NFL Division 4

3 from 3 for us. I suppose our quickest way to promotion is probably if ourselves and Leitrim keep winning. P.S. Is it just me or is Division 4 windier? Big breeze in each of our games so far which has almost been a leveler.

oakleaflad (Derry) - Posts: 46 - 11/02/2019 15:17:46    2164574

Replying To oakleaflad:  "3 from 3 for us. I suppose our quickest way to promotion is probably if ourselves and Leitrim keep winning. P.S. Is it just me or is Division 4 windier? Big breeze in each of our games so far which has almost been a leveler."
Nah it's definitely windier - heard from a guy who heard it from a guy who apparently knows someone in GAA Officialdom that the weather gets seeded on NFL/NHL weekends with the fine weather being kept for the Div 1 teams and the real dung getting thrown on to the bottom tiers. Bit like the referees.......

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2019 15:37:49    2164582

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Another big 2 points yesterday for Leitrim. We dug it out at the death for the second week in a row which is pleasing but still plenty of improvement needed.

The win sets us up nicely for the promotion run in. While Derry haven't pulled up any trees to day I expect them to beat everyone and therefore finish on 14 points. As a Leitrim man I want Derry to beat both Wicklow and Limerick! If Derry get turned over by one of these then it will turn the division into a real dogfight. Wicklow beating Limerick yesterday was a good result for us also (so thank you to our Wicklow friends!!)

If we can win down in Limerick in two weeks time I think that is us promoted also (no disrespect to London and Waterford whatsoever but I expect us to beat both at home.)

Looking at the remaining fixtures for our other promotion challengers (Wicklow and Limerick) they both have to play Derry, Antrim and Wexford. Even if we lose below in Limerick In two weeks time I believe another two wins (to leave us on a total of 10 points) will see us finish in the top two. After us limerick have Derry (H), Wexford (A) and Antrim (H). I think they could lose below in Wexford. Wicklow have yet to go to Derry and Belfast and I expect them to lose both.

So let's say worst case scenario Limerick beat us as do Derry and we beat London and Waterford. We will finish with 10 points and two defeats. Limerick after beating us suffer two defeats from the last three games meaning they've lost 3 and similarly with Wicklow.

It really would be some implosion for us to finish on less than 10 points now.

Bookies have us as 1/12 shots to be promoted and as I said last week I've yet to meet a poor bookie. And as someone who likes a bet and leaving my loyalties to one side I don't think I have ever backed against a 1/12 shot!

All this may come across as slightly arrogant but I can assure you it couldn't be further from the case. I am fully aware we still have lots to do and London and Waterford certainly won't come to Carrick and roll over.

Finally, a day Out in Croker would be fantastic but for me that is secondary. It is all about promotion and finishing in the top two and getting out of the pit that is Division 4.

Roll on Limerick in two weeks"
i'm delighted for leitrim so far and i hope it keeps going, id love to see our neighbours go up.
but god!!!! calm down a bit. you speak of limerick and wicklow that could possibly be promoted, but don't forget that London and Waterford, even if they'll not get promoted can still completely paralyse your hopes. Wicklow and Limerick could do anything on there away trips!!!
Obviously you're not playing so it makes no odds but don't get too ahead of yourselves!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 11/02/2019 16:11:59    2164596

Great win for London at the weekend, good to see a few of the London born players doing really well. But what has happened to Wexford, they have gone downhill badly last few years.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 11/02/2019 16:27:37    2164607

Replying To theweanling:  "i'm delighted for leitrim so far and i hope it keeps going, id love to see our neighbours go up.
but god!!!! calm down a bit. you speak of limerick and wicklow that could possibly be promoted, but don't forget that London and Waterford, even if they'll not get promoted can still completely paralyse your hopes. Wicklow and Limerick could do anything on there away trips!!!
Obviously you're not playing so it makes no odds but don't get too ahead of yourselves!!!"
Firstly thank you for your well wishes. I know Hyland wasn't liked by all in Cavan but he's got us going nicely thus far with still plenty of room from improvement. I heard a couple of players talk about the professionalism he has brought to the setup which maybe hadn't been there before and he has also got the best players in the county (bar 2) committed to the cause when before we struggled to get everyone on board. Also everyone appears to be pulling in the same direction. He's got the county buzzing again about the county team.

Maybe I do need to curb my excitement slightly but forgive me as these are to a certain extent unchartered territories for a Leitrim man. I am fully aware how things can go wrong but I'm just calling it as I see it. Is that so bad? I fully expect us to beat London and Waterford at home (again no disrespect to either team). Anything other than 4 points from these two home games would be a disaster. In the main we have had the measure of both sides over the years

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 11/02/2019 18:20:22    2164636

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Another big 2 points yesterday for Leitrim. We dug it out at the death for the second week in a row which is pleasing but still plenty of improvement needed.

The win sets us up nicely for the promotion run in. While Derry haven't pulled up any trees to day I expect them to beat everyone and therefore finish on 14 points. As a Leitrim man I want Derry to beat both Wicklow and Limerick! If Derry get turned over by one of these then it will turn the division into a real dogfight. Wicklow beating Limerick yesterday was a good result for us also (so thank you to our Wicklow friends!!)

If we can win down in Limerick in two weeks time I think that is us promoted also (no disrespect to London and Waterford whatsoever but I expect us to beat both at home.)

Looking at the remaining fixtures for our other promotion challengers (Wicklow and Limerick) they both have to play Derry, Antrim and Wexford. Even if we lose below in Limerick In two weeks time I believe another two wins (to leave us on a total of 10 points) will see us finish in the top two. After us limerick have Derry (H), Wexford (A) and Antrim (H). I think they could lose below in Wexford. Wicklow have yet to go to Derry and Belfast and I expect them to lose both.

So let's say worst case scenario Limerick beat us as do Derry and we beat London and Waterford. We will finish with 10 points and two defeats. Limerick after beating us suffer two defeats from the last three games meaning they've lost 3 and similarly with Wicklow.

It really would be some implosion for us to finish on less than 10 points now.

Bookies have us as 1/12 shots to be promoted and as I said last week I've yet to meet a poor bookie. And as someone who likes a bet and leaving my loyalties to one side I don't think I have ever backed against a 1/12 shot!

All this may come across as slightly arrogant but I can assure you it couldn't be further from the case. I am fully aware we still have lots to do and London and Waterford certainly won't come to Carrick and roll over.

Finally, a day Out in Croker would be fantastic but for me that is secondary. It is all about promotion and finishing in the top two and getting out of the pit that is Division 4.

Roll on Limerick in two weeks"
Don't get ahead of yourself mho cara
Limerick will be another 'Cup Final' for Leitrom. We did not play well for the first 20 minutes against Antrim who were impressive, mobile and very physical . In the end we should have won by more shooting 8 wides from scoreable positions. Several players had below par performances ,gave away handy possession ,overplayed the ball. That's the bad news- good news is applauding the never say die attitude of this fine talented bunch of players who ground out a victory against an Antrim team fighting to save their season. It is by being tested and ultimately winning games like that one which will drive on Leitrim . Limerick got their first serious test against what Leitrim supporters know to be a good Wicklow side. Let's Hope they get another one in Rathkeale but please less talk about promotion. This Division has a long way to go and we still don't know how good Derry really are.Their biggest test was the opener against Antrim by a point - a team who imploded against Wexford but bounced back to scare the living daylights out of us for most of the first half.Finally & not surprisingly I share your confidence but let's take it one game at a time. I'm sure that's the message Terry Hyland is giving our lads.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 11/02/2019 19:09:14    2164653

Replying To theweanling:  "i'm delighted for leitrim so far and i hope it keeps going, id love to see our neighbours go up.
Obviously you're not playing so it makes no odds but don't get too ahead of yourselves!!!"
Your opinion would be shared by the majority of Leitrim supporters. We are just holding our breadth as the next chapter of this intriguing League season evolves. The message from Terry Hyland through the players and to the supporters is to dampen down expectations. Limerick will be another Antrim hurting from defeat after a good start.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 11/02/2019 19:20:54    2164658

I did before the league began that Wicklow had improved. I also said we would not be promoted but that we would destroy someone's promotion dreams. That will still be the case though in reality Limerick were never contenders.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 11/02/2019 22:23:44    2164708

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Your opinion would be shared by the majority of Leitrim supporters. We are just holding our breadth as the next chapter of this intriguing League season evolves. The message from Terry Hyland through the players and to the supporters is to dampen down expectations. Limerick will be another Antrim hurting from defeat after a good start."
That would be what it thought too. I'm delighted for Leitrim so far and I'd be desperately disappointed if things didn't go to plan. But terry will keep the lads tuned in. He spoke the other day on the radio about helping out the smaller counties and it's a sign of the man that he is that he took that job to do his part. From chatting to Cavan players over the years they haven't a bad word to say about terry. A real people person with a great way about him. It's a great sign to see Leitrim winning the way they did against Antrim. Promotion from Division 4 is much like the relegation battle is division 1. It is dog eat dog. Margins are very very fine. Continue to support. It's great to see it in Leitrim. I'll be over for the next home game.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 11/02/2019 23:51:11    2164725

Good to have it back this coming weekend. my predictions for R4 games as follows :

Limerick v Leitrim - away win
Antrim v London - home win
Wexford v Waterford - home win
Derry v Wicklow - home win

Standings after R4

Leitrim 8
Derry 8
Wicklow 4
Limerick 4
Wexford 4
Antrim 2
London 2
Waterford 2

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 18/02/2019 10:26:57    2166075

I will go with wins for leitrim, Antrim, Wexford and Derry.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/02/2019 12:19:50    2166526

Leitrim, Antrim, Derry & Wexford.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 20/02/2019 13:11:32    2166545

Leitrim, Antrim, Derry and Waterford

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 20/02/2019 13:33:48    2166557

Leitrim ground out another win yesterday , getting closer to our goal of promotion. If Derry beat Wicklow today I reckon one more win will do us. Getting out of Division 4 after 11 years in it would be a huge step for us.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2019 11:20:53    2167443

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Leitrim ground out another win yesterday , getting closer to our goal of promotion. If Derry beat Wicklow today I reckon one more win will do us. Getting out of Division 4 after 11 years in it would be a huge step for us."
jaysus wouldnt have thougth Limerick were 11 years in Div4...always liked Leitrim..a small county in a 5 county province where 3 of the 5 would be considered "powers" of the province...ye seem to be going in the right direction...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 24/02/2019 12:01:33    2167458

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Leitrim ground out another win yesterday , getting closer to our goal of promotion. If Derry beat Wicklow today I reckon one more win will do us. Getting out of Division 4 after 11 years in it would be a huge step for us."
Derry beat Wicklow today and both us and Derry will be 4 points ahead of the pack with 6 points still to play for.

If we beat London next weekend in Carrick we will be promoted I believe with two games to spare as it's based on head to head and not scoring difference. I think I am correct in saying that??

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 24/02/2019 12:33:32    2167473

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Derry beat Wicklow today and both us and Derry will be 4 points ahead of the pack with 6 points still to play for.

If we beat London next weekend in Carrick we will be promoted I believe with two games to spare as it's based on head to head and not scoring difference. I think I am correct in saying that??"
Looks like a straight swap with your neighbours..... Leitrim promotion and Sligo relegation!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 24/02/2019 13:05:37    2167483

4 out of 4, sitting top and a 4 point gap to third. Looks like ourselves and Leitrim should be pretty much home and hosed. Promotion had to be the main aim this season so they'll be happy enough. We've just done enough in each game without pulling up trees.

oakleaflad (Derry) - Posts: 46 - 25/02/2019 09:39:01    2167854

Week 5 predictions

Wicklow v Wexford - home win
Waterford v Antrim - away win
Leitrim v London - home win
Limerick v Derry - away win

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 77 - 25/02/2019 13:52:43    2167995

11 years ago we were robbed off a draw in Kilmallock that would have saved us from Div 4. The ref blew for half time as a Leitrim ball was going over the bar. He disallowed the score. Leitrim lost by a point and went down, Limerick stayed up.

Saturday 11 years later and still in Div 4 from that day 2 Leitrim speculative shots on goal fell short and bounced over the bar. Limerick missed 4 goals in the first half. We got a 40 metre point 4 minutes into injury time when we hadn't scored in 17 minutes to snatch victory from Limerick. Funny old game football is.

So it looks like this young team are Croker bound if they get one more win. It would seem Derry and Leitrim could still loose 2 games and go up because of the better head to head records against the other teams.

Interesting fact 1: Leitrim have not been promoted in the league since 1990 when they beat WIcklow in a playoff to gain promotion to Div 2. That time there was no Div 4 and instead two Div 3's North and South. 3 teams were relegated from DIv 2 that year.
Interesting fact 2: The following year Leitrim finished joint second with Kildare in Division 2 after beating them in the first round. Head to head rules weren't around then or Leitrim would have been promoted to Div 1, neither was scoring difference. So instead they met Kildare for a second time in a playoff and lost. Leitrim have never played Division 1 football.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 25/02/2019 17:15:15    2168085