All Ireland Championship Draw 2019

Even if we assumed that all 32 teams had a shot all Sam - with any team having a 50% chance of a match win against any other on a given day - the current AIC/Qualifier structure is inherently unfair against Lein/Uls.

If we assume all teams were equally strong - on average 1 of the 1st Rd Qual 16 would make the Super 8 (winning rds 1 to 4); 1 of the losing SF 8
would make it (rds 2 to 4); 1 of the losing Finals 4 would make it (rd 4); as well as 4 Prov Champs. This is unfair as 75% (12 of 16) of Rd 1 teams are from Lein/Uls, and 6 of 8 Finalists over represent Muns/Conn.

In my idea - I extend the Front Door by one rd and curtail the Back Door to 3 rds - with 8 groups of 3 incl beaten SFlists in rd 1, with each top 2 advancing. This is fairer with current Provs unchanged. Here - on average, 4 of the 1st Qual Rd 24 would make the Super 8 (rds 1 to 3); 1 of 4 losing Finals (rds 2 and 3); 1 of 2 losing Champs (rd 3); and 2 unbeaten Champs.
Now, 66.7% (16 of 24) in Rd 1 are from Lein/Uls, more in line with actual 62.4% (20 of 32), and half the Super 8 could come from Rd 1 of the more equitable Qualifiers.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 13/10/2018 17:29:48    2146376

Replying To OLLIE:  "Haha Royaldunne you are some boyo. That's an ironic statement you just made there about the ref."
Ah sure Ollie my old friend, it is the truth. Two wrongs (2010) don't make a right. We only have one survivor from that game left now (your near Neighbour) and talk was he had to actually be talked around from retiring from inter county by both his club manager and mcentee and fair few of the players including menton. So think it's fair to say 2019 will end with not one Meath player having beat dubs on a team. Long time since that happened.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2018 17:30:07    2146377

Even if we assumed that all 32 teams had a shot at Sam - with any team having a 50% chance of a match win against any other on a given day - the current AIC/Qualifier structure is inherently unfair against Lein/Uls.

If we assume all teams were equally strong - on average 1 of the 1st Rd Qual 16 would make the Super 8 (winning rds 1 to 4); 1 of the losing SF 8
would make it (rds 2 to 4); 2 of the losing Finals 4 would make it (rd 4); as well as 4 Prov Champs. This is unfair as 75% (12 of 16) of Rd 1 teams are from Lein/Uls, and 6 of 8 Finalists over represent Muns/Conn.

In my idea - I extend the Front Door by one rd and curtail the Back Door to 3 rds - with 8 groups of 3 incl beaten SFlists in rd 1, with each top 2 advancing. This is fairer with current Provs unchanged. Here - on average, 4 of the 1st Qual Rd 24 would make the Super 8 (rds 1 to 3); 1 of 4 losing Finals (rds 2 and 3); 1 of 2 losing Champs (rd 3); and 2 unbeaten Champs.
Now, 66.7% (16 of 24) in Rd 1 are from Lein/Uls, more in line with actual 62.4% (20 of 32), and half the Super 8 could come from Rd 1 of the more equitable Qualifiers.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 13/10/2018 17:32:52    2146378

Replying To OLLIE:  "Haha Royaldunne you are some boyo. That's an ironic statement you just made there about the ref."
and a Ref from Tyrone on that occasion.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 13/10/2018 18:01:40    2146380

Anyhow back to the draw. Got to say without sounding disrespectful to any county I'm happy with it. Avoiding dubs is always a good start. Also avoiding Kildare. Carlow who beat Kildare this year and Laois are the seeded ones, I won't call it a easy path but it could have been worse, we will beat Offaly without too much bother, while Carlow will put 15 behind ball, I think up front we will still have too much, the winners of Laois and the weaties will offer a different type of game. Look as I said not been disrespectful to other counties but I can see us making a Leinster final, once there we have them who should not be mentioned, but what we must be focused on is should we get that far we have two games to win one and get to super 8s.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2018 18:41:48    2146381

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ah sure Ollie my old friend, it is the truth. Two wrongs (2010) don't make a right. We only have one survivor from that game left now (your near Neighbour) and talk was he had to actually be talked around from retiring from inter county by both his club manager and mcentee and fair few of the players including menton. So think it's fair to say 2019 will end with not one Meath player having beat dubs on a team. Long time since that happened."
Don't mention the war Royaldunne ha. I think wee have three players left from the 2010 squad. Meath have lost the last four championship matches to the Dubs. They never lost five in a row to the Dubs.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/10/2018 20:00:59    2146388

Tyrone vs Derry will give us the shock of the championship with Derry coming out on top by a convincing margin; I'll let you all judge whether or not this is the most sarcastic post I've ever posted or the most serious I've ever posted.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 13/10/2018 21:27:14    2146394

Replying To OLLIE:  "Don't mention the war Royaldunne ha. I think wee have three players left from the 2010 squad. Meath have lost the last four championship matches to the Dubs. They never lost five in a row to the Dubs."
oh all is calm until the next battle of the boyne. The 5 in a row would be a hard thing to take alright should it come to pass

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2018 21:50:26    2146396

Replying To county man:  "Didn't realise it was 7 years, big coincidence alright, but Tipp should be favourites to beat Cork in any case .

Leinster is very lopsided with the top 3 teams on the same side, so the only hope of anyone giving Dublin any sort of a game will be at semi-final stage. You could make a case for nearly every team on other side to get through to the final.

Mayo vs Roscommon will be decent with the winners facing Galway.

Ulster is usual minefield with lots of potential close games and good teams on both sides. Difficult to predict finalists."
Tipperary play Kerry if they beat limerick, would fancy Clare to beat Waterford and give Cork a game,long time since Clare we're not on the Kerry side of the draw.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 13/10/2018 22:59:39    2146403

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus lads, can ye not google things no? It's not a coincidence - the Munster Championship is structured so that the teams that make the final get a bye the following year.

For a few years it went back to an open draw however, Limerick, Clare, Tipp and Waterford pressed for the older format (teams making the previous years final getting a bye) to be reinstated.

So if ye have any beef take it up with those counties..."
You might want to google it yourself,not all counties agreed with it and some panels of players weren't happy with it.there was a majority agreement,that's the only thing you have right.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 13/10/2018 23:02:50    2146404

Replying To cityman73:  "Tipperary play Kerry if they beat limerick, would fancy Clare to beat Waterford and give Cork a game,long time since Clare we're not on the Kerry side of the draw."
I thought it was Kerry's v Clare/ Waterford?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/10/2018 12:00:54    2146435

Derry v Tyrone is not a potential shock but cavan v Monaghan is. Hard to get excited by other fixtures.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/10/2018 14:42:58    2146449

There seems to be a lot of negativity about the draw . I for one and looking forward to the championship . I don't understand people giving out about it . Good teams are going to win bar the odd upset which we still get . Weaker teams are going to lose it's a way if life . No matter what way you change the game the weaker teams will still be the weaker ones . They will just lose in a different championship structure or with different rules.
Bring on the league and championship

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 15/10/2018 18:39:14    2146670

Dublin to walk leinster, kerry to walk munster.

Connaught and ulster, genuinely exciting.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/10/2018 17:32:36    2146838

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Dublin to walk leinster, kerry to walk munster.

Connaught and ulster, genuinely exciting."
With a Champs Playoff Rd and a 24-team 1st Qual Rd (incl 8 Prov SF losers in 8 x 3 groups), Qual Rds 2 and 3 could be loaded with strong Uls/Conn teams - more exciting.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 18/10/2018 02:32:05    2147051

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/divisions-are-the-lifeblood-of-small-cork-clubs-876998.html

Why not have similar 'divisional' teams at inter-county Championship (counties on their own for NFL) ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 23/10/2018 01:22:13    2147819