Tyrone Vs Mayo

Mayo v Galway league game thread will be spicy in March ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 05/02/2019 13:52:02    2162750

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Well said! I always love to see Mayo/Roscommon do well when they are playing teams from other provinces. Don't relate to this toxic border rivalry at all....probably because I'm far enough away from it!"
Totally with you there PS on the neighbours thing... the summer of 2002 stands out for me, when Sligo beat the great Tyrone team, winners of their third Sam the following year, They were then unlucky not to repeat the dose on Armagh who went on to win Sam , but who needed a replay to get past Sligo. All the joy, with none of the anxiety! That was a good year for football, with Armagh having to get the better of Kerry in the final, having beaten the Dubs (I think) in the semi-final. Great year for underdogs... will we ever see its like again?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/02/2019 14:43:32    2162763

Replying To Belclare1:  "I know we are... wont argue.. and what's worse is its 2015 since ye bet us.. God help you when Kevin steps down next year and we start playing ball. Best of luck in the league, that was some win over Tyrone, I'd say you will win the league and Connacht and Sam as well. Unbelievable display away to the mighty Tyrone"
This type of sarcastic message is pathetic really. Give your opinion lad and listen to others. Mayo great performance, good win. Gives the faithful optimism for the coming weeks. Galway in grand position too

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 05/02/2019 14:50:46    2162765

Replying To Pericles:  "Totally with you there PS on the neighbours thing... the summer of 2002 stands out for me, when Sligo beat the great Tyrone team, winners of their third Sam the following year, They were then unlucky not to repeat the dose on Armagh who went on to win Sam , but who needed a replay to get past Sligo. All the joy, with none of the anxiety! That was a good year for football, with Armagh having to get the better of Kerry in the final, having beaten the Dubs (I think) in the semi-final. Great year for underdogs... will we ever see its like again?"
Just to point out that wasnt a great Tyone team. They actually had never won an All ireland at that stage nor was Micky Harte manager. Art McRory and Eugene McKenna were managers and they left after that defeat.

Micky Harte came in 2003 and won all ireland 2003, 05, 08

I think you got you dates mixed up, something that I have done manys a time!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 05/02/2019 15:15:14    2162775

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Just to point out that wasnt a great Tyone team. They actually had never won an All ireland at that stage nor was Micky Harte manager. Art McRory and Eugene McKenna were managers and they left after that defeat.

I think you got you dates mixed up, something that I have done manys a time!!"
Would imagine that there was the guts of a great team there or did MH change it entirely for the following season?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 05/02/2019 15:22:54    2162778

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo v Galway league game thread will be spicy in March ;)"
Bernard Flynn and Kieren Donaghy amongst others have come out and said Mayo are the only team to catch the Dubs, so ye are heading for a league final, we Div 2 I'd say..
Mayo will destroy Galway in Castlebar

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/02/2019 15:52:54    2162786

It was a league game in February, lads. Such games tend not to be the best indicator for the championship season.

If we beat Cavan at home (not a given, considering we lost to them last time we played them in McHale Park, back in 2017) then Mayo should be safe and perhaps JH can experiment a bit more than has been possible in recent league campaigns.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/02/2019 17:08:59    2162799

Replying To Gleebo:  "It was a league game in February, lads. Such games tend not to be the best indicator for the championship season.

If we beat Cavan at home (not a given, considering we lost to them last time we played them in McHale Park, back in 2017) then Mayo should be safe and perhaps JH can experiment a bit more than has been possible in recent league campaigns."
Agreed on league game and its importance. However with regards to experimenting more I hope this is done in the way he is currently doing it. By playing 12 regular team members and 3/4 newbies. Anymore than this and it can sometimes be lambs to the slaughter. Is it too early to assume Hennely is Horans no1?

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 05/02/2019 17:24:08    2162801

Replying To Belclare1:  "Bernard Flynn and Kieren Donaghy amongst others have come out and said Mayo are the only team to catch the Dubs, so ye are heading for a league final, we Div 2 I'd say..
Mayo will destroy Galway in Castlebar"
Your sarcasm belclare isn't lost on anyone here. Grow up.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 05/02/2019 18:31:06    2162821

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Just to point out that wasnt a great Tyone team. They actually had never won an All ireland at that stage nor was Micky Harte manager. Art McRory and Eugene McKenna were managers and they left after that defeat.

I think you got you dates mixed up, something that I have done manys a time!!"
Thanks Fridge... totally... it was the first of the 3 and not the last! I think it was all of the vitriol flying around scrambled the marbles! I should maybe have re-read before posting...

Still was a great year for the underdog and one we're not likely to see again given the gaps which have developed in the last decade.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/02/2019 18:35:39    2162822

Replying To Belclare1:  "Bernard Flynn and Kieren Donaghy amongst others have come out and said Mayo are the only team to catch the Dubs, so ye are heading for a league final, we Div 2 I'd say..
Belclare, Donaghy's just trying to shift the spotlight like the good Kerryman he is. A bit early I'd have thought, but the lads down there will take and manufacture any edge they can. Remember, there's an eclipse predicted which will darken Kerry more than any other corner of Ireland... an eclipse caused by a blue moon!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/02/2019 18:44:49    2162825

Oh the obsession......

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 05/02/2019 19:00:24    2162827

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your sarcasm belclare isn't lost on anyone here. Grow up."
Lol.. in fairness you can see Mayo are flying it.. peaking for March..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/02/2019 19:50:14    2162834

Replying To Pericles:  "Belclare, Donaghy's just trying to shift the spotlight like the good Kerryman he is. A bit early I'd have thought, but the lads down there will take and manufacture any edge they can. Remember, there's an eclipse predicted which will darken Kerry more than any other corner of Ireland... an eclipse caused by a blue moon!"
Donaghy is known to have no love for Mayo and he didn't even name Check Mayo 2 weeks ago when mentioning contenders for Sam. He is just a clueless punter like the rest of us who will flip and flop our opinions on teams as the weeks go on....no wonder sports journalism is declining.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 05/02/2019 22:39:42    2162871

Replying To Belclare1:  "Lol.. in fairness you can see Mayo are flying it.. peaking for March.."
Here's hoping mayo can match Galway's one win in croke park this decade :)

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 06/02/2019 11:33:39    2162940

Replying To Belclare1:  "Lol.. in fairness you can see Mayo are flying it.. peaking for March.."
Yeah peaking for Paddies day...maybe we should enter mayo in da club championship and try to stop Corofin next year

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 06/02/2019 11:38:25    2162941

when this great Galway team has as many connaught titles in a row and won as many games in Croke park as mayo then you can talk so it will prob be a few years or never

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 06/02/2019 23:49:49    2163115

Replying To mayo_123:  "when this great Galway team has as many connaught titles in a row and won as many games in Croke park as mayo then you can talk so it will prob be a few years or never"
Ok 10 year old!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 07/02/2019 12:05:24    2163163