Football All Stars 2018

Replying To dubshurling7:  "What are his stats like for the other games he played ? I don't think he just played Super 8 ?"
I took those from Dontfoul, they were the pressure games, and games in which he was living off limited service. He was a revelation and deserved the award.

The players picked the winner not some journalists with a vendetta against Dublin as far as I am aware so I don't know how anyone can have an issue with it. Some of the cribbing on here is embarrassing quite frankly.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/11/2018 10:33:07    2149373

Congratulations to Brian Fenton. Well deserved. Ciaran Kilkenny is very unlucky to lose out.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 03/11/2018 10:41:03    2149377

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "He is, and would have won it any other year but ran in to a sensational player in 2018 here are David's stats from the Super 8's I posted them on the Kerry page as well they are off the chart and the reason why his peers voted for him the lad is simply unbelievable

0-02 from 2 on frees
4-00 from 4 goal attempts
0-12 from 17 (71%) point attempts"
Awards are awards and are always going to be subjective and as they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. All I'm saying is after watching football for nigh on 50 years I have never previously seen a prospect like Howard. David Cliffords scoring stats this year are phenomenal and even more credit to him considering his age and to some extent the poor support he was getting from team-mates. Will he be another gooch or canavan, well at this stage it certainly looks like he will. Howard however has the potential to be Moynihan, Jack O'Shea and Canavan all rolled into one. The ball he took at the end of the All-Ireland, super example of his execution of skill at pace. This was a relatively low trajectory delivery at pace into the Tyrone corner forward who was being marked by another dublin player, Howard accelerated from 5 meters back launched himself into the air with perfect timing and hit the ground three meters on without breaking stride. There were some great moments of skill in the championship this year, incredible scores from the likes of McManus, Mannion and Clifford, but there was nothing to match this moment of brilliance from Howard, executed with a precision that I don't believe any other player could match or would even attempt. Now I'm not saying David Clifford did not deserve his award, he most definitely did, and good luck to him.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 03/11/2018 12:46:24    2149393

I take it you are a fan of Howard.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/11/2018 15:52:27    2149404

Congrats to Brian delighted for him , well done to Clifford boy in a mans body , a power house ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/11/2018 16:42:39    2149414

Replying To neverright:  "I take it you are a fan of Howard."
Why, are you not, just telling you he has it all, nothing to do with ypoty, Howard should have been nominated for the overall POTY award ahead of Jack mcCaffrey, can give Fenton a run for his money as the engine of the current Dublin team. Watching the likes of Conor McManus, and Clifford is a pleasure, but Howard is the best young all round player I have seen, so yes for that reason I am a fan.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 03/11/2018 17:02:37    2149418

Replying To patk:  "On your first point, it depends on who is judging them though doesn't it?

I listened to Off the Ball yesterday morning and Gilroy was making every excuse and reason to justify giving it to Cluxton over Beggan. Then they had on an apparent objective journalist (who came across as anything but), who listed out every little mistake Beggan made all year while ignoring all the good things he did, while again focusing all the attention on how Cluxton didn't win, rather than the reasons Beggan did win.

I do agree Cluxton was shafted in other years, but that doesn't mean Beggan should be punished and lose out on his deserved award for 2018."
'I do agree Cluxton was shafted in other years, but that doesn't mean Beggan should be punished and lose out on his deserved award for 2018.' same argument has been used for last five years.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/11/2018 17:37:37    2149421

Ciaran Kilkenny can feel very unlucky, but Brian is a worthy winner the award is a long time coming for him.

Congratulations to young David down the South west, wouldn't have been my pick but he had an excellent first year and the talent is there for all to see.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/11/2018 17:38:47    2149422

Replying To arock:  "'I do agree Cluxton was shafted in other years, but that doesn't mean Beggan should be punished and lose out on his deserved award for 2018.' same argument has been used for last five years."
What tilted things in Beggan's favour is the fact that he gets so many important scores for Monaghan, something Stephen no longer does since Rock took over the free taking duties.

I am certain that Cluxton would have won this year if he was still popping them over but as his contribution is now restricted to kick outs he is at a huge disadvantage.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/11/2018 18:56:37    2149433

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "What tilted things in Beggan's favour is the fact that he gets so many important scores for Monaghan, something Stephen no longer does since Rock took over the free taking duties.

I am certain that Cluxton would have won this year if he was still popping them over but as his contribution is now restricted to kick outs he is at a huge disadvantage."
You would swear Beggan did nothing but kick frees going by this. His kickout performances were among the best in recent memory, and just putting that up against Cluxton's still leaves him in a strong position.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 03/11/2018 19:29:23    2149439

Replying To patk:  "You would swear Beggan did nothing but kick frees going by this. His kickout performances were among the best in recent memory, and just putting that up against Cluxton's still leaves him in a strong position."
Beggan got the all-star, fair play to him, he had a great year, and he comes across well in media interviews as well, really motivated player and a great goalie. Cluxton has his moments where it all goes wrong, but I think this is where he shows his value, it never gets to him, he comes through the storm as if nothing has happened, even on the biggest stage of all ireland finals. Compare this to Niall Morgan, great start to his kick-out strategy in the final, but when it went wrong the dubs immediately pushed up(Cluxton would have relished this and gone over the press), Morgan folded and went from bad to worse. We haven't really seen Rory Beggan in this situation, all ireland final and things going wrong, reaction? Had a great year, this year though, congratulations on his award.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 03/11/2018 20:13:03    2149444

Beggan deserved the All Star, he was fantastic from kickouts as well. Everyone knows Cluxton is the greatest keeper of all time but there is no vendetta against him. Just one of those things.

How many All Stars have goalkeepers won under Cody during their title winning years? I can't remember any? One of those things.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 04/11/2018 07:43:24    2149473

Replying To arock:  "'I do agree Cluxton was shafted in other years, but that doesn't mean Beggan should be punished and lose out on his deserved award for 2018.' same argument has been used for last five years."
I don't agree Cluxton was shafted in other years. He is put up on a pedestal too much by some, just because he is by far the most well known goal keeper in Gaelic football playing with by far the best team does not automatically mean he deserves an all star every year. He has got 5 all stars all ready, he is far from hard done during his time playing Gaelic football.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 04/11/2018 07:45:58    2149474

Replying To sligo joe:  "Beggan got the all-star, fair play to him, he had a great year, and he comes across well in media interviews as well, really motivated player and a great goalie. Cluxton has his moments where it all goes wrong, but I think this is where he shows his value, it never gets to him, he comes through the storm as if nothing has happened, even on the biggest stage of all ireland finals. Compare this to Niall Morgan, great start to his kick-out strategy in the final, but when it went wrong the dubs immediately pushed up(Cluxton would have relished this and gone over the press), Morgan folded and went from bad to worse. We haven't really seen Rory Beggan in this situation, all ireland final and things going wrong, reaction? Had a great year, this year though, congratulations on his award."
I think there are many more years before we can truly do an accurate assessment of these goalkeepers. ATM we are talking a grandfather & grasshoppers in goal keeping terms. Beggan has many, many more years to continue to prove his abilities - as does Morgan.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 04/11/2018 10:49:51    2149483

The football Allstars now on a parallel with Ted Crilly running the lovely girls competition, a good laugh. Colm Cavanagh at full back ???? Drew Wylie must be scratching his head. Pat Sillane is right, the football Allstars is a joke. This years football Championship should have been sponsored by a paint company as it was akin to watching paint dry on a wall.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 04/11/2018 18:31:46    2149520

Replying To patk:  "You would swear Beggan did nothing but kick frees going by this. His kickout performances were among the best in recent memory, and just putting that up against Cluxton's still leaves him in a strong position."
Ah patk, read the bloody post. What I said was it was the free kicks that tilted it in his favour, not that that was all he did.

I swear to God, there are times............

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/11/2018 19:29:59    2149531

Well our goalkeeper all star decided to show off today and score from play, such brilliant thinking from him to take the quick free and then to go on and receive the pass to slot it over the post good man rory i am delighted for him, one of the most down to earth lads you could meet

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 04/11/2018 21:03:00    2149552

Replying To mrsme:  "Well our goalkeeper all star decided to show off today and score from play, such brilliant thinking from him to take the quick free and then to go on and receive the pass to slot it over the post good man rory i am delighted for him, one of the most down to earth lads you could meet"
over the crossbar I hope!!!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 677 - 04/11/2018 21:58:30    2149562

Replying To sligo joe:  "over the crossbar I hope!!!"
sorry sligo joe yes over the cross bar me bad lol

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 05/11/2018 00:17:05    2149579

Replying To sligo joe:  "Awards are awards and are always going to be subjective and as they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. All I'm saying is after watching football for nigh on 50 years I have never previously seen a prospect like Howard. David Cliffords scoring stats this year are phenomenal and even more credit to him considering his age and to some extent the poor support he was getting from team-mates. Will he be another gooch or canavan, well at this stage it certainly looks like he will. Howard however has the potential to be Moynihan, Jack O'Shea and Canavan all rolled into one. The ball he took at the end of the All-Ireland, super example of his execution of skill at pace. This was a relatively low trajectory delivery at pace into the Tyrone corner forward who was being marked by another dublin player, Howard accelerated from 5 meters back launched himself into the air with perfect timing and hit the ground three meters on without breaking stride. There were some great moments of skill in the championship this year, incredible scores from the likes of McManus, Mannion and Clifford, but there was nothing to match this moment of brilliance from Howard, executed with a precision that I don't believe any other player could match or would even attempt. Now I'm not saying David Clifford did not deserve his award, he most definitely did, and good luck to him."
Yes, congratulations to Clifford and good luck to him. However, Howard is my pick for YPOTY in 2018. That others don't agree with me, doesn't really bother me.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 05/11/2018 08:27:04    2149585