National League 2019

Decent game at times today. Good crowd and welcoming from the Cavan fans.

Pitch was absolutely top of the pops.

Only let down is the traffic getting home. Jesus lads its a shambles. Undoubtably the worst tailbacks after a game than any ground ive been to and ive been to almost all of them. But its a trivial issue really.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/03/2019 21:52:08    2174998

I heard Joe Dillion is about did he get a call up does anyone know

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 24/03/2019 22:20:05    2175020

Replying To waynoI:  "Decent game at times today. Good crowd and welcoming from the Cavan fans.

Only let down is the traffic getting home. Jesus lads its a shambles. Undoubtably the worst tailbacks after a game than any ground ive been to and ive been to almost all of them. But its a trivial issue really."
Cavan fans always give the likes of the Dubs a huge welcome ad rightly so. Glad you liked the pitch.
Regarding the tailback Virginia causes a huge backup unfortunately.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 24/03/2019 23:21:05    2175044

Replying To waynoI:  "Decent game at times today. Good crowd and welcoming from the Cavan fans.

Only let down is the traffic getting home. Jesus lads its a shambles. Undoubtably the worst tailbacks after a game than any ground ive been to and ive been to almost all of them. But its a trivial issue really."
Were you down 2 years ago?

Bigger crowd and worse traffic.

There are 3 options for getting back to Dublin. . Old castle and M3. . .Virginia and M3, N55 and M4.

Not our fault everyone in Dublin uses virginia.

Parnell is great craic to get in and out of too btw ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/03/2019 00:32:46    2175074

Replying To cavanman47:  "Were you down 2 years ago?

Bigger crowd and worse traffic.

There are 3 options for getting back to Dublin. . Old castle and M3. . .Virginia and M3, N55 and M4.

Not our fault everyone in Dublin uses virginia.

Parnell is great craic to get in and out of too btw ;)"
Yea .

I was.

I remember going up with one of the lads who is a big Man Utd fan, The Cavan Dublin game was at 2 and so ended at around 3.30, United where due to kick off at 4, the traffic was terrible so we said we would go into meadow view and watch a bit of it , Where we were stood was a bit away from the windows but when the game was over at about 6 we went to leave and from the meadow car park it was still bumper to bumper all the way to Virginia. Didn't get home til not far off 10pm.

Yesterday wasn't quite as bad, Cant tell you the names of roads but I took the first exit at the roundabout at lidl or aldi there whatever one it is, and diverted past a lot of the traffic but it was still desperate coming into Virginia.

Parnell park is certainly a joke too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/03/2019 12:19:34    2175229

All the more reason to bypass Virginia..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 25/03/2019 13:54:45    2175286

Wasn't at the game but holding Dublin to 6 points didn't seem too bad.
Was actually speaking with a Dublin player earlier today who was involved yesterday and he thought we played quite well.
Least now Mickey and Co have time before the championship to improve things.
I'd still rate our chances 50/50 in Breffni against Monaghan if we can show a bit of improvement .

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 25/03/2019 13:59:03    2175289

Replying To waynoI:  "Yea .

I was.

I remember going up with one of the lads who is a big Man Utd fan, The Cavan Dublin game was at 2 and so ended at around 3.30, United where due to kick off at 4, the traffic was terrible so we said we would go into meadow view and watch a bit of it , Where we were stood was a bit away from the windows but when the game was over at about 6 we went to leave and from the meadow car park it was still bumper to bumper all the way to Virginia. Didn't get home til not far off 10pm.

Yesterday wasn't quite as bad, Cant tell you the names of roads but I took the first exit at the roundabout at lidl or aldi there whatever one it is, and diverted past a lot of the traffic but it was still desperate coming into Virginia.

Parnell park is certainly a joke too."
Yeah, Virginia is a bottleneck alright.

Think it was MesAmis who posted after our league game 2 years ago that he went back via Oldcastle and even visited Lough Crew en route. That basically means leaving Cavan and heading to Ballinagh, turning left in ballinagh, through Kilnaleck, Mountnugent and on to Oldcastle. You will eventually rejoin the N3 between the 2 dual carriage-ways and you won't hit an ounce of traffic going that way.

Google Maps says that that's an extra 12 mins onto your journey, so it will easily be quicker when accounting for traffic jams.

Hopefully you'll need this info later in the year when we host ye in the Super 8s ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/03/2019 14:04:15    2175293

Replying To waynoI:  "Yea .

I was.

Parnell park is certainly a joke too."
4 hours from the view to Dublin..
Ah here that's a hairy one if I ever I heard one ..

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 25/03/2019 14:26:57    2175301

Ye will just have to pressure your TDs to build a Luas or Dart all the way to Cavan town, or a decent road.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 25/03/2019 14:45:24    2175309

Wayno were you not going home to Laytown or somewhere? You'd have been better going to Carrick - Ardee - M1.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 25/03/2019 15:00:59    2175316

All boils down to lack of forwards.
Seanie was our last natural forward but unfortunately he's over the hill.
Need to discovynee talent and fast.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 25/03/2019 21:51:00    2175430

Replying To Virginia:  "All boils down to lack of forwards.
Seanie was our last natural forward but unfortunately he's over the hill.
Need to discovynee talent and fast."
Very true, and I don't think anyone disputes that.

But we won't magically uncover one between now and may unfortunately.

Gearoid isn't a natural out and out forward but has been our heaviest scorer over the past couple of seasons. We need to keep him close to goal, starting on the 40 but drifting in as often as possible.

McVeety is a goal threat in close to goal and I think if Gerry Smith and Martin Reilly are linking the play then we can afford to leave him in there too.

Madden had a real mixed bag in the league, looks like he could push on and be a consistent 3 or 4 points a game man, but at the minute, looks like he could go missing in a big game.

A lot of people mentioning Caoimhin but he hasn't shown anything more than promise in a Cavan Jersey to date. Mattie never gave him a run of games, be interesting to see if Mickey does.

Niall mckiernan will be a handful for any defender but won't score heavily.

That's what we're working with really. It really relies on 4 or 5 lads clicking and contributing across the board. And that simply won't happen week in week out.

I don't think anyone wants to see us revert to a more defensive style and try to sneak a low scoring game. We look completely rudderless up front when we do that.

I think our defence is good enough to take on most teams man for man with 1 sweeper. So it's our transition and running game that needs to be worked on between now and the Monaghan game - runners off the shoulder, options for the man in possession and constant showing for the ball. The minute we stop and play laterally outside the 45, we're up to nothing.

I think we have the players to play that type of game, we just need to be cleverer with when we shoot and where we shoot from. Our wide count has been staggering! The threats I mentioned inside mean we can mix it up and play direct ball in at times. Keeps a defence guessing and stops us being predictable.

If we're on it for 70+ mins in Breffni, we'll beat Monaghan. Physical fitness isn't a problem. Mental application and concentration could be. Discipline is killing us too! And that's an easy fix for any management team worth their salt.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/03/2019 23:21:21    2175453

Free taking is a huge problem. Against monaghan at half time it was 0-7 to 1-4. Monaghan had scored 6 points from frees we had scored one and missed 3 or 4. Its killing us. Anybody know what the story is with Ryan Connolly? He could go missing in games but will definitely kick frees, be worth carrying for that alone at the moment we are carrying conor madden and getting no return.

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 26/03/2019 10:09:18    2175487

Replying To Breffni81:  "Free taking is a huge problem. Against monaghan at half time it was 0-7 to 1-4. Monaghan had scored 6 points from frees we had scored one and missed 3 or 4. Its killing us. Anybody know what the story is with Ryan Connolly? He could go missing in games but will definitely kick frees, be worth carrying for that alone at the moment we are carrying conor madden and getting no return."
Carrying Conor Madden? Hes our only inside forward doing any scoring

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 26/03/2019 13:34:41    2175544

Replying To Breffni81:  "Free taking is a huge problem. Against monaghan at half time it was 0-7 to 1-4. Monaghan had scored 6 points from frees we had scored one and missed 3 or 4. Its killing us. Anybody know what the story is with Ryan Connolly? He could go missing in games but will definitely kick frees, be worth carrying for that alone at the moment we are carrying conor madden and getting no return."
I'd rather have Johnston kicking them than Connolly. He might not have the legs for 70 minutes but he can kick a free and pass a ball.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/03/2019 13:50:18    2175545

flipping hell. I thought Glen Whelan had retired.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/03/2019 18:46:07    2175628

Replying To s goldrick:  "flipping hell. I thought Glen Whelan had retired."
Got away with it because they had a good free taker.

Seanie will probably be back now if Mickey G was tuned in last night..

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 27/03/2019 11:49:47    2175780

Great incentive by John Delaney, win the dream in Dublin 15.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 27/03/2019 18:34:03    2175877