Your County Board

Replying To WanPintWin:  "So you failed to do it. Quote something exactly from my first post and say what is inaccurate about it.
You seem to think people are claiming to have the inside knowledge on this story. All that's been done is some basic points mentioned, none of which you've actually contradicted. You're the one with the inside track it seems, so please do share the detail.
You seem like the type of lad who argues with his own shadow at the end of the bar, after a few too many whiskeys.
You haven't a clue what I or others do for our local clubs. It's ironic that you keep throwing out the label 'keyboard warrior' when you seem to be epitome of the term."
Hmmmmm I'd worry about someone like you who is of a mind that because they read or said something on social media it's automatically true.
And now you're rowing back with a statement that includes "All that's been done is some basic points mentioned", not washing with me, you jumped in the deep end with no arm bands.
And I never claimed to have any inside track on Galway GAA but if I did I'd not be sharing it on social media with people who are too lazy to find out from their Club Officers or County Delegate what actually transpired at the Annual County Convention or previous meetings, there goes your "You haven't a clue what I do for my Club" theory ( Do you even know who your Club County Delegate is?, don't answer it's a rhetorical question)
What kind of lad I am is entirely conjecture on your part, but my social habits extend far beyond ill informed opinionated generalised statements about matters which I don't really give a monkeys about other than to be able to have the craic with the lads down the pub.

dontlookback (Galway) - Posts: 267 - 23/12/2018 13:14:17    2155046

No harm lads should ye be having this argument on the galway home page instead of the national thread?

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 23/12/2018 14:22:47    2155047

Replying To mrsme:  "No harm lads should ye be having this argument on the galway home page instead of the national thread?"
If it's bothering you don't read it, if it's pertaining to County Boards in general then this is the correct forum, what's to say what's happening in one county can't happen in another, but thanks for your input.

dontlookback (Galway) - Posts: 267 - 23/12/2018 16:02:13    2155051

Replying To dontlookback:  "Hmmmmm I'd worry about someone like you who is of a mind that because they read or said something on social media it's automatically true.
And now you're rowing back with a statement that includes "All that's been done is some basic points mentioned", not washing with me, you jumped in the deep end with no arm bands.
And I never claimed to have any inside track on Galway GAA but if I did I'd not be sharing it on social media with people who are too lazy to find out from their Club Officers or County Delegate what actually transpired at the Annual County Convention or previous meetings, there goes your "You haven't a clue what I do for my Club" theory ( Do you even know who your Club County Delegate is?, don't answer it's a rhetorical question)
What kind of lad I am is entirely conjecture on your part, but my social habits extend far beyond ill informed opinionated generalised statements about matters which I don't really give a monkeys about other than to be able to have the craic with the lads down the pub."
Except, you haven't managed to contradict a single point I made. Everything you posted has simply confirmed my initial post.
I'll ask again, quote something from my post and explain why it is inaccurate. You stated that there are "many inaccuracies", so surely it shouldn't be too hard.
You made a statement and haven't been able to back it up.
On the actual topic itself, there needs to be a complete change to how county board affairs were run. That's as clear as day. The national airing of this issue is a positive, as the greater the spotlight on the shambolic practices, the better the chance of actual change.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 23/12/2018 16:47:48    2155054

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Except, you haven't managed to contradict a single point I made. Everything you posted has simply confirmed my initial post.
I'll ask again, quote something from my post and explain why it is inaccurate. You stated that there are "many inaccuracies", so surely it shouldn't be too hard.
You made a statement and haven't been able to back it up.
On the actual topic itself, there needs to be a complete change to how county board affairs were run. That's as clear as day. The national airing of this issue is a positive, as the greater the spotlight on the shambolic practices, the better the chance of actual change."
Your "prove me wrong" mantra is starting to bore me now. Like a good man, go talk to the people that run your Club, I'd be confident they are more knowledgeable than the social media butterflies and mainstream media you seem to hold in such high regard.
They might even fill in some of the blanks in your unshakeable self belief that you know so much about Galway GAA matters that you feel competent to offer the same drivel as the rest of the lazy wall experts.
Oddly enough there's nobody with their County GAA at heart could disagree with your closing statement, and if it happened in Galway, who's to say it can't/ hasn't happen in other Counties. It's all good and well putting systems with checks & balances in place but it's only going to be as good as the humans that operate it.
FYI Galway GAA has a long road back to recovery ahead, the start line was crossed (arguably) last week at the Convention but the next couple of years will be critical on all fronts, both off and on the pitch.

dontlookback (Galway) - Posts: 267 - 23/12/2018 20:10:06    2155062

Replying To dontlookback:  "Your "prove me wrong" mantra is starting to bore me now. Like a good man, go talk to the people that run your Club, I'd be confident they are more knowledgeable than the social media butterflies and mainstream media you seem to hold in such high regard.
They might even fill in some of the blanks in your unshakeable self belief that you know so much about Galway GAA matters that you feel competent to offer the same drivel as the rest of the lazy wall experts.
Oddly enough there's nobody with their County GAA at heart could disagree with your closing statement, and if it happened in Galway, who's to say it can't/ hasn't happen in other Counties. It's all good and well putting systems with checks & balances in place but it's only going to be as good as the humans that operate it.
FYI Galway GAA has a long road back to recovery ahead, the start line was crossed (arguably) last week at the Convention but the next couple of years will be critical on all fronts, both off and on the pitch."
You're the one who said there were numerous inaccuracies in my first post, yet haven't quoted a single one, rather provided detail that confirmed them. If you're not able to quote a single example of what is wrong, then you shouldn't be making such statements.
I've never stated anything about knowing "so much about Galway GAA matters". You've invented that bit all on your own. What I stated originally has been confirmed by yourself since though, so that alone is despairing enough regarding the state of the county board's dealings.
Have a lovely Christmas and let's hope Santa gets us a properly functioning county board for the new year ahead.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 23/12/2018 23:12:00    2155068

Don't look back maybe you should look back. Look back at your original post where you criticised wanpintwins post and cited "so many inaccuracies " and then proceeded to validate all of his/her points.
Any decent person would acknowledge their error and move on but you have continued to compound it and applied layer upon layer of waffle.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 24/12/2018 02:18:09    2155070

Jaysus

My thread hit a nerve with some

A right aul kerfuffle indeed!

Although my timing of posting it rather coincidentally fit in with some fairly damning reports coming from both Cork and Galway..

Hopefully the credit cards are under lock and key over Christmas... it's easy to "overspend" this time of year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/12/2018 14:24:55    2155092

Replying To dontlookback:  "If it's bothering you don't read it, if it's pertaining to County Boards in general then this is the correct forum, what's to say what's happening in one county can't happen in another, but thanks for your input."
happy to ya only said it as it must be embarrassing to have ye,re mud being washed out in the open for all to read. but hey ye keep going

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 24/12/2018 19:01:14    2155104

Replying To Westfester:  "Don't look back maybe you should look back. Look back at your original post where you criticised wanpintwins post and cited "so many inaccuracies " and then proceeded to validate all of his/her points.
Any decent person would acknowledge their error and move on but you have continued to compound it and applied layer upon layer of waffle."
The silent majority recognize a troll when they see one. If your man has any significant connection to Galway GAA as by his shapes he suggests he has, we are in a worse state than even the most sanguine optimist amongst us would think we are.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 24/12/2018 20:20:43    2155106

i always love the way people on here call one another lazy keyboard warriors when they ask very valid and serious questions about how the games are administered across the country.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/01/2019 20:53:17    2155502

I think we have a good county board in KK,Paddy Grace set the standard and its been continued by all the officers since

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 03/01/2019 17:45:37    2155585