Fbd League/ Knockout / Pen Shoot Out

What a joke today in Carrick.. Penalty shoot out to decide the winner, knock out competition yet its a league in name.
Well done to Leitrim great result with a lot of young newbies against a very very expierienced mayo team with first choice players. Terry Hyland won the sideline battle here!
Lots of work for Mayo.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/01/2019 15:49:51    2155805

New year...same old belclare, negative with anything involving Mayo. Nobody in Carrick were complaining. both sets of fans with the light fading and cold terraces we are all happy to see it end quickly and in a unique fashion.

Credit to Leitrim for coming from 7 points down. Mayo have problems at full back and midfield for sure. Fergal Boland man of the match and McCormack, Moran, Reape showed well in spells. I don't read too much into these games. A fantastic crowd and huge Mayo support present yet again.

Dean McGovern red-carded after a black and yellow and he was allowed stay on the field and was involved in the final play leading to Leitrim's equaliser....don't see you moaning about that belclare.

See you in Tuam in Sunday where we will outnumber yer lot and we will try and give the Connacht champions a game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/01/2019 18:09:53    2155826

Replying To Belclare1:  "What a joke today in Carrick.. Penalty shoot out to decide the winner, knock out competition yet its a league in name.
Well done to Leitrim great result with a lot of young newbies against a very very expierienced mayo team with first choice players. Terry Hyland won the sideline battle here!
Lots of work for Mayo."
Great performance by Leitrim. We got the result so I can't see them being happy with the result. You'd surely give us odds on Galway by 10 points or more next Sunday if we put out the same 'very very' experienced team. Not just very experienced!!!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 06/01/2019 18:27:54    2155830

The penalties are probably a better spectacle than the free taking competition. Thought I'd have a hand anyway at seeing if I could design an alternative tiebreaker, since new rules are all the rage these days:

The setup is similar to a soccer penalty shootout, except with a few alterations:
- Goalkeeper must stay within the small rectangle until the ball has been kicked
- Shooting player must kick from the hands
- Shooting player may starts their run from or after the 20m line and must kick before reaching the 13m line.

I reckon it'd be good craic, harder to score than you'd expect and worth a trial for the rare, rare scenarios where it'd ever be needed anyway.

Goitse (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 06/01/2019 18:49:35    2155835

The penalties are probably a better spectacle than the free taking competition. Thought I'd have a hand anyway at seeing if I could design an alternative tiebreaker, since new rules are all the rage these days:

The setup is similar to a soccer penalty shootout, except with a few alterations:
- Goalkeeper must stay within the small rectangle until the ball has been kicked
- Shooting player must kick from the hands
- Shooting player may starts their run from or after the 20m line and must kick before reaching the 13m line.

I reckon it'd be good craic, harder to score than you'd expect and worth a trial for the rare, rare scenarios where it'd ever be needed anyway.

Goitse (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 06/01/2019 18:49:55    2155836

Happy New Year to you too, Belclare. You've been quiet enough since Galway were outclassed by Dublin last August...

Great comeback by Leitrim today, though that was probably helped by some wasteful possession by some Mayo players who ought to know better at this stage.

Does anyone know why it's not permissible to take a point in these shootouts? The PA announced it, but it strikes me as odd given that it's Gaelic football.

Great to have the football season up and running again!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/01/2019 19:13:06    2155841

The fact that you state League is in the name of the competition is completely irrelevant. In Football they do penalty shootouts in the Europa League and Champions League when it gets to a certain stage of both competitions (usually after the group stages) when needed, do you also have an issue with that?

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 06/01/2019 19:52:49    2155853

On the plus side some great penalties from the Mayo lads with all four hit firmly in the corner. Leitrim unlucky not to win it in the end with some poor shooting letting them down. Horan mixed some new faces with some of the experienced lads who, mostly because of injury, had missed a lot of games in 2018. Of the younger brigade, Boland, McCormack, Reape and at times young Moran showed promise. Horan will be delighted with the win as it gives him the chance to have a look at some more youngsters against Galway. He gave game time today to McCormack, McDonagh, Colm Moran, Reape, Doyle, Kelly, Tracey and Oisin McLaughlin and still managed, if a little fortuitously, to win. Interesting game for the first week in January.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/01/2019 20:32:59    2155858

Replying To Gleebo:  "Happy New Year to you too, Belclare. You've been quiet enough since Galway were outclassed by Dublin last August...

Great comeback by Leitrim today, though that was probably helped by some wasteful possession by some Mayo players who ought to know better at this stage.

Does anyone know why it's not permissible to take a point in these shootouts? The PA announced it, but it strikes me as odd given that it's Gaelic football.

Great to have the football season up and running again!"
I'd imagine it's goals only for simplicity. But it could be argued that allowing points could skew the contest in a way, favouring one team.

Imagine points are allowed in a shootout and team A and team B have both taken their first 4 penalties and scored goals in them all. Player no. 5 from team A steps up and fires wide. This means player no. 5 from team B knows that all he has to do is chip it over the bar and he wins, and there's nothing the other team can do to stop it. It gives an advantage to the team going second, since there's no scenario where the team going first can benefit like this.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 07/01/2019 00:12:46    2155883

Replying To Belclare1:  "What a joke today in Carrick.. Penalty shoot out to decide the winner, knock out competition yet its a league in name.
Lots of work for Mayo."
Should rebrand it to the Boylesports Super Westerners the way the super 8s format and gambling advertising is going on sure.

I actually quite liked the bit of drama to the penalties - hearing the fans gee up the opposition players before he takes a go brings a great spectacle to the occasion

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 07/01/2019 09:45:17    2155900

For a minor competition I felt it was a grand way to wrap things up. I found the free taking competition between Limerick and Clare in last years hurling league to be slow and did nothing to insprire or excite the small and cold crowd in the gaelic grounds that day. The time between frees was too long. Maybe if there were. In hurling I though maybe if you have 6 balls lined up across the 65 with a man behind each (3 from each team) ready to go 20 seconds after the previous players ball had gone dead. Then finish it off with 2 or 3 21-yard frees each, balls lined up, keepers swap in and out quickly it might have been better.

What about that crowd in Pairc Sean MacDiarmada ? Examiner estimates 3,000! Looked a good bit more on the box. Good that they were treated to a decent game as well

tomhealycork (Cork) - Posts: 80 - 07/01/2019 10:06:41    2155904

Replying To tomhealycork:  "For a minor competition I felt it was a grand way to wrap things up. I found the free taking competition between Limerick and Clare in last years hurling league to be slow and did nothing to insprire or excite the small and cold crowd in the gaelic grounds that day. The time between frees was too long. Maybe if there were. In hurling I though maybe if you have 6 balls lined up across the 65 with a man behind each (3 from each team) ready to go 20 seconds after the previous players ball had gone dead. Then finish it off with 2 or 3 21-yard frees each, balls lined up, keepers swap in and out quickly it might have been better.

What about that crowd in Pairc Sean MacDiarmada ? Examiner estimates 3,000! Looked a good bit more on the box. Good that they were treated to a decent game as well"
A Leitrim supporter told me the new stand holds 2,800 and that was full. Was at least 1,000 on terraces so I reckon around 4,000? Great crowd for early January. I believe there was a great crowd down in Fraher field for da hurling too.

For all the doomsday merchants you'd think only a man and his dog would watch football.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/01/2019 10:48:48    2155911

Replying To CastleBravo:  "I'd imagine it's goals only for simplicity. But it could be argued that allowing points could skew the contest in a way, favouring one team.

Imagine points are allowed in a shootout and team A and team B have both taken their first 4 penalties and scored goals in them all. Player no. 5 from team A steps up and fires wide. This means player no. 5 from team B knows that all he has to do is chip it over the bar and he wins, and there's nothing the other team can do to stop it. It gives an advantage to the team going second, since there's no scenario where the team going first can benefit like this."
Well if the 1st team are a goal up going into the final round, a tap over the bar will secure the win without having to go for goal but you're right in that the 2nd team does appear to hold an advantage. It'd be interesting if both teams were level going into the final round and the 1st team took their point, would the 2nd team go for goal or play it safe? I'd imagine the former, given the status of the competition, but it would certainly add an extra dimension to the shootout.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 07/01/2019 11:11:16    2155913

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Well if the 1st team are a goal up going into the final round, a tap over the bar will secure the win without having to go for goal but you're right in that the 2nd team does appear to hold an advantage. It'd be interesting if both teams were level going into the final round and the 1st team took their point, would the 2nd team go for goal or play it safe? I'd imagine the former, given the status of the competition, but it would certainly add an extra dimension to the shootout."
I'd say if you allowed points it could lead to very boring shootouts. As you say it'd be very tempting to just play it safe and take your point, knowing if you went for goal and missed you'd effectively be instantly losing the match.

Also after the first few players have shot, you're probably down to the less gifted shooters, who'll definitely play it safe and chip shot after shot over the bar until someone has the confidence to go for goal.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 07/01/2019 12:45:14    2155933

Mayo tied the game and won penalty shootout. Was it too dark to play 10 or 20 more minutes football. Penalty shoot out is a soccer thing. To me game was a draw.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 07/01/2019 15:36:29    2155968

Anybody saying that teams would opt to go for a point early in the shootout is daft. 1 goal from 3 penalties' is all that is needed to match 3 penalties' kicked over the bar. Only team I could possibly think of being that negative would be galway

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 08/01/2019 12:39:20    2156077

Replying To Kingofthehill100:  "Anybody saying that teams would opt to go for a point early in the shootout is daft. 1 goal from 3 penalties' is all that is needed to match 3 penalties' kicked over the bar. Only team I could possibly think of being that negative would be galway"
As negative as the Mayo fans booing opposition free takers and cheering loudly when the Leitrim youngsters missed their penalties? That negative?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/01/2019 13:51:21    2156098

Replying To Belclare1:  "As negative as the Mayo fans booing opposition free takers and cheering loudly when the Leitrim youngsters missed their penalties? That negative?"
Belclare I don't know why you bother replying. Some of these posters have tunnel vision. The championship match between us last May was poor as both teams made it poor. Both of us played Kildare for example in highly entertaining championship matches so it takes two to tango. A lot of their fans holding onto the notion that they have been the only team to come close to the Dubs. This is true but nothing to shout about without silverware. I would rather come every period with a great team winning something than having a very good team for a longer period but nothing to show for it. Only my take on things anyhow.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 08/01/2019 15:56:51    2156126

Replying To Belclare1:  "As negative as the Mayo fans booing opposition free takers and cheering loudly when the Leitrim youngsters missed their penalties? That negative?"
Haha your clutching at straws there now, celebrating missed penalties is negative..i know you were trying to give back to the dig about Galway but you know yourself Galway play negative

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 08/01/2019 17:51:37    2156154

Replying To Kingofthehill100:  "Anybody saying that teams would opt to go for a point early in the shootout is daft. 1 goal from 3 penalties' is all that is needed to match 3 penalties' kicked over the bar. Only team I could possibly think of being that negative would be galway"
100%. Why would anyone this of this "genius" idea other than to tap it over the black spot when that will suffice to win. Its a good concept and it beats doing the free kick competitions which throws the game into some sort of poc fada-american idol sthyle competiton. Total nonsense watching a lad slot over a 13m free where the crowd clap away like seals in awe and wonder

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 09/01/2019 15:07:54    2156265