Football All Stars 2018

Replying To panamasam:  "Hard argue with the team really. I would have had Cluxton myself but was always going to be a close call. Of course delighted to see Ryan McHugh get in. I had Eoghan Ban down as Donegal's most probable but Ryan was excellent in every game he played. The goal against Fermanagh and the point against Dublin been particular highlights. Apart from Cluxton I agree in that Shane Walsh can feel unlucky."
Nah. Beggan made more of a contribution . You could make a case for both Cluxton and Beggan . Beggan's is stronger . His kick outs at this stage are phenomenal . His freetaking is what swings it . 26 points this year . 18 in the championship and if you check the results in the Hoganstand results section you'll see he scored in every one of the 9 championship matches he played .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/11/2018 12:14:37    2149032

Replying To TheHermit:  "Some achievement by our young hero David Clifford, an All-Star in his debut season, hopefully it's just the first of many more!!!!"
I don't think that yous have to worry about that.

The lad is going to need a bigger mantlepiece for all the awards he'll win!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 01/11/2018 12:23:14    2149036

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't think that yous have to worry about that.

The lad is going to need a bigger mantlepiece for all the awards he'll win!"
You live in hope, but it's worrying that he will be out for much of the League having to have a shoulder operation now at so young and age.
And look how Dingle targeted him two weeks ago, disgusting stuff. You can bet if a club side can try and do that to him, there will be county teams lining up to do similar next summer. How long can a player last if that's the new norm?
I know this is off topic but something has to be done at this stage to protect our most talented players from the plague of off the ball stuff that's now endemic.
If one referee had the stomach to black or red card 7 or 8 fella's from a team for this stuff it would stop very very quickly.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/11/2018 12:47:27    2149045

Replying To benched:  "The whole thing is a bit farcical at this stage. Undoubtedly lovely for the players who get them and for their clubs but every year you are left scratching your head more and more at some of the awards. When you think Cluxton has been overlooked every year since 2013 that says just about all there is to be said at this stage."
Clifton doesn't work for any of the sponsors

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/11/2018 12:56:20    2149047

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "All Ireland finalists end up with 2 all stars...Peter Harte man of the match in the semi final and leads fightback in final...Conor MC aliskey scores 2-38 during championship...Niall sudden scores 1-2 in semi final and has a phenomenal season...Mattie Donnelly outstanding performances through the championship...Paul mannion turns up in the Dublin club championship and wins an all star...pathetic!"
Sour grapes my friend?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 01/11/2018 13:04:18    2149051

Replying To TheHermit:  "Some achievement by our young hero David Clifford, an All-Star in his debut season, hopefully it's just the first of many more!!!!"
The future is bright in the kingdom....!!!!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 01/11/2018 13:05:41    2149052

I am quite sure that the Dublin team are quite happy with their lot - Retention of the Sam Maguire cup .,,,.. Oh wait, did the cup make it back from the New York?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 01/11/2018 13:15:52    2149056

Replying To TheHermit:  "You live in hope, but it's worrying that he will be out for much of the League having to have a shoulder operation now at so young and age.
And look how Dingle targeted him two weeks ago, disgusting stuff. You can bet if a club side can try and do that to him, there will be county teams lining up to do similar next summer. How long can a player last if that's the new norm?
I know this is off topic but something has to be done at this stage to protect our most talented players from the plague of off the ball stuff that's now endemic.
If one referee had the stomach to black or red card 7 or 8 fella's from a team for this stuff it would stop very very quickly."
100% agree on young Clifford

Hopefully we don't see prominent former All Ireland winning players in the media call for Clifford to be cynically targeted as a means of tactic in order to diminish his footballing talent.

That would be disgraceful wouldn't it.

But sure if his fellow county men have already started it off (despite all that young Clifford has already achieved for his county) it's probably a sad indicator of what is to come.

Congrats to Clifford on a brilliant debut season and just like Dublin's Brian Howard winning an All Star award on his full debut season.

Brian winning one in midfield but he also played in the half backs and half forwards. Serious talent and it's great to see the likes of Clifford/Howard etc making the step up.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/11/2018 13:20:20    2149058

Replying To TheHermit:  "You live in hope, but it's worrying that he will be out for much of the League having to have a shoulder operation now at so young and age.
If one referee had the stomach to black or red card 7 or 8 fella's from a team for this stuff it would stop very very quickly."
Spot on TheHermit.
My father as a neutral was at the Dingle-East Kerry game and he was raging after with the off the ball stuff. Stating he couldnt blame Clifford if he packed it all in and went off to Oz.

All brushed under the carpet now and forgotten about.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 01/11/2018 13:28:13    2149059

Just on Jack McCaffrey.

Considering what he had to do to even get himself in a position to get running again in 2018.
To then come back late in the season from such a serious injury and achieve such a high level of performance that quickly, is a true testament to his footballing ability. In his own words he was "inspired" by Bernard's efforts and desire to get back playing and that shows the value that Bernard's ambition brought to the panel.

IMO Jack is right up there with the finest players ever produced by Dublin and his performances in 2018 off the back of such a serious setback only goes to convince me further of that.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/11/2018 13:41:32    2149062

If your Eoghain Ban Gallagher you are not to pleased to see cavanagh take the full back position.

If it was me i would have cooper full back eoghain ban corner back.

Cavanagh in midfield with fenton take out mchugh and put howard wing forward

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 01/11/2018 13:49:40    2149067

Replying To jimbodub:  "100% agree on young Clifford

Hopefully we don't see prominent former All Ireland winning players in the media call for Clifford to be cynically targeted as a means of tactic in order to diminish his footballing talent.

That would be disgraceful wouldn't it.

But sure if his fellow county men have already started it off (despite all that young Clifford has already achieved for his county) it's probably a sad indicator of what is to come.

Congrats to Clifford on a brilliant debut season and just like Dublin's Brian Howard winning an All Star award on his full debut season.

Brian winning one in midfield but he also played in the half backs and half forwards. Serious talent and it's great to see the likes of Clifford/Howard etc making the step up."
Young o se had much more of an impact than Clifford during the championship..maybe o se doesn't work for a sponsor?

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/11/2018 14:04:04    2149072

People jumping in giving out that Stephen Cluxton didn't get an All Star need to cop on and actually think about it. Just because Cluxton has been a great keeper for the last 15/16 years doesn't mean he should automatically get one this year. He has won five already which people conveniently forget about. The years he didn't get won are 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 and he can feel hard done by in two of them 2015 and 2017. Brendan Kealy got one in 15 where Cluxton should have got one, David Clarke got one in 16 which was deserved, Clarke got it again in 17 where Cluxton probably should have got it, and Beggan got it this year which was deserved. Colm Cavanagh at 3 is a joke and a complete cop out to accommodate him and others. He probably just about deserved an all star at midfield and that is it. Brian Howard named at midfield is a romantic pick, he should be at 10. Shane Walsh can feel the most hard done by, I still cant believe McHugh got one ahead of him. Ryan Wilie should be in the full back line.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 01/11/2018 14:04:45    2149073

Replying To woops:  "Spot on TheHermit.
My father as a neutral was at the Dingle-East Kerry game and he was raging after with the off the ball stuff. Stating he couldnt blame Clifford if he packed it all in and went off to Oz.

All brushed under the carpet now and forgotten about."
No it's not woops, the CB can bottle giving the Dingle fella the hefty ban he deserved but I don't think anyone who has any interest in the Kerry GAA will forgive Dingle anytime soon for their "tactics".
They've won no friends and plenty of enemies. Look this stuff is very much the exception rather than the rule in Kerry and it was no bad thing it got such national prominence. Hopefully it will make any other club down here think twice before following Dingle's example.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/11/2018 14:07:15    2149074

To solve the Cavanagh issue they should have added a sweeper position to the team. Owen ban unlucky for me and i think J McCarthy hadn't one of his best year. Still think Frank Burns is as good a center half back that is around.

Delighted for Clifford, what he done in the game against Monaghan almost single handedly (for a young lad) is All-star stuff. All-stars really turn up when the going gets tough..

Happy enough with Beggan. Cluxton changed the goalie role some years ago and got due credit. Beggan has changed it again and pushed it further so due credit.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 01/11/2018 14:09:36    2149076

Congrats to Ian Burke on his all star. Delighted this player is getting the recognition as he is a class act.

Shane Walsh absolutely deserved an all star this year, his performance in the connacht final will live long in the memory. Without him Galway would not have won that day. Even apart from this game, he was Galway's best player throughout the year, nominated for motm in almost every game. For whatever reason he seems to be judged to ridiculously high standards, a bit like Joe Canning. How he was not chosen over Ryan McHugh is a mystery.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 01/11/2018 14:11:57    2149079

All a bit subjective. I mean we got 1. Monaghan get 3 (all worthy) but the point i think is no allowance for silverware or getting to a league final. Shane Walsh 2 championship MOTM awards plus nominated for a few more. I think our tame exit from the championship went against us as whoever played Dublin in the all ireland semi final were always going to be at a disadvantage in terms of getting a 2nd all star. On the goalkeeper have no issue with Beggan over Cluxton. Phenomenal year.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/11/2018 14:12:23    2149080

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Young o se had much more of an impact than Clifford during the championship..maybe o se doesn't work for a sponsor?"
Yeah... ehhm what are you on about ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/11/2018 14:18:35    2149081

No way did Cluxton deserve one.
Beggan and Brody were way more influential.
The facts are re Cluxton:
Conceded 2 goals v Wicklow
Injured early v longford
Didn't play v laois or Donegal.
Conceded 2 goals to roscommon
Conceded two goals v Galway, 1 a howler
Conceded goal in final
Brody s shot stopping and beggan s free taking were miles ahead.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 01/11/2018 14:22:17    2149083

Replying To BigJoe14:  "People jumping in giving out that Stephen Cluxton didn't get an All Star need to cop on and actually think about it. Just because Cluxton has been a great keeper for the last 15/16 years doesn't mean he should automatically get one this year. He has won five already which people conveniently forget about. The years he didn't get won are 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 and he can feel hard done by in two of them 2015 and 2017. Brendan Kealy got one in 15 where Cluxton should have got one, David Clarke got one in 16 which was deserved, Clarke got it again in 17 where Cluxton probably should have got it, and Beggan got it this year which was deserved. Colm Cavanagh at 3 is a joke and a complete cop out to accommodate him and others. He probably just about deserved an all star at midfield and that is it. Brian Howard named at midfield is a romantic pick, he should be at 10. Shane Walsh can feel the most hard done by, I still cant believe McHugh got one ahead of him. Ryan Wilie should be in the full back line."
Clarke was dropped by his own team in '16 for an all Ireland replay. Dropping Cluxton isn't an option. Listen all the keepers are great and have had great seasons but not to award the greatest keeper of all time the keeper they all copy now on our way to 4in a row is shocking and laughable.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/11/2018 14:28:45    2149084