My 2019 Wish List:

Replying To realdub:  "You're part of the HS family lad, I'm, and I'm sure everyone else, are always here for a chat if need be pal, I get lost in the dark myself from time to time, keep moving :D"
Here, here!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/01/2019 21:19:02    2155505

Replying To waynoI:  "My wishes.

Sporting -

Dublin to win Sam and become the first ever team to win 5 in a row.
Liverpool to win the premier league.

Personal -

My family to remain healthy
For me to overcome my battle with mental health issues."
Chin up wayno, you're a talker so that's a good thing, it's the people who don't talk and keep it that I'd worry about.

I know we have our differences on here when it comes to football but I wouldn't wish mental health issues on anyone. It must be rough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2019 21:51:21    2155508

Personal:
All I want for 2019 on a personal note is for a stress free and safe year for Myself, Friends and Family.
Sport:
Gaelic-
Derry to win Division 4
Derry to beat Tyrone In the first round in the championship
Derry to win Ulster (but to be realistic I'd love to see Monaghan win Ulster)
Division one is completely competitive as for every division of course
Galway to win Connacht
Kerry don't win Munster
Dublin doesn't make it five in a row, don't care who stops them as long as it isn't Tyrone or Kerry; would be great if it was Mayo who stops them in the final.
Super eights are competitive and no matches are played in Croke Park
Semi Finals are played out of Croke Park
All teams decide to scrap blanket defence
The quality of Football to improve overall from the last few years.
Attendances to increase at matches
More and Better coverage on TV
Hurling-
League is ultra competitive
Munster Championship to be as good as last year's or even better but that's a lot to ask for
Waterford win Munster
Leinster Championship to improve from last year
Galway to win Leinster
The AI semis and final are absolute classics (don't care who wins it)
Attendances to increase
More and better coverage on TV
Football-
Battle for top 4 in PL remains competitive and the race to win the league is tight till the very end
Celtic win the Scottish League
Derry city get top 3 in LOI
Europa League produces nice footaball
Champions League produces top quality football
The FA cup Final is a NL derby
Leeds get promoted to PL
Ireland improve vitally under McCarthy and start winning regularly
Declan Rice picks Ireland over England
Rugby-
All four provinces continue to do well in Pro 14
Leinster win Champions Cup
Ireland do the Grand Slam in the Six Nations
Ireland end injury free in the WC warm up games
Ireland win the World Cup
Boxing-
Carl Frampton has two more fights in 2019
Micheal Conlan continues his unbeaten run and wins another belt
Katie Taylor continues her unbeaten run and wins another belt
Paddy Barnes continues boxing
A new Irish fighter makes a name for themselves
Tyson Fury fights Anthony Joshua
MMA
Conor McGregor has three more fights in 2019
Conor McGregor beats Khaib in a rematch in New York on St.Patrick's day weekend
Conor McGregor beats Nate Diaz in a sold out Croke Park during the summer
Conor McGregor beats Nick Diaz in Vegas during Christmas
Joseph Duffy gets a chance to redeem himself
Bellator becomes bigger and more respected
Jones and Cormier fight once more
Brock Lesner returns and loses

Didn't expect my list to be so long, Is that too much to hope for???

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 02/01/2019 22:16:06    2155510

Also good luck for 2019 waynol; as KindomBoy basically stated, the ones who talk get through it and that's probably one of the truest statements anyone can ever come out with.
Another thing that would be great for 2019 is for Belclare and myself to continue our slight rivalry with one another, but to remain civil to one another also.
Nothing better than a bit of banter on this forum at the end of the day.
Happy New Year to all!!!

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 02/01/2019 22:45:27    2155513

I'd be fully supportive on the personal one Waynol, but against you on the sporting ones. All the best.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/01/2019 16:34:54    2155576

Wayno, I'm feeling pretty low myself today. 5 years ago on this day myself and herself lost our lil baby, and we went through some dark times, every year after the crimbo I get a bit down, especially at new year, look I'm lucky as I have people watching out for me especially herself (I know she's a dub too ). But look talk to someone, it really does help. Family ,friends , even a complete stranger can help , just say what u feeling, I was surprised at how many people cared and how good it was to get me to eventually speak to my gp. I don't think they would let my email through on here, but if u look on social media I'm not that hard to find. I'll gladly listen if u need a chat. Keep the chin up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2019 17:05:19    2155578

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wayno, I'm feeling pretty low myself today. 5 years ago on this day myself and herself lost our lil baby, and we went through some dark times, every year after the crimbo I get a bit down, especially at new year, look I'm lucky as I have people watching out for me especially herself (I know she's a dub too ). But look talk to someone, it really does help. Family ,friends , even a complete stranger can help , just say what u feeling, I was surprised at how many people cared and how good it was to get me to eventually speak to my gp. I don't think they would let my email through on here, but if u look on social media I'm not that hard to find. I'll gladly listen if u need a chat. Keep the chin up."
I wish you strength and send you comfort pal.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/01/2019 17:12:59    2155580

Sporting
Ireland to win the World Cup in Rugby. Limerick to retain the All Ireland after another great Summer of hurling.
Ireland to lose to Gibraltar home and away and still qualify for the Euros.
Conor McGregor to get pounded twice and then announce he is transitioning to a female and is going to take on Ronda Rousey in a comeback.
Mayo to win Sam beating the Jackeens with Cluxton dropping a high ball into his own net to give Mayo the 1 point win.
Personal
Remain happy and productive at work and enjoy Trump triggering people left right and centre. Roll on 2019

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 03/01/2019 17:26:13    2155582

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Personal:
All I want for 2019 on a personal note is for a stress free and safe year for Myself, Friends and Family.
Sport:
Gaelic-
Derry to win Division 4
Derry to beat Tyrone In the first round in the championship
Derry to win Ulster (but to be realistic I'd love to see Monaghan win Ulster)
Division one is completely competitive as for every division of course
Galway to win Connacht
Kerry don't win Munster
Dublin doesn't make it five in a row, don't care who stops them as long as it isn't Tyrone or Kerry; would be great if it was Mayo who stops them in the final.
Super eights are competitive and no matches are played in Croke Park
Semi Finals are played out of Croke Park
All teams decide to scrap blanket defence
The quality of Football to improve overall from the last few years.
Attendances to increase at matches
More and Better coverage on TV
Hurling-
League is ultra competitive
Munster Championship to be as good as last year's or even better but that's a lot to ask for
Waterford win Munster
Leinster Championship to improve from last year
Galway to win Leinster
The AI semis and final are absolute classics (don't care who wins it)
Attendances to increase
More and better coverage on TV
Football-
Battle for top 4 in PL remains competitive and the race to win the league is tight till the very end
Celtic win the Scottish League
Derry city get top 3 in LOI
Europa League produces nice footaball
Champions League produces top quality football
The FA cup Final is a NL derby
Leeds get promoted to PL
Ireland improve vitally under McCarthy and start winning regularly
Declan Rice picks Ireland over England
Rugby-
All four provinces continue to do well in Pro 14
Leinster win Champions Cup
Ireland do the Grand Slam in the Six Nations
Ireland end injury free in the WC warm up games
Ireland win the World Cup
Boxing-
Carl Frampton has two more fights in 2019
Micheal Conlan continues his unbeaten run and wins another belt
Katie Taylor continues her unbeaten run and wins another belt
Paddy Barnes continues boxing
Tyson Fury fights Anthony Joshua
MMA
Conor McGregor has three more fights in 2019
Conor McGregor beats Khaib in a rematch in New York on St.Patrick's day weekend
Conor McGregor beats Nate Diaz in a sold out Croke Park during the summer
Conor McGregor beats Nick Diaz in Vegas during Christmas
Joseph Duffy gets a chance to redeem himself
Bellator becomes bigger and more respected
Jones and Cormier fight once more
Brock Lesner returns and loses

Didn't expect my list to be so long, Is that too much to hope for???"
That list isn't half long enough. Good stuff.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 03/01/2019 17:46:48    2155587

Well in sport:
Kerry football seniors to have a good League, survive Division 1 and then go on to end a poor enough decade on the highest possible note by winning the All-Ireland (preferably by knocking Dublin out along the way)
Kerry to win an U-20 title
The Kerry hurlers to win the Joe McDonagh Cup after being so close to making the final last year
Crotta to build on their recent minor and U-21 success by ending the 51 year famine and finally claim a 10th Co. hurling title.

Munster to win the European Cup (or at least the Pro 14) and Leinster to win F all
Mick McCarthy to put some pride and passion back in the soccer boys and to give us all something to cheer for again after a horrendous 18 months.
Ireland to finally do themselves justice in a rugby WC and maybe, just maybe actually win the thing.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/01/2019 18:36:29    2155591

Beat Meath in the Leinster Final.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 03/01/2019 19:31:09    2155597

I'll take the 5 in a row please and the hurlers to get out of Leinster.

And like every year, Bohs to win the double.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/01/2019 21:58:26    2155609

Donegal to win Division 2, retain Ulster and do an Offaly on the biggest day!
Donegal to win an All Ireland minor or U20 (haven't won either.... ever)
Ireland to win the six nations, be world No.1 going into the WC and not get past the ad stage!
The overall quality of hurling to remain and football to catch up.
The only rule change to football is to introduce a second tier championship in some form.
Finally for the weather of '19 to match the summer weather of '18

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/01/2019 00:33:06    2155613

Replying To Pericles:  "That nobody should be a thumbs down for any comment posted in 2019! :))"
First failure of the year, just got 4... I was looking for more thumbs down than I'd seen Jimbo manage without him even trying, just so I could beat a Dub at something because, in spite of it being my number one wish, I can't see Mayo (or anyone for that matter) derailing the Dubs this year unless Horan has a couple of big rabbits to pull out of that woolly hat he wears!

Other wishes for the year ahead: I'd really like to see Tom Parsons get back to fitness, but not at the expense of payback when he gets older. We don't have another like him just now, but a knee rebuild like he's had could be very fragile...

Wayno, I just want to wish you well in the year ahead on a personal level... I won't pretend that on the footballing front I want you to avoid some level of disappointment! Maybe the Dubs hurlers will compensate this year?

Just looking forward to the weekend now... FBD and some hint of what the panel for 2019 might look like...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/01/2019 10:21:52    2155623

Be nice to see the Women do three in a row.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/01/2019 11:32:12    2155629

5 in a row
3 in a row
Hurlers make Semi or Final (win it in 2020)
Camogs make a Final

Not much really

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/01/2019 11:53:19    2155633

Replying To TheUsername:  "Be nice to see the Women do three in a row."
Be nice to see our Women do without a row!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/01/2019 12:06:10    2155635

Replying To Pericles:  "Be nice to see our Women do without a row!"
lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/01/2019 12:45:55    2155642

Replying To Pericles:  "Be nice to see our Women do without a row!"
:D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/01/2019 12:55:09    2155644

To win the Bob O'Keeffe Cup after 15 years waiting could be a realistic ambition for a Wexford fan.

wex (Wexford) - Posts: 10 - 04/01/2019 14:28:50    2155653