Monaghan V Galway

Well I got that wrong. If we had our 8 very likely championship starters back plus more directness in our play we would be serious contenders.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 15:37:05    2164029

Bíonn bua ar Gaillimh. Galway win hahaha.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 10/02/2019 15:39:27    2164034

What a great win, so happy to see our panel getting used, Duane, Cunningham, O Laoi Cummins all getting valuable game time..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 10/02/2019 15:48:21    2164039

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus, Galway have no interest in winning anything really do they?

27 minutes in, playing with what looks like a stiff breeze and they've one point scored.

Monaghan against the wind are 3 up and cruising, once they get the wind in the second half this could get embarrassing for Galway unless they change it up."
lol are the Dubs in a relegation battle, unless ye change it up

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 10/02/2019 15:49:14    2164040

Well done Galway , very poor management decisions , can't see how 2 certain players make the the panel let alone start , one did and stayed on the whole game ,taking Jack off was the craziest decision ..

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 10/02/2019 15:54:19    2164044

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "5 of that backline has started Connacht finals. Weak or happen to be experienced players that aren't Galway fan favourites?"
In fairness Dylan Wall and Liam Silke will be on come championship ahead of Brads or GOD if not both. Shows the depth of our panel with so many absentees and yet pull a win in as tough place as Monaghan.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 15:57:01    2164047

Replying To maroondiesel:  "lol are the Dubs in a relegation battle, unless ye change it up"
They will be when Mayo beat them in Round 4!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 10/02/2019 15:59:38    2164050

All the talk of galway looking like being in danger of going down, what a difference one win can make. Would like to think we are more than capable of beating Mayo, Ros and Tyrone and then could be looking at back to back league finals.

Not convinced with our backs today. Kerin and wynne looked lost at times. Perhaps a bit of February rustiness but still a worry. Thankfully there is good defenders to return.

Shane Walsh showed glimpses of his class and when he gets the ball in hand and runs at defences he can be worth the gate fee alone. Expecting him to up it even further this year .

Sean Kelly is also priceless in this team. The job he does often goes uncredited with his work rate and link up play. Very similar job that Donachadh Walsh did for kerry for years.

Things looking a lot brighter than this time last week at least.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 10/02/2019 16:05:52    2164055

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jaysus, Galway have no interest in winning anything really do they?

27 minutes in, playing with what looks like a stiff breeze and they've one point scored.

Monaghan against the wind are 3 up and cruising, once they get the wind in the second half this could get embarrassing for Galway unless they change it up."
It would be easy to post a smart-ass reply to your post after the result, but tbh that's exactly what I was thinking too at that point in the match. That's what's so frustrating about Galway, if they actually try to play football and attack teams they can get results. But their default mode seems to be just minding the house. At times watching them, I'm thinking 'jayzis I saw fewer back passes in the rugby match yesterday'. Eventually today, they realised they had the measure of Monaghan with a very out of sorts McManus and deserved the win.

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 10/02/2019 16:05:52    2164056

Well done in the end from Galway, nearly threw it away but held on, didn't see them winning after their horror show off an opening first 30mins.

Galway have some serious footballers, they'd be really dangerous if they had an attacking plan.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 10/02/2019 16:06:23    2164058

Replying To katser:  "They will be when Mayo beat them in Round 4!!!"
We'd still have Tyrone, Cavan and Ros to play to be fair.

Should pick up the points but like everyone else, except Mayo and Kerry, the pressure is there to stay up.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 10/02/2019 16:07:51    2164060

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Well done Galway , very poor management decisions , can't see how 2 certain players make the the panel let alone start , one did and stayed on the whole game ,taking Jack off was the craziest decision .."
Funny I had written us off for this games for the missing players as much as anything. Surprised as match up to half time looked like a re run of our championship match in Salthill where we failed to turn up.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 16:23:48    2164072

Replying To marooney:  "It would be easy to post a smart-ass reply to your post after the result, but tbh that's exactly what I was thinking too at that point in the match. That's what's so frustrating about Galway, if they actually try to play football and attack teams they can get results. But their default mode seems to be just minding the house. At times watching them, I'm thinking 'jayzis I saw fewer back passes in the rugby match yesterday'. Eventually today, they realised they had the measure of Monaghan with a very out of sorts McManus and deserved the win."
My post was half in frustration at knowing the quality of players that Galway have.

A win is a win I suppose but its hard not to think Galway should be much better.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 10/02/2019 16:38:34    2164090

Didn't see this one coming, it's a funny auld league.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 10/02/2019 16:42:38    2164096

Replying To MesAmis:  "My post was half in frustration at knowing the quality of players that Galway have.

A win is a win I suppose but its hard not to think Galway should be much better."
That's a fair point; league finalists and semifinalists last year, so we didn't become a bad team overnight. It does look like a team with no confidence, early days yet though. Once lads start coming back from injuries and club duty, it might settle things down.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 10/02/2019 16:48:07    2164102

Replying To MesAmis:  "My post was half in frustration at knowing the quality of players that Galway have.

A win is a win I suppose but its hard not to think Galway should be much better."
Word on the street is possibly Kevin may finish after this year, with John Divilly and Padhraic joyce possibly ready to come in.. The great thing for Galway is the amount of Quality players we have at our disposal. There are very few counties missing up to 8 starters who would go to Monaghan and win.. In terms of fitness work we are miles off this time last year, so all good at the moment.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 10/02/2019 16:49:13    2164105

Reality is last night in Tralee looked a serious game. Can't argue with a lot that has been said of us but we have serious spirit. The comment about us lacking an offensive plan is merited as pound for pound as good as anyone talent and application wise bar probably the Dubs. The league is indeed funny as some teams like Mayo appear to be playing all their key players (while blooding a few) while others like us for one reason or another are reaching out to the wider squad. Time will tell which method will go further in the Summer but the league at the moment more interesting competition than the championship.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 17:03:17    2164116

Replying To Belclare1:  "Word on the street is possibly Kevin may finish after this year, with John Divilly and Padhraic joyce possibly ready to come in.. The great thing for Galway is the amount of Quality players we have at our disposal. There are very few counties missing up to 8 starters who would go to Monaghan and win.. In terms of fitness work we are miles off this time last year, so all good at the moment."
Great win and well done Kevin and Galway.
That said Kevin has lost the conference of the majority of the few supporters that Galway football has. Joe brolly cut him to shreds which can't be easy for Kevin or his supporters as the constant calls for his resignation will result in a new management set up next year me think.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 10/02/2019 18:18:03    2164168

Replying To heartbroken:  "Great win and well done Kevin and Galway.
That said Kevin has lost the conference of the majority of the few supporters that Galway football has. Joe brolly cut him to shreds which can't be easy for Kevin or his supporters as the constant calls for his resignation will result in a new management set up next year me think."
Yes but if one reads or listens to Brolly then that indicates everything that is wrong with journalism. Brolly and O'Rourke never had the neck to manage an inter county team preferring the cosy armchair but yet have plenty of neck to throw stones at those on the front line. Of course KW has made mistakes and this could well be his final season but overall he has made us much better since he took over.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/02/2019 18:47:29    2164179

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Monaghan will win this."
It was fairly obvious to most that you wouldn't win this. Monaghan are the weakest side in the division. You lost the run of yourself with a facile win over a 2nd string Dublin side not up to their normal fitness levels this early in the year.
Can't see where you are getting any points from, besides a battle with Cavan. Certainly not getting anything from Mayo, Kerry or Tyrone
Relegation might bring some reality back, the way you were talking last week, you would be forgiven if you didn't know better, for assuming that you were talking about a Kerry or Dublin side with multiple All-Irelands, the arrogant way you spoke last week. The delusion that you think Monaghan are actually in the shake up for the league title.
A bit of humility doesn't do any harm

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 10/02/2019 19:18:01    2164210