Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

I think we have a good enough chance next year, especially now that we have a new waterboy on board, as long as he doesn't go near the goalie.
very hard to see anyone stopping them though in all seriousness, 5 in a row is very likely.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/11/2018 20:20:29    2150281

Replying To yew_tree:  "The attendance at this years Dublin v Galway game proves your point. If it were Mayo v Dublin it would have been a sell out with many left without tickets This particular Galway team won't be seen as a real threat until they beat or at least run Dublin to the edge of their lives in championship.

And I know Mayo are laughed and mocked by many and that will continue until we actually win Sam...that's a fact."
You may get used to it so Yew.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/11/2018 20:25:11    2150284

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think we have a good enough chance next year, especially now that we have a new waterboy on board, as long as he doesn't go near the goalie.
very hard to see anyone stopping them though in all seriousness, 5 in a row is very likely."
Ye got a very good one there in Stephen Rochford Tírchonaill. A serious asset for Donegal.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 08/11/2018 22:04:35    2150290

Replying To theduke66:  "Same players different management"
Older players...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/11/2018 22:47:51    2150294

Replying To realdub:  "They're the only team that could've beaten us in recent years and were unlucky."
Your statement is true but this is a now ageing mayo team with no quality coming through. That combonation will ultimately see an AI elude them.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 08/11/2018 23:41:03    2150302

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ye got a very good one there in Stephen Rochford Tírchonaill. A serious asset for Donegal."
He is indeed, only having the craic, he will be a great help with all his experience, hard to beat a fresh perspective as well.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/11/2018 23:44:20    2150303

Replying To GreenandRed:  "No. We were badly injury-hit last year but also were playing a cautious brand of football and deserved to lose to Kildare. And ye call us Mexicans. Some Galway supporters anyway. Some might feel offended by that but it's just the craic and banter that comes from cross-border GAA hostilities! Let's all improve this year so one county from across the land can beat this mighty Dublin team. And we'll congratulate them if we can't."
Never thought I'd agree with a Mayo man....but in fairness, isnt it all a bit of craic...winding lads up and driving lads cracked!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 09/11/2018 08:59:00    2150320

Mayo v Galway this year should be interesting ;)

Blood is boiling nicely

Galway very much have the upper hand but Mayo are still receiving the plaudits.. recipe for trouble!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/11/2018 09:38:28    2150330

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo v Galway this year should be interesting ;)

Blood is boiling nicely

Galway very much have the upper hand but Mayo are still receiving the plaudits.. recipe for trouble!"
Are we playing this year? ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 09/11/2018 10:23:05    2150338

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo v Galway this year should be interesting ;)

Blood is boiling nicely

Galway very much have the upper hand but Mayo are still receiving the plaudits.. recipe for trouble!"
Sure Galway and Mayo wont be meeting this year ;)

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 09/11/2018 16:36:25    2150415

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "He is indeed, only having the craic, he will be a great help with all his experience, hard to beat a fresh perspective as well."
It's a fair point but what Mayo have is no fear of us and actually believe they can beat us.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 09/11/2018 18:40:17    2150440

Replying To tribesman125:  "Your statement is true but this is a now ageing mayo team with no quality coming through. That combonation will ultimately see an AI elude them."
Apologies for replying to wrong post above.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 09/11/2018 19:26:53    2150445

Probably nobody. Best placed are Kerry, Mayo and maybe Donegal. In the case of Kerry and Donegal they have the type of forward talent that can get to that 20 point mark with lots of potential to improve given the age profiles. Both will need to especially improve defensively. Mayo play Dublin with no fear as we know but will they get the opportunity? While they can raise their game to Dublin's level they tend to not reach this level against other teams. Plus the age old problem of not having enough quality scoring forwards still a problem. They are not alone in this regard as think Tyrone are in a similar boat. The only other teams with legit claims are probably Galway who have good talent with more coming through like Kildare and of course Monaghan. Personally I think Monaghan are too dependent on McManus but still a well drilled team with some fantastic players.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 10/11/2018 01:04:43    2150476

Replying To panamasam:  "Probably nobody. Best placed are Kerry, Mayo and maybe Donegal. In the case of Kerry and Donegal they have the type of forward talent that can get to that 20 point mark with lots of potential to improve given the age profiles. Both will need to especially improve defensively. Mayo play Dublin with no fear as we know but will they get the opportunity? While they can raise their game to Dublin's level they tend to not reach this level against other teams. Plus the age old problem of not having enough quality scoring forwards still a problem. They are not alone in this regard as think Tyrone are in a similar boat. The only other teams with legit claims are probably Galway who have good talent with more coming through like Kildare and of course Monaghan. Personally I think Monaghan are too dependent on McManus but still a well drilled team with some fantastic players."
Mayo while lacking a scoring forward still rack up big scores...look back over our results the past 7 years. Even the Kildare defeat we racked up 0-19...enough to win most games.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/11/2018 15:27:55    2150513

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo while lacking a scoring forward still rack up big scores...look back over our results the past 7 years. Even the Kildare defeat we racked up 0-19...enough to win most games."
Indeed they do but we are talking in the context of beating Dublin not Kildare. To beat Dublin in my opinion you got to be aiming to hit the 20 point mark. I have great respect for Mayo and they are a team who make up in the scoring stakes in other areas of the pitch. Would the Mayo side who turned up in the recent all Ireland finals get beat by Kildare.....I don't think so.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 10/11/2018 16:25:15    2150515

No problem with that. The County with most championship victories over Dublin. Known as the Royals

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 10/11/2018 19:09:37    2150528

Replying To panamasam:  "Indeed they do but we are talking in the context of beating Dublin not Kildare. To beat Dublin in my opinion you got to be aiming to hit the 20 point mark. I have great respect for Mayo and they are a team who make up in the scoring stakes in other areas of the pitch. Would the Mayo side who turned up in the recent all Ireland finals get beat by Kildare.....I don't think so."
No....I do think we are unlucky that this great Dublin team are around the same time as the best Dublin team in a generation though....that's life though

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/11/2018 22:50:14    2150547

Replying To yew_tree:  "No....I do think we are unlucky that this great Dublin team are around the same time as the best Dublin team in a generation though....that's life though"
Like I said I have great respect for Mayo as I do Dublin. However the new structure makes it even more difficult in my opinion to stop the Dubs getting the 5. Where as I am not so sure it suits a team like Mayo.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 11/11/2018 17:10:59    2150607

Colm O'Rourke using Kilmacud Crokes for a regurgitation of his favourite hobby horse, splitting Dublin.

His usual line about Kilmacud having 6 players other than Mannion fit for county football.

The faux concern about Dublin club players not getting a chance to play senior inter county. Give it a rest Colm you're as transparent as a fresh pane of glass.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/11/2018 12:11:50    2151451

Replying To jimbodub:  "So realistically who would you put as the top team to wrestle Sam away from the Dubs in 2019 and put a halt to the historic drive for 5 convoy.

Just a few of my own opinions below.

Tyrone have progressed and they gave Dublin plenty to think about up in Omagh. They are capable of hurting Dublin if Dublin drop their intensity, but the same old problems are still evident. Poor wides, lack of forward options and currently just not adventurous enough to beat Dublin. MH needs to overhaul his approach, They still have room to improve and perhaps learned a thing or two this year but it still looks very difficult for them to progress enough in time to stop Dublin. Although I fully expect to see Tyrone beating most teams in 2019. Out of all the top sides they'd be right up there as having the best chance but still a big ask.

Galway were off the pace when it really mattered, a very poor performance at home against Monaghan and they couldn't live with Dublin in HQ over 70+ minutes. I can't see them progressing enough and they may just have a revitalized Mayo side to cause them plenty of trouble on their way. There's still the chance of progressing further in 2019 but I don't see them getting to the place where they can beat Dublin.

Kerry with Keane now in place have lots of scope to improve after what was a poor 2018 for them. They still look very light at the back, overly reliant on DC up front in 2018 and Keane wants to play football and play to Kerry's strengths but that could leave them even further exposed back there. It's now a very young panel and out of all the top counties the least experienced. They've had a number of stabilizing and influential retirements and for me they are still a few more seasons away. I'd question just how good Kerry's minor teams were considering the complete lack of success outside of the minor grade for those Kerry teams (even with a top manager such as JOC in place) I think the top counties were targeting development to peak at U21/U20 making life much harder for Kerry as those same players found out. Still plenty of questions left to answer for Kerry and if I'm honest I'd be confident in Dublin beating them. It would be a truly great achievement for Keane to progress that young team to a point where they could beat Dublin (probably twice in the one Championship season) to halt Dublin's historic achievement.

Monaghan had a good and bad 2018, very poor performances against Fermanagh (a game that a team with AI hopes shouldn't be losing) and a baffling tactical naivety against Tyrone for large parts left me really questioning their credentials in order to be good enough to beat Dublin, still room to improve but the gap is too wide for me to witness Monaghan being the team to stop Dublin. I still expect them to have a solid 2019 and no top team will relish the opportunity of playing Monaghan.

Mayo now with Horan back opens up a few questions. Will Horan try and get the best out of an aging panel and go for one more big push or does he have a longterm plan in mind to get Mayo back to the very top table. Mayo for me currently have a shallow panel, a couple of injuries to key men was hugely detrimental in 2018. Parsons injury in particular was just a brutal moment and there's no guarantees he'll even play much ball next season. Horan needs to strengthen their options. It will be interesting to see but as it stands I'd probably give Mayo an outside chance to stop Dublin but even at that it will take a monumental one last push effort, Horan had some of the best Mayo players of all time in their prime when he first had them back in 2011. A lot of mileage since then.

All in all..

If Dublin can remain as hungry and committed history is there to be made. I think there's room for improvement within the current Dubs panel and from a playing personnel stand point I can see Dublin being a better version compared to 2018."
Kerry.
Might as well dispense with the preliminaries, and just play the All Ireland final of 2019 with Dublin and Kerry.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 18/11/2018 12:29:01    2151453