagging.

I suppose accountability is never a bad thing and to look at opt,istically you could say if results are proven, it may mean more for Antrim beyond this project. Would love to see it linked to the redevelopment of Casement.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2019 22:37:09    2166253

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Oh right so we are just discounting on religion are we? What about foreign nationals - Dublin would have a lot more than Antrim. What about posh people - again more in Dublin who would only play Rugby. Skangers? Dublin way more. Those outwith active playing age group - again Dublin tops that. Jaysus would say at this rate it's pretty even - need I go on?"
Ah I see, you want to include the Free Presbyterians when it suits ye lad. Good man :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/02/2019 22:42:20    2166256

Replying To Joxer:  "Split our sponsorship money with who, Tyrone??? Do you not think that we don't want to build our own 30,000 seater stadium? The GAA would then be left with a white elephant I suppose. What would they do with it, use it for the ploughing championships and Garth Brooks concerts maybe? Centres of excellence are for pansies. Haven't seen much "excellence" from those who have them. We use Dollymount strand for the hard work. Ye can keep yer centres of excellence. :)"
I'm sure croke park will severely miss the likes of Dublin v Roscommon in front of 14k fans. The stadiums debt is paid off, it shouldn't be opened if the attendance will be less then 30k. Dublin like every other county should build their own 40k stadium and use it for home league matches and home leinster fixtures bar the leinster final. Home super 8 matches and then back to Croker for the all Ireland semi and final.

If Dublin are going to continue to get enormous amounts of cash based on population then there is no opinion to split it into North and South. You just can't justify that county going up against the others in Leinster come championship. Either you massively increase funding for the rest to at least remain closer to Dublin or split Dublin. You can't have it every way.

Just look at the Leinster title roll of honor. I once valued competition that drew huge attendances is now a farce. This is not the GAA I grew up with.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/02/2019 01:25:08    2166269

You can't just include the non-Catholics when it suits your point. Have you stats on GAA membership, non-Catholic population in Antrim? I would be astonished if it's above a couple of %. You don't know much about Dublin if you think that skangers, rich people or non-nationals don't play GAA. The city is peppered with clubs right across the social spectrum. In fact the Dublin senior panels have players from all walks of life and backgrounds.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/02/2019 09:00:27    2166283

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

"
Tom will be watching carefully how the project is progressing, must have had the shades on when it came to watching PUC. Everybody else now going to pay the price for Stade Frank, because no one had the b#lls to question his authority.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 19/02/2019 10:08:57    2166295

"
Username is a proper little spin doctor and he often leaves out things to suit his agenda but at least everyone can see that now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/02/2019 10:20:42    2166301

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "

"
Username is a proper little spin doctor and he often leaves out things to suit his agenda but at least everyone can see that now."
The dogs in the street know the truth with this.
Pre 2007, Pre Croke Park being designated a home venue Dublin while still having a population advantage ( Natural ) Dublin were treated no different than the rest.
Now they are being funded like a provience and being provided a 82,000 home venue.
Paddy Cullen Dublin legend even acknowledged the inequality in giving Dublin Croke Park.
Now the game is being ruined by this and most fair minded people will acknowledge same.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/02/2019 10:39:06    2166310

Replying To Joxer:  "You can't just include the non-Catholics when it suits your point. Have you stats on GAA membership, non-Catholic population in Antrim? I would be astonished if it's above a couple of %. You don't know much about Dublin if you think that skangers, rich people or non-nationals don't play GAA. The city is peppered with clubs right across the social spectrum. In fact the Dublin senior panels have players from all walks of life and backgrounds."
The irony of that post Joxer! Funny I would know a lot more about Dublin that you would know about Antrim given I lived down there for 7 years but that's irrelevant. My post was completely tongue in cheek in response to your post where you just wiped half the population from Antrim based on religion yet included all of the Dublin population. I was trying to make my claims as ridiculous as possible to show how you can't just used stats and figures to suit your own point.

Basically what I am saying is, you (the Royal you, not you personally) can't just use population as a gauge to back up why Dublin should get more money, especially when it is evident by other Counties share (notably ourselves) that Population can't be the factor it is made out to be.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/02/2019 10:58:10    2166313

Replying To westkerry:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

"
Username is a proper little spin doctor and he often leaves out things to suit his agenda but at least everyone can see that now."
Pre 2007, Pre Croke Park being designated a home venue Dublin while still having a population advantage ( Natural ) Dublin were treated no different than the rest.
Now they are being funded like a provience and being provided a 82,000 home venue.
Paddy Cullen Dublin legend even acknowledged the inequality in giving Dublin Croke Park.
Now the game is being ruined by this and most fair minded people will acknowledge same."]I think we have to seriously consider the possibility of Kerry being financially doped, 5 in a row minor wins, 1 in 10 playing per total population and coming in at 1.34 euro a head for a population similar to Mayo and Donegal, 7 mill grant by the ISC for the facility in IT Tralee, and 1 mill grant by the Munster Council, 1 mill grant by Central council toward the development of Currans. there is a huge body of evidence there, behind the victim playing.

They hardly need to be coming through Munster, when counties of a similar makeup like Mayo and Donegal, get significantly less, dont get similar capital grants and play in much more adverse provinces. David Clifford is a terrific player but he is also some specimen of an athlete its clear no expense was spared in developing him from a sports science perspective, he is like something Rocky would encounter on a trip to Russia.

i would actually agree with you on Croke Park, there is no point denying it, playing there is an advantage to Dublin. The only way to rectify that would be to take semis and final out of Croke park, personally i wouldn't have a problem with that. Elsewise, every county playing Dublin in Croke Park is playing away, Croke park is a part of Dublin and Dublin is part of Croke Park, the two will never be separated and we grow up here in its shadow and are as familiar with it as a walk down dollymount strand, in intrinsically a part of Dublin, like Killarney would be Kerry.

My own opinion is, its Dublin ground. The way i look at it all grounds are owned by the GAA even if administered by County boards, they are all under the authority of the GAA and every county play in their counties biggest, for Dublin that happens to be Croke Park. Its unfortunate for every other county but if the GAA decide to hold their biggest games there, that the scenario. Id have a bit of sympathy there to be fair.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/02/2019 11:28:48    2166322

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Dubs have one, maybe two meaningful games per year and always at home on their own turf. The rest are turkey shoots against hopeless opposition. Number of games means nothing.

And cork have always been a strong football county. Leinster is much easier to win now than Munster would have been back then."
Bit harsh on Donegal, Tyrone and / or Galway last year (Roscommon game was a dead rubber for both). Would you honestly describe them as "hopeless"?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 19/02/2019 11:29:30    2166323

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "

"
And still not one of you Kerry lads will engage in factual debate with him or indeed Whammo who have both given counter arguments to this debate. You seem content to lump Kerry into the same bracket as other less successful counties who do actually struggle to field teams and attract sponsorship & funding. Do me a favour lads! You've 13 partners listed on your website not including Kerry Group. You'll survive.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/02/2019 11:59:02    2166332

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To westkerry:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

"
Now the game is being ruined by this and most fair minded people will acknowledge same."]I think we have to seriously consider the possibility of Kerry being financially doped, 5 in a row minor wins, 1 in 10 playing per total population and coming in at 1.34 euro a head for a population similar to Mayo and Donegal, 7 mill grant by the ISC for the facility in IT Tralee, and 1 mill grant by the Munster Council, 1 mill grant by Central council toward the development of Currans. there is a huge body of evidence there, behind the victim playing.

They hardly need to be coming through Munster, when counties of a similar makeup like Mayo and Donegal, get significantly less, dont get similar capital grants and play in much more adverse provinces. David Clifford is a terrific player but he is also some specimen of an athlete its clear no expense was spared in developing him from a sports science perspective, he is like something Rocky would encounter on a trip to Russia.

i would actually agree with you on Croke Park, there is no point denying it, playing there is an advantage to Dublin. The only way to rectify that would be to take semis and final out of Croke park, personally i wouldn't have a problem with that. Elsewise, every county playing Dublin in Croke Park is playing away, Croke park is a part of Dublin and Dublin is part of Croke Park, the two will never be separated and we grow up here in its shadow and are as familiar with it as a walk down dollymount strand, in intrinsically a part of Dublin, like Killarney would be Kerry.

My own opinion is, its Dublin ground. The way i look at it all grounds are owned by the GAA even if administered by County boards, they are all under the authority of the GAA and every county play in their counties biggest, for Dublin that happens to be Croke Park. Its unfortunate for every other county but if the GAA decide to hold their biggest games there, that the scenario. Id have a bit of sympathy there to be fair."]Kerry have always produced footballers, David Clifford is another like men that went before him.
Kerry GAA had no injection of development funding or coaches to produce them either.
Currans was part funded by Croke Park and the majority came from localfund raising and patronage abroad.
The Irony of this being pointed out given Dublin are also provided with the best of facilities in DCU or Abbotstown is laughable.
Funny you can actually look at this from another angle, This has backfired on the GAA as now the only full houses they get is for finals and the odd semi final.
Fans dont want to pay good money for a turkey shoot.
Dont you crave the full houses in june and july that you use to get??

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/02/2019 12:00:29    2166333

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=westkerry:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

"

My own opinion is, its Dublin ground. The way i look at it all grounds are owned by the GAA even if administered by County boards, they are all under the authority of the GAA and every county play in their counties biggest, for Dublin that happens to be Croke Park. Its unfortunate for every other county but if the GAA decide to hold their biggest games there, that the scenario. Id have a bit of sympathy there to be fair."]Kerry have always produced footballers, David Clifford is another like men that went before him.
Kerry GAA had no injection of development funding or coaches to produce them either.
Currans was part funded by Croke Park and the majority came from localfund raising and patronage abroad.
The Irony of this being pointed out given Dublin are also provided with the best of facilities in DCU or Abbotstown is laughable.
Funny you can actually look at this from another angle, This has backfired on the GAA as now the only full houses they get is for finals and the odd semi final.
Dont you crave the full houses in june and july that you use to get??"]How can you sat there has been no injection of funding, when the ratios are:

Dublin GDF 1.3 mill, population 1.34 mill, ratio = 97 cent per head.

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Registered players isn't an excuse, as i have provided figures one in ten are registered players in Kerry. In Dublin there is 38k out of a population of 1.345 surely that is evidence as to why game development can at least be mitigated. In Kerry there isnt an excuse especially when you see counties of a similar background like Donegal or Mayo fare far worse There is no justification for Kerry to receive this level of funding on their total population or registered players. As i have also told you, Kerry have received 9 mill in capital injections for Tralee It and Currans. If there are accusations of financial doping flying around, Kerry should be front and center, if you apply the criteria you are.

St Annes in DCU, was put together and developed through fundraising by Pat Gilroy. Dublin only train for the championship there, they train in Innisfallis club ground for the league.

To be perfectly honest, from going to the games since the early 80's, i havent really seen the drop off at Dublin matches, i know that attendances are down particularly in Leinster, but in 90s in particular we had Kildare and Meath going for All Ireland's to be honest since that evaporated its gone kind of like the Munster Championship for interest. But Dublin still bring the biggest attendances and are only involved in a small percentage of the overall games, so i think laying falling attendances at Dublin door in a bit of a straw man argument. Im reminded of the stream of people leaving Killarned with 60 mins gone against Kildare last year.

Not sure Dublin attendances in particular is wholly that different, i can remember first and second round games in Corker in the 90s against Offaly that were double headers with Meath or Kildare that had about 10k at them. while 65k in 17 Leinster final was decent, id assume it would be the same if Meath got that far, th epotential is definitely there if the right team gets through. Personally, id prefer about 40-60k in Croke park as opposed to full houses, its just handier practically, but thats just me.

If you dont want turkey shoots, dont be a turkey.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/02/2019 13:38:32    2166355

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "The irony of that post Joxer! Funny I would know a lot more about Dublin that you would know about Antrim given I lived down there for 7 years but that's irrelevant. My post was completely tongue in cheek in response to your post where you just wiped half the population from Antrim based on religion yet included all of the Dublin population. I was trying to make my claims as ridiculous as possible to show how you can't just used stats and figures to suit your own point.

Basically what I am saying is, you (the Royal you, not you personally) can't just use population as a gauge to back up why Dublin should get more money, especially when it is evident by other Counties share (notably ourselves) that Population can't be the factor it is made out to be."
I'll let ye away with it this time bud but don't do it again righ!!! :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/02/2019 13:40:25    2166357

Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=westkerry:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Offside_Rule:  "And while I welcome any money that comes in to Antrim you left out the crucial part of John Horans speech - the bit where he basically says that £1m over 5 years will be dependent on results. No pressure then :-)

"

Dont you crave the full houses in june and july that you use to get??"]This all happened in 2014. Sure nobody ever heard of the Dubs before then, or Abbotstown, or DCU before 2014. Kerry have no facilities at all, they're peniless. They grew Clifford out in an organic Gaelic footballer farm. Unlike the Dubs, manufacturing players in their secret lab under the DCU campus. It's all Dublin's fault so it is, with their money, their class footballers and great manager. Down with the Dubs. Get your excuses in early.....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 19/02/2019 14:23:02    2166371