The Mayo Hype Machine Is Back Boys And Girls.

All hype jokes aside, Mayo are the best team I've seen not to win an AI. There'll be a bite to them this year I would say.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 07/02/2019 18:28:40    2163293

Any team looking to end a famine will generate huge media attention, goodwill but also on the flip side a considerable amount of people who wish for them
Not to win (rivals for obvious reasons), mocking and have bottler and hype tags thrown at them.

Just look at Liverpool FC.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/02/2019 19:28:11    2163302

reality is you can't make any informed analysis until July. Year in year out players have looked good this time of the year and flopped in the championship when the pace, intensity, pressure is up.

Some players have looked promising that's all that can be said at this stage

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 07/02/2019 21:40:52    2163330

It is? First I heard of it, seems ye spend too much time online listening and reading media muck

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/02/2019 21:56:26    2163338

Took a year without Mayo for me to miss them , as a GAA fan of over 40 odd years I never grew up thinking of Mayo as a big Dublin rivalry, if pushed Id go Kerry/Offaly/Meath /and Ulster , however I've warmed to them in that they stretch us , I remember following Dublin when we were perennial losers so I get loyal support and from a county that have done hype in their time I say so FCkn what where's the harm , a lot better than last year than Galway fans who did the opposite to hype , and a team that didn't look like they could ever beat us in the final , so hopefully Mayo continue to improve clean off the flags , car stickers and buntings , will still want to crush your dreams but welcome back , some have missed you ( not all )
I'm reminded of a colum this week where by the Ireland England game a columnist said the ground was half empty 10 mins before kick off , some Dublin games can have that feel , however like it or lump it the Mayo bandwagon brings a sound an atmosphere that is enjoyable, cringy all at the same time , just my thoughts

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/02/2019 23:34:43    2163359

Replying To centerfield:  "reality is you can't make any informed analysis until July. Year in year out players have looked good this time of the year and flopped in the championship when the pace, intensity, pressure is up.

Some players have looked promising that's all that can be said at this stage"
Ah here, will you stop building up the hype!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 07/02/2019 23:55:27    2163363

Was it ever gone? 90% of the crowd at the recent Galway V Mayo FBD game were from Mayo.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/02/2019 14:06:19    2163462

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Was it ever gone? 90% of the crowd at the recent Galway V Mayo FBD game were from Mayo."
I wouldn't put it at 90% but so what? Mayo people are very lotal when it comes to following their team. Some of ye fans could take a leaf instead of looking down on or laughing at Mayo fans.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/02/2019 18:20:09    2163516

Mayo surely the biggest challengers to Dublin this year anyway.... Be a bit early for Kerry but they are coming.

Exile2018 (UK) - Posts: 2 - 08/02/2019 19:14:29    2163527

Of course it is back, the yellow card rule should suit to a tee even more reason to roll around in the grass.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 08/02/2019 19:57:31    2163533

It is just hype, for the time-being at least. Mayo had a fantastic opportunity a few years back and blew it. They've had so many even opportunities down through the last 25 years, and blew it. A previous poster said they're their own worst enemy, I agree. Id still like to see them pull it off.
Donegal, Monaghan, and Tyrone will improve come championship. Donegal in particular will be under the radar and look like they'll win promotion from Div.2 at a canter. Those 3 teams are tough. Monaghan's mentality seems to shut down under pressure which is dissapointing. They should've buried Kerry in last year's Super 8s and I was gutted they didnt. If they can sort out their confidence they'll seriously challenge. Tyrone are Tyrone. Tough, brash, and well oiled. They'll be there.
Kerry is an enigma. They could go very far or be gone in the last 8. Its hard to know with them but they'll only get better in the coming years. Galway should still be in the top 8, but another team that might sink into obscurity or shoot the lights out. After that, there's around 10 teams of a similar standard with Kildare standing out the most for me. For me Dublin is still easily the top dog.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 08/02/2019 21:25:32    2163574

Replying To waynoI:  "2 league games done and bernard flynn, colm parkinson et al absolutely wetting themselves over Mayo.

Outside of the dubs theyre the biggest story in the GAA world.

Be interesting to see how they get on this year. Still far too early to be making sweeping statements though

what do yizzer think yerselves ?!?"
I thought you would be happy with Colm Parkinson after he read out your post in his podcast!!

But Colm Parkinson does get a little over excited. Makes snap judgements then claims he was the first to say it. Says nothing when inevitably they don't come to roost. Didn't he say Galway would win the all Ireland in 3 years, 3 years ago?

So of the Mayo fans were getting a bit over excited in Omagh last Sunday. A small minority right enough, but still, calm down lads.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/02/2019 22:04:13    2163588

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Fair play it's a great point. I'd say you're not the only one who misses a packed Parnell Park. I was at an unreal game of football there in 2005, us and yerselves, end to end football. And the craic between taxpayers and farmers supporters warmed a freezing cold night. You'd need more than 50,000 in Croke Park to have a good atmosphere. The only way that'll happen for a Dublin league game is to drop ticket prices and they won't do that.

Wooly's podcast is mighty. He can be a fierce cantankerous stubborn host but he has the game's best interest at heart without towing the party line."
Agree about the Wooly podcast. He can get a bit over excited at times but in general I love the podcast. Talks plenty of sense and I like Conan Doherty a lot, they complement each other. Like Cian Ward as well.

Just hope he doesn't turn into a Joe Brolly type where he thinks he can change the rules of GAA by complaining and making controversial statements

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/02/2019 22:16:39    2163593

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I thought you would be happy with Colm Parkinson after he read out your post in his podcast!!

But Colm Parkinson does get a little over excited. Makes snap judgements then claims he was the first to say it. Says nothing when inevitably they don't come to roost. Didn't he say Galway would win the all Ireland in 3 years, 3 years ago?

So of the Mayo fans were getting a bit over excited in Omagh last Sunday. A small minority right enough, but still, calm down lads."
Kerry had 13000 at their first league game against Tyrone which is more than Mayo had. We're also constantly hearing about the successful minors they have coming through. Does this not count as hype?

It's hardly our fault if Parkinson, Donaghy or Flynn start talking about us as contenders. At the end of the day, every pundit believes Dublin will win the All Ireland this year. It's frightening how far ahead they are. They are basically evens in the bookies to win the 6 in a row in 2020. How ridiculous is that!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 08/02/2019 23:03:42    2163602

Everyone having a mini fit from Mayo and getting all defensive saying "we didn't start the hype"

I never said anyone from mayo started it

Just that people are, after 2 league games, talking about Mayo being back and the main challenger this year.

There is nothing overly controversial about what I said so relax folks

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/02/2019 07:43:41    2163621

Replying To culmore:  "Aiden O Shea is the most fouled and abused player in Football at present and he gets little or no protection from Game Officials."
His elbows say otherwise

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 09/02/2019 08:47:09    2163626

I hope Mayo are back and would like to see them win an all Ireland. They are still the second best team in the country despite last years poor showing.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/02/2019 09:43:51    2163636

Replying To waynoI:  "Everyone having a mini fit from Mayo and getting all defensive saying "we didn't start the hype"

I never said anyone from mayo started it

Just that people are, after 2 league games, talking about Mayo being back and the main challenger this year.

There is nothing overly controversial about what I said so relax folks"
Challenger is a fairly loose term when the number 1 team is miles ahead of the chasing pack.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 09/02/2019 11:52:22    2163659

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Agree about the Wooly podcast. He can get a bit over excited at times but in general I love the podcast. Talks plenty of sense and I like Conan Doherty a lot, they complement each other. Like Cian Ward as well.

Just hope he doesn't turn into a Joe Brolly type where he thinks he can change the rules of GAA by complaining and making controversial statements"

I think these lads could do a decent job of a Division 2 to 4 analysis show if they managed to get a few clips from those games. They're not as PC as the RTE analysis and don't take themselves too seriously.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 09/02/2019 20:29:35    2163753