NFL Division 3

Replying To carlovia:  "Yeah. The great run Sligo are on, I'd be surprised if Westmeath even turn up"
Ah shur they'll take a spin up for a look around and might go the beach for a while for the craic.

They certainly haven't a hope of upsetting the mighty sligo on their home turf despite them cruising their way to the inevitable grand total of zero points after all games are played. Not to mention their -36 score difference so far.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 01/03/2019 12:06:00    2169108

My predictions are:

WM Sligo draw
Louth win by 6+ and Carlow rising will blame the ref.
Langford by 1 could go either way.
Down will weather offaly challenge and win by 20.

XPAC (Westmeath) - Posts: 86 - 01/03/2019 12:55:23    2169128

Laois will be favourites against Offaly in TUllamore and rightly so, UNLESS Offaly win by a few points against Down which aint going to happen (few points that is...they can win but IF they do it will only be a point or so..)...dont like the making little of Sligo...I hope they get a point or two from someplace...if players are going to Sligo as cocky as some writers on here, they are setting themselves up for a fall...Sligo will get their act together, might be too late to save them I think but one win might be all they need, and with that then comes something to aim for and a bit of confidence...interesting to see how Offaly play now against Down, after getting a win against Carlow..equally interesting to see how Carlow react in their game..there will be a few twists and turns in DIv 3 yet...of that I have doubt...IF Sligo win this weekend, its all open again...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/03/2019 13:00:22    2169131

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Laois will be favourites against Offaly in TUllamore and rightly so, UNLESS Offaly win by a few points against Down which aint going to happen (few points that is...they can win but IF they do it will only be a point or so..)...dont like the making little of Sligo...I hope they get a point or two from someplace...if players are going to Sligo as cocky as some writers on here, they are setting themselves up for a fall...Sligo will get their act together, might be too late to save them I think but one win might be all they need, and with that then comes something to aim for and a bit of confidence...interesting to see how Offaly play now against Down, after getting a win against Carlow..equally interesting to see how Carlow react in their game..there will be a few twists and turns in DIv 3 yet...of that I have doubt...IF Sligo win this weekend, its all open again..."
I'd strongly disagree with most of your post to be honest. Why should we not consider ourselves favourites against laois in our own backyard? If results go as hoped we'd be above them by the time they come to town and wed be looking upwards.

I also don't think that writing sligo off is actually being cocky. Just calling it as I see it with the table to back me up. I know they'll be looking to reign on our parade up their on the final day but we'll be more than safe by then with a chance at promotion (reliant on other fixtures obviously) so why not be confident and have a cut?

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 01/03/2019 13:27:55    2169150

Replying To tulachmhór:  "I'd strongly disagree with most of your post to be honest. Why should we not consider ourselves favourites against laois in our own backyard? If results go as hoped we'd be above them by the time they come to town and wed be looking upwards.

I also don't think that writing sligo off is actually being cocky. Just calling it as I see it with the table to back me up. I know they'll be looking to reign on our parade up their on the final day but we'll be more than safe by then with a chance at promotion (reliant on other fixtures obviously) so why not be confident and have a cut?"
Offaly blew leads at home v Westmeath and Louth. It will be a hard game v Down tomorrow night, and then Laois at home, will not be easy, nor will the Sligo match. Nothing guaranteed in the last 3 games.
Instead of possibly leading the group, Offaly are caught between promotion and relegation.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 01/03/2019 14:45:50    2169171

Replying To thelongridge:  "Offaly blew leads at home v Westmeath and Louth. It will be a hard game v Down tomorrow night, and then Laois at home, will not be easy, nor will the Sligo match. Nothing guaranteed in the last 3 games.
Instead of possibly leading the group, Offaly are caught between promotion and relegation."
We will agree to disagree. I think it's all about promotion and that's how we have to be thinking.

I know the game we are building towards this year isn't until 12th may but a win this weekend and you never know what can happen in respect of promotion. Set us up nicely.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 01/03/2019 14:57:47    2169175

Louth looking good here.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2019 18:40:23    2169234

Replying To tulachmhór:  "We will agree to disagree. I think it's all about promotion and that's how we have to be thinking.

I know the game we are building towards this year isn't until 12th may but a win this weekend and you never know what can happen in respect of promotion. Set us up nicely."
It's a fact that we lost 2 opening games. It would be a huge boost to Offaly players and supporters if we got promoted, bit it has been made more difficult by those defeats.
There are 3 league games on the immediate horizon, they are a priority. Like us all you are committed to Offaly, but can't just assume we are going to beat anyone. It has to be done on the field.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 01/03/2019 19:10:16    2169241

Replying To thelongridge:  "It's a fact that we lost 2 opening games. It would be a huge boost to Offaly players and supporters if we got promoted, bit it has been made more difficult by those defeats.
There are 3 league games on the immediate horizon, they are a priority. Like us all you are committed to Offaly, but can't just assume we are going to beat anyone. It has to be done on the field."
Point taken. Though sometimes I think we are in danger of letting a very defeatist attitude slip in.

We've division one playing potential but are stuck with an 'avoid relegation from division 3' mentality.

Anyway, as you say, it's all on the field and on the day and I hope the boys can follow up last weekend with another win. Will be a long drive back otherwise!

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 01/03/2019 20:36:39    2169257

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Point taken. Though sometimes I think we are in danger of letting a very defeatist attitude slip in.

We've division one playing potential but are stuck with an 'avoid relegation from division 3' mentality.

Anyway, as you say, it's all on the field and on the day and I hope the boys can follow up last weekend with another win. Will be a long drive back otherwise!"
Down will easily beat Offaly Saturday night

MiddleofLouth (Louth) - Posts: 84 - 01/03/2019 21:18:00    2169266

Replying To tulachmhór:  "Point taken. Though sometimes I think we are in danger of letting a very defeatist attitude slip in.

Anyway, as you say, it's all on the field and on the day and I hope the boys can follow up last weekend with another win. Will be a long drive back otherwise!"
Division 1 potential, are you serious? Every year I'm hearing the same stories regarding Offaly, players not committing etc. How many managers have the players essentially essentially decide not to play for now in the last 10 years? They can't keep blaming the managers. I don't think this is Dunne's first time getting in a mood and walking away from the Offaly squad either. I think some of the Offaly lads need to have a serious look at themselves and stop living on pass glories from a previous generation!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 01/03/2019 21:34:07    2169271

Are you saying Offaly are Division 1 potential !!!!

Please tell me what it is you're drinking ... I've tried plenty but never found a drink to make me as utterly deluded as you seem to be.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 01/03/2019 22:36:03    2169295

Replying To Matthew:  "Division 1 potential, are you serious? Every year I'm hearing the same stories regarding Offaly, players not committing etc. How many managers have the players essentially essentially decide not to play for now in the last 10 years? They can't keep blaming the managers. I don't think this is Dunne's first time getting in a mood and walking away from the Offaly squad either. I think some of the Offaly lads need to have a serious look at themselves and stop living on pass glories from a previous generation!"
Believe you me, if Rouse was in charge, we'd be in the top two or three in division 2 next year.
He'd have full buy in.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 01/03/2019 22:37:54    2169296

Wins for
Carlow
Offaly
Longford
Sligo

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 01/03/2019 23:37:16    2169310

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Are you saying Offaly are Division 1 potential !!!!

Please tell me what it is you're drinking ... I've tried plenty but never found a drink to make me as utterly deluded as you seem to be."
No drink taken until this evening!! There is serious potential in the county that just has to be tapped into. Carlow are making strides and I admire that too. Keep building. We've probably the most promising prospect in the country (Clifford aside) coming through the ranks and a player in McNamee who is a once in a generation player.

As one of the previous posters mentioned, if rouse was in charge we'd be absolutely aiming for the top table. Unfortunately he isnt and maughan has the full support of all football people in the county. The flaws in the county are well known but this doesn't diminish the fact that there is unbelievable talent and potential in us to push on.

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 02/03/2019 09:24:33    2169340

Replying To tulachmhór:  "No drink taken until this evening!! There is serious potential in the county that just has to be tapped into. Carlow are making strides and I admire that too. Keep building. We've probably the most promising prospect in the country (Clifford aside) coming through the ranks and a player in McNamee who is a once in a generation player.

As one of the previous posters mentioned, if rouse was in charge we'd be absolutely aiming for the top table. Unfortunately he isnt and maughan has the full support of all football people in the county. The flaws in the county are well known but this doesn't diminish the fact that there is unbelievable talent and potential in us to push on."
Since the reformation of the leagues in 2008, Offaly have never played in Division two never mind Division one. They have played most of their football in Division three.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 02/03/2019 13:25:08    2169392

Wins for Louth, Down Laois and Sligo

MiddleofLouth (Louth) - Posts: 84 - 02/03/2019 15:15:48    2169420

Longford look in trouble now, with Robbie Smyth having left the panel I can see them going down, having been top of the league two rounds ago thanks to his 1-3 against both Carlow and Louth.

We really can't manage losing someone of his calibre up front having McCormack out injured too.

Denis Connerton convinced him to join the panel previously I believe, I wonder what has happened here. Worrying times

camlin90 (Longford) - Posts: 3 - 02/03/2019 22:10:34    2169534

Replying To MiddleofLouth:  "Wins for Louth, Down Laois and Sligo"
Carlow back on track

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 02/03/2019 22:17:30    2169539

Offaly facing a battle to avoid relegation, after tonight's results.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 02/03/2019 22:57:19    2169555